Sale: $179.98

Save $20.00 (10%)

Free Shipping
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Trixie Chicken Coop

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
Club O Silver

Club O members earn Club O Rewards for writing reviews. Learn More

  • not big enough
    Verified Purchase

    roosts dont stay in place

    Read More
    Donald C. January 11, 2017
  • Good Quality
    Verified Purchase

    Much better quality than those plastic coops

    Read More
    gregmathes January 6, 2017
  • arrived damaged
    Verified Purchase

    Very fragile wood and inadequate packing. The coop ships in 2 boxes and the larger box arrived with the 48" long edge completely open has the tape had broken. A corner had heavy damage and was open and the bag with the hardware had fallen out and the the roof had huge broken pieces and numerous smaller splintered pieces. I called customer service who said they were ordering another roof plus the hardware but I've received no confirmation email detailing the phone call or the ordered parts and going into my account it shows nothing so I am waiting to see if they ever arrive. If not here by the end of the week I'll be returning as I need something now and would rather pay more to get better quality. Another concern is the details say there is a coating of some sort to protect from the elements but it looks like bare wood with nothing on it, no varnish just the dull bare wood so I'm thinking either the details are wrong or I received an unfinished coop. I expected better and the extension run ordered at the same time has still not arrived. Update: so I received the replacement and it had 2 damaged either cracked or broken pieces but different than the damaged ones in the first order so I picked out all the best pieces and I'm 72 but I had it assembled in an hour by myself. I left it out in the sun waiting for my son to come over and help me move it to the permanent location and after one day in the hot sun the roofing material has bubbled up and will most likely not last long. I like some other did some modifications. The brackets for the perches are way to low so I raised those and I had to change the latches as my raccoons would have them open in a split second. I also added 1/4" hardware cloth on the bottom as it doesn't take much to push the floor up and I am elevating the coop so the legs a don't sit an the ground and rot. But for my purpose which is to move my broody hen and her eggs to a safe quiet spot the size is perfect and it will be adequate for her and her chicks with the attached run until they are old enough to fend for themselves. So final evaluation is great size, very easy for one person to assemble and easy to modify with the negatives being very cheap easy to split wood, cheap useless latches and no underside protection from predators.

    Read More
    stkswinner July 25, 2016
  • Loving our Coop
    Verified Purchase

    We love the chicken coop we purchased.Our saying our chickens Daisey,Tulip,Rosey,and Lavender went from the pit to the palace when we purchased the coop.Very easy to assemble. We are going to purchase the extension that extends the coop.And also the chicken coop was a very reasonable cost.

    Read More
    Patricia W. January 28, 2016
  • Good Deal For The Price
    Verified Purchase

    Roomy coop! Can handle up to 4 standard size hens, no more than that though. I painted the coop inside & out with exterior paint. The wood is light and not super high quality, figured it could use more protection from the elements. I think the floor needs reinforcement if you even think something might try to get into coop. Roosting bars should be higher of the floor and secured better then braces they provide. Overall, I am happy with it and it was what I was expecting when purchased.

    Read More
    Elinor U. November 12, 2015
  • Good Value
    Verified Purchase

    Construction fairly light weight, but great price and value when purchased through Overstock.

    Read More
    mark c. April 25, 2015
  • Easy Assembly , Chicks are happy
    Verified Purchase

    The coop is easy to assemble . The roosts will not stay up unless you add additional screws through the side ( 2 exact coops , both with the same problem) The supports for the roof also are not significant for the weight. The screws do not stay in, but it has enough weight that it won't blow off and is light enough to easily move to have excess to the entire inside . If you attach the lid supports and don't use them often it may be sufficient to just offer protection from blowing off . Over all good product. I needed something to house 6 chicks quick and this is perfect for that .

    Read More
    JoeSATX November 20, 2014
  • Good for the price
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased one of these "coops" and then a second within a short period of time. The first one is being used to house some ducks (and sometimes my cat decides to take a nap inside too. The second is a rabbit hutch. I did place vinyl tiles on the floor to add to the durability of the floor and ease of cleaning. I use the nesting boxes to house the rabbits food and water so that it is easy to access from outside the enclosure (there is a run attached to the front). The quality is fine, I do like that the roof is in one piece so there are no leaks. It took about 30 minutes to put together. All of the hardware was included with one extra screw of each type necessary. The directions are not that great but it is easy to figure out.

    Read More
    Ammee November 12, 2014
  • Unimpressive quality, but cheap and easy to modify
    Verified Purchase

    Build quality is not great. Added a threshold to the door so the ramp/door doesn't get clogged by bedding. Drilled some holes in the floor for drainage. But for the price, not a bad deal.

    Read More
    jnhahn July 30, 2014
  • Works well as a nursery for my young birds.
    Verified Purchase

    The coop arrived in a timely manner in two boxes. The pieces are big so the actual construction was very easy. All screw holes matched and there was no missing pieces. Once assembled (within an hour) I could see areas that I will need to waterproof like where the nest box joins the main coop at the hinge. Rain and snow will get into this area until I weather strip it. I am using it for four 3 month old pullets until they are old enough to join the main flock. I put there food and water in the nesting box area inside since they won't be using that for awhile. I may need to make some major improvements before our Colorado winters, but for the most part it will be perfect as a nursery for my younger birds or for raising chicks in the summer.

    Read More
    danes4me July 3, 2014
  • Chicken coop
    Verified Purchase

    Arrived quickly. Roof was damaged and no hardware was provided. We need to round screws, hinges, not sure what else. Very disappointing.

    Read More
    nc1303 January 14, 2014
  • Common Sense required but easy set up
    Verified Purchase

    The directions are terrible. It consists of one page of pictures with screw sizes . I am 5'3 and was able to set up in less than 1/2 hour after setting the pieces in the place. The screws went in quickly and all holes where aligned. The bottom doesn't appear too sturdy and I'll most likely reinforce it with exterior MDF or linoleum because this is a fairly thin material . The roosts are useless as they are and require they are either liquid nailed or screwed into place . They are set into 2 cut outs like a closet rod holder so move when the chickens get on it. Interior size is comfortable for 4 standard cochin chickens without them being crowded and could fit 2 others if they roost side by side. Doors opening on side is better for small chickens but the one on the front is larger and easily accommodates larger chicks. No warranty information can be found although supposedly there is a one year warranty . Hopefully I won't need it.

    Read More
    terigruning December 11, 2013
  • Perfect House for an Aging Cat...
    Verified Purchase

    Got this chicken coop for my skinny 13 year old cat that has digestive problems and can no longer stay inside the house. My dilemma was that he's on the skinny side and gets cold easily. This product is the perfect compromise since I'm able to comfortably fit his over-sized pet bed, water, and food inside with room to spare. He's perfectly content with his new home and can come and go to do his business through the drop down door. It was really easy to put together in a couple of hours and it's made of good materials so I'm confident that it will stand up to the weather. I really love that the top opens up for easy access cleaning but be sure and lock the hinges before reaching inside -- the bruise on my upper arm is just now going away after three weeks.

    Read More
    utcatlady October 10, 2013
  • Very easy to assemble
    Verified Purchase

    This product came in two boxes. I put it together on my front porch, and moved it with just two people. It wasn't heavy at all. The only problem I had was the pre drilled holes were in the wrong places for the for the supports for the big roof, I just put the latches where they were suppose to be. The only problem is that the two roost perches inside wont stay where there suppose to be, but a couple of screws should solve that problem. I know my chickens like there new home.

    Read More
    rodkey679 October 5, 2012
  • Verified Purchase

    Read More
    tracy p. June 15, 2016
Sponsored Links