Sale: $431.98

Was: $479.99

Save $48.01 (10%)

Free Shipping
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Handmade 'Nobility' Cedar and Leather Rocking Chair (Peru)

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Grannie
    Verified Purchase

    This rocker is in my room, my grandchildren love it, it looks hard but when you sit on it , it's very comfortable

    Read More
    ganmom60 June 17, 2017
  • Chair is exactly as described.
    Verified Purchase

    Chair is very sturdy and the workmanship is outstanding. The only problem we had was some of the holes didn't line up, had to use clamps when gluing to be safe.

    Read More
    joan1664 September 4, 2014
  • Hassle, hassle...
    Verified Purchase

    First of all, it took a long time for this chair to arrive...when it did arrive, it was packed well enough but absolutely impossible to put together... I am experienced at putting pieces together and have successfully assembled very complicated items, but I could not assemble this simply because the holes did not lineup...at all! I should have listened to the reviews about the difficulty of putting it together and needing a mallet, but even a mallet could not help the situation! they suggest that you use wood glue, but I thought I would try to fit it together before actually placing glue...thank God I did that, otherwise I might not have been able to return it...as for the quality of the leather tooling and wood carving, etc. that was done very nicely, but overall the effect was more rustic than I care for...nevertheless, I would have kept it after waiting so long, but I can't sit in it if I can't assemble it... I again stress that I am pretty darn good at putting stuff together...maybe I just got the bad apple in the bunch...back it goes and no, thank you, I won't be going for a replacement...the only good thing about this was the customer service I received when I wanted to return it...although I got no response from the international number given for international returns (number didn't work), I just called the regular customer service at Overstock and, as usual, they were very helpful and their response was very prompt!

    Read More
    Ooooooooo June 30, 2014
  • Nice Rocker!
    Verified Purchase

    Very nice rich cherry wood, nice quality. Easy to put together.

    Read More
    rhd1984 March 23, 2014
  • Excellent craftsmanship and Beautiful!
    Verified Purchase

    I was a little leary at first after reading some reviews, but I'm glad I went with my gut and bought it! It's an excellent value, it looks like an heirloom! Yes you have to put it together and all you need is a rubber mallet and wood glue! My husband put it together in less than 30 mins. If you were to buy this from a furniture store assembled you would pay 3 times the price, and the hand tooled leather is beautiful!!!! Love it!

    Read More
    tc1l March 15, 2014
  • Pretty to look at

    The craftsmanship for fine detail and smooth lines is excellent, which is great if you want to look at this chair. However, if you want to use it, all the joints pull apart easily despite gluing/re-gluing. The arm continually pops off. The spindle underneath disconnects from the seat. Consequently, it's decorative when we wanted functional. I bought this years ago from Novica. Wish there'd been reviews then, or we would have skipped it.

    Read More
    southwestmiss January 5, 2014
  • Beautiful Chair
    Verified Purchase

    Chair is smaller than it looks in pictures, so it is for a smaller person. Also, construction of the chair was hampered by parts that do not fit together as well as they should. This could add hours to what should only take a few minutes assembly time - just forcing the parts together. Finally, it might be a good idea to have extra glue on hand; the small tube provided is probably not going to be enough to complete the job.

    Read More
    zamphirthebunnyking November 27, 2013
  • What is that horrible odor?
    Verified Purchase

    I've ordered many Novica items and I've been happy with all of them, with the exception of this rocking chair. It's pretty but it has a very strong chemical odor. The chair has been "airing out" in my entry way for other three months and I don't think the odor has dissipated at all. It smells a lot like insecticide or moth balls. I contacted Novica to inquire about the padding in the seat and verify that it does not contain moth balls, insecticides or other toxic chemicals, but I did not receive a response. I regret purchasing this item as the chemical odor makes it unusable and possibly dangerous.

    Read More
    jeannieboyd May 24, 2013
  • MUSEUM QUALITY ELEGANCE AND OLD FASHIONED COMFORT
    Verified Purchase

    This is your great grandfather's rocking chair! Built individually in the tradition of a true craftsman. The near perfection of the carving and embossing of the leather is a testament to the artisan's skill and loving attention to detail. This item is supremely well packaged for shipment. At 64 years, I was able to assemble (and I enjoyed this project) it in less than 90 minutes. I used some wood glue and a rubber mallet to join the 8 pieces. The ooh's and aah's I have been getting tickles me (Everybody thinks it was delivered as a completed chair)! I love this solid Peruvian rocker for the unexpected 'museum quality' elegance it adds to my living room. Nobody has been able to escape this chair's powerful magnetic attraction. Everyone who has seen it had to sit on it and rock… Beautiful!

