Read All Reviews for Heys USA 4WD 3-piece Hardside Spinner Luggage Set

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
Club O Silver

Club O members earn Club O Rewards for writing reviews.

  • Good but not too impressed

    We travel quite a bit and needed a new carry-on. Our last one gave up after a major overload with foreign goodies. We only had few requirements for our new carry-on: spinner, lightweight, second bag/personal item must be able to ride on top, easily fits into overhead compartments. We’ve tested it on three recent trips and came to the following conclusions: PROS: 1. It is most definitely lightweight. It is great for people like us, who use carry-on allowance to the max. 2. It’s quite spacious. Switching from a nylon 22” to hardshell 20”, I was concerned I will lose a lot of space. We were pleasantly surprised to have been able to pack almost as much into this bag as we did in our old one. One feature I am still not use to is, unlike non-hardshell bags, this one has two almost equal halves to fill (vs stuffing everything into one side and simply covering it with the top). However, it does have straps to keep everything in place. 3. It rolls nicely on asphalt, airport tiles and linoleum (more difficult on carpets, especially, when full). It rolls over metal joints in floors and jet bridges or any uneven surfaces very well 4. A second bag easily sits on top of it 5. Expands nicely! 6. Fits perfectly into overhead compartments. In business elite, it’s a breeze, but even in coach on most birds, such as MD88s, it’s quite easy to stuff it into the bin CONS: 1. Wheels are small and have harder time rolling on carpet that some airports have. Sometimes it keeps pulling to one side, trying to twist to its front facing forward. 2. In fact, this is my major complaint about this item: handle is extremely flimsy. In fact it’s one of the reasons I am on a fence about recommending it. When fully loaded (40lb or so), poor handle actually twists a bit. If second bag is not riding on top, one could use a second height positing to push, but then the quality of handle is not great either and it pushes itself all the way in. 3. No handle on the side to help put it in and take it out of bins. It’s not that big of a deal for me but I wanted to mention it.

    Read More
    skymiles August 21, 2011
  • Not the the size specified by manufacturer
    Verified Purchase

    Looked at this set and the Coleman. Picked this one because Heys is a more well known manufacturer and the was less expensive with a much more expensive retail price. We were most concerened with the 30" piece unfortuanatly it is not 30 it is 27-27.5 not as large as we needed. Can not believe thet the manufacturer can give the wrong dimensions and Overstock does not independently varify it. I also can not believe that reviewers have not brought this up. I am thinking about returning and getting the Coleman set but at 28 buck shipping I am now on the fence if a 27' bag will be ok for you then this is a nice set.

    Read More
    1wrs July 30, 2011
  • NOT POLYCARBONITE its ABS
    Verified Purchase

    The description Says that it is made from Polycarbonite and that was what I was looking for. However when it arrived I found that this model is actually ABS plastic. I was kind of up set and looked the this model up on the Heys website and it actually says it is ABS. I have seen this model advertises in a number of different stores online and all say Polycarb. Anyway it was too close to my leaving for this trip so I discussed the issue with customer service, who only want to make sure I was satisfied, actully they went out of their way to be sure. I decided to keep the set with an added discount rather than send them back. So far I am pleased but I am only on the first leg of my journey. To even though they are made from ABS they are still very light when they are empty.

    Read More
    usnret95 August 3, 2011
  • Heys
    Verified Purchase

    Great luggage set. I already had 1 piece of black Heys 4WD hardtop luggage. Bought this for my boyfriend. He loves it and the color is great too. We're about to go to England so it is great that the set also has one small carry-on size that we can share for carry-on items.

    Read More
    auliz December 16, 2010
  • Heys Luggage
    Verified Purchase

    The suitcases seem a little cheap, the handles seem a little flimsy and don't go up and down easily. The suitcases do not roll easily on any carpet, even very short outdoor carpet. They are also difficult to pull behind you, but roll forward nicely on very smooth surfaces.

    Read More
    janaleajljl September 18, 2011
  • Love this luggage!
    Verified Purchase

    Ordered these just before going on an 18-day vacation. They held so much more than standard luggage. The expandable feature and zip-up divider inside were wonderful extras. The hardside was so tough and held up well after being handled in 3 different airports...no scratches or dings! Like the lighter weight. The red color was a standout on the luggage carousel. The spinner wheels made life much easier when moving around. This luggage will follow you anywhere! We love these so much better than our old soft side luggage. We'll never go back to softside again. We highly recommend this luggage.

    Read More
    sandyw01 April 4, 2011
  • Very cool luggage
    Verified Purchase

    We got the orange heys spinner luggate set. We like that it is bold, just not tacky. Very fun and sturdy and expands in the middle. They spin in any direction so it's easy to walk with. Definitely recommend.

    Read More
    samcintx March 14, 2011
  • UNIQUE and STURDY
    Verified Purchase

    Perfect for what I was looking for- light weight, sturdy and I LOVE that there are 4 wheels so it can spin in any direction for ease of use through airports and to/from transportation. I got a unique color, I wouldn't recommend the lighter color luggages as they tend to show scuff marks and scratches a lot more. The darker colors hide imperfections.

    Read More
    atm2737 February 23, 2011
  • Best set of luggage ever
    Verified Purchase

    Light, cheap, durable, what else do you need?

    Read More
    jmdiaz01 December 22, 2015
  • Spinner luggage 3 sizes
    Verified Purchase

    Great purchased. I love this set of luggage, especially the color, which was a bright orange.

