Read All Reviews for CalPak Grand Stand Unisex 17-inch Lightweight Rolling Sport Backpack

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
Club O Silver

Club O members earn Club O Rewards for writing reviews.

  • CalPak 17" rolling backpack - very good
    Verified Purchase

    This rolling backpack 17" is a great size for elementary to junior high students. Additional pockets help to keep things organized. My ten year old loves the extendable handle and it is not uncomfortable to use it as a backpack as well. Rolls easily, wheels are sturdy and smooth. Zippers are fine so far. Adequate room for books and his lunch. It is currently three months old and seems to be holding up well on all fronts. Surprizingly light for a rolling backpack. I would recommend this for elementary students and for junior high students that dont have a ton of thick books to tote around. It does expand somewhat and will handle quite a bit of stuff.

    Read More
    malcolma April 9, 2009
  • Overall great value for the price!
    Verified Purchase

    First of all, I would like to point out to the people with reviews regarding the handle being too short - PULL IT ! People are putting in reviews here and says that it's too short, but it is ADJUSTABLE and you can pull out to make it LONGER! As for my review, I ordered this backpack for my 8yr. old and she loves it. She has gone through 2 regular backpacks and 1 rolling backpack since September and hopefully this is the one that will last through the year. I ordered the backpack on Friday and I received it today. The zipper looks very well made and the material is made with heavy duty material. The backpack does not tip over like all the others I've seen and it is high enough off the ground the the backpack does not get dirty.There is plenty of room inside and has plenty of pockets, including the side mesh for water bottles. Overall, this is a great backpack and seems to be made of sturdy materials. I am planning on buying another one for myself.

    Read More
    roco465 January 19, 2012
  • CalPak
    Verified Purchase

    I was disappointed by the length of the handle of this pak/luggage. I am relatively short...but still have to bend to reach handle which would not be productive in hurrying through an airport to plane. Yes, could put it on my shoulder, but the fact that it has a handle - promoting ease, I really can't give it lots of stars. I will give to my granddaughter who is 3, her height will allow her to use this item better.

    Read More
    katsa March 18, 2011
  • CalPak Grand 17 in Rolling Backpack
    Verified Purchase

    We purchased the backpack for our daughter who recently fractured her spine. We noticed she was bringing home multiple books daily. The weight of her previous backpack with books was averaging 19-20 pounds. Adding that weight to a lower back fracture was riduclus. We checked several local retail stores and sporting good stores and were unable to find a satisfactory backpack that had wheels, wasn't overly clumpy and had the necessary space to store school books/supplies. Delivery from overstock was quick. The backpack arrived and she has been using for about two weeks now. This Calpak is, overall, very sturdy. The wheels have stayed in tacked even though our daughter is having to drudge through the snow and there is plenty of room for books. We've been pleased with results to this point.

    Read More
    ang67f December 11, 2009
  • Cancerous materials
    Verified Purchase

    The bag just arrived after much research. What was not disclosed on this description and in reviews is that the bag comes with a tag with a clear warning that the bag contains materials known to cause cancer. This kind of information should be disclosed up front to save buyers the hassle of returning these types of products. The intent was to give this to my 6 year old and that is certainly not going to happen now. It appears the ingredient is LEAD - definitely something to keep children away from.

    Read More
    modernmomsf July 18, 2012
  • Big enough to carry all of her books and more
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this for my Grandaughter. She is in the fifth grade and had to carry alot of books. Her old backpack was so heavy that I thought she would hurt her back. So I bought this one for her and now she don't have to put it on her back. She loves it and it is big enough to carry everything she needs plus more.

    Read More
    huffc May 10, 2011
  • not pleased
    Verified Purchase

    we bought 3 of these backpacks. on the first day 2 of the zippers broke. very disappointed.

    Read More
    5cheneys August 25, 2014
  • Holds up Well for an 8-9 Year Old's Abuse!
    Verified Purchase

    Bought the CalPak Grand Stand Rolling Backpack for the 2012-13 school year (2nd grade girl). It lasted all year. The handle was a little temperamental on that one, and one of the handle "bars" came out on the last day of school. My daughter was REALLY rough on it though - dragging it up and down the bus steps, slamming the handle up and down - you know how impatient kids are when things aren't working the way they want them! But we made it through the entire school year with that backpack. I bought a new one again this year for the 2013-14 school year. She's now 9 and in the 3rd grade. She's not so rough with it this year. The handle isn't at all sticky like the first one was, so she's not slamming on the handle like last year. We've been using it 2 months now and I'm very pleased with it. I'll probably buy another one for the 4th grade.

    Read More
    becca54321 October 16, 2013
  • Heavy, uncomfortable, not durable
    Verified Purchase

    Too heavy on its own, it was impossible to use with my son's books inside. The roller helped but he tried to wear it as a backpack when biking and it was not only SUPER heavy by also built in a way that the metal was hurting his back he could not wear it, only pull it. It lasted only 5 or 6 months and the handle came apart, it is constructed in metal body and plastic handles held with two screws, first the screws kept getting loose and then they cracked the plastic handles. To the garbage it went! Not a good value!

    Read More
    4thgrademom October 22, 2012
  • CalPak Rolling Backpack
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this at the end of July, school started at the end of August, and by the end of September, the screws attaching the handle to the pull-out rods had fallen out, and before my husband could replace them, the plastic handle had broken as well.

    Read More
    namibrover November 7, 2011
  • Midge's
    Verified Purchase

    The item was more than what I expected and I really needed one with the rollers on it.

    Read More
    OstkUser1161932 May 20, 2017
  • GREAT!
    Verified Purchase

    NEED ANOTHER ONE! WILL ORDER ANOTHER ONE SOON.

    Read More
    Ann S. April 30, 2017
  • Very good backpack
    Verified Purchase

    My 10 yo. daughter has been using it for a couple of years already and it has survived. Very spacious inside.

    Read More
    Patricia A. December 20, 2016
  • mother
    Verified Purchase

    great product built well my twelve year old loves it !

    Read More
    amy a. September 26, 2016
  • Nice bag!
    Verified Purchase

    Very happy with my purchase! My daughter loved it.

    Read More
    Beverly H. July 1, 2016
  • Great for international Travel
    Verified Purchase

    with limited poundage on our trip to china, this, as a carry on, was perfect! Has worked well for subsequent trips (to Egypt and Europe)

    Read More
    Denise O. April 21, 2016
  • NICE
    Verified Purchase

    USES JUST AS IT WAS DESCRIBED. AND THAT HANDEL IS TELESCOPTING, IT DOES PULL OUT VERY MUCH. I AM GETTING GOOD USES FROM THIS BAG. ADMIRERED BY OTHERS SONE IN MY GYM ARE PURCHASING THIS VERY SAME BAG, DIFFERENT COLORS THOUGH.

    Read More
    BARBARA M. April 13, 2016
  • not good quality
    Verified Purchase

    this did not withstand the havoc a child does to their backpack

    Read More
    Paola K. March 22, 2016
  • Love it
    Verified Purchase

    The zipper are well done ,the wheels are good quality.Bought 3 and was very happy with the product and shipping .

    Read More
    Christine B. March 13, 2016
  • Well built
    Verified Purchase

    Nice rolling backpack for heavy loads.

    Read More
    kdsol February 17, 2016
Sponsored Links