Read All Reviews for Symbolic Sese Wood African Tribal Mask (Ghana)

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
Club O Silver

Club O members earn Club O Rewards for writing reviews.

  • love these
    Verified Purchase

    have had them on my wall for over a year now and still love it!!!!!

    Read More
    2dtrs December 10, 2015
  • Excellent
    Verified Purchase

    These mask are made well. The colors are vibrate and the quality is great. I can't wait until I hang them in my dining room.

    Read More
    shanidream February 11, 2014
  • Strong presence
    Verified Purchase

    I ordered the Dragomba Mask from overstock. it arrived in two days and I am very impressed by its look. I put it with my other masks and it changed the look of the entire wall. Good size and had a strong presence. It catches the eyes as soon as you enter the room. I am very pleased with the product and want to thank the artisan for this beautiful artifact.

    Read More
    amrapali November 28, 2013
  • nice mask
    Verified Purchase

    My decore is red and black and I was excited to find mask that I hoped would compliment that color scheme. I was some what disappointed to find that a mask that was pictured as mostly black had almost no black on it at all. The pieces have no sheen to them either. They are more of a matted look and definately hand carved. My family feels that the lack of sheen actually makes them look more authentic so I hung them and have been surprised by the compliments I received on the pieces.

    Read More
    eugeniaharris April 29, 2013
  • Misleading, this is not a set of four.
    Verified Purchase

    First, I want to say that the advertising of the masks was misleading, it says a "Set of four Symbolic Sese Wood African Tribal Mask (Ghana)". I noticed since I purchased my masks, a correction has been made. I made an order for the Dagomba and Boule Sese wood, the Dagomba came but the Boule wood did not. I was sent the Boule Sese wood brass mask by mistake. The Dagomba mask color is not true to the photo, it is much lighter. One side of the bottom mask does not sit flush to the wall, which causes a problem. Although, I was sent the wrong Boule Sese mask, I like the brass version. After receiving the Dagomba Sese mask and the color was not true to the photo, I am satisfied with the Boule Sese brass mask. I will review the Boule Sese brass mask, it sits flushed to the wall with no problem, the coloring is different, it is darker than pictured. If you collect african masks, this will be a nice addition to your collection. I gave this an average rating because the color of the Dagomba mask does not match, and it does not sit flush to the wall. Although a mistake was made, I would give the Boule Sese wood brass mask an excellent, because it is a nice piece of artwork.

    Read More
    deborha April 25, 2013
  • Beautiful African Mask
    Verified Purchase

    This is a very large mask; pay attention to the sizing. It is very beautiful, however, the vibrant colors displayed on the product page is not what is actually on the mask. I received subdued colors, very pretty indeed, but not quite as pictured.

    Read More
    alwaysmom23 December 20, 2012
  • Nice
    Verified Purchase

    quality is there, they put some cheap stringy earrings on it, took it off and fine

    Read More
    pauloh25 December 14, 2012
  • I no speak with forked tongue - I tell truth
    Verified Purchase

    It has become, far and away, my favorite mask in my colllection. It is of first rate craftsmanship and the colors (actually gray and red) are in outstanding combination. Oh, I should have mentioned, I got the one with the forked tongue. You do the same and you will be extremely pleased. P.S. A friend of mine saw this in my house and he ordered one for his house - I hate him.

    Read More
    danladi December 6, 2012
  • Perfect
    Verified Purchase

    Perfect and exactly what I was looking for as a Christmas gift for one of my daughters that collects these.

    Read More
    type1fan November 6, 2012
  • Nice and original
    Verified Purchase

    Nice product, I have several masks handmade in Zimbabwe and Haiti, and You can definitely tell this is mass produced, but I doubt anyone visiting my home will care. It's a nice addition to our home.

    Read More
    marlynshopgrl June 14, 2012
  • Not as depicted
    Verified Purchase

    The workmanship is crude and the colors are very faint.

    Read More
    wmask April 10, 2012
  • Beautiful work
    Verified Purchase

    What I got is exactly what I ordered. The crafting was great, My father loved getting it.

    Read More
    phiszabo2 January 31, 2012
  • great as expected....
    Verified Purchase

    I really like this mask and I call it our little slept baby... :-)

    Read More
    nar2010 August 23, 2011
  • Primitive
    Verified Purchase

    The graphic designs are appealing. However, the workmanship so crude, I have not a clue as to what I may do with them. Think I will hang them in the garage.

    Read More
    ytihs August 4, 2011
  • mask
    Verified Purchase

    a little difficult to hang as the leather loop provided was awkward, but I've dealt with masks that have had no means with which to hang them at all. The workmanship, looked hurried and "mass" produced. It was apparent that it was made simply to be sold and wasn't imbued with the meaning a tribal mask would normally have if it were "traditional." I'm not sure if I'm getting my point across. The masks that I actually picked up IN Africa when I was there were made as though they were going to be kept and used by the makers if they weren't sold. Each was unique and lovingly made and you could see the care put into those. For the price, this seemed a bit "production line."

    Read More
    tippers May 30, 2008
  • African Ghana Mask
    Verified Purchase

    I was pleasantly surprised when I received the mask; good quality and workmanship. I cannot wait to get the other three to display in my Dining Room. I have already recommended these items (as well as the website) to friends and family.

    Read More
    izzieb May 19, 2008
  • Nice
    Verified Purchase

    I was really very pleased with this purchase. I got the boule mask. It is very well made and the size is substantial. The only thing was that the colors were a little duller than how they appear in the picture. Other than that its a great buy and it looks nice in my home. Overstock is great as usual and the mask was deilvered quicky and very well packaged.

    Read More
    naynay85 May 10, 2008
  • GOOD PRODUCT
    Verified Purchase

    PRODUCT IS GOOD BUWHEN I ORDER IT I THOUGHT THAT ALL THE MASK DISPLAYED WERE WHAT I WAS GETTING I DID NOT READ ANYWHERE THAT YOU HAD TO CHOOSE ONLY ONE MASK FROM THE GROUP, I WAS MISLEAD OTHER WISE

    Read More
    reidei4517 March 23, 2008
  • Bundu Mask
    Verified Purchase

    I received the Bundu mask today, and overall it's pretty cool. The colors are not as vibrant as they appear in the picture, but it still looks good. There is nothing on the back to hang it with, so you will have to add that yourself.

    Read More
    harriet1977 March 4, 2007
  • Verified Purchase

    Read More
    unithepiper May 5, 2017
Sponsored Links