    Read More
    MayAnn November 22, 2015
  • Sophisticated and elegant
    Verified Purchase

    I will definitely purchase more of this product. The luggages survived my usual 50 lbs travel weight and had not given up on me after 18 to 20 hours of flights between transcontinental flights.

    Read More
    powell12 April 19, 2012
  • My husband loves these
    Verified Purchase

    We kept the set anyway. We took it on a trip to Cancun and it was light, easy to maneuver and great to spot on the baggage claim conveyor.

    Read More
    youngshirl March 24, 2012
  • Great luggage
    Verified Purchase

    i ordered the Heys 4WD 3 piece hardside spinner luggage set in red. I received the Heys 4WD 3 piece set in metallica instead. I did not complain, as I liked the color on the metallica set better. I ordered a set of Heys because I've had a large Heys spinner for several years, and I wanted a carry-on size with the same features as the large suitcase. My large suitcase has gone around the world several times--it carries a substantial amount and rolls flawlessly. I used the new carry on during a recent trip. It expanded perfectly and everything functioned well. It wheeled like a dream, even with another bag propped on top of it. The flexibility these expandable suitcases offer, in addition to the rolling feature which is the best I've used, suggest that I may never need/want another brand of suitcase.

    Read More
    kellinny January 9, 2012
  • Not durrable
    Verified Purchase

    I was very impressed with my new Heys luggage set for the first month but then the luggage started to have problems. First the handle on the largest suit case broken then the liner on the middle sized piece broke. The luggage is also very hard to roll on carpets. When I contacted Heys to have the luggage repaired or replaced I was told that I have to send it to their repair center. I am still trying to get both pieces fixed and I have had the luggage for less than a year. I would not recommend Heys luggage.

    Read More
    blumensh January 2, 2012
  • LASTED TWO TRIPS BEFORE IT CAME APART

    Before purchasing this luggage, I read all the reviews so I should have known what I was getting. The first trip I took with this luggage was in my car and the luggage was handled only by me, very gently. However, the second trip was via air and the baggage handlers were not as gentle as I was. When I went to baggage claim to pick up my luggage, it didn't look good as there were pieces of my clothing hanging out. I only had about 37 lbs of stuff in it so it was not overloaded. It just came apart. I have some more gripes about it also. I know it is true of most hard side luggage, but there are not outside pockets and it needs to have handles on both ends if lifting a heavy bag. I also have another brand of a hard side bag and it rolls much easier on carpet than does the Heys luggage. However the four wheel concept is a great idea, but this brand is not the one to buy, unless your are costing it out per trip, two trips, $$$, is only $$$ per trip, but that seems a little high to me. I only had the luggage two months, so that is $$$ per month. I guess that is not a good bet either. the more expensive hard side spinner is not too much better than the Heys, and it did cost a lot more. Both brands are light weight so you can pack a lot more into them without exceeding the 50 lb. weight limit imposed. If I had it to do over, I would buy the more expenaive brand rather than the Heys as it is still working great. So this is a good buy if you treat is gently, but don't let the baggage handlers touch it.

    Read More
    kenlindo December 16, 2011
  • Very Disappointed--Save your money.

    A Hardside Spinner luggage set was at the top of my Christmas list last year (2010) and my husband selected this 3 piece set in Orange. I was thrilled with the purchase initially. The luggage is easy to pull (or push) and does not topple over easily at all (my complaint with our last luggage). We took 3 family trips this year and the luggage is already falling apart. The locks pop open--even when switched to "lock". Our bags have arrived on the conveyer with more than half of the locks popped open. The handle on the largest broke this year (screws pulled out on one side) when we lifted it off the conveyer belt (it had met the weight restrictions of 50lb for the flight, so was not too full). The sides show scratches and wear easily, so this luggage looks quite "worn" despite being used 3 times.

    Read More
    juzamie December 4, 2011
  • Great
    Verified Purchase

    I have not used the luggage but can not wait to use it (I love it)

    Read More
    tiger321 November 10, 2011
  • Heys luggage is the best!
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased a piece of Heys luggage several years ago. I loved it so much, I asked for a set for my birthday. I received a similar product sold here on Overstock, but it just didn't fare well. Every piece of the other luggage has broken, leaving us with useless luggage. I went ahead and purchased this set and couldn't be happier. It will withstand the airport luggage handlers for years!

    Read More
    jandbmom November 10, 2011
  • Do not purchase

    Do not buy this luggage set. After reading and re-reading reviews, we settled on this Heys 4wd 3 piece set. It is our first time purchasing a hard shell luggage set. The first set came with 1 wheel completely dented in. UPS was blamed and the item was returned; however, it made me nervous that the shell could be dented in like that. The second set arrived and we packed it a few days before our trip. Then in standing up the packed suitcase, the top fixed handle (next to the handle that extends) completely snapped off on one side. Can you imagine what will happen when they are thrown around by the airline?! The bag is full but not ridiculously heavy - and you should be able to pack a bag to capacity. It was a waste of money and here we thought we were purchasing something that was middle ground, spending a little more thinking we would get good quality. It is terrible quality.

    Read More
    taviosmom October 29, 2011
  • Great Luggage
    Verified Purchase

    The product is good for frequent travellers, the luggage is sturdy and worth the money. The spinner wheel allows a trouble free transport of the luggage. Highly recommended!

    Read More
    toufan September 25, 2011
Sponsored Links