Today: $126.99
Free Shipping
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Recluse 3-person Ultra Light Aluminum Backpack Tent

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • good value and product
    Verified Purchase

    Have used this for multiple camping trips and it does not disappoint. It fits three people snugly, or 2 people comfortable. Have also put a full-size airbed inside when glamping.

    Read More
    Vanessa M. April 28, 2016
  • Tested
    Verified Purchase

    I tested it in rain,hail, high winds, and a flood. It held up!

    Read More
    Brooke F. April 18, 2016
  • Broken aluminum pole
    Verified Purchase

    Tent looks great, but one alluminum pole snapped mintes after receiving the tent in the mail. Tried to contact the company for which it was made, and unable "speak" to any human. Tried using the warrenty site, but it timed out everytime i tried to submit!! After (4) tries, i am very frustrated! Planning on backpacking a 60 mile trail soon, would be nice if i could get a replacement for the one pole!

    Read More
    Sue S. March 31, 2016
  • Great design but poor quality
    Verified Purchase

    The tent started off looking like the real deal with an awesome compression sack for the tent. The 3 pole design is simple to assemble and I like that all 3 poles are the same length so there is no confusing. The rain fly fits snug and the vestibule is well designed giving extra space for gear. But that is where the glamour ended. The aluminum poles are lightweight which is great but they almost seem TOO thin. Only time will tell if they can hold up. I have tents with aluminum poles of equal weight but the construction of the other poles is thicker. The material for this tent just feels too thin. You have the fear that you may poke your finger right through the wall. The biggest complaint is the zippers. They are hard to zip and will not stay closed. I ordered two tents and both had the same problem. The zippers would separate and trying to back them down and reclose did not fix the problem, Small complaint here but the gear loft is so oddly shaped that attaching it took some time to figure out and it never did attach evenly. These tents were field tested by adults but were purchased for a boy scout troop. If adults cannot properly work the zippers, there is no way I can expect an 11 year old scout to operate this tent. Deal breaker for a brand new tent.

    Read More
    Tim J. March 31, 2016
  • Wow
    Verified Purchase

    Great product for the money

    Read More
    Roxane Gerard H. November 19, 2015
  • Love this tent
    Verified Purchase

    This tent is light and easy to put up and take down. It has open mesh so you can see the stars as you sleep. Very easy to take down! Couldn't be happier with this purchase.

    Read More
    Vanessa H. September 21, 2015
  • Love this Tent!
    Verified Purchase

    We didn't put it up correctly, our fault, but still worked well and kept out the wind nicely. Love how lightweight it is.

    Read More
    Julie B. August 20, 2015
  • Parent
    Verified Purchase

    Love it. nice and sturdy with plenty of room for two people.

    Read More
    Debra C. April 28, 2015
  • Enjoyed this tent.
    Verified Purchase

    I went camping with my two sons for 3 days in this tent. I have to say that it is a good-looking tent which does well against heavy rain. It is simple to set up (about 5 mins) and take down. There are 4 pockets along the inside walls and another compartment in the top, which is nice. I don't mind that the shell zips one way and the inside compartment zips opposite. It did well to keep the bugs out as well. There are also overhand areas to store gear, shoes between the tent and shell. Now, for the issues. It comes with 2 doors for the shell and the tent which comes out to 4 zippers total. One of the zippers needs extra attention when zipping or it will not work properly. I put that zipper towards the rear and tried not to use it much. I recommend buying a tarp and cutting it to the size of the tent in order to provide an extra water barrier and to prevent water from pooling between the tent bottom and the Tarp. Also, the aluminum stakes are junk. Buy aftermarket ones that will not bend. Overall, I would buy this tent again. The problems can be mitigated and it has nice features: space for 3, place to store bags, pockets for headlamps, etc, and it kept us dry through a 4 hr thunderstorm I'm FL.

    Read More
    Tyler L. April 23, 2015
  • Worth for value!
    Verified Purchase

    Highly recommended for family camping!

    Read More
    Oscar L. February 13, 2015
  • Susan
    Verified Purchase

    Purchased for my daughter who is an avid hiker. She indicated that there was loads of space inside the tent and absolutely loved the "loft area" for storage. A clear winner in her eyes. It is light as a feather and attaches perfectly to her backpack.

