Today: $126.49
Out of Stock
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for ALPS Mountaineering XXL Comfort Air Pad

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
Club O Silver

Club O members earn Club O Rewards for writing reviews. Learn More

  • Comfortable
    Verified Purchase

    I used this for several nights on a Coleman folding cot and found it to be very comfortable considering it isn't a plush mattress. For someone getting older like me, it isn't easy to roll with the punches so I needed something that would allow me to sleep well. This is the thickest one they offered at the time and it filled the need. It is durable and well constructed.

    Read More
    Mark F. February 3, 2017
  • Awesome pad
    Verified Purchase

    Very comfortable, yet light

    Read More
    Arndt J. September 17, 2016
  • Not roughing it
    Verified Purchase

    These are probably too big for backpacking, we drove up to camp sites. They are about 4 inches thick, so you don't feel anything under them. The self-inflating thing is cool; these thick mattresses take 15-30 minutes to fully inflate. We squeezed some air out of my wife's to make hers softer. Packing up is easy: Open valves Fold from end opposite valves Close valves Unfold Roll up from end opposite valves Open valves when you get close enough to squeeze out more air

    Read More
    wiujeff July 25, 2012
  • Excellent!
    Verified Purchase

    This thing is amazing. If you saw the video where the guy measures it and it is not 4 inches thick then you need to understand that that guy doesn't know how to use a tape measure. Mine was slightly over 4 inches without adding any air. I actually press some air out when I use it on the floor. In the oversized tent cot I just let it fill up all the way and close the valves. It fits perfect on the 32 inch cot. I ordered it early one day and received it the next. If your big and or tall this is the one to get. I'm over six feet and slightly under 220 and like I said I let a little air out of it sometimes. It's so good I wrote a review for the first time ever.

    Read More
    uncle44 July 16, 2012
  • Old Man Camping...
    Verified Purchase

    I wouldn't want to have to carry this thing too far. Since I left the service and grown older, carrying heavy things long distances has lost its luster, great for auto-camping though...

    Read More
    cbemery July 5, 2012
  • The BEST self inflating pad I have ever seen
    Verified Purchase

    I am 6' 4" and 260lb This pad works perfectly even for me. I was told to blow it it up a little after inflated but found that was not neccessary at all, it was firm enough just self inflated and very comfortable. This is by far the nicest self infalting sleeping pad I have ever seen, I have another brand pad and it's ok but no where near as nice this one. The 4 inch thickness is perfect and the 30" width is very nice if you move at all in your sleep. I am going to buy another one while I can for a backup just in case.

    Read More
    mikecarter57 May 22, 2012
  • Highly Recomend
    Verified Purchase

    First id like to say that the shipping was Super Fast and cheap! Second the quality is first notch! Im a big and tall guy and this mat gives more than enough padding for me (6'3" @ 240lbs) it does take a couple of times of inflating to get to max fill but have found the quality to be very rugged and sturdy, i would recommend this mat to anyone, not sure if it would be good for backpacking as it is rather large rolled up in its carry case. I personally use it in a oversize cot tent and it fits perfectly, all makes for good storage in the back of my 07 jeep wrangler for weekend camping trips.

    Read More
    jesterjames May 19, 2012
  • Worth every penny
    Verified Purchase

    I'm a Boy Scout leader and do a good bit of camping. It was time for a new pad and I decided to go all out. When I got the pad and unrolled it, it took about 20 minutes for it to fully inflate. I was pleasantly surprised on how comfortable the pad was. I can't wait to use it on the next Troop outing!

    Read More
    psudrumline5 April 26, 2012
  • Fantastic Pads
    Verified Purchase

    These are very comfortable and seem to be extremely well made. We just got them, so I can't speak to the long-term durability. They're almost as comfortable as my regular bed.

    Read More
    rchorse June 1, 2011
  • camping mattress
    Verified Purchase

    We sleep on two of these under our camper queen size matress. Works perfect. we can still open the cupboards

    Read More
    daiseymel April 10, 2011
  • xxl airpad
    Verified Purchase

    i bought this air pad for my dad who just happens to be on the slightly larger side at 6'2 and 18st. so as u can imagine other normal size air pads wouldnt do the job. this one however is great its just as comfy as my bed no joke and the built in pillow works well. only downside i see is its pack size it doesnt weigh much but its rather bulky, then again i dont have to carry it he does :) great product ideal if ur on the larger side but not needed for smaller people.

    Read More
    braderz20 May 29, 2010
  • Great pad if you can afford the weight
    Verified Purchase

    This pad is very comfortable. I've spent several nights on it now and it is always great. The foam provides thermal insulation unlike an air mattress and the self-inflation works well. It takes 10-15 minutes to completely self-inflate. I prefer an extra-firm mattress, so I usually top off with 3 or 4 additional lungfulls of air before sealing, but is very usable in its self-inflated state. Only real work is deflating it while rolling it, which can be quite a chore if the sun is already beating on your tent when it's time to break camp. ;-) NOTE: The first time you use it, it may take an hour or more to completely inflate. I'd recommend doing that once before you go out with it to save yourself any grief that might cause at the campsite.

    Read More
    mrwonderful1961 September 12, 2009
  • Very good air pad
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this air pad to go with a cot from the same manufacturer. I used the pad four nights so far - two nights at the Adirondacks and two at the St. Lawrence (both in NY state) - and it has worked out very well. It infaltes fast and completely unlike the ThermaRest pads I have used before. The extra thickness at the head is also nice. I have not used it extensively yet but it seems to be very well made with durable materials. It does not slide out of place on the cot and my sleeping bag stayed put all through the night too. I do not have any negative comments about this pad - some might consider it to be large and heavy, but one does not buy this type of pad for its compactness or lightness. One buys this pad for comfort and in my opinion it is comfortable. I plan to take this pad and the cot on a month long trip to Yellowstone. Perhaps an update to this review will be necessary after that.

    Read More
    mikefh August 22, 2009
  • Verified Purchase

    Read More
    bg1605 October 15, 2016
Sponsored Links