    Read More
    geojnc March 18, 2012
  • Beautiful, comfortable rocker.
    Verified Purchase

    We love this rocker. It was relatively easy to assemble. It is beautiful and sturdy. Great purchase.

    Read More
    larry1008 December 7, 2011
  • great chair
    Verified Purchase

    The chair arrived very quickly to my front door (maybe two weeks). It took my husband less than hour to put together, very easy to do. It looks great!

    Read More
    lyddiebit March 12, 2011
  • It rocks!
    Verified Purchase

    A friend helped to assemble using glue for wood. I am delighted. The crafmandhip and beautiful carvings makes it a conversation piece.

    Read More
    1aguadilla December 13, 2010
  • love it
    Verified Purchase

    we absolutely love the chair. my husband put it together with wood glue and he said it wasn't that difficult, as long as your'e handy. the chair did have some minor dings in the varnish job and it took a really long time to get here, but so well worth the wait. its not as large as i thought it would be, but the detail and the craftmanship is beautiful.

    Read More
    sarahahmad11 October 17, 2010
  • very nice
    Verified Purchase

    It’s very nice and huge! It doesn’t fit in place where i was planning to put, but I am working on, I want to keep this peace of art. Little bit stains orange-red when you wipe with something wet. We hope it temporary.

    Read More
    amanta April 8, 2010
  • Nice Rocker!
    Verified Purchase

    I agree with all of the comments below. This is the most beautiful rocker I have seen. I am very happy with the final outcome and the price. It is not only a showpiece, it is very sturdy. That said, the last couple of steps in the assembly are a pain. Getting everything lined up takes some strength and more than one person, and if you use wood glue, get ready for a mess because the holes aren't all in one direction so you can't orient the chair preferentially ... so maybe the liquid nails is a good alternative. I used wood glue because the lower viscosity probably gets into the wood cells better for a superior bond. Either might work fine though. Also, be prepared for 10 business days before they even ship it (I think they don't get them from Peru until after you place the order.) Very much worth the wait to me. But once you get it togehter he final product is AWESOME!! Can't beat it!!

    Read More
    tonefish February 27, 2010
  • Cedar and Leather Rocking Chair
    Verified Purchase

    It's a gorgeous chair BUT my husband told me it was very hard to put together. Be sure to have wood glue and a mallet on hand. I gave it 4 starts because once it is put together it's stunning. We will see how long it lasts!

    Read More
    dena1439 February 27, 2010
  • Rocking Chair
    Verified Purchase

    The Rocking Chair from Peru is just great....it is very attractive, very sturdy, and very, very comfortable...I am very much enjoying it....thank you.

    Read More
    zigler February 7, 2010
  • Outstanding
    Verified Purchase

    This is undoubtedly the most beautiful rocking chair I have ever seen. Assembly was not a problem, and yes, you must use a good wood glue to ensure tight and long lasting component fits. The chair is sturdy and comfortable, but my only concern is the finish and some basic construction improvements that could enable the new look to last. The rocker arm rests could be rounded to minimize dents on the edges and although a great looking finish, time will tell how it will withstand. I do not think reparing the finish with a furniture rub on will do any good.

    Read More
    freddie100 January 25, 2010
  • rocking chair
    Verified Purchase

    If you are looking for a rocking chair that is a ittle different you will like this one. I really didn't think it was that hard to put together. We did use liquid nails to make it sturdier. My husband does not think it is that comfortable but I do. It is little larger then I thought it would be but I do like it.

    Read More
    gabby232 April 17, 2009
  • Get some muscle for the assembly!
    Verified Purchase

    The chair looks great, but it was a PAIN to put together. We needed wood glue, a rubber mallet, and my husband's brute force to get everything lined up and put together. And it still isn't quite right, there is a slight gap at the bottom of the back piece on one side where things didn't line up no matter how hard we tried. But the finished product looks just like the picture and is really nice.

    Read More
    scubasteph415 February 8, 2008
Sponsored Links