Starting at: $189.99

Save $127.01 (40%)

Free Shipping
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Safco Value Mate Steel 6-shelf Bookcase

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Sturdy
    Verified Purchase

    I have never had a problem with this bookcase and I remember being the assembly being simple. I have had it for 5 years now.

    Read More
    Elizabeth J. December 3, 2015
  • awful quality
    Verified Purchase

    awful. screws do not fit the holes, terrible quality. impossible to put together. they do not refund shipping, even if selling you a faulty product, so beware. do not buy this.

    Read More
    Molly S. July 16, 2015
  • A pain to assemble, but sturdy
    Verified Purchase

    I read lots of reviews of other folks having a hard time assembling this shelf and after assembling a smaller unit of the same type, I thought they were exaggerations. However, this larger shelving unit was really challenging to assemble, and the cheap cardboard backing looks kind of wonky. After much cursing by my husband during assembly, the shelf looks good holding my books and for the price, it is as expected.

    Read More
    Betsy N. June 11, 2015
  • Bookcases
    Verified Purchase

    Not the easiest to assemble, but sturdy and very nice to look at. Very functiona.

    Read More
    OstkUser24581 April 29, 2015
  • nonverbal assembly instructions useless
    Verified Purchase

    I think that there should be at least 2 extra of each assembly screw and button, with the ease of misplacing one at some point in the assembly. Further, the cardboard back of the case makes it difficult to insert screws without some tearing of the hole on the cardboard, especially if the cardboard dimensions do not exactly match the bookcase housing dimensions. I recommend that the manufacturer substitute a more durable back wall to the case, to make assembly more easy to accomplish. Even a sheet metal backing would be helpful, in comparison. Finally, some verbal cues are needed with the pictures in the assembly pages.

    Read More
    hjlubansky February 11, 2015
  • Poor Quality
    Verified Purchase

    The holes do not align hard to get the frame and shelf to align. Two people can not get this to align. Backing of bookshelf is heavy weigh cardboard. Connectors are brittle plastic. Put together with sheet metal screws. Regret buying item

    Read More
    V. S. January 7, 2015
  • Practical storage
    Verified Purchase

    The back of these units are cardboard, so be sure that you have a sturdy support behind to which you can attach it. The shelves are fixed, with varied spacing. Dependable, easy to maintain.

    Read More
    Jae January 3, 2015
  • Not the easiest of set ups, but worth the effort
    Verified Purchase

    I have purchased 6 of these units and they are a fairly inexpensive way to add shelf space. The set up is tricky. I spent a day on the first one- I would walk away whenever I got frustrated. Subsequent set ups went much faster. The key is to know exactly how the pieces go together- not always the clearest as several items could be backwards. Even so, you will need patience in getting some of the screws set in. That all said, I love the product and purchased additional units when I needed them.

    Read More
    petro December 17, 2014
  • Second hand
    Verified Purchase

    The book shelves came in. We opened it with excitement. We immediately noticed 1 of the bookshelves was a used one and the parts are beaten and we had to find ways to re-assemble a used bookshelf. Screws was missing, it had dents, the connector parts were broken (when they de-assembled it, it got broken I think). What do you do in this situation if you have just moved in and need to finish the work. We assembled the bookshelf with not-so-great thoughts... Ending? It took us hours extra but we made it. Welcome to our brand new second hand book shelf.

    Read More
    watertown33 September 12, 2014
  • Worst product purchased in my entire life!
    Verified Purchase

    We have moved an purchased a bunch of furniture (most from overstock.com) and I have never been this disappointed! I got this bookshelf because I thought that if it was made of metal then it will be sturdy and less banged up like some of the particle board crap I've gotten recently. Not only was this not worth the $$, I would like nothing more than to get back 4.5 hr I have spent trying to put it together. Whoever wrote that "all you need to do is read the istructions carefully and it's easy" is either mocking the rest of us or lying and working for the company trying to boost the ratings for this product! There is nothing to read in the instructions "manual." It is a bunch of terrible schematics with 10 "easy" steps that do not talk about the orientation of the products nor do these parts come labeled! The quality of the metal is so flimsy and the holes do not align properly and require a dozen people holding it all together to even screw in one screw (so I figured out after doing it all by myself). Majority of screws require you to get inside the shelves with a flashlight to find the tiniest of the holes that need to be magically aligned and screwed in the most inconvenient angles! Whoever designed this has never screwed in a single screw in his/her entire career! Once it was all finally "put together" it is still flimsy and wobbly (especially since it's so tall) and I regret purchasing this product more than I regret any other decision in my life. Honestly, I wish I could just get my $$ back and throw the thing away, but I just don't want the hassle of taking it apart, shipping it back or putting any more shelves together. It makes me so angry! This product is garbage and should never be sold! If you hate someone, send them this as a gift.

