Free Shipping* & 5% Rewards On Every Order* With Club O
Today $35.49

At other retailer: $58.99

Save $23.50 (40%)

Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for The Smithsonian Motor Works Model Engine

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Parts didn't fit.
    Verified Purchase

    The 'belt' that turned the pistons didn't fit right. So the pistons would move, but the fan didn't. Not worth the money or the time it took to figure out the item doesn't work correctly.

    Read More
    sunryz July 19, 2017
  • Requires a lot of Adult Help
    Verified Purchase

    It was a great idea, but very difficult for a 7 year old to build. My son loves engines. We built it together. The timing belt was warped, so it never worked.

    Read More
    Wendi L. July 19, 2017
  • Cheaply made
    Verified Purchase

    Got this for my son for Christmas. It's a very cool idea, but cheaply made. There were missing pieces and some of the pieces broke easily. Not worth what I paid for it.

    Read More
    Crystal S. April 26, 2017
  • busy hands
    Verified Purchase

    He enjoyed getting the motor to build- he enjoys engines

    Read More
    Deborrah1 December 28, 2016
  • For the Young Scientist
    Verified Purchase

    Some creativity but mostly pre-assembled

    Read More
    eyeken May 8, 2016
  • Engine
    Verified Purchase

    Bought this for my step son and he loves it. Recommend all the Smithsonian learning toys.

    Read More
    Marie K. December 30, 2015
  • Did not work
    Verified Purchase

    My son worked so hard on it and did an amazing job. When he got done and we put batteries in it, nothing happened. Very disappointed.

    Read More
    newhouse2012 October 4, 2015
  • Marie G
    Verified Purchase

    My nephew loved it!!! This was a good gift, and somewhat challenging which was good:)

    Read More
    Marie G. August 22, 2015
  • my husband loved this for christmas
    Verified Purchase

    great gift for all ages or yourself

    Read More
    ecrowder March 23, 2015
  • Great Choice!!!

    This toy is the bees knees, legs, and his arms! I would get them for my whole class as an activity if I were a Physical Science teacher!

    Read More
    kenkenifffromconnecticut June 18, 2014
  • Very fun

    This toy was extremely fun to assemble with my son I think it taught him a few valuable lessons. It works great and it also looks really cool sitting on the dresser in his room.

    Read More
    toyman87 June 18, 2014
  • fun plastic model tombuild
    Verified Purchase

    detailed,realistic. Can see operating parts inside a 4 cylinder overhead cam engine.

    Read More
    0p3n May 18, 2013
  • Super cool for preteens
    Verified Purchase

    I ordered this for my 11 year old grandson. He was so excited perfect gift!

    Read More
    bfountain9 January 8, 2013
  • motor works engine
    Verified Purchase

    easy to order and shipped quickly price was fair and something my grandson had been asking for

    Read More
    harbor135 December 12, 2012
  • Son and husband loved it
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased this as a gift for my son. Dad and son worked on it together and had a really good time. Dad got to explain the car engine without all the grease!!

    Read More
    mmmm1313 January 29, 2012
  • not happy with this item. screw hole don't align
    Verified Purchase

    not at all happy with this product. the crew alignment was off and the whole toy had gaps and didn't fit nicely together. never got it to work properly... most likely because of the alignment

    Read More
    mcgben5 January 1, 2012
  • parts missing, poor quality brittle plastic-cheap

    Camshaft pieces were missing. I had all 8, but instead of all being different I had a mismatch of 4 of the same, 2 of the same ect. Many pieces already had cracks out of the box and while installing screws usually cracked and not from over tightening, like half way in they would crack. Pieces were badly molded and featured a lot of parts needing deburring before they could be assembled, Instruction illustrations were very poor and incomplete leading to confusion on many steps and having to look at all the other steps to see proper orientation. Several times these were even inconsistent. My daughter got frustrated with this and rightfully so. I'm a mechanic and I think it's garbage. Buy the visable V8 for another $10 it is a lot better made. Still waiting to hear about the missing cam pieces, probably be thrown away....beware.

    Read More
    tomken98 December 31, 2011
  • The Model Engine is easy to build by an 11 yr old
    Verified Purchase

    Great Christmas gift for my 11 yr old nephew. He enjoyed building it and learning how an engine works! Great educational gift.

    Read More
    khareedar December 29, 2011
  • Don't Bother
    Verified Purchase

    I had to return this model because there was a piece missing and Many of the pieces didn't fit together properly and some wouldn't go together at all.

    Read More
    noneyabud November 18, 2011
  • packaged like crap!
    Verified Purchase

    I ordered this for a christmas present for my nephew. It came in the mail packaged in a regular old envelope with no padding. I opened it and the box was literally falling apart! I was no pleased. I'm hoping all of the pieces are there.

    Read More
    smcqberry September 13, 2011
Sponsored Links