Today: $106.99
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Handmade Djembe Drum (Ghana)

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
Club O Silver

Club O members earn Club O Rewards for writing reviews. Learn More

  • nice and cool
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this for my grandson (4) who drums with my daughter. it is cute and nicely made.

    Read More
    hikofk May 16, 2016
  • Authentic and beautiful
    Verified Purchase

    The quality of this hand made item is great. It sounds terrific too.

    Read More
    Kim C. December 15, 2015
  • Nice drum and sound but only one problem...
    Verified Purchase

    Very quick delivery than another drum that I ordered with another company. That one took a month before I finally got it, but then it was shipped from Africa. I think this one came from Midwest where it was until someone placed an order for it. Nice sound to the drum and love the carving and size of the drum. But I had to return this one because there was a crack at the base that was 4 inches and went halfway thru the thickness of the wood. They even had place a glue or coating on the bottom probably to keep it from cracking further. I contact Overstock and they took care of the matter and sending a replacement. I'm hoping the next one is not cracked. Otherwise this would have been a perfect drum and I would have been a happy customer. But I figure if I'm paying for the drum it shouldn't be cracked. There is not telling if the crack will get bigger or not. And I would rather start with a drum that is not cracked. With proper care, a drum should not get a crack in it. So make sure you check your drum to make sure it's not cracked. Otherwise, I would say this is a great drum for the price and your purchase will help to support a family in Ghana. So get a drum from there. I lived 4 yrs in Ghana. So I wanted a drum from there. :-)

    Read More
    syrsiu May 1, 2014
  • As shown and described.
    Verified Purchase

    I love this drum, which I bought both as an item to display and a drum to play. But I should be clear that I am not a trained drummer who understands the nuance of drum quality. It's large, it has a deep, resonant tone, and it sounds exactly as I hoped it would. It's also quite attractive, which was important to me (though it may not be to others). It is rather heavy for its size (which may be perfectly normal; as I said, I'm not a trained drummer).

    Read More
    dobbsferryny July 19, 2013
  • BEAUTIFUL DRUM
    Verified Purchase

    I GET THIS FOR MY HUSBAND AND WHEN I OPENED THE BOX I WAS SO IMPRESS IT'S BEAUTIFUL YOU DON'T SEE THIS GREAT QUALITY IN USA IN THIS DAYS THE SOUND IT'S WONDERFUL, I GOING TO HAVE ANOTHER ONE FOR MY SON, I REALLY RECOMMENDED IT IT'S GREAT PRICE I CAN BELIEVED MY LUCK ' I SAW IT YESTERDAY FOR $*** SAME SIZE BUT IT WAS SINTETIC MATERIAL THIS IS A REAL THING !! IT'S A GREAT BEAUTIFUL PIECE I LOVE IT!!

    Read More
    happyprincess77 December 4, 2012
  • Djembe Drum
    Verified Purchase

    The drum ariived in perfect condition. The handmade drum was a Christmas gift for my 16 year old "music loving" son. He thought I had ordered another lamp for the house, and he had no idea that this big package was for him. On Christmas day, he opened this mysterious big box and was wonderfully surprised to see this gorgeous drum. We are all enjoying the craftsmanship of this piece of art and the strong, powerful, musical sound that it brings! I rated it a four star because the sound of the drum is not as rich as I had hoped, but maybe this is the characteristic of the Djembe Drum.

    Read More
    10458 March 23, 2012
  • If you Love Drum DON'T waist you money on this
    Verified Purchase

    I was so excited to order this drum. I Thought I had a great deal until I tried to play the drum. Out of the box the wood smelt great how ever I hit the center of the and quickly realized the drum was totally out of tune. Immediately I called overstock to complain and ask how can you ship an untuned instrument? The customer service rep said sir we stand behind our product. I told her the drum isnt tuned I realized she didn't know anything about Djembe drums. 1. The wood was NOT Djembe Wood 2. The rope used on the drum was Too THIN 3. The Skin of the Drum head Was Too THIN and very poor quality. So I took the drum to ***/ They have by far THE BEST drums I have seen professional grade. They offer tuning services for drum all done professionally so I left IMO drum from overstock there. I came back and the service technician said your drum head ripped! I asked why did this happen he instantly showed me how thin the skin of the drum head was compared to what they use. All the animal skins at motherland music use are imported from Africa. Clearly there was an obvious difference in quality. The owner of the store offered to replace the drum head at a discounted price however I asked how can overstock ship a drum of POOR quality. After 9 phone calls and 2 managers overstock agreed to SPLIT the cost of replacing the Drum head which was $100. So save yourself the trouble and buy from *** every drum is hand carved hand made by African craftsman. DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES BUY THIS DRUM. If you have any passion for drumming!!!

