Today: $269.99
Out of Stock
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Reclaimed Teak Simple Bench (India)

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Becky f
    Verified Purchase

    Love this bench. Very high quality

    Read More
    Rebecca F. October 4, 2016
  • Sturdy and lovely
    Verified Purchase

    This is solid and has held up well. It is in our screened in porch exposed to temp changes (kentucky) and humidy and seems unaffected. Pretty variation in wood grain.

    Read More
    Jennifer B. March 19, 2016
  • Great bench
    Verified Purchase

    I liked this bench I ordered two for my dining room table. Comfortable and attractive.

    Read More
    smilne June 28, 2015
  • Great Piece
    Verified Purchase

    Love this bench, the design the wood and the price are all great!

    Read More
    Tessa N. April 21, 2015
  • Poor quality
    Verified Purchase

    When the bench arrived it was quite beautiful and for about a month I was happy with my purchase. However, six months later it is unrecognizable. The finish faded quickly and the wood started to split and splinter. I applied a heavy application of teak oil which improved the appearance but it now looks cheap. I have several pieces of teak furniture that I have had for many years. I allowed them to weather to a natural gray color and they still look and perform very well. I find it hard to believe this bench is made from teakwood. It appears to be several types of hardwoods glued together. A good teak bench will weather naturally to a gray color. This one did not. Granted this bench is on a deck out in the son so it is not protected. Other reviewers noted that they used their bench in the house or in a mudroom. I believe it would be fine for that purpose.

    Read More
    villalife July 21, 2014
  • just what we thought it would be
    Verified Purchase

    the finish is good for being what they are. remember this is reclaimed wood, there are going to be some imperfections. it looks exactly how we thought it would.

    Read More
    shoppeers April 23, 2014
  • Better than expected
    Verified Purchase

    as advertised. beautiful rustic wood looks very expensive, very unique

    Read More
    rasschmitt February 7, 2014
  • simple bench
    Verified Purchase

    I think that the bench is rustic but modern A great addition to my outdoor furniture.

    Read More
    stylemama August 12, 2013
  • Sturdy bench, timeless design
    Verified Purchase

    We purchased the matching buffet prior to this bench and were so pleased that we decided to get the bench also. The bench was a little rougher than the buffet, but still well finished with a lot of character added by the imperfections. I think that even the bolts to hold it together were reclaimed! It seems quite sturdy and the size is perfect for our purposes. Though we haven't had issues with our buffet not being finished, I applied 2 coats of teak oil to this right away as the wood does not appear to have any finish on it and for a bench that we'll use at our dining table occasionally, that'll be more important. The teak oil did darken the finish slightly.

    Read More
    doodude August 9, 2013
  • Strongly advise against
    Verified Purchase

    Purchased this attractive reclaimed wood bench to play double-duty as a dining table bench and piano bench in our simply-designed home. Overstock delivered quckly. We were very happy. Construction was simple and straightforward, though the package came with less washers (and more bolts) than needed. Hardware store run fixed that. Bench built looked great. From mid-March, seemingly great. This Monday, June 1st, I sat at our dining table working. My wife sat next to me, leaning over to place her head on my shoulder. That's when we heard the crack. Before we could respond, I, 6'2" and 195 lbs and she, 5'4" and 145, found ourselves on the floor. The bolted areas were secure as ever; it was weakness in the bench, not the legs or connections. In fact, it seemed the underside support was screwed directly into a weak piece of the wood. The spit followed the line of what we thought was a "character mark." If you like to spend ****+ for a decorative bench, by all means. If you want to sit on your bench, I'd advise against this one strongly. I don't see any opportunity to be compensated for faulty product either, so please choose with care.

    Read More
    leftsider July 4, 2013
  • Why build it when you can buy it?
    Verified Purchase

    My hubby and I were planning on building some benches for a house we are in the process of building. I decided to take a look online to see if there was something similar to what we were interested in making available for purchase. Overstock.com had the bench, and at a price which made it silly for us to build. So, I purchased three of the benches. The bench is rustic, so those who are looking for perfection should not purchase this bench. For us, it was exactly what we were looking for! The bench is heavy and well built. The bench is held together by two large screws on either side of the bench (four total screws). I'm happy with the purchase! Bravo Overstock.com!

