| Help relief efforts across the country by Donating Now ›
Sale $35.09

Was: $38.99

Save $3.90 (10%)

Out of Stock
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Handmade Soapstone Chess Set 12x12 (India)

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Was not happy
    Verified Purchase

    It looks awesome from the picture on the page. But when you get it it looks really cheap made.

    Read More
    Penny M. May 18, 2017
  • We love it.
    Verified Purchase

    Christmas gift that really turned out well. We play chess all the time and this set is gorgeous, but not too pricey, and we get a lot of use out of it.

    Read More
    Alice M. February 16, 2017
  • Chess board
    Verified Purchase

    Looked nice but the chess pieces were much smaller than expected

    Read More
    PJ N. January 5, 2017
  • Game night for me and my husband
    Verified Purchase

    we love this set very sturdy and well made

    Read More
    nubianms November 2, 2016
  • small pieces
    Verified Purchase

    again when I purchased this item I thought it would be bigger but isn't not satisfied at all

    Read More
    Olga Q. March 25, 2016
  • Broken Chess Board
    Verified Purchase

    When I received product it was chipping in places and I returned. So sad that it wasn't very good quality when I received it.

    Read More
    OstkUser65645 December 9, 2015
  • Well made!
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this set for my husband and he loves it, even though I beat him at our first game. It's well made and beautiful. Highly recommended!

    Read More
    Karen D. December 5, 2015
  • Board is very nice.....pieces fagile
    Verified Purchase

    This was gift for my 28 yr old son. The board is very nice as is the velvet lined individual storage. Pieces are fragile. This will be an issue for him as he wants to teach his little girl chess. It was well wrapped & packaged, but one of the pieces arrived broken. My son wanted to keep it, so he glued it back together. I m sure he will replace the pieces eventually, so the storage probably then will be a mute point- hard to find new pieces to fit the storage shapes of these pieces

    Read More
    jerseygal08 January 7, 2014
  • Soapstone Chess Set.
    Verified Purchase

    Bought this as a Christmas gift for someone I know. It is a beautiful set to just have sitting around or using if you're a chess player. If not already a chess player nut, I'm hoping this guy becomes one and uses this beautiful set.

    Read More
    phyllis60 October 29, 2013
  • Not Recommended
    Verified Purchase

    Things you should know: 1. The image on the site and the product are different. For instance the pawn is half the size (my girlfriend accurately described them as "missing their torsos" as compared with the photo). I returned the first set because of this, asked them to send me something at least close to the photographed product, and received the exact same thing except... 2. Pieces were broken. Each piece is made of two parts and roughly glued together, but one king arrived in two pieces. However, even if they stay in tact, pieces were often chipped. For example a black bishop was chipped exposing a large patch of white, unsightly stone beneath. 3. If you care about the interior (I don't), it's not put together well. The case feels like it might fall apart at any given moment. I was sitting there thinking "I could glue the king back together and use a marker to color the stone and buy a finish for the interior wood and buy new hinges and...wait - didn't I just buy this?" I was hoping to buy a nice chessboard at a decent price, but this was not it.

    Read More
    matthewctx August 15, 2013
  • Nice product.
    Verified Purchase

    This was an excellent gift for my boyfriend. The only problem we have had is that pieces break very easily, but with such a delicate material that is to be expected. The board and storage is very nice.

    Read More
    april221984 March 5, 2012
  • Cute but very poor quality.
    Verified Purchase

    I was very dissatisfied with this product. The moment I opened and pulled it out of the tiny box it arrived in I knew I would be sending it back. It was really unfortunate because it was supposed to be a Christmas gift for my husband and there was no way I would present it to him. I sent it back and ordered an electronic one instead. The pieces looked as though they were hand carved by a child and the fabric on the bottom of the pieces were glued on wrong and hung over the edges of the pieces. Not recommended for a gift of any special occasion.

    Read More
    jesusfreak2 January 22, 2012
  • mostly good
    Verified Purchase

    Good stone chess set for someone who wants something nicer than plastic pieces~ but isn't really ready to get a full blown expensive stone set yet. The stone on the board is nicely constructed and perfectly smooth to the touch, the pieces are decently carved(could be better, but I'm still satisfied). I love that the board has built in case to store the pieces when they're not in use~ the interior liner is as cheap as can be(I may replace it myself if it ever gives me flak), but does the job and didn't greatly impact my overall pleasure with the purchase.

    Read More
    lynlewis August 5, 2011
  • I was hoping for more
    Verified Purchase

    I was a little disappointed with the chess set. I was expecting it to be nicer. The pieces are pretty small, and not very well carved. Kind of like you would expect if someone carved a thousand of them a day. The case is pretty cheaply made, too; especially the fabric on the interior. I ordered it as a gift for my adult son, and once it arrived I realized that I could not give him that. I went to the mall and bought a nicer carved wooden chess set, although I did end up paying more for it

    Read More
    wigglyone January 11, 2011
  • beautiful
    Verified Purchase

    The chess set was the perfect one I was looking for. It's unique and the peices have a good weight. I added felt to the bottom of the pieces which was easy.

    Read More
    ndbuckeye January 8, 2011
  • Decent set for the money
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this set for my Grandson. I wanted pieces that were heavier than the standard plastic sets. The case/ board was very sturdy and nice looking. The pieces had a solid feel to them. My only problem is that two pieces became disconnected from their base and had to be glued back on.

    Read More
    cbretl January 5, 2011
  • good set
    Verified Purchase

    The pieces and board of this chess set are very cool! It is a very attractive chess set, especially for the price. It was quite the deal in my opinion! Most chess sets I looked at were much more expensive. The inside padding that keeps the chess pieces in place was pretty cheap and did not look as nice as the rest of the set but it does its job in keeping the pieces nice and organized. Love this set!

    Read More
    dutchy1921 July 3, 2010
  • Soapstone Chess Set
    Verified Purchase

    This chess set is awesome. We bought it for our 12 year old who loves chess. We read all the other reviews, and took the advice to put felt on the bottom of the pieces to prevent chipping or scratching and it works great!! The pieces still fit in the case, too. My son thinks this is the best gift he ever got. He take it out sometimes just to look at the pieces. We also gave him the story of how the set was made. It seems a little fragile, but we will just be careful with it. It was definitely worth the price and it was a great gift!!

    Read More
    able2buy November 24, 2009
  • sweet!!!!!!
    Verified Purchase

    this chess set is heavy, well crafted, and the box is well made. the chess board is inlaid with stone as well. really nice chess set overall. and affordable.

    Read More
    kitterman12003 June 18, 2009
  • Chess Set
    Verified Purchase

    I had read previous reviews that complained about getting a cracked case. My set came and the case was fine. it is a very nice chess set.

    Read More
    OstkUser1363326 February 6, 2009
Sponsored Links