Today: $66.99
Out of Stock
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Swagman RV Hitch Mount Bike Cover

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Good Idea, But Limited Durability
    Verified Purchase

    This hitch cover is a great design. It is lightweight and easily fits over two bikes. I had no problem getting it on and getting the straps secured following the instructions. I even got it to cover three with the handlebars folded in line with the frames. In terms of basic function, it kept road dirt and most moisture off of the bikes, and to its credit, survived a five week, 8,500 road trip on the back of our motorhome with only a couple of duct tape patches.The downside is that the fabric is thin and with use gradually stretches out. While this helps to make it easy to cover the bikes, it's also a problem as the waterproofing appears to be sprayed onto the inside of the fabric. As the cover stretches, the waterproofing loses its integrity, so rain and roadspray can get in. In fact, on several occasions after driving in the rain, I found water pooled in the bottom of the cover. There are drain holes on the bottom, but these seemed to rarely align with the low point due to the straps.I think the key to longevity with this cover are two fold. First, only cover two bikes maximum to reduce any stretching. Second, don't cinch the straps down very tight for the same reason. If you're not headed out on a five week road trip, this should prove to be a useful, lightweight cover for a reasonable time period. Overstock.com had the lowest price on this item of the several that I checked in early June.

    Read More
    mikehg July 17, 2009
  • Singman Bike Cover
    Verified Purchase

    I used this product to cover 2 bicycle on the back of a 5th wheel trailer traveling from from Utah to Ohio and then the return trip back to Utah. It worked great, never ripped or leaked. The straps helped remove the bulk of the cover to fit around the odd shapes of the bikes. I admit, I was a little worried for the first few hundred miles wondering what I might find at the back of the trailer. Repeated inspection found no problems and we completed our trip with complete confidence in the product.

    Read More
    knkdixon November 3, 2010
  • Hitch Bike Rack Cover
    Verified Purchase

    For the money, this is an excellent buy. They are made by Swagman. I purchased one for each bike (3) as I am using them, with a little modification, on a 4 bike Thule platform hitch rack. My previous bag made by Adco, had a much larger zipper. The MSRP on the ADCO bag is more than 3 times the cost of this bag. The material seems the same. The picture shows two straps, but there are many more. I didn't count them, but a guess would be 5. If you have a pointed object, such as a brake handle sticking into the bag, put a cloth over the handle as it will wear through very quickly. The top corners should have been reinforced by the manufacturer. I am going to try and reinforce the corners with a iron on patch on the inside. If it doesn't stick, I will use a towel over the brake handle. Pull all the straps a tight as you can. These bags will see almost 4000 miles in the next few months.

    Read More
    ploiselle December 11, 2010
  • Hitch Bike Rack Cover
    Verified Purchase

    Excellent product, directions were a little difficult to understand at first, but after reading them several times, we finally figured out how to mount the cover over the bike rack to the bike hitch. In tighting up the traps that were attached to the cover, one of the clips broke on one side. The plastic snaps are not that durable, should be a little stronger.

    Read More
    cadams9649 August 20, 2009
  • Swagman bike cover
    Verified Purchase

    Easy to install on rack supporting bikes by wheels. Zipper is very strong. Straps are not changeable that is a disadvantages.

    Read More
    c2364 August 12, 2009
  • Bike Cover
    Verified Purchase

    I have a hitch mounted bike rack that supports two bikes in wheel trays. The cover was advertised to work for two bikes but did not. The zipper would not fully close so I had to tie the ends together with string as close as I could get it. The attached straps would not reach all the way around to the other ends so I used bungee cords to secure the cover for travel. When I reached our destination the cover had ripped through from the brake levers and other places. This cover might work with a rack where the bikes hang on the crossbars because the standup version uses extra space that was not accounted for in the design? I will use it one more time on the trip home and then trow it away. Not a great value for two uses.

    Read More
    3event December 16, 2009
  • Swagman Hitch Bike Rack Cover
    Verified Purchase

    The product needs to come with a SIZE, so that the customer can measure the length of their bike beforehand and not be disappointed like we are.

    Read More
    monsignorblanche August 23, 2011
  • Bike Rack Cover Works for Us
    Verified Purchase

    This is the 2nd Swagman Hitch Bike Rack Cover we have had. We bought the first one from a different .com store at almost twice the price. It covered our bikes on the back of our motorhome for 2 years before finally giving up to sun exposure damage. When searching for a new one, I found one for sale on overstock.com and was skeptical about the product with the price quoted. I was pleased to find out the price was valid. This hitch bike rack cover fits over both our bikes on the hitch rack, but we have to turn it upside down to make it fit..the reason for 4 stars and not 5. When this one wears out, we will buy another.

