Add to cart to see price
Free Shipping
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Barska 40070 Starwatcher 300-power Compact Refractor Telescope

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Junk
    Verified Purchase

    This item is a kids toy, 100% plastic. Not worth it. Will not purchase from overstock again.

    Read More
    Guillermo C. February 11, 2017
  • Angie
    Verified Purchase

    Perfect size for a young child, a little difficult to focus. Takes a while to get set up.

    Read More
    Angela M. November 1, 2016
  • Looking at the Stars
    Verified Purchase

    Haven't used it yet but hope to real soon. Haven't had time.

    Read More
    maher October 25, 2016
  • So-So
    Verified Purchase

    Purchased for my son as a "starter" telescope. The problem is that the unit is extremely unsteady. Dad will have to look for a way to stabilize the telescope which otherwise works great.

    Read More
    Jessica F. May 26, 2016
  • It does the trick
    Verified Purchase

    Got this for my husband a few years back. Great little telescope and even better price.

    Read More
    stuckinok May 15, 2016
  • sons xmas
    Verified Purchase

    hes very happy with it, he has been on the computer looking for star coordinates to be able to look at them from the back yard.

    Read More
    Brian L. February 27, 2016
  • Barska Telescope
    Verified Purchase

    Great Telescope for the money. It would be better if it had a longer tripod. It's only a table top.

    Read More
    Jeffrey V. February 13, 2016
  • For the novice like us...
    Verified Purchase

    For the price of this telescope, this is a great deal! You can see the moon pretty well but if you want to stargaze you will probably need something stronger. We are novices and we are happy with this telescope. We will eventually upgrade to something stronger but for now we are having a lot of fun learning with this one.

    Read More
    Stan L. January 5, 2016
  • Perfect Gift.
    Verified Purchase

    The whole family is enjoying this.

    Read More
    Sharon G. January 4, 2016
  • Kids gift
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased this as a xmas gift a few years ago and my boys love taking a look at the moon and the Stars the best part is trying to catch something else or so they say...

    Read More
    Guadalupe S. December 9, 2015
  • telescope
    Verified Purchase

    very basic beginner telescope, but for a first timer is all you need, i watched the full moon eclipse with it and it was spectacular, managed to see mars and some other stars, such as sirius A and B which I wasnt even aware of existing. Now its time for a bit more professional one, in order to see nebulas, and other more distant objects, any advices would be welcome!

    Read More
    Milan N. November 22, 2015
  • look a martian!
    Verified Purchase

    suprising how powerful it really is !

    Read More
    Theresa M. November 1, 2015
  • Moon gazer
    Verified Purchase

    I am very interestd in astronomy and this is nice . Can see the rings of saturn. So cool

    Read More
    Wyatt B. July 23, 2015
  • Spend more, get more.
    Verified Purchase

    Unstable. Impossible to focus. Impossible to adjust. Pretty much worthless. I threw this item away on day 3. One of the pieces fell apart while attaching it. A tension spring which held a lens in place was defective, and the lens simply fell out of the tube. The tripod is so unstable that you can not make adjustments to fine tune your target, as making adjustments causes the target to disappear from the field of vision. Please, if you want a telescope, look for something made in Germany or Japan. Quality matters when it comes to precision instruments, and this one fails miserably on all accounts.

    Read More
    David C. June 28, 2015
  • beginners telescope
    Verified Purchase

    This was bought for my grand daughter was disappointed the tripod was not taller over all it's a good scope for a beginner but needs a taller tripod.

    Read More
    tomg January 14, 2015
  • Great for a budding astronomer!
    Verified Purchase

    This Telescope was purchased as a Holiday gift for my daughter. PROS: 1. Box arrived on time, undamaged (double packed) 2. Craftsmanship was good, especially given the low price. Based on other models in this price range that I looked at in department stores, this was put together much better, and with similar materials. 3. The magnification and features seem comparable or higher than competitor models. 4. The short barrel and light weight makes it easy for my 10 year old daughter to carry and position. 5. Fully adjustable tripod base & the manual controls provide granular movement for excellent focus on far away celestial objects (mostly the moon, at this magnification). CONS: 1. In order to achieve different levels of magnification you have to switch lenses (as with similar models). Because of the way this telescope was made, the lenses are not well protected during the transition, and children are likely to finger optics and the lenses are prone to scratching, or being dropped in the process (has not happened to us yet - but we're constantly reminding her to be careful). Otherwise, this is a great sturdy, child-resistant beginner telescope. 2. The tripod is small, and it must be used on a table or other raised surface which may not be readily available where you are trying to set up.

    Read More
    ~me February 11, 2014
  • Christmas present for Grandson. He held it up.
    Verified Purchase

    Grandson very Happy. Even his Dad said he wanted one. He worked with him.

    Read More
    mclpn December 25, 2013
  • My first
    Verified Purchase

    This is my first telescope. That's why I bought 2. It's always more fun to share a wonderful learning experience with someone else. To look up and realize how big everything really is, can make one feel small, to share it with someone else you love, makes you realize the importance of each other.

    Read More
    linecrosser November 7, 2013
  • not really happy with it.
    Verified Purchase

    Having a hard time adjusting to it, the instructions are not very usefull.

    Read More
    darlene1974 October 18, 2013
  • Starwatcher is great
    Verified Purchase

    I am very happy with how fast I received the telescope. It was exactly what I ordered.

    Read More
    jenr329 August 7, 2012
Sponsored Links