Read All Reviews for CalPak Element Unisex 18-inch Rolling Lightweight Laptop Backpack

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Good value
    Verified Purchase

    I bought two of these for my daughters to use at school. They are very sturdy, although a little bit smaller than their last backpacks. My girls love them and have adjusted well to their smaller size... less clutter that gets forgotten!

    Read More
    jaaf January 27, 2010
  • Not for Middle School

    This item failed to support the weight of text books, the environment of an urban school (stairs), and the needs of a 12 year old. The handle bent and failed to telescope within two weeks and the protective bottom became very worn in less than six months use. I expected sturdier and realize active tweens may require something more specialized.

    Read More
    bibifran January 11, 2010
  • CalPack Rolling Backpack
    Verified Purchase

    We bought a rolling backpack from a department store for my fourth grader since he would be having more homework and heavier books. It BARELY lasted the fall semester, the bottom was almost ripped to shreds! I looked on Overstock and saw this backpack and decided to try it. The price was nice, looked great and seemed more durable. It is a very nice backpack, well made and I will order one for myself also!

    Read More
    kathvapherron January 8, 2010
  • great roller backpack
    Verified Purchase

    I can fit 3 large text books and 3 binders. it is not too heavy to pick it up by the top handle to carry. The backpack straps are a little akward because they are zipped up in the back, but overall it rolls well and i like the shape of the handle.

    Read More
    floridastudent January 6, 2010
  • Not for children
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased this back pack for emergency use only. I have filled it with emergency items such as first aid kit, flashlight, food, water and extra set of clothes etc.I think it has a great capacity for storing items but I do notice that the handle does not seem stable and I can see why others are saying that the handle came off. I have decided to keep the backpack because I don¿t intend to be pulling it very often so the handle should be intact for my use but I would imagine it would not last long with rough use so consider this when purchasing this backpack. If you would be using this over rough surfaces or pulling it up stairs or down stairs I think it would put too much stress on the handle and it would come off. I would not buy this item for my grandsons but I think my granddaughters would handle it just fine. The wheels are great and I love the way it folds to hide the dirty wheels when packing in on your back. I need a larger backpack for my husband but I am small and this one is just my size. Not too big in case I need to put it on my back.

    Read More
    oldmyrt January 6, 2010
  • Great
    Verified Purchase

    The wheels and handle are well built and sturdy. The overall construction is excellent..

    Read More
    theodc January 4, 2010
  • GREAT BACKPACK
    Verified Purchase

    I PURCHASED THIS BACKPACK FOR MY NIECE. SHE IS A THIRD GRADER AND CARRY A LOT OF BOOKS.THIS IS A GREAT BACKPACK.THERE IS ROOM FOR ALL OF HER SCHOOL BOOKS, HER LUNCH BOX AND ANY EXTRA ITEM SHE WANTS TO PACK. THE BACKPACK IS STYLISH AND DURABLE. THE WHEELS ROLLS SMOOTHLY AND THE HANDLE ADJUST WELL.IN THE NEAR FUTURE I WILL PURCHASE ONE FOR MYSELF. PURCHASE THIS BACKPACK, YOU WILL BE PLEASED. WE ARE ALWAYS ASK,"WHERE DID YOU GET THAT BACKPACK"? AND I AM QUICK TO SAY OVERSTOCK.

    Read More
    myshoes56 December 29, 2009
  • great backpack
    Verified Purchase

    the pack is a little heavier due to sturdy wheels but the wheels are great - don't have to worry about them getting stuck on anything or catching. the one thing i hadn't thought about with a single "stoke" handle is that you cannot lean shopping bags/other bags on the handle as there are not two "stokes" for them to rest and they just fall to the side if that makes sense. however, it's a great bag and i'm really glad to have it!

    Read More
    eewilliams78 December 26, 2009
  • Very good rolling backpack
    Verified Purchase

    This is a very good backpack, but it would be great if it had an inner sleeve within the main compartment.

