Today $58.99
Free Shipping*
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for U.S. Traveler by Traveler's Choice RIO 2-piece Expandable Carry-on Luggage Set

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Relevant
  • Most Relevant
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Great Value
    Verified Purchase

    I have been looking for yellow luggage for the longest time because I want something that is easily identified. I also wanted something completely different from what I already have. I love the sturdy wheels on the suitcase, and the extra long handle which makes it so easy to manuver. Also there is a bar on the bottom of the case which prevents if from tipping over which I find most convenient. The duffle is compact, but very roomy, which sounds like a contradiction in terms. I just love the way the zipper pouches on the front of suitcase are designed as well, there is absolutely no way anything can accidentally fall out, as is the case with less well constructed products. The luggage is sturdy, well made and extremely durable and the value is extraordinary. I can't believe you can sell something this good for this price.

    Read More
    boscojo September 21, 2009
  • Lightweight

    The first thing to check is how much does it weigh?. I have bags that are heavy before they are packed and knew what I was going for. I especially like the way the carryon can glide down the air craft isle. The fact that the duffel bag can slide through the handle is great. The weight: perfectly light! Stability when packed to the brim (and then some), Excellent! Great Item.

    Read More
    fitwome December 21, 2009
  • Nice, but an issue with the size
    Verified Purchase

    Beware of the size. The description is misleading. The 21" dimension of the wheeled bag is the TOTAL dimension, including the wheels. The actual packing space is only like 19". It is small for anything more than 3-4 days of clothes. My mother ordered another piece of luggage from this same company that read 21" and the actual inside dimensions were 21" (packing space). Those few inches make a BIG difference. I had to return mine, due to this misrepresentation. Other than that, this seems to be a nice choice, especially if being used for only an overnight or weekend trip.

    Read More
    shopper4ose July 5, 2011
  • Great Carry On
    Verified Purchase

    This is a great set of carry-on or overnight luggage. I purchased the Mustard color and it is just as the picture indicates. The construction seems to be very sturdy and the expanable zipper gives a little extra room inside, if needed. It is a bit smaller than the carry-on piece I was replacing, but with the second bag included, I am able to get everything I need packed for a weekend. Plus, with the slightly smaller size, it is very easy to get in airline overhead compartments or under the seat. Amazing price for the two pieces, I ordered a second set for my daughter for Christmas.

    Read More
    jimpgh December 17, 2009
  • 2 piece US Traveler Rio
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased two sets of the U.S Traveler Rio luggage sets in green, and am very impressed with the quality, price and durability. The smaller bag is a great carry on size, especially for a child's "keep busy" stuff. The color is more olive than a bright green---really a beautiful color! Our grandsons were thrilled with them. The 2 pieces held everything needed for a week's vacation for a 5 and 7 year old. Perfect weekender, perfect carry on. Really nice luggage. Anyone purchasing this set, would not be dissapointed.

    Read More
    lovethatoverstock March 1, 2009
  • MIND THE SIZE !!
    Verified Purchase

    Actual measurements of the main compartment of the rolling bag is 20 x 13 x 6 (expands to 8.5) and NOT the advertised 21 x 13.5 x 8 (expands to 10.5). . . .a sizeable difference if you really need the packing space. The tote is correctly sized (if stuffed). Other than that, it's a good looking set and appears to be well-made.

    Read More
    aznottoohappy February 24, 2010
  • Looks Good. Held Up for Trip.

    I ordered this set for a trip across the country. Carried on both pieces one way and checked the wheeled piece on the return flight. Both pieces held up well. The outer pockets are roomy and zippers seem of decent quality. The wheeled piece has a mesh, zippered pocket on the entire inside cover unlike a similar piece of luggage I have, which is a nice feature. The small bag was smaller then I expected, but worked well for the electronic items I was transporting. It is not large enough for a 15 inch laptop, however. I also wanted to piggyback the smaller bag on the wheeled piece and had to do some finagling with the straps as they are not designed with a simple attachment. A couple of times the smaller bag fell off the top of the wheeled piece--annoying--but once the strap was secured better it worked fine. Compared to other pieces I've seen in stores, it is much less expensive for equal quality.

