Today $29.99
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Smithsonian 3D Glowing Solar System Set

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Relevant
  • Most Relevant
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Smithsonian does it again..
    Verified Purchase

    I am always amazed at the fun we have with the products under the smithsonian name brand. These planets are no exception, they are really cool when they get a good charge and glow brightly. Adds a fun, cool effect to the room. Teach your kids about the solar system.

    Read More
    sarah w. December 31, 2017
  • Smithsonian Solar System Set
    Verified Purchase

    I got this for my 18 year old autistic great grandson. Recently he has shown much interest in the solar system and has learned all of the planets by name and position. This is the perfect gift for him - he has it installed on his bedroon ceiling and is very proud of it! Thank you for carrying it in your inventory.

    Read More
    idakid January 7, 2012
  • junk
    Verified Purchase

    Aful product, cheap plastic balls, don't hold a glow at all, most are golf ball size or smaller and worst of all they have to be taped to the ceiling and the biggest "planet is too heavy and wont stay up. Needless to say they went in the trash. Worthless, don't buy these.

    Read More
    jellybean12345 February 8, 2012
  • the solr system is a great learning tool and it a
    Verified Purchase

    The solar system is a great learning tool for children, my grandson identified planet earth and the sun immediately. The planets are amazing to watch at night.

    Read More
    oriel May 5, 2012
  • Solar System

    I purchased these as a gift for my 13 year old sister. She really liked those Glow in the Dark stars you can buy and I thought this would be a great addition. She loved them, they glow for a while after the lights are turned off and she was able to be creative by either placing them in 'order' or how ever she wanted. Great and fun product!

    Read More
    Annette July 30, 2015
  • Tony Albright
    Verified Purchase

    I thought the solar system would include Pluto. It was in our solar system when I went to school.

    Read More
    Anthony A. January 20, 2018
  • Let the Planets Surround You
    Verified Purchase

    Purchased as a gift for grandchildren. They literally jumped for joy when they first saw the planets arrive in the box. Then, when dad installed them on the ceiling of their room, they were on "cloud nine". This added decoration in their room helps them feel like they are sleeping outside among the stars and the planets...and can see the together in the sky. It's given my son the opportunity to explain more about our "small home", the earth, and how important it is to take care of it in these days where so many are in a "throw away society". He's been able to reinforce to our young 4, 6 and 8 year old grand-children that the earth is a "jewel" in the heavens and as such, we are precious, and made special among all the other creations. They are learning to do a better job of caring for their room, the house and even more responsible to Grandpa and me. It's been a gift we wish we had when our children were growing up.

    Read More
    chickie1chickie May 30, 2012
  • Great Looking, but Not Glowing As Much as I'd Like
    Verified Purchase

    The planets look great, and the sun is a bonus, but I was hoping for some super-glowing nighttime decorations. Instead, the planets glow fairly weakly or not at all, unless you shine a flashlight directly at each one before turning out the lights.

    Read More
    landariel January 4, 2012
  • Very Excited!
    Verified Purchase

    I'm very excited to give this to my little brother for Christmas! I normally get him something more virtual, since he is a gamer, but I figured this year I'd give him something he can appreciate in a different aspect. It shipped incredibly fast. I was surprised how light the package is!

    Read More
    mtpc2010 December 15, 2011
  • Nice
    Verified Purchase

    Very nice looking solar systems set. Bought this for my pre-teen son when he was studying the solar system and is a very nice set which we hung on his ceiling in his bedroom. Wish it was a little bigger but still very nice. Would recommend.

    Read More
    mamalee1 November 29, 2017
  • Verified Purchase

    My grandson loves this!! It is also helping him learn about our Solar System.

    Read More
    Alice J. January 31, 2018
  • Nice
    Verified Purchase

    My nephew is learning about the solar system so I got them for him. He likes them hanging over his bed.

    Read More
    crishal December 7, 2017
  • Mom of 6 year old
    Verified Purchase

    We brought these as decorations because my son wanted a solar system theme in his room. The sizes were what we wanted and other than the sun they were pretty well made. Sun was oK. I used a sewing pin with a white head to make a moon. I did not use the hooks or "string" that came with the kit. The hooks because they were ugly / heavy and the string because it was hard to tie. I used cotton thread and hot glued the thread into the whole for the hooks (I made a big knot which I put in the hole with help of tweezers). Then, because they didn't weight anything I could use thumb tacks to hook them to ceiling. They look good.

    Read More
    Elizabeth V. April 17, 2015
  • so so solar system
    Verified Purchase

    The customer service for the smashed product was excellent and the box for the second shipment was bigger. The solar system was of fairly good quality, but gave no specifications for distance apart or even which planet was which.

    Read More
    terry3000 January 18, 2012
  • Teaching the kids astronomy
    Verified Purchase

    Great. These glow in the dark decals allow the children to learn the location and order of the planets and can be moved based on seasonal changes.

    Read More
    klondikecat December 13, 2015
  • Glow in the Dark Visual Effects Very Cool
    Verified Purchase

    We arranged the planets according to there place in space~ very cool to fall asleep staring at them glowing

    Read More
    Sonia J M. March 12, 2017
  • solar system
    Verified Purchase

    not what I expected glow in the dark balls Smithsonian backing this product is surprising

    Read More
    shades51 December 30, 2013
  • Educational gifts are the best!
    Verified Purchase

    In regard to a recent negative post that Pluto was not included: Pluto is no longer considered a planet, but a dwarf planet, therefore the set is complete. I just bought this for my grandsons and am sure they will have a great time with it. When I talk with them about Pluto, I can throw out a pea and that might explain dwarf planets.

    Read More
    heart4god100 January 3, 2012
  • educational
    Verified Purchase

    Not super easy to put up and don't really glow much but they are cool to have hanging in a kids room.

    Read More
    sortacrazy April 23, 2015
  • Absolute Crap
    Verified Purchase

    The planets are help up with whatever tape you happen to have on hand. This means that Jupiter, the Sun, and Saturn will all eventually fall down within a day or two. They do not glow. The plastic tooth floss they provide you needs to be cut by you - good luck estimating the correct length so you don't run out of it before you cut a length of it for every planet. It is ridiculously difficult to tie said string into a knot that won't unravel itself. Very low quality. Avoid this at all costs.

    Read More
    y33336 May 25, 2013