Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for CalPak Impactor 18-inch Rolling Backpack

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Relevant
  • Most Relevant
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Return after 2 weeks
    Verified Purchase

    I ordered this cute rolling backpack on the 25th of September, we received it around the 30th. Today is the 12th of October, and the backpack is falling apart! I bought this cute but tough looking bag for my 6th grader. Yes, it is heavy , when packed full of books- that's why I bought a ROLLING BAG! However, this one is a really bad design! To make it sturdier, they put a hard plastic or metal plate under the handle, which unfortunately is cutting into the material every time she picks up the bag by the handle, and it is already breaking on the top. I don't know if ALL the CalPacks have this design fault , or only this one , but I would definitely not recommend this one! However, if you just gonna use it to roll around and NO PICKING IT UP BY THE HANDLE, no problem; the back is padded, the wheels are tough, the pulling handle is great, it has several pockets---- would be a fantastic bag, if the material was stronger and the top plate was big enough for the WHOLE top. Don't say I didn't warn you!

    Read More
    era417 October 12, 2010
  • review of rolling backpack
    Verified Purchase

    good size and wheels are smooth rolling. fits all that needed for a day at high school. I like the self repairing zippers as a good feature.

    Read More
    kgp1996 February 25, 2012
  • sturdy enough for a 6th grader
    Verified Purchase

    This backpack was purchased for my 6th grader. It's been used every school day since the beginning of August, approximately four weeks now. He rolls it down a asphalt street, a bumpy, dirt path and across the playground. Then, he tosses it against the classroom wall. When he's getting into the car, he throws it in the backseat. What I'm trying to say is that he is NOT gentle with it at all. So far no tears have been noted. I was concerned about the wheels because he walks down a slightly rocky dirth path, which is about 200 feet. They haven't show any signs of damage/coming loose. The backpack is normally packed and HEAVY with books folders, and binders. I'm very impressed with it. The fabric and zipper seem sturdy. It has two pocket - the big one is used for books and the smaller one to carry the extras, such as lunch, larger school supplies, etc. The smaller pocket can also hold books and folders, it's that big, but it won't hold as many as the other one. It also has a front zippered pocket with various little pockets stitched into the lining. These are great for money, pencils, extra erasers, etc. It's large enough to hold a book, too. I bought the gray/blue one, the colors are true to the picture. I'm confident this will last the school year and live through the abuse my 11 year old will put it through. I think the price is worth it. As a side note, I ordered this on a Friday night and received it the following Wednesday, fast shipping for 1.00! (they were having a special on shipping that day)

    Read More
    veratm12 August 30, 2012
  • Rolling Backpack
    Verified Purchase

    I am very pleased this rolling backpack! I am a college student with a lot of books. On the average day, I can fit in one big and one small binder, three big books, two or three notebooks, a calculator, a wallet, and a pencil holder. On the sides, I have an umbrella and bottled water. I have taken this backpack across many types of sidewalk: cobblestone, rough, grainy, smooth, and tiled where it's chipped. This backpack is able to go across all of them. The handle is very sturdy and hasn't bended at all. This backpack has also been through a few slushy spots, and handled the slush like a little champ. If you need to strap on the backpack for a few minutes, on the back, there is a place you can unzip and adjustable straps pull out, just like a regular backpack. I couldn’t be happier with this backpack. If anyone is a college student that has a lot of books but doesn't want to carry a load of books on their back, then this is the backpack for you! Same goes for elementary, middle, or high school students! Great rolling backpack at good quality!

    Read More
    bassador0lover April 18, 2010
  • Poor quality/design
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this backpack for my elementary age kids. The backpack colors are nice (I bought the red, orange, and blue). Within a month of use the back pack already ripped on the part close to the handle. The inside packet also ripped from the top part. I am guessing that the backpack ripped because it can not handle the weight of the contents when ever you lift them insted of using the rollers. The bottom part of the back pack also separated from the base. It was only 3 months since my kids have used the back pack and I now have to replace them. I have bought other CalPak backpacks before and they lasted for one school year. I thought that this one will last too because they are more expensive than the previous ones I bought. I was very very disappointed.

    Read More
    tlau December 17, 2010
  • Best rolling backpack for the money.
    Verified Purchase

    Great quality, rolls easily, has cover for wheels when using as a backpack, holds everything and then some. Should have bought 2 so I have a spare when I wear this one out!

    Read More
    Ftloos January 15, 2016
  • My back is thanking me, and I look cool too. ;)
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this rolling backpack because my regular backpack with my huge Anatomy text book and flute were killing my back, and I was avoiding any walking around campus because my back was aching! I love all the pockets in this backpack.... 3 main pockets, small, medium, and large... the handle is really easy to pull out and retract... there's a place for wallet items and a clip for keys, side pockets that fit my huge 32 oz Sigg water bottle and/or my umbrella or another drink.... the zippers seem strong, and overall it seems to be a really good quality backpack. I've been using it for about a month so far and I'm loving it. I got it in red. :)

    Read More
    mamasiobhan October 7, 2010
  • Too small

    This was smaller than the other calpack I bought for my son even though they are the same 18-inch size.

