Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for CalPak Diplomat 21-inch Rolling Backpack

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Yes, it falls over
    Verified Purchase

    It is actually two backpacks zipped together. A big backpack on wheels with a handle, with straps that zip up in the back; and a second smaller backpack that attaches to the big pack via a zipper. The big backpack cannot be used as both a backpack and a wheeled bag at the same time, because the straps for the backpack must be zipped up inside in order to prevent the strap cover from dragging the ground when used as a wheeled bag. So you can't wheel it, then quickly grab the straps and throw it over your shoulder. You are committed to using one way or the other. Secondly, even when the big backpack is full, when you fill the front backpack, if you try to let it stand up as a piece of wheeled luggage, it will fall forward and the front backpack lays on the ground. For it not to fall over, you'd have to keep the big backpack full of books and rocks and the front backpack filled with tissue paper. I bought this and after opening the box and playing with it for about five minutes, I wrapped it back up and put it back in the box to return.

    Read More
    anita622 June 27, 2013
  • Rolling Backpack
    Verified Purchase

    I ordered this for my daughter who is in nursing school and carrying heavy textbooks. We were a little leery of ordering without actually being able to physically look and feel the backpack. We are very pleased. The material is durable and there are multiple zippered areas. Although it has wheels, it also has shoulder straps which can be tucked away. The handle staps are wonderful, thick and well padded. She is very pleased with her choice.

    Read More
    union06 January 7, 2011
  • Awesome Sturdy Bag
    Verified Purchase

    I was not wrong in choosing this product for my day to day school activities. From home to school, school to library, and back home, this rolling backpack answers everything that I need to carry three (3) nursing books, a 15 inch laptop, chargers, and other stuff pertinent to my activities. I just hope the wheels doesn't give up until next Spring 2013 when I finish my degree plan.

    Read More
    lvnrnguy August 14, 2012
  • Rollling Backpack for Nursing School
    Verified Purchase

    I researched all different types of rolling backpacks because I am in Nursing School and have a huge load of books to haul. I compared features and prices and found this to be one of the best deals. When I got the backpack I was extremely happy with my purchase. I have been using it for 3 weeks now and have no complaints. I reallly like the feature of being able to take off the front part of the backpack to use it as a "normal" backpack. I have nothing bad to say about this backpack and would highly recommend it!

    Read More
    robnat420 September 20, 2011
  • CalPak Diplomat 21 inch
    Verified Purchase

    This is a great rolling backpack. I had never actually used one before, but I started nursing school recently and realized I wanted one rather than carry all my books on my back. The only problem was I have so many books to carry in the bag that I was not able to fit my laptop in it. That would probably not be a problem for someone who does not have to carry more than 5 books at one time. I would definitely recommend this to anyone.

    Read More
    karabara013 September 2, 2009
  • Great
    Verified Purchase

    I got this for my son who is hard on his backpacks. So far do good

    Read More
    Carrie D. November 26, 2016
  • east coast
    Verified Purchase

    perfect for traveling on an airplane

    Read More
    lori k. June 28, 2016
  • Nursing sch
    Verified Purchase

    This bag is excellent. I use it to carry all my books for nursing. I only use the first piece and remove the second one because it is really large. My laptop is so big and it fits in with my books. My friend also purchased it after seeing that it is large. She likes it too. So far so good. I recommend it to other people or students esp in nursing.

    Read More
    Florence N. April 14, 2016
  • Handle broke, warranty is garbage
    Verified Purchase

    O.CO said the warranty had to be handled with Calpak. Their response, to a valid warranty claim is exactly what the term "failing to act in good faith" means. They warranty a product, it fails due to poor craftsmanship under light use and then they make it so difficult to return it that no one does it...At least that's what they hope. This is absolute nonsense. Here's the response from warranty.. You will need to provide the following: Cut out portion of the item Processing Fee $14.95 Proof of Purchase Original Warranty Tag The area of the item you would need to cut is circled on the image below, including the CalPak logo. The portion of the bag must measure at least 8” x 10”. Please be advised that we will not accept anything smaller or from any other side of the bag. Your replacement will ship within 7-10 business days from the date the requested items are received. They also requires photos, details of the failure, etc. Total BS!

    Read More
    Christopher l. April 6, 2016
  • Ms.
    Verified Purchase

    Got hard use for several years by high schooler and stood up very well. Previously he had literally gone through several backpacks every year. It was jammed every day with books, computers and high school necessities and still held together.

    Read More
    Catherine V. March 28, 2016
  • Large, sturdy & just what we were looking for
    Verified Purchase

    My daughter is in high school taking a full load of AP classes. She has a high volume of heavy, thick books along with binders for each. We struggled finding a bag large enough to hold everything and then sturdy enough to deal with her wear and tear. We have made it thru half the school year and this bag has not disappointed us! The handles, wheels and material have all held up great. Extremely pleased

    Read More
    Karen N. January 15, 2016
  • mom
    Verified Purchase

    excellent - THE BEST EVER!!! BUY IT. TRY IT YOU WILL LOVE IT.

    Read More
    June G. November 17, 2015
  • Very Sturdy
    Verified Purchase

    I've had this back pack for three years now and I love it. It stood up to my five anatomy class books one semester! I had to put some black duct tape on the bottom where it rubs a little but you can't even see it. I love it!

    Read More
    Deborah A. October 9, 2015
  • Excellent backpack
    Verified Purchase

    You cannot go wrong with this backpack. Holds a TON of stuff and the quality is top notch!

    Read More
    Lisa B. September 16, 2015
  • Handle broke
    Verified Purchase

    The handle does not go all the way down. he used it for 1 month of school and the handle will no longer retract all the way down. He didn't break it as it still functions but the mechanism is just name made well.

    Read More
    allisonshaw October 10, 2013
  • As expected
    Verified Purchase

    After reading up numerous reviews on rolling backpacks, I have decided on this one and it was a great choice. I too am in nursing school and do not want to haul all those books around and be crippled up by the time I graduate. I've only been using a short time but am impressed with the size and quality.

    Read More
    dodgers6611 August 20, 2013
  • Crappy Customer Service= Waste of money
    Verified Purchase

    The Backpack was great WHILE IT LASTED. Backpack does fall over as noted in other reviews. Most significantly, the handle broke off inside of four months after we got it, and my attempts to contact customer service went unanswered. WAY too much money to spend on a backpack that lasts less than four months with a guarantee that is not really a guarantee. I am going back to LL Bean or Lands End and their unbeatable customer service.

    Read More
    sistopher August 20, 2013
  • Love my rolling backpack
    Verified Purchase

    I checked out so many other backpacks and was about to buy the Nike rolling backpack but was disappointed in the quality of the material. I decided to first try the Calpak rolling backpack. I'm so glad I did. The material is way better quality and the handle is also very sturdy for the price. Great deal.

    Read More
    negra131 July 30, 2013
  • Great
    Verified Purchase

    Great - I use it every day to haul all my books. The handle is sturdy and it is a high quality product

    Read More
    kryptonite8 April 18, 2013
  • Really big
    Verified Purchase

    Its really great at saving my skinny little back. don't listen to the other reviews because they must have a damn body in the bag. It stands up strait and is similar to a suit case also its worth the price because its so durable.

    Read More
    daniellepie March 27, 2013