Today $157.99

At other retailer: $205.42

Save $47.43 (23%)

Free Shipping*
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Exerpeutic Space-Saver Semi-Recumbent Bike with Pulse - Black

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Relevant
  • Most Relevant
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Great Bike for Short Men and Most Women
    Verified Purchase

    I would give the bike five stars if it could accommodate the full stretch of my legs. But it can't, and I'm not tall (5'9"). I would heartily recommend the bike for persons under 5'8" or, even more so, for persons under 5'7" in height. Still, I can get a good workout if I sit on a couple of thick cushions that I add atop the seat. The pedal resistance adjusts from easy to quite strong, stronger than I can pedal for more than a few minutes. It is possible to pedal either forward or backward or to coast and take a breather. The performance monitor either scans pulse, speed distance, time, and calories burned or, if I choose, show any one of these constantly. The display is large and distinct, though I do have to lean forward a bit to read it. The bike is stable in use. Its lightweight and small hind rollers allow moving it easily in order to position it where I want. Its 38.5" length takes up minimal space. The bike comes unassembled, but assembling it is not complicated and takes only about an hour or so. Assembly instructions are about as clear as such instructions come. I recommend following these instructions strictly in the given sequence. It is especially important to pay close attention to instructions for screwing in the pedals. The bolt for the left pedal threads in the opposite direction than the bolt for the right pedal. The pedals are clearly labeled L and R. Incorrectly screwing in the pedals is the one thing in assembling the bike that can do serious damage to it. The most vexing step in assembling the bike is the very last one: attaching the rubber foot straps to the pedals. This requires pulling/stretching the foot straps a little in order to snap them into place. A gently tug with a pair of pliers (the one tool not included in the shipping box) can help.

    Read More
    jaxcomment November 5, 2012
  • Great bike at a great price
    Verified Purchase

    Having always loved the recumbent bikes at the gym, I was happy to find this well-reviewed bike at such an amazing price. A little wary at first but once I began using the bike, I am happy to give it a five star review. The package is heavy (I needed the doorman's help to get it to my third floor place). Assembly was pretty straightforward and took about 45 minutes (I suggest doing a bit at a time to avoid getting overwhelmed like I do when faced with assembly). Was simple to get every aspect of the bike working - the little computer, the tension control, seat adjustment - all easy to change and definitely feels like a much more expensive piece of equipment than it is. I've put a few hundred miles on the bike and it has been wonderful. Operation is VERY quiet (you can exercise at any time without concerns of anyone, even in the same room, being disturbed). The only thing that I was not aware of until I received the bike is that it is only semi-recumbent. Isn't a bit deal for me (took ~2 minutes to get used to the difference). Provides a great, quiet workout, has none of the drawbacks of an upright bike, the controls are easy to put together and easy to use AND this is a great design for a small space. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!

    Read More
    tripletoe December 7, 2011
  • Tour du HAPPY
    Verified Purchase

    Received within 2 days of ordering. Put together in minutes, instructions were great, not many parts to assemble. It's soooo sturdy. LOVE, LOVE the seat, cushy and wide!! I also appreciate the computer face, numbers nice and big to see distance, calories, time, speed and pulse. It's also very, very quiet, I can workout late at night without disturbing my neighbors. I recently had total knee replacement surgery, also I wanted to workout to lose some weight and cycling was the best alternative. This is the best investment I've made in a long, long time. I love that it's portable, when not in use, I fold up and roll out of sight. LOVE IT!! I've already posted picture and info on my Facebook page about it.