    Read More
    loveone7 March 22, 2012
  • Great Djembe
    Verified Purchase

    Great djembe, great price, fast shipping = BUY IT.

    Read More
    emilio9 February 3, 2012
  • Not as pictured
    Verified Purchase

    This item was not as pictured. What I received is black with natural colored carving. and a multi-color non-removable fabric covering the top. Because I was trying to match this with items that I already have, I'll need to return it.

    Read More
    rugshopper08 January 25, 2012
  • I am only giving the 4 stars because...
    Verified Purchase

    I had such high hopes for this drum as everything else I have bought from Overstock was always great quality. But this drumhead was cracked and on edges and was not strung tightly at all so was not playable. Yes, I could have it restrung and headed but just didn't want to spend the time or money. Would have cost way more than the drum I paid for. I contacted OS Customer service and they will be shipping out a new one and arranged for this one to be sent back. I think this drum has potentail but I need something that works out of the box. I would not recommend this particular drum to anyone unless they rehead and rope it. Otherwise the design and size etc. was beautiful! I am hoping the replacement will be better so I can recommend to a friend! :)

    Read More
    jeana22 December 24, 2011
  • Great Buy!
    Verified Purchase

    I was a little worried about the products quality considering the price, I was shocked when it arrived. The drum is tall with a wide head. Nice to see some hair on the head. Carvings are deep and the colors were dark (mush darker than the picture) and beautiful. Drum has a great sound to it! I cannot wait to take this out during festival season. I love it so much, I am considering a second as a gift.

    Read More
    hilig December 23, 2011
  • this is a beautiful handmade drum
    Verified Purchase

    much better price than i could find for same quality handmade djembe drum

    Read More
    granbaby December 22, 2011
  • Great Djembe
    Verified Purchase

    Excellent drum! The quality is great and the price was amazing. You won't find a nicer drum for this price. I have purchased 11 djembes in the past two months for my school, and this one is by far the best!

    Read More
    kellykelly01 November 17, 2011
  • Mostly pleased.
    Verified Purchase

    I was pleased with everything about the drum, except the lack of bright color I was expecting. Perhaps showing an example of several in a group to represent what colors you might receive would help. The sound is good and will paint in bright colors in design.

    Read More
    wordsey November 1, 2011
  • overall good deal
    Verified Purchase

    Good price for the size of Djembe. 24in x 13.5in. However quality was only ok. It didn't look like the picture. It was a darker coloring, but somewhat similar carving. The base of Djembe was carved uneven so it stands a little lopsided. It could use tuning because the bass sound occassionally gets a higher pitch aftertone. The tone is good. The slap has a nice higher pitch for a bigger drum

    Read More
    dancindan October 16, 2010
  • overall satisfied
    Verified Purchase

    The drum arrived when promised and very nicely packed. However the first thing I noticed was that it was not painted, the second was that the carvings were very different and the third was that it was not tuned at all. I had to look back at Overstock to see if they sent me the wrong drum but after comparing the carvings I saw enough of a similarity to assume that it is supposed to be the same drum. After tunning it and having a conversation (session) with it I am happy with the drum for the price and glad I kept it although I was really hoping for a nice painted drum like the one in the picture.

    Read More
    jetticraft September 5, 2010
  • The Drum
    Verified Purchase

    It arrived in perfect condition! Was a gift, and my wife was delighted!!,

    Read More
    rowdy1941 August 21, 2010
  • Incredible bargain!
    Verified Purchase

    Beautifully carved, great sound, and an amazingly affordable price.

    Read More
    seattlemomofsix August 14, 2010
  • Wow!
    Verified Purchase

    Great drum. Nice sound, and great price! It is a perfect size for traveling. I have been looking for one for a long time, and Im happy with this purchase.

    Read More
    bonecollector95 July 13, 2010
  • AWESOME
    Verified Purchase

    I build djembes and teach West African hand drumming and was a bit weary when I bought this drum as an extra for the circles I facilitate..boy was I IMPRESSED when it came! The tones and bass sound great and the carvings were beautiful! For this price you usually will get a cheap, poorly constructed 20x12 djembe made in Indonesia (where the builder gets a TINY fraction of the profits). If you are looking for a big beautiful, good sounding djembe, buy this one...I just bought two more! Thanks!

    Read More
    kadotornado June 28, 2010
Sponsored Links