    Read More
    mindyva1 January 18, 2014
  • School Must Have
    Verified Purchase

    We bought a CalPak Rolling backpack three years ago for our older daughter, and she is still using it to this day - this speaks to the durability of CalPak's backpacks, which is why we decided to buy another one for our younger daughter. Rolling backpacks are a popular item at school, and it definitely helps with transportation of binders and multiple books that the kids must take home. We also like the flexibility of having the option to carry it on the back with the typical straps if desired. It is a MUST-HAVE - durable and reliable product.

    Read More
    mendoza23rd November 6, 2011
  • Very comfortable
    Verified Purchase

    This backpack has been keeping up well with my 9-yr old son for a month so far. He alternates between rolling it with the wheels and carrying it on his back if he's riding his bike home. I've had to help him carry it, and compared to my older son's cheaper rolling backpack which digs painfully into your back, this CalPak is surprisingly very comfortable to wear. Very easy to switch between wheels and straps. I'm impressed and would certainly spend the extra money again next time.

    Read More
    review4you September 11, 2010
  • Backpack fabric not good in sun.
    Verified Purchase

    Okay backpack if it stays out of the sun. My little boy has now used this backpack for the entire kindergarten school year with a month left to go. Here in SoCal the children park their backpacks outside the classrooms. The sun has faded this backpack so badly it doesn't even look orange anymore. Also, the sun has done such a number on it that it is desintegrating. It is literally falling apart. Other than that, the wheels, handle zippers etc. are all good. The material is just not sun/fade proof.

    Read More
    saminsandiego May 9, 2011
  • Materials tore quickly
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased this rolling backpack for my 8 year old son and within 2 months the bottom corners were torn. Within 3 months the inside linings tore off completely. The only positive is that the handle remained intact. Would not recommend for an active child.

    Read More
    jmart9 June 13, 2011
  • Don't understand the complaints
    Verified Purchase

    I don't understand some of the complaints about quality in this roller backpack. It is being used by an adult and not a child. This might explain why the lack of problems. No childlike oblivious destruction of things. It has been holding 25+ pounds of books everyday, being rolled over a slight rocky surface, being carried up stairs.....have had it a month, and no problems. Roomy, many pockets/sections, and the retractable handle is sturdy. The price is excellent. I like that the back straps are zipped away in their own pocket. Nice color, mine is pink, and I am VERY happy.

    Read More
    oprchick March 9, 2013
  • Quality product
    Verified Purchase

    This is a durable rolling backpack and the price is great too.

    Read More
    Samuel A. March 22, 2016
  • Looks Great, Works Great, Quality Only SO-SO
    Verified Purchase

    I waited to review this item because there's no way to really know until it is truly used. My child loves the way it looks and especially not having to shoulder all the weight. Nice, bright colors, lots of compartments. Except the side fabric is already ripping as well as the netting on the side pocket and it is only mid-October. I have to mention that my son doesn't give his things a lot of wear... and has never trashed a backpack. I will try to patch it for it to stop the side rip to continue but we may have get something else (or another one) by mid-year.

    Read More
    letthemeatcake October 20, 2010
  • Love my "tricky" luggage!
    Verified Purchase

    I love, love, love my CalPak Rolling Backpack. It's sturdy enough to pack full. I travel a lot and some of the airlines do not allow anything but a personal item without a fee. I pack my CalPak for as long as 5 days, and wear it through the gate on my back. It beats paying the luggage fees some airlines have recently added. Great purchase!

    Read More
    chargarber1 February 28, 2013
  • Big and sturdy
    Verified Purchase

    This pack is light, sturdy and large enough to hold my 3rd grader's books, art projects, hair adornments, the pretty rocks she finds during recess, her friends' gifts, lunch pack, change of clothes, and anything else she determines is essential to take to school. My little girl, who doesn't even wear out shoes or clothes, managed to destroy a very expensive rolling backpack from LL Bean within a few months, and I was not going to spend that kind of money again. We are both pleased with this backpack. I didn't give it 5 stars because, (1) we haven't had it for very long, and (2) the real color is a LOT darker than shown. We ordered the orange. It is not the almost neon color of the picture - it is University of Texas burnt orange - which is fine because we live in Texas - and the gray is closer to charcoal than the dove color in the picture.

    Read More
    apalla March 5, 2010
  • Rugged
    Verified Purchase

    My 7 year old daughter eats through roller backpacks. I purchased this one after reading some reviews about how sturdy they were. I am very impressed with the construction of this backpack. In my opinion, the best feature is that the shoulder straps are kept hidden away in a zipper compartment. This keeps my 7 year old from dragging the should straps through the concrete, mud, dirt, etc.

    Read More
    cturino February 4, 2010
  • good service. good product.
    Verified Purchase

    The backpack is light but sturdy. The handle pulls out smoothly and is also easy to push back. Good inside space. Many useful pockets. My son has been using it for about a month and is pretty happy with it. No more broken back from the super heavy backpack he used before to carry all his heavy books from school.

    Read More
    joujoujou December 11, 2012
  • Not the best nylon - already a big rip...
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this rolling backpack because the telescoping handle on another rolling backpack broke after the first week of use by my 10yr old son. I didn't see complaints about the handle breaking off on this one. I did see concerns of the nylon material ripping too easily on this backpack and that's already happened to the one I ordered (about 1 month of use so far). About a 10" rip alongside one of the zippers on the interior of the backpack. At least the handle seems to be holding up... If it will last the rest of the year without falling apart, I'll be satisfied given the price.

    Read More
    dgl123 October 15, 2010