    Read More
    csamgo July 28, 2011
  • Great Value!
    Verified Purchase

    We are very pleased with this bike. It is exactly as described. It is not a high-quality, heavy-duty gym type machine, so if that's what you are expecting, you would be disappointed. There are no programs or bells and whistles, it is a very simple bike that is well-made but not impressive. At this price-point, the bike is of high quality. It is a fairly small profile bike, perfect for a bedroom, office, family room, apartment, etc. It is simple to use and sturdy. It is light weight enough for me (female, 5'6" good physical condition, reasonably strong) to life and move on my own, yet it is stable due to design, not weight. Tension settings are adequate, computer tracks speed, distance, calories, heart rate, time. The movement is pretty smooth for a bike at this price point. The seat is large enough and comfortable for up to an hour of use. The pedals are a good size, but the straps are a little tight for orthopedic style shoes or heavy sneakers. The bike is used primarily by my 94 year old grandfather who has had knee and hip replacement surgery. He can get on off the bike on his own safely. We do keep a 4 footed cane nearby for him to lean on as there is no weight bearing structure handle towards the front of the bike for balance. It is simple for him to use, and he's very pleased with the quality of exercise. The cycling exercise is great, non-impact, and his health and quality of life, including mobility and cognitive function have improved greatly in just a few weeks of use, and he's so proud of himself for how far he can go. This is much easier than walking, and is great for joint flexibility and anyone who is rehabbing a joint like a hip or knee. My husband, 6'0 over 200 pounds also uses the bike, on the highest seat setting, and is pleased with the performance.

    Read More
    smlechten April 6, 2012
  • What a Deal!
    Verified Purchase

    I was looking for a way to exercsie my legs without walking outside or using a treadmill because my balance is really bad. I started seeing reviews of indoor exercise cycles from people who were recovering from a variety of illnesses and it looked like a good match for me. Now to find the right one. I looked everywhere and read hundreds of reviews and finally settled on the Exerpeutic 400X Semi Rcumbent Bike. The fact that it could fold up was not necessary, but an added bonus. All the good things others said in their reviews of this bike were accurate. This bike was quite easy to assemble. I didn't do it, but my husband did it in about half an hour. And, yes, the screws are in place. You just remove them, put the appropriate pieces together and screw them in again. The parts of the bike are very well-constructed and heavy-duty, making it a very sturdy, well-balanced machine. The seat is easily adjustable. We found a spot that fit us both. We're both of medium height. The computer part works, except, as others have noted, for the pulse feature. I didn't care about that. And there is an extra connector that we couldn't figure out what to do with, but it's not in the way. We've been using this bike daily since we got it, and everything else works great. And, oh boy, is it quiet! We watched the Tour de France and are now watching the Olymnpics while we pedal. No interfering sound from the bike at all! Again, as others have noted, if you're going to pedal for a long time, I would recommend a cushion on the seat and maybe one behind your back. So, to wrap it up, this bike is perfect for our needs. Also, it was on sale at Overstock, with free shipping. I am extremely happy with this purchase and expect it to last many, many years!

    Read More
    ritaresearch July 31, 2012
  • Love This Exercise Bike!
    Verified Purchase

    This semi-recumbent bike is a very good buy. Based on good reviews from elswhere, I started searching for it. Couldn't fing it anywhere here in Canada...not unusual. Then, started searching all sites on-line. Overstock was the only one to have it. I was a little nervous about shipping something this large up from the States, but all went perfectly. It was a very reasonable shipping cost, came on time, and in perfect condition. Yay Overstock! Because I originally couldn't find the Exerpeutic anywhere, I had actually previously ordered a similar type exercise cycle-different manufacturer- from a Canadian company. It came with the box smashed up, and inside were many broken pieces rattling around. When we took it out of the box, we could see that the over-all quality was terrible. Back it went! And then we found the Exerpeutic on Overstock, and it's been a great experience. So...to the bike itself. It feels very solid and stable, and it is sooo quiet. You really can watch t.v. while you pedal and not disturb anyone else in the room. I also love that the electonics are set low so that you can watch t.v. while you're on it. Some people have felt that it might be a bit difficult to see the read-outs. I haven't had a problem with this, and it wouldn't have put me off buying it. I wanted something that I could just get on and go. But I can see them just fine. It is very comfortable. The seat is wide, and the back support feels just right. I have fibromyalgia, so this is all very important to me. It feels very solid and smooth when pedalling. I am doing a few arm exercises while I pedal, just to get things moving all over. I think that this bike can work well with an adjustable desk so that you could work on a computer and pedal away. I haven't tried this yet, but I'm going to! I work from home, so this could be a huge plus. I hope the bike holds up- it feels like it will. I've owned it for a few weeks now. I will update in awhile. To sum up, I love this Exerpeutic bike, and can recommend it to anyone. Also, thanks to Overstock for a really good experience!