    Read More
    reblwill19 June 19, 2013
  • Definitely wrong dimensions
    Verified Purchase

    I am disappointed in the luggage and it doesn't compare to the last one I bought for $** at walmart. The dimensions are wrong and particularly the width which I was focused on as that made up for the smaller dimensions of the other parts compared to my current carry on. The height and width were only about .5-1inch off but the depth was only 7 inches and maybe up to 8inches if stuffed. I can't see how you could get up to 10.5 inches. Very deceptive and the quality was cheap (a given base on the price), but didn't look as good as the pics.

    Read More
    brittanyzels December 4, 2012
  • Perfect Size, perfect price!
    Verified Purchase

    Though I have not yet used the larger wheeled bag, the overnight bag is the perfect size. I took it with me on a two day trip and it fits under the seat like a dream (my purse even fit under there along side it! No need to use the overhead bins). I cannot yet review the durability, as I haven't used it extensively at this point. The only real issue I had was not enough pockets. I'm hyper-organized and like not having to dig around to find things. The outside pocket is perfect for toiletries (just pull out that 311 ziplock at security checkpoints and you're ready to go), but the inside is just one big hole. Not a major issue, but something I would appreciate having, were I able to custom design this bag. The larger bag doesn't have this issue as badly, as it has two outsides and an inside pocket (in addition to the main cavity). It would be nice to have a place for shoes, but with a bag this small, it's not a necessity. the wheels are smooth and the handle locks (a must for any wheeled bag). I love the color (green). It feels slightly on the heavier side to me, but its only six and a half pounds (i checked).

    Read More
    ladym00s August 5, 2009
  • Suited my needs perfectly.
    Verified Purchase

    Recently went flying for the first time, and it was quite a long trip across the Atlantic and into eastern Europe. Wanted a luggage set that would allow me to travel entirely in a single carry-on piece while still being able to manage about 2 weeks of clothing. The sizing of the back is perfectly tight, even earned a few impressed looks from other travelers as it slid exactly into the sizing cage at the check-in counter. Space within is quite a lot more than it seems, and the body of the luggage is soft in the back (where the retractable bars are) so you can sort of squeeze even more stuff into it. The rest of it is rigid and seems protective. The accompanying tote bag was also spacious, and was allowed onto all my flights as a "personal bag" at no extra cost. I selected the yellow colour, but in reality it's more orange than it appears on the screenshot; not a big deal. After the trip, the retractable pulling handle seems maybe a little stiff/jammed, which may be that I was lifting the luggage while it was extended frequently. I don't believe it is going break, however, and hasn't thus far. Aside from that, there hasn't been any signs of important wear or tear. Have already recommended this luggage set to two people. Given the price for functionality, I am very pleased with the results.

    Read More
    quantumplation July 25, 2012
  • completely disappointing
    Verified Purchase

    warning, the colors aren't anything like the pictures. The green is an ugly army green. The dimensions are also off. It's 12.5 inches wide and 8.5 inches deep fully expanded. Even the travel tote is a bit smaller than it says. I can fit it inside my old bag which is advertised with the same dimensions. No wonder it's so cheap, it's a rip off.

    Read More
    sarahst December 11, 2010
  • Love my luggage!!
    Verified Purchase

    I am extremely happy with my U.S. Traveler RIO 2-piece Luggage Set. After searching the web and finding a set that was perfect for my needs, I needed to find a company that was affordable, reliable, and friendly. Not only did my purchase come when expected, but it was packaged wonderfully, and everything I ordered was there. I love the that the set I purchased was offered in a color that I love and that the quality is as advertised. I really like that the handle has two height positions, and was surprised to find the expandable part is very easy to use. I am a happy camper "traveler".....Thanks

    Read More
    shana18 May 24, 2011
  • PoorQuality
    Verified Purchase

    First one I received broke on first use. A screw fell out of the handle mechanism. Overstock was great and sent me a replacement quickly. The handle seems of poor quality. The steel square bar that connects to the handle seems thin. I liked this set because I was looking for something in a small size and with the two wheel design. I don't like the four wheel design that is becoming more and more common because what is to stop your luggage from rolling away from you on areas that are sloped? (Like when unloading in a driveway) The inside compartment does not have small zippered compartments on each side. It does have a big mesh zippered compartment on the flap. The front outside zippered compartment is only big enough to fit a small pair of flip flops. Other luggage the bottom zippered part opens into a small area the size of the entire suitcase. With most luggage I've used, you open where the zipper is but the compartment goes up and down from the zipper. This piece the compartment is only down from the zipper. I wear a size 8 woman's shoe and could barely get my feelgoodz flip flops in. The outside material of the suitcase seems quality and hardy. The wheels seems quality and the suitcase was easy to roll. I would not recommend this product.