    Read More
    ithacagirl September 4, 2014
  • Bad choice
    Verified Purchase

    The quality of this product is good overall, my problem with this unit is that the design is missing additional brackets in the back to stablize it. I had to go to Lowes and purchase additional brackets and special screws to hold it against the wall. Without it, the unit can easily top over, which would be bad as I have little kids in the house. The other negative is the instructions is horrible, pictures is unviewable and overall sloppy job. Definitely would not purchase this again.

    Read More
    doesun428 August 3, 2014
  • Strong bookcase.
    Verified Purchase

    Very strong and good looking. Read directions vary carefully and you should have no problem assembling them.

    Read More
    tinnocker7 February 19, 2014
  • This shelf is super sturdy and easy to assemble
    Verified Purchase

    This bookcase is simplistic. Very sound and sleek. It doesn't distract from the treasures I want to display. The directions for assembly are exact. They are what they are. Pay attention to every detail in the step by step instructions using the illustrations. If one screw or push pin doesn't line up, go to one that will. Eventually the bookcase pulls itself together without effort. Pleasant experience from start to finish. Thank you very much. *****.

    Read More
    susan south bend September 29, 2013
  • safco shelves
    Verified Purchase

    The assembly directions for this product are inadequate. I also think that the way the shelves screw into the frame is too difficult to manage. You have to crawl inside the frame to see where the screws go.

    Read More
    ymarchosky February 20, 2013
  • disgruntled
    Verified Purchase

    The assembly directions and schematics were very poor. It was impossible to understand how to fit the parts together correctly and so a lot of trial and error was required. Assembly itself was very difficult and frustrating. I cannot recommend the product to anyone else for this reason.

    Read More
    jamesfrancis November 4, 2012
  • Labor costs made these expensive
    Verified Purchase

    I order a substantial amount of merchandise, including furniture. These bookcases were cheap, however, when I totaled in the amount of labor (granted, even if it was 4 students), it turned out to be the most expensive - cheap bookcases ever! They're now falling apart - will never go cheap with bookcases again, lesson learned.

    Read More
    roniv65 October 12, 2012
  • Need Patience in Assembly
    Verified Purchase

    I wanted bookcases that were both inexpensive and strong to hold a lot of books. I purchased two 6-shelf and one 3-shelf in black. Make sure you eat a good meal, take your vitamins and leave all distractions as this is not very easy to put together. (Reward yourself with a martini or a piece of cake after!) I am very experienced putting things together and found this to be quite difficult because the instructions aren't very good. Look at them carefully or you can put stuff in the wrong way. It was also difficult to line up the correct holes to put in the screws. BUT, once together, they are great. They look really nice, hold the books well and you can't see the few scrapes or paint defects. I am going to assemble #3 now - wish me luck! ;-)

    Read More
    casey111 December 30, 2011
  • PERFECT HEAVY BOOKCASES
    Verified Purchase

    THESE ARE THE PERFECT BOOKCASES IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A STURDY CASE THAT WILL HOLD TEXT BOOKS.

    Read More
    dustygreen November 2, 2011
  • Took 8.5 Hours to Put together all by myself.
    Verified Purchase

    Time consuming to put together when you are by yourself.A bit of trial and error as some screws were difficult to twist but I learned to just try a different screw and aligning holes was a pain but Once I got it completed then it was very sturdy and I fitted most of my Blu-ray Movies on it.Double Stacking and making two rows.I first used a power drill but it stripped the screws so I ended up using different types of Philips Screwdrivers to give me a good arm workout.It took 8.5 Hours to complete but I really needed it.I highly recommend having two or more Persons to help screw in the Shelves.I bought two so each one took 8.5 Hours to complete.The Sand Color one was more sturdier then the Oak Colored one but since I'm only stacking DVD and VHS Tapes and not Books on that one then no Problem.

    Read More
    hulk2020 August 25, 2011
  • Great bookcase but difficult to put together!
    Verified Purchase

    I liked the bookcase and was happy with it after I put it together. The assembly however was a nightmare. I put it together by myself but I think even with help, it would have been difficult. None of the screws entirely screwed into the joints. I even had to get into the most compromising positions with my screwdrive to attach the shelves. I got so frustrated, I abandoned the project until the next morning. I could use another one, but I can't endure having to put another one together. There was even a step to use a piece of the cardboard box to insert this one plastic piece. I had to read twice to believe that was an actual step. Really like finished product, but bookcase should be redesigned for better assembly.

    Read More
    leckford August 16, 2011
Sponsored Links