    Read More
    bluciphersmom January 28, 2013
  • Love this bench!
    Verified Purchase

    Love this bench! It is in our mudroom for the family to sit on while taking their shoes on and off. Exactly as described. Quality is more that I could have hoped for.

    Read More
    imurcutie January 15, 2013
  • Don't bother
    Verified Purchase

    I saw the negative reviews, but thought people were too picky. I had to have a handy man sand them to get rid of the splintered wood so my grand daughters didn't get hurt and stain them. I am going to have to order custom cushions to cover the seats.

    Read More
    threegirlgrammie October 3, 2012
  • just as described
    Verified Purchase

    I was apprehensive about blemishes and having to spend c $40 to ship them back. They're just fine. Assembly is so easy, instructions aren't even needed. Tip: allign the tops before tightening the bolts. You'll have a sturdy, crafty, handsome piece. My compliments to the Indian carpenters...and in appreciation, I reccomend for prosperity: 1. color match the wood filler 2. get one of those gadgets that makes exact fit cut-outs and plugs

    Read More
    perlj May 22, 2012
  • No quality control?
    Verified Purchase

    I was so excited about this bench. I thought I had found the perfect bench for my mudroom. I loved the idea of reclaimed wood. However, when the bench arrived, I noticed in one of the planks that makes up the bench seat, a 3 inch by 3 inch cut "patch" of non-matching wood glued with putty in the middle of otherwise solid planks. It was wedged in there very nicely - I'm not complaining about that - and there's no chance of the patch of wood falling out. There are similar patches on the sides of the bench, but this one is right one top and there's no missing it. There was absolutely zero effort to match the grain of the wood. It is several shades darker than the surrounding wood and looks comical. We are tempted to keep it, as an absurdist/conversation piece but I would not have paid the > $200 price for something that looks WORSE than something I could have made myself. I am so disappointed. It is almost as if there is zero quality control. I think I will be extremely wary of buying any furniture from Overstock in the future, sight unseen. It's not worth the aggravation or the cost of shipping this gigantic thing back.

    Read More
    northernvirginiamom May 12, 2012
  • lovely simple sturdy-- definely recommended
    Verified Purchase

    I love these benches! A great deal for the price. I have one on a covered porch, and two lining in a sunny corner of my bedroom, in lieu of the built-ins I'm saving for. They are classically simple, each with lovely and unique wood grain. The wood is a lovely brown grey, with some variations. They ARE heavy. Still, this fairly fit 45 y/o petite female was able to put them together on my own. They are not perfectly smooth, but sort of a matte suede-like texture, if that makes sense--- definitely ok for a casual seating. I would avoid sitting on them in very expensive knits, but that's not our style. The only thing that kept me from rating them 5 stars was that one leg section on 2 of the benches didn't come together quite perfectly, as noted above. (This is the kind of thing you see all the time with furniture in this price range from a variety of big box stores. However, they typically also run the gambit from boring to tacky, are wobbly, etc.) I'm planning to buy one or two more for my porch when they are back in stock.

    Read More
    izimbral January 30, 2012
  • Perfect!
    Verified Purchase

    We used this bench in our entry way for our guests to put on and take off their shoes, it's perfect for that purpose.

    Read More
    spjc82 January 22, 2012
  • very nice!
    Verified Purchase

    Very beautiful sturdy bench. So easy to assemble as well.

    Read More
    jhoov December 10, 2011
  • Teak Bench
    Verified Purchase

    This beautiful teak bench is finely crafted fits perfect next to my front door & is made very solid. I think it will last us many years!

    Read More
    brjb August 9, 2011
  • Solid Bench
    Verified Purchase

    Couldn't be more pleased with this bench. Not sure of some people complaining of the unfinished nature of the bench...it is perfect. You're not going to get splinters or anything of the sort and there is a light matte finish on the wood as well. Very solid piece. I may buy another.

    Read More
    jocktopus August 5, 2011
Sponsored Links