    Read More
    workingmom2boys October 21, 2011
  • great size
    Verified Purchase

    i bought the olive color. It was easy to spot at the airport luggage area. i was able to carrry it on the airplane. has a pocket inside and can expand to give you an inch or two if you need more room. wheels were nice and sturdy.

    Read More
    mari0311 March 16, 2010
  • Great carry-on luggage!
    Verified Purchase

    This set rolls easy, fits down the plane aisle with no problem, and is easy to handle through security and into and out of the overhead bin due to the side handles. The top piece straps securely to the lower piece and stays put. It holds a lot, is fully lined, and has straps to secure my clothes. There is a mesh compartment on the inside of the "door" for small, loose items. The exterior pocket of the bottom piece perfectly fits my Acer 10" netbook and the other exterior compartment on the bottom piece accomodates my ziplok bag of liquids. I used the exterior compartment of the upper piece for my MP3 player and things I needed on the plane since it stows under the seat. I got the blue and it is very pretty. I can't believe how cheap it was. I love it!

    Read More
    jonibc February 26, 2010
  • Good carry-on luggage
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this product because I was looking for a rolling piece of luggage that would fit in an airline overhead bin. I have taken this piece on one trip so far and it worked like a dream. I was able to roll it down the aisle of the plane and it fit in the overhead bin without any shoving or pushing to allow the bin to close. The two front pockets are great; the top one is perfect for storing your little baggie of liquids. The bag has handles on the top, side and bottom, so whichever way the airline would like you to store your bags you will be able to easily take this bag back out once you arrive at your destination. I have not used the smaller bag that came with it, since I normally travel with a computer bag, which I store under the seat.

    Read More
    tsunami16 January 31, 2010
  • Lightweight, durable, great carry-on
    Verified Purchase

    I am a 200+ nights in a hotel & road warrior. I have had this suitcase (I really only use the upright) for over a year, and it's still going strong. This has been my daily luggage for that entire time. I can pack for 4 nights in this bag (but I do tend to pack light). There have been no issues with airline sizing. The construction has been bullet-proof thus far, the only issue arising is that the handle is beginning to become lose. It has been kicked, dropped, tipped over, pushed, pulled, and still doing great! I don't tend to be easy on luggage with the amount of use it gets, and this one has lasted the longest of any I have purchased. The front pocket fits a pair of flip flops perfectly, and the option to expand out the bag has saved me several times. The zipper is strong, and doesn't seem to be wearing in any way. I went for the blue color, for the ease of finding it on a baggage carousel, but with the size of the bag, I rarely check it and just stow it in the overhead.

    Read More
    alihan24 March 14, 2012
  • perfect for a long weekend trip
    Verified Purchase

    I ordered this suitcase because it's measurements were almost exact to the carry on requirements of an airline I use frequently. I have used it once. It fit perfectly under the seat in front of me so I didn't have to fight with other passengers to get my bag out of the overhead compartment at the end of my flight. I fly three or four times a year usually long weekend trips to visit my family. This bag fit everything I needed for a 4 day weekend including front pocket space for a few carry on items. On my last flight I was able to gate check my bag at the last minute and when I went to get it luggage carousel there wasn't a scratch or scuff on it! So it was durable as well as a perfect carry on size! I would definitely recommend this bag to anyone who travels for shorter periods of time and doesn't want to pay to check a bag.

    Read More
    nikme March 21, 2010
  • Great set for the price!
    Verified Purchase

    I wanted a set of luggage that was light weight and could easily be seen on the luggage carousel at baggage claim. The included smaller bag can easily double as a carry on "purse" with the suitcase stored overhead, so no check-in of bags is needed. I can't rate the durability yet as I've only had the set a few weeks, but it appears sturdy.

    Read More
    ktmaryland April 12, 2009
  • Perfect for travel
    Verified Purchase

    When planning a family trip I actually purchased two sets of this luggage; one in blue and one in purple. They are the perfect size for our needs. The larger bag is compact enough to be considered a carry-on. The telescoping handle makes maneuvering easy. The smaller bag is perfect for carrying toiletries, medications, and even a book or two. The colors are vibrant, and the quality is very good. There are multiple compartments for all packing needs. The zippers work well and the inside straps are substantial to secure clothes and shoes. I would recommend this luggage set.

    Read More
    mycoffee June 26, 2013