    Read More
    kathiw1 May 22, 2012
  • Great Bike. Great Price.
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased this bike because I needed an at home cardio workout machine. I needed to lose some weight and was very limited in exercise options due to some medical conditions. (Back and knee problems along with stomach muscle integrity issues.) My doctor recommended a recumbent bike. Getting up and down from a regular recumbent bike was difficult so this was the perfect compromise. I can easily get on and off this machine with no problem. It is incredibly quiet and completely stable when in use. The seat is much wider than a normal stationary bike so it is comfortable for longer workouts. The LCD read out is large and easy to read. It doesn't take up much space and is easy to fold up and set aside. I was concerned, because of my size, that the pulse handles would rub against my legs while pedaling - they do not. However, I would not recommend this for anyone who is over 5'10. I'm 5'8 and I get full extension on my legs with the seat at it's farthest setting. My husband is 6'2 and cannot get full extension even with a pillow for added height. It will easily hold 300lbs with no problem. This is a very nice machine. Not flimsy or cheap in any way. Exactly what I was looking for.

    Read More
    maeeve2014 March 13, 2014
  • Good workout, good value
    Verified Purchase

    Haven't been able to get to gym as often so ordered this bike after seeing the other reviews. Once received took this old lady about an hour and twenty minutes to put together. As others have reported, it is whisper quiet and gives a good aerobic exercise. Most hardware is attached to the parts with a wrench included. I was unable to find the wrench packed until recycling the packaging, I located it tucked underneath a Styrofoam piece, so be aware. When attaching the stabilizers make sure the wheeled stabilizer is on the correct end of the bike. Instructions don't state this, but the picture does. The computer is large and easy to read. Batteries are included. Scanner will show mileage, calories, distance and pulse at about 5 second intervals. The only negative, for me, is that the computer is larger, so when you are cycling your knees may gently rub against the computer and my legs are thin. My son, who is 6'3" and about 195 lbs rode on it and while the bike remained stable, it wasn't very comfortable for his size. His knees did hit the computer on the sides. Very stable and easy to remove the pins and "fold" it up for storage. The seat back is fixed so you cannot adjust it, I would say it leans back about 10 degrees. The seat does have one adjustment backwards or forward. The tension works well, I'm still at 1, and increasing the tension was definitely felt. Doesn't roll as well on carpet, but does great on wood floor. I was able to lift and move it easily.

    Read More
    eriette February 25, 2014
  • Exceeded my expectations so far.
    Verified Purchase

    I was looking for something I could ride comfortably while working on the computer, playing a video game, or watching a movie. I am 200+ lbs and needed something sturdy and something that would allow me to get a good strong workout. I have been athletic all my life so something cheap and limited in resistance would not work. Pros I got the equipment within 5 days (which was expected) and I assembled it in <30 minutes using the delivered instructions and tools. It was very easy to assemble. The product is very durable and is very comfortable and provides sufficient resistance for a hard workout. The motion is very smooth and very quit (I was very surprised and the low noise level). I have owned a lot of exercise equipment in my lifetime (i'm 42). When it comes to bikes, many of them have a chair that is not sufficiently fastened and they always end up making a bunch of noise after a little use. This one has a very strong chair support and doesn't move at all or make noise. I love the semi-recumbent nature of it. It is like sitting in a kitchen chair but with a bike built in. This allows you to VERY EASILY work on a computer or eat from a table or whatever while riding it. A huge plus for me since I spend 2/3 of my day on a computer. By the way, I wrote this whole review while riding the machine at a pretty good pace :) Cons There are only 2 cons I have seen so far. 1) The computer piece is plastic and has no metal backing. This means if you try to use it for leverage to move the bike, it will break off (this happened to me). I was able to fix it back on but it would be nice if they had a metal backing or handle sticking out the top. 2) The wheels provides for moving the machine at part of the back floor rod. Depending on how you attach this rod, the wheels can be up or down. If they are up, they help move the bike once it has been folded up. If they are down, they help move the bike when it is not folded up. Unfortunately, you have to choose one or the other. It would be nice if you had both options with a single install. Overall this product has exceeded my expectations.