    Read More
    kathieandbob March 29, 2011
  • Swagman Bike Cover
    Verified Purchase

    After trying two other cheaper bike covers, I finally decided to spend the money on this cover. So far I am very happy with the quality and design. The fact that it covers the bike completely and has a zipper and several straps to securely hold the cover is a definite plus, since I use it on the back of my 5th wheel. I would recommend this cover to anyone

    Read More
    fbotha July 30, 2010
  • Works as promised
    Verified Purchase

    This product is great. Put the cover on my bikes on the back of the motorhome, fits perfectly. Works as advertised . Good quality. Used it to cover three bikes, a little snug in a few places, but it works!

    Read More
    suzgo July 30, 2010
  • Hard to fit
    Verified Purchase

    Instructions sketchy. No explanation what the various holes were for. Did not fit well over my RV center hitch bike rack made for 2 bikes. Covering only 1 bike in the rack, there was too much material on the bottom, not enough room for the bike handles on top. I was expecting a better fit, as it appears in the picture. Contacted the company with unsatisfactory explanation. Not sure where water was coming from but water collects at the bottom. Had to make additional drain holes at the bottom so water would drain out. When it wears out, at least I'll have a long zipper to use and design my own cover.

    Read More
    iluvwestsky April 25, 2010
  • Hitch Bike Cover
    Verified Purchase

    The cover fit very well over 2 bikes on the hitch. It is of nice quality with a strong zipper. The directions to use the cover need to be more step by step with supporting diagrams. The directions included were a bit confusing for first time users. After the cover was on the bikes it rained hard and water pooled inside the cover. There are weep holes at the bottom of the cover but apparently we did not position them correctly. Again, nothing in the diagram to suggest this.

    Read More
    joanie990 February 17, 2010
  • Great product for the price
    Verified Purchase

    The bike cover is perfect for 2 bikes - the only thing we had a problem with was how to match the straps, but we worked everything out. Terrific quality and looks very durable. Easy to store.

    Read More
    kathysparks December 6, 2009
  • Hitch bike rack cover
    Verified Purchase

    The hitch bike rack cover is pretty good since there are very few other covers out there. It fits two bikes easily. Not the most durable, but then we only have a small campervan and the cover extends past the sides of the van. I find that heavy duty tape works when holes are made in the material.

    Read More
    sandra1904 October 30, 2009
  • product did well
    Verified Purchase

    We drove with bikes on a hitch rack with the tarp for a total of 2000 miles. We went through several hard rains so the benefit was well worth the investiment. I would recommend several additional tie downs/bungy cords to keep the tarp from flapping at 70 mph. A good way to protect bikes if you often travel.

    Read More
    jameser April 18, 2009
  • Hitch Bike Rack Cover
    Verified Purchase

    I have had this cover for two weeks. We used it on a 540 mile trip and it did really well. I would suggest loosening and then repositioning the handlebars, so that they will be parallel with the bike frame. An allen wrench will do this trick . The bikes stayed clean, dry, and out of the weather.

    Read More
    stevekd December 3, 2008
  • Bike cover
    Verified Purchase

    The bike cover seems to be of good quality and plenty large enough for the two bIkes. My only complaint is that there are no directions as how to use it and fasten it. I have used it several times and still have not found an easy way to tie it down on the bikes. There are two holes in it for something but no idea what.

    Read More
    jdd10djd June 16, 2008
  • Bike Cover zipper bad
    Verified Purchase

    good material, too small for 2 bikes, and zipper bad - comes apartS

    Read More
    dandekabobel February 1, 2013
  • Swagman Bike Cover
    Verified Purchase

    This cover appeared to be of excellent quality and design. Unfortunately, I couldn't get our ladies bike to mount on the two bike rack that we have. We have a three bike Saris platform rack, but the cover wouldn't fir around the rack. Because of the fit issue, I was not able to use the cover and therefore don't know how well it would have worked on the road.

    Read More
    joseph68 January 29, 2013
  • Just what I was looking for
    Verified Purchase

    Cover fits properly and is light weight which makes it easier to install. It is well made, has straps for securing, and looks good. Depending on your load, you may need to make adjustments for better travel which reduces or stops wind damage. I found it to be tight across the handle bar with two bikes. I will loosen the handle bar screw and move them parallel to keep them from sticking out and protect any sticking out tight sharp point. This will reduce wear on the cover. Also will put extra straps or ties on any area likely to flap in the wind. After using other type covers for many years it became a fact that ANY cover will be damaged after a certain length of time in the wind or rain with out secure adjusting to YOUR load. Use common sense and check your load when taking a break to make adjustments as needed. Most important check your cover after the first 10 to 20 miles at higher speeds like interstate travel to see how it is doing. Have extra rope or straps. From one who likes to travel far. I have not gone very far with this one yet, but will this summer of 2013.

    Read More
    outsideguy January 17, 2013
Sponsored Links