    Read More
    isisqueen January 29, 2015
  • Super Value
    Verified Purchase

    I'd expect to pay twice as much for a 3 pole aluminum tech tent with double doors and a full cover rain fly, very pleased. Worry the zippers might be undersized when the wind starts pulling on them but out of the box feel really good about this kit.

    Read More
    j from PO October 26, 2014
  • Great Scouting Tent
    Verified Purchase

    I love the way the made this series so compact. The shorter pole sections not only decress the size but will keep from bending and bowing. And the bags look cool. I expect theses tent to do well with our scouts .

    Read More
    raidernation44 November 8, 2013
  • excellent for price
    Verified Purchase

    Just gave tent a outdoor test in backyard, 3 days of rain , no leaks, followed by 5 days of snow , about 6 inches one night , all snow shed off of tent, Repacks easy , You have to unzip one side of rain fly then unzip other side of interior to get in tent -it makes sense as it keeps rain -snow from getting in ,in case you accidentally leave fly open , nice and roomy, taller interior than my old tent ,

    Read More
    cyclops19 October 22, 2013
  • Great tent for the price!
    Verified Purchase

    Speedy delivery of this product. Great tent for the price. There are only 3 poles to set up and It does look a little awkward but it does the job. It is a light tent. Some of the posts are already bent but that cant be helped in the ground up in these mountains sometimes. Overall, I like this product and do recommend it to people.

    Read More
    highdesert39 August 1, 2012
  • bill d
    Verified Purchase

    Excellent tent for two people; three would be a pinch. My son and I have used this tent on several Scout campouts and had plenty of room. the two doors and two vestibules add space for stowing equipment to give more room in the tent.

    Read More
    williamd December 11, 2011
  • very roomy
    Verified Purchase

    First off was larger than I expected instead of being cramped up in a 2 person me my girlfriend and my LARGE dog had ample room plus with all the pockets and mesh loft very comfortable. Vestibules are spacious zippers work good and its not to drafty. Easy to set up, didn't have a chance to test in rain but feels like it will hold up fine. Great for Backpacking not to heavy and the price is right. And of course Overstock rocks.

    Read More
    wavess69 October 16, 2011
  • roomy large light tent
    Verified Purchase

    this tent was used on a 10 day backing trip for two people. we needed a larger tent because we are both over 6ft tall. we tried a number of tents and this on fit our needs perfectly. it was long enough and wide enough for us to store gear at our sides and at our feet. we were very pleased with how light it was despite it's large size. it set up and packed up easily. i would have rated it 5 stars except for a tear we found in the sleeve for one of the poles after 4 nights of use. we had to pack it up while it had heavy frost on it. all the fabric was frozen stiff. i am guessing the cause of the tear was from ice and not because the tent fabric was defective. it is a good tent for the price.

    Read More
    outdoorchik September 27, 2011
  • Quality Entry Level Tent
    Verified Purchase

    This is a very good entry level tent for the money. The stitching, zippers, poles, and other materials all seem to be high quality and the design is well thought out. The rain fly is taped and sealed which was nice to see in a tent in the Recluse's price range. Overall, the tent is comfortable and suitable for two people with gear. You'll only be able to fit three people into this tent if your gear is stored outside. We've used this tent in fairly heavy rainstorms and have not experience any water problems. It is breathable, but not drafty and is light weight enough to use backpacking. There were no setup instructions included in the packaging, however, we were able to complete the setup in about 10 minutes without trouble.

    Read More
    rhomeruns June 30, 2010
  • Bummer
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this tent for a trip to Africa where I would be living in this tent for a month. I was happy with the size and the storage pockets and the shelf. What I hated was the angle between the tent and the rain-fly vestibules was so small that you couldn't get underneath the rain-fly and then get into your tent you had to let the rain in as you got into the tent and then zipped them both closed. Also, for some reason the zippers didn't line up - the rain-fly zipped from left to right and the tent zipped the opposite way, which was really strange and hard to get out of in the middle of the night. The worst part about this tent is that after the first three days of rain it started leaking through the door seams and the ceiling. Granted, I understand that most tents aren't made for more than a quick weekend here or there, so if you are looking just for that this tent is great but if you want something that lasts go with something quality.

    Read More
    tennis1grl May 20, 2010
Sponsored Links