    Read More
    rss181919 November 14, 2012
  • Satisfied with the bike
    Verified Purchase

    I really like my exercise bike. I've been having a hard time incorporating exercise into my life and wanted something I could use while watching TV or playing video games. This bike is almost perfect. It is VERY quiet which was extremely important to me. I like the tracking features (distance, time, etc.). I like that it folds somewhat and is fairly portable because it sits in my living room (no excuse not to exercise!) but is easily scooted into a corner. The tension control is easy to adjust and works great. I didn't have any problems with the pulse monitor working but there are several connections that need to be made so follow the instructions carefully. I wish it was a true recumbant bicycle because I could probably ride for hours (medium/low tension of course) while gaming, but after 1 hour it becomes uncomfortable to sit on. But it is much more comfortable than a traditional bike seat. Pros: Looks and works as advertised Super quiet Excellent price Tension control is quick, simple, and very effective Stable - I can ride fast and hard and it does not wobble I do recommend this to my friends and would happily buy it again Cons: More upright than I hoped but that's the trade off for the portability I wish the little tracking computer was powered by my efforts rather than by batteries...

    Read More
    punksailor October 20, 2012
  • I'm Impressed - For The Price
    Verified Purchase

    I am mostly giving this 4 stars because it is AMAZING for the cost but not quite 5-star material. It was easy to assemble and I really felt like it was made of good quality materials as I was putting it together and once it was assembled. The computer works well and I love that it tracks my pulse. Based on exercise I've done on other, more expensive models, the pulse rate seems accurate. It isn't as comfortable as I would like, but I think that may be because it is SEMI-recumbent and I would prefer for my legs to be more level with my hips. My only real complaint may get better as I get used to using the machine and figure out exactly how to adjust the seat- my inner legs, just above the knee brush against the computer a little while I pedal and I do not have particularly large legs. This leads me to tilt my legs out slightly and I don't think that's very good for me. We'll see. Overall I am loving this machine and plan to use it often!

    Read More
    car0line January 3, 2013
  • Sweet bike!
    Verified Purchase

    This bike is pretty cool I must say. I put it together in about 45 mins. First 5 minutes I spent cleaning 2 cuts I got on my leg from the huge sharp staples that were sticking out of the large shipping box so be careful and get the box out of the way before beginning to put all the parts together. I remember reading something about people having trouble with a rubber band or something but didn't come across any problems in putting the bike together at all. I found some rubber bands on the screws but it was just to hold them in place during shipping I think. I took them off and tossed them out. I'm used to using the recumbent bikes at the gym so this isn't too much different. I think it's easier to sit way back and pedal so this isn't as relaxing as you are more upright but it gives you more of a workout I think. I rode it on level 5 for about 30 minutes and rode 6 miles burning 300 calories (according to the monitor but who knows how perfect it is). I'm a female in my mid thirties, 5'5" and 165lbs and it made me sweat by the 20 minute mark. Hoping in a few months I'll be in a bit better shape. The seat was fine and not uncomfortable. It is super quiet and can't be heard. I was using it in my room and someone came in and was like "whacha doing?" because it was so was quiet. They were surprised I was riding the bike. Really easy to pull the pins out and fold it up. It's not too heavy either. I've been moving mine all around. I may get one for my mom who is 76 and really likes it. Now I just have to keep doing it for 30 minutes a day and increase the resistance each week and shed the 20lbs that I need to. Overall this is a great purchase for the money.

