Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Handmade Merbu Wood 'Long Life' Oriental Cabinet (China)

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Good looking not well built
    Verified Purchase

    Item is good for price and design poorly build legs not even

    Read More
    paula t. March 12, 2016
  • Merbu Oriental Chest
    Verified Purchase

    I liked the size and design of the chest and am pleased with it. It fit into the space I have ...

    Read More
    cactusfloweer June 19, 2014
  • Oriental Cabinet is exactly what I wanted
    Verified Purchase

    I am very pleased with this Oriental Cabinet. It was true to size, looks very attractive in the room. and is very well constructed. I would not hesitate to order from this supplier again.

    Read More
    stas4nd May 29, 2013
  • Poor quality
    Verified Purchase

    The doors did not fit right and would not close correctly or evenly. It appears to be a composite material that may have included wood scraps glued or something and a veneer or painted finish.

    Read More
    lynnnmiwatts May 1, 2013
  • Fanciest tool box - Ever!
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this cabinet to store small items like picture hangers, hammers, screw drivers, tape measures, duct tape, etc. I live in a small space and it works perfectly for me. Sometimes a neighbor or friend will ask where a little tool or item can be found and for some strange reason they never guess this cute little cabinet is my secret hidey spot ;-)

    Read More
    hovering September 26, 2012
  • Nice accent piece
    Verified Purchase

    I've only had this piece for a few weeks, and it has gotten a lot of attention from friends and family. Everyone seems to like it, especially the unusual shape, detailed carving, and the surprise drawer inside. I read reviews before purchasing the cabinet and was aware that the doors have to be completely wide open to utilize the drawer and it is not a problem for me.

    Read More
    markystarky March 14, 2012
  • Too small
    Verified Purchase

    This is a beautiful piece but small. It's too low and could be wider. If you have a very small space this would be great but it's too expensive. It should be more like $100.00.

    Read More
    jacksback4372 March 1, 2012
  • This cabinet came already assenbked,
    Verified Purchase

    Everyone who sees it comments on how nice it is. Looks very expensive.

    Read More
    9snickers November 11, 2011
  • Good for tall beds
    Verified Purchase

    I bought these, wanting something tall enough for a large California king bed that's about 36 inches tall. These fit the bill well. I've had these for more than two years, and they've stood up reasonably--only a minor scratch on one from a cat who was a little too excited. As other reviewers said, you can't open the drawer if you have things next to it, so it's not ideal next to the bed--unless you don't put anything in the drawers. One minor gripe with them is that the parts that are routed out on the top and some parts of the carving are a little rough. This means it can be hard to dust in those grooves. A microfiber cloth with some furniture polish does a reasonable job. Another minor problem is that it's hard to find other pieces that match or go with it. They're close to black, but not quite black. They do go OK with other black items, though. Overall, I was pleased with these.

    Read More
    lotus99ca August 8, 2010
  • oriental touch
    Verified Purchase

    nice night stands. just needs larger suface area to put more books, clock radio, and lamp. my husband wasn't too pleased w/ the functionality. (not user friendly!) drawer inside is difficult to pull out completely, unless cabinet doors are wide open. very unique however with artistry.

    Read More
    dorzcritique June 16, 2010
  • Not great, not bad either.
    Verified Purchase

    This cabinet is cute if you like Asian style. It is a bit on the cheap side construction wise. The doors are a bit off and don't stop in the place they're supposed to when you close them so you have to sort of readjust them each time. Also, the drawer on the inside won't pull out unless the doors are completely open, which means that if you use it next to a sofa or bed, you won't be able to use the drawer. I was expecting it to be larger than it is, but that's my fault, I'm not all that good at imagining dimensions. All in all, the cabinet is cute but don't expect anything that looks like a fine piece of furniture.

    Read More
    nomoreshopping April 22, 2010
  • great little cabinet
    Verified Purchase

    Great little storage cabinet for the bathroom.. The only drawback is that both doors need to be open in order to pull out the drawer inside.