    Read More
    livingcentral December 23, 2009
  • liked back packs
    Verified Purchase

    back packs worked well for our flight. They fit in out overhead compartment with out problems. You can fit many clothes in it if you roll them.

    Read More
    momhicks December 23, 2009
  • Perfect!
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this backpack because carrying a load of books around my college campus was starting to give me stress headaches. I had bought a backpack at a well-known superstore 2 times before and the wheels both broke on me after 1 week!!! This backpack had everything I needed. It has enough space for me to store about 4 books and a notebook! It also has 2 seperate zipped pockets that are useful, as well. Everything is still intact and working perfectly! I have had no problems with this backpack!! But it! =)

    Read More
    sugamama148 December 2, 2009
  • Great Storage
    Verified Purchase

    Great storage and smooth rolling in this multi-sectioned backback. My only complaint is that the mesh pockets on the side are not quite tall enough to safely carry my traveling coffee cup when the pack is full. Several times I've had to chase the tumblers as they popped out and rolled away. I'd recommend this pack for students or adults as the pullout handle is adequate for anyone up to 6 ft. Taller than that - you might have to add an extension!

    Read More
    bibliobrarian December 2, 2009
  • great backpack
    Verified Purchase

    So far I am very pleased with this backpack. It is durable and has adequate compartments so my daughter can organize her things. I like how the handle is make and is easy to let it down when in a hurry. I love it and my daughter which is 8 loves it as well.

    Read More
    sanekia November 29, 2009
  • Great City Roller
    Verified Purchase

    I drag it everyday on a hard city surface. The wheels are very sturdy. The straps are securely zipped in so that the won't caught in wheels when not in use. Good value.The handle could be adjusted in two length.The only downside for me is that I'm short but not short enough to be kid size, so the long position is too long, and short (kid) position is too short.

    Read More
    jujuny November 19, 2009
  • just what we needed!
    Verified Purchase

    We'd tried regular back packs and other rolling back packs, but for a middle school girl with no locker and a heavier backpack than her high school brother, we needed something different. The CalPak is just the ticket - it's easy for her to use, easy to get her books and notebooks in and out of, rolls nicely, is sturdy, and is still "cool" looking. It's also lightweight enough so that she can take it on and off the bus and up and down stairs at school easily (well as easily as is possible with it loaded with books!) Two of her friends have now ordered it and two other friends at school already had it. I highly recommend this backpack!

    Read More
    lifeimproves November 18, 2009
  • LAPTOP COMPARTMENT!
    Verified Purchase

    This is a great wheeled backpack. One thing to consider is that it has a padded compartment for a LAPTOP. You won't get a laptop wheeled backpack for this price. This is a great deal. Very durable and the wheels are strong. I can fit all my books too. Very happy with this purchase.

    Read More
    elektrashopper November 10, 2009
  • CalPak Element 18''
    Verified Purchase

    Had the delivery on schedule. The product is good and durable. Will buy more in the future.

    Read More
    yvince November 10, 2009
  • Great for the Price
    Verified Purchase

    Room enough for books, small jacket, and lunchbox. Built with sturdy materials, smooth wheels, stylish. I thought the pull handle locks in 2 positions, mid-way for small kids, and all the way up for adults but it doesn't. I know Jansport rolling backpacks do. Anyone know if I got a defective backpack or this is the design?

    Read More
    dealsshopper November 6, 2009
  • backpack
    Verified Purchase

    Great product. Will get another for other son. Plenty of room for all his books.

    Read More
    vboys November 6, 2009
  • Backpack handle problem
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased the CalPak Element rolling backpack for my 11-year-old son as I didn't think it was good for his back to carry his heavy load of school books every day. The rolling backpack certainly looks cool. My son was very pleased, especially with the cool retracting handle. Unfortunately, after barely two weeks, the handle does not retract all the way down, stopping about 8 inches short and leaving an awkward part of the backpack sticking up. I am very disappointed since I had read some very good reviews of this particular backpack.

    Read More
    rockdela November 5, 2009
Sponsored Links