    Read More
    sunset321 August 22, 2012
  • Should be called the Little Gem Gym!
    Verified Purchase

    I was a little skeptical because of the stated weight, and of course the low price. I was sure it would feel wobbly, or unsteady, and would be unwieldy when folded. Boy as I surprised! I put it togethe in half and hour, and was worn out from exercise in another half hour. It has a very smooth operation, with precise control over tension from the magnetic resistance knob. It feels as good as the 350 pound monster I have in my cabin. I was amazed at how safe I felt sitting on it with just the handles by the seat to hold on too. I then folded it up and carried it up two flights of stairs to the loft in the condo by myself, set it up and used it again, then folded it and placed it out of the way till tomorrow. Not bad for a 76 year old man who had a hip replacement less than one month ago. Thanks for a great product!!!

    Read More
    thexpeditor October 20, 2011
  • Delivers as Promised!
    Verified Purchase

    What a terrific bike! It is absolutely silent and offers a super workout. Adjustable features - seat height, pedal straps and pedal tension allow for a customized experience. I start my day by turning on the news and jumping on my bike. It's that easy....although don't be fooled - you can get a healthy, heart pounding workout if you want. I LOVE it. Great purchase at a great price!

    Read More
    redhds January 25, 2013
  • Great bike
    Verified Purchase

    This is an excellent bike, especially for the price. It was really easy to put together. The display on the unit is nice. The display can be easily seen. The size of the unit is small so it doesn't take up a lot of space. The bike is amazingly quiet. I was able to exercise while my daughter was taking a nap in the same room and she didn't stir at all. The unit can be folded up & packed away pretty simply when guests come over. The tension control provides enough options for me to increase the intensity of my workout. I have a lot of joint problems so this bike is working out very well for rehab of my muscles. The only gripe I have is that my legs sometimes hit the display as I am pedaling but the display can be adjusted so it's not a huge deal. I am used to gym equipment & was hesitant to buy this because I thought it couldn't compare, but it is a great bike for a great price.

    Read More
    stormv April 19, 2012
  • Great Buy
    Verified Purchase

    This bike is awesome - had it put together in 30 minutes, quiet, effective and easy to move around. Love that it monitors pulse. keeps track of distance and calories burned. Would suggest for anyone who would like an effective home device.

    Read More
    mstrawsi February 21, 2013
  • Terrific bike for the price!
    Verified Purchase

    I live on the 2nd floor of an apartment, and this bike is so quiet that no one can hear it! It was not difficult for one person to assemble either. I have back and knee problems but I've had no pains using this bike. I've had no problems with the adjustable tension nor the heart rate monitor. Very happy with this!

    Read More
    bellemichelle November 12, 2014
  • exercise bike
    Verified Purchase

    So happy with this exercise bike. It comes with the 2 tools necessary to put it together, and all but 3 screws are in place- just loosen and remove screw, add piece and replace screw. Seat so comfortable, with back rest, and pedals smoothly, I have been using daily. Also back rest folds down when not using- so makes it less noticeable. I have it in my bedroom, and watch TV while pedaling. Computer keeps track of the speed, time, calories, so I can see my progress. Price was awesome, with free shipping too. Very Happy! -also solidly made, sturdy, with rubber base feet that rolls.

    Read More
    antacid1 January 24, 2015
  • Couldn't be happier!
    Verified Purchase

    I put my bike together last night and have used it several times already. The assembly instructions looked daunting but it really wasn't that difficult. It took me about 30-40 minutes. The seat and back make it very comfortable to ride. I read reviews that said it was quiet but I was still surprised by how very quiet it is. The action is smooth. It is just a pleasure to use. One thing-- if you are tall or have especially long legs, it may not fit you that well, i.e. your legs may not fully extend. This morning I read a magazine while I exercised. The design of it is nice-- you don't have a big upright thing in front of you with handlebars making it easy to use handweights and do some upper body while you pedal. I feel like I picked the perfect bike for myself at a great price.

    Read More
    trilby16 December 13, 2012
  • Perfect for us!
    Verified Purchase

    We are two busy professionals with a lot of weight to lose. Due to our size, it is tough on our knees and ankles to use any kind of upright exercise machine. This bike is terrific for our small home as we can store it easily and set it up quickly for working out. The seat is very comfortable and the computer features (calories, distance, speed & pulse) are all easy to read. The tension knob is easy to adjust.

    Read More
    legolasislove January 1, 2013