    Read More
    mrlobo67 February 10, 2010
  • Love this unique piece!
    Verified Purchase

    I bought these as night stands for my bed. I love Asian accents and so these were perfect. Perfect color. Maybe 3 inches shorter that I wanted, but i knew that. I am having some trouble opening one of the drawers on one of the cabinets, but one of them opens fine. I am thinking about adding a small knob to the drawer front but i don't want to ruin the design. They smell wonderful!!!!! I do NOT think they are rickety at all as someone said.

    Read More
    soblessed76 December 16, 2009
  • lovely little cabinet
    Verified Purchase

    My cabinet also has the drawer vs. doors issue, and the doors do take a precise touch to close in the proper position (otherwise they go in too far). However, it is a charming little peice that has brought me many compliments already, and I'm glad I bought it. I would have expected a better price from Overstock, but it would cost much more in a regular store. I gave 5 stars to "ease of assembly" because it came fully assembled (doesn't get much easier than that).

    Read More
    mactkinson September 3, 2009
  • as it appears
    Verified Purchase

    this product is at it appears, nice worksmanship, fairly small size, and top drawer only opens if doors completely opened. Fits as bedside table very well. Appears clean nice worksmanship overall.

    Read More
    March 13, 2009
  • Good overall
    Verified Purchase

    As other reviews have mentioned, the drawer does not pull out unless the doors are all the way open. However, rather than being displeased I think that is just the nature of this piece. I don't know how one could design the doors otherwise or why it's important that the drawer opens with the doors only partially open. Also, if you push the doors too hard, they will go farther than the stoppers. Still, for the price and the fantastic appearance--it's a good buy. I chose this one over the altar table in rosewood (also available on Overstock) because the lines were more modern and it was a little less expensive. If you don't mind a little more traditional look, I would recommend the altar table because it's rosewood--and nothing beats rosewood. This was a good buy, but that one is probably better. For someone with more contemporary furniture preferences and an eye for a deal, this is a good piece. I use it as an entry table because I have a window near the entrance that is pretty low and needed a small cabinet that wouldn't block the window. If you have larger ambitions, be sure to check out the measurements. The size was perfect for me, but I knew I needed a small, low cabinet. Alternatively, I think it would make a great nightstand.

    Read More
    abeier January 12, 2009
  • Good buy
    Verified Purchase

    This item was a bit smaller than I expected (yes, I read the measurements) and the drawer inside is difficult to pull out no matter how wide open you pull the doors. However the construction seems solid and the looks are what I expected. It is a companion piece to the rosewood bedside table.

    Read More
    lucymagoo May 26, 2008
  • Long Life Oriental Cabinet
    Verified Purchase

    I bought two of these cabinets to use as nightstands and we just love them. They have a little larger surface area than most nightstands so they are a perfect fit for a lamp, alarm clock and a couple of bestsellers. They are gorgeous, well-made, substantial and, one of my favorite parts, already put together. I highly recommend them to anyone looking for a beautiful focal point for a foyer, under a window, and of course, for nightstands.

    Read More
    46ann May 14, 2008
  • great little side cabinet
    Verified Purchase

    We are very pleased with our purchase of the "Long Life Oriental Cabinet". It arrived on time, and in great condition. We were impressed with the care and quality in which it was packed to protect it during shipment. We have been looking for a small accent cabinet for our family room, and have gone through every store possible, and could find nothing we were looking for. We have been looking for about a year. Then my husband checked out Overstock, and there it was! I must admit, I was extremely leery about purchasing anything on line due to the many horror stories I've heard. We are very pleased with the quality and construction of the cabinet as well. The only thing we found a little off is that the doors push in a bit too far, so when closing the doors you just have be a little careful, but this is really not a big deal. So, for our first purchase with Overstock it has been an excellent experience. We love the cabinet and it's a great addition to our family room! Thank you!

    Read More
    pinzgauer May 10, 2008
  • arrived broken and scratched
    Verified Purchase

    This would be a beautiful piece if it hadn't arrived scratched, with a chunk of the veneer wood off the bottom, and with uneven wood stain. That said, Overstock handled the return very quickly and efficiently.

    Read More
    cycene April 29, 2008
Sponsored Links