Today: $28.49

At other retailer: $38.81

Save $10.32 (27%)

Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Melissa & Doug Beginner Band Set

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Second Beginner Band Set Purchase
    Verified Purchase

    Toddler gift purchase (I bought two!) - well made to last at a great price.

    Read More
    Carol S. March 8, 2017
  • Disappointing
    Reviewed at http://www.melissaanddoug.com

    This was a very disappointing toy set. The harmonica is awful, the xylophone was worse. The only thing that works is the castanets.

    Read More
    Grandma January 26, 2017
  • Very nice.
    Verified Purchase

    Gift for my grandaughter. She has enjoyed playing music.

    Read More
    Angela J. January 21, 2017
  • Drummer in the making.
    Reviewed at http://www.melissaanddoug.com

    My 3 year old granddaughter wants to be a percussionist just like her grandpop.

    Read More
    Lori January 10, 2017
  • Disappointing. Save your money.
    Reviewed at http://www.melissaanddoug.com

    For the price, it's not fair to expect concert quality instruments, but it is perfectly fair to expect the items to do what they're supposed to do on a basic level. The xylophone and the harmonica don't work. It's hard to elaborate without demonstrating, but the sound from the bars on the xylophone were blunted (had no sustain) or flat out had the wrong pitch (even the plastic Playskool models can accomplish acceptably accurate pitch) and the harmonica sounded as if it had been thrown against a wall and had the reeds knocked out of alignment, making it sound detuned. Manufacturing these instruments can be done in cost effective ways while still retaining good outcomes with sound quality. Durability might be another story, but they're not supposed to be family heirlooms at this price (which is fine). Still, it's fair to expect that they do what they were designed to do. No word from the company after writing, so I guess this will just end up in the landfill. Save your money, though. You can get separate pieces that will actually work for pretty cheap and you won't be driven crazy by the dissonant noises your child makes even when using the pieces correctly.

    Read More
    MM August 28, 2016
  • Mostly Awesome
    Reviewed at http://www.melissaanddoug.com

    We got this for my daughter's birthday. We picked this specifically due to her love of all things musical. Within an hour we threw away the harmonica (cheap plastic harmonica that blew so horribly out of tune and high pitched at that!) and the kazoo (there wasn't any way to actually get air through it or anything inside of it to create the classic, kazoo sound!). That being said, we love the box it came in. 2 years later and that is still what we store them in. All of the other instruments play nicely and have held up through 2 years of play and a cross country move. If you want a kazoo or harmonica, look elsewhere, otherwise this box is for you!

    Read More
    MegEBK July 14, 2016
  • Sturdy beginner band set
    Verified Purchase

    I got this for my nephew for Christmas. He was about 14 months then and it was perfect for him. The box says something like ages three and up but it was totally fine for my nephew. He liked everything in it, loved, in fact. The only negative was that the kazoo was worthless. It didn't play much at all (little to no sound when you blew in it). My nephew loved everything regardless!

    Read More
    marseepees May 4, 2016
  • Kevin
    Verified Purchase

    The kids love having these instutments.

    Read More
    jazzminekelly53 March 16, 2016
  • beginner band set
    Reviewed at http://www.melissaanddoug.com

    I bought this set for my 2 year old. The harmonica, jingle stick, and the castanets were a hit. However, the xylophone and the kazoo were a huge disappointment. No sound will come out of the kazoo. As for the xylophone, the only time we can really hear different musical notes is if we run the wooden mallet quickly across all of the bars at one time. If we simply hit each bar separately, the sounds are very close and not at all entertaining for our little one.

    Read More
    Lori March 13, 2016
  • Good start
    Reviewed at http://www.melissaanddoug.com

    It is a great beginner set with tons of learning to be had. The quality is not amazing which is why I only gave it 3 stars.It is great that it comes on a wooden tray that you can take out, your child can paint and use to play with Melissa and Doug play food.

    Read More
    Musicmom March 8, 2016
  • Noise makers, not instruments
    Reviewed at http://www.melissaanddoug.com

    We didn't realize the instruments wouldn't be tuned. For example, the xylophone's keys are not in order. They are just random notes, not in a scale. That makes this a really poor toy for people who would like children to learn something about music. It's only useful as a noise maker. A shame from a toy company I had trusted to make good quality toys. As a Kindergarten teacher and mother, I would not recommend this toy.

    Read More
    MrsB December 26, 2015
  • He loves it
    Verified Purchase

    This is a go to toy for our 18 month old boy. He enjoys it on his own or it can be very interactive when multiple instruments are used with others. Very good quality.

    Read More
    1203barb April 1, 2015
  • Christmas Orchestra
    Verified Purchase

    Grandson loves it. Well made, colorful, perfect choice!

    Read More
    kathcharlottenc December 18, 2014
  • Fun set to play with
    Verified Purchase

    Fun colorful set to play with and introduce your child to the different musical instruments. Some reviews of this set mention not working kazoo - actually it does work - I had to watch several youtube videos on how to use this instrument - kazoo is for humming into and not for blowing air, etc. Overall I am happy with this set and my toddler loves it. I would recommend this.

    Read More
    love2shop4goods January 23, 2014
  • I am buying this again and recommend it
    Reviewed at http://www.melissaanddoug.com

    My grandkids love this kit and the sister kit that has the triangle. The harmonica is everyone's favorite! Buying this for great-nephews!

    Read More
    Granna December 17, 2013
  • Loved It
    Verified Purchase

    My 2 year old loved this product. He plays with it regularly. The Gazoo didn't work at all but it was worth it anyway!

    Read More
    batman88 January 14, 2012
  • Lots of fun!
    Reviewed at http://www.melissaanddoug.com

    My two year old got this for her birthday and loves the whole set. All the items are easy to use and fun for even the adults to interact with.

    Read More
    Earthy Momma September 8, 2011
  • My child loves this!!
    Reviewed at http://www.melissaanddoug.com

    Great items! Would recommend

    Read More
    Ash Renee January 2, 2011
Sponsored Links