Read All Reviews for Stuhrling Original 'Winchester' Skeleton Automatic Watch

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
Club O Silver

Club O members earn Club O Rewards for writing reviews. Learn More

  • Highly unique but not too stylized for daily wear!
    Verified Purchase

    My wife bought me this watch for my birthday and it is a great addition to my small collection of watches! Generally I'm fond of any watch that is unique in features and the exposed skeleton style of this watch is fantastic. The touch of color on the watch hands really adds a lot to the look of the watch--I've worn it nearly every day for two weeks! My only complaint with the watch itself is the sound level. It is by far the most audible watch I've ever owned. I'm not sure this is characteristic of Stuhrling watches--my wife has one and it is almost silent unless it is very close to your ear--but I can hear this watch ticking away even if it is several feet from me. When I'm not wearing the watch I found it is best to turn it face down as the ticking is no longer audible when it is positioned like that (i.e., the sound emanates from the face of the watch, so when it is face-down whatever it is sitting on dampens the sound; I'm pretty sure it is not a mechanical problem). If the watch was a little quieter I would definitely rate it 5 stars. Be aware: Overstock's product description is a little incorrect. The case diameter is 42mm, not 38mm. It is a little bigger than I anticipated. Overstock is great to purchase from and offers excellent value.

    Read More
    sinrg August 24, 2008
  • Nice, if it kept time
    Verified Purchase

    Watch looks great, but won't keep time; I can wind it up, set it down for a few hours come back and it's either gained or lost time. Wound it up just this morning, set the time, and by 3:30 PM it told me the time was past 4:00pm. I can wind it up at night before going to bed and it may be off as much as several hours the next morning, & seems worse when I lay it flat, which points to bad jewels. Thought for the longest I was not winding it up enough but have verified it's just losing or gaining time as it sees fit.

    Read More
    mmccown January 13, 2011
  • Looks better on the website
    Verified Purchase

    I've had this watch for about a week now, and its nice, but was a little disappointed with the quality. The leather band is cheap, and there are parts of the steel that is dull, like the numbers on the dial.

    Read More
    jason100 March 18, 2008
  • Excellent Watch and Value
    Verified Purchase

    I have a lot of watches. Lately I've been only buying automatics because I was tired of replacing batteries. Some complain about the automatics when they don't wear them daily, due to them not being wound. I would suggest a watch winder, they are wonderful. My daily wear is a Rolex, I wear this watch on the weekends and for occasions where a Rolex is not practical. What's really funny is that this watch gets far more comments than my Rolex! It is a nice looking watch with the stainless steel case and insides which make the blue hands really stand out, it is a good combination, very attractive. This is my third Stuhrling that I've bought and everyone of them has been a very good value.

    Read More
    lordelgin February 27, 2008
  • The Best
    Verified Purchase

    Beautiful watch, splendid design and presentation, I am very happy with the purchase. Overall, it is great value for the money, and I am very happy with the design of the watch.

    Read More
    kalink January 2, 2008
  • Amazing!
    Verified Purchase

    This watch is so beautiful in person. I was so excited to give it to my husband for our anniversary. And he absolutely loved it. It's now 7 years later it's the only watching wears!

    Read More
    Candace E. September 29, 2016
  • This was a gift to my husband
    Verified Purchase

    This was my first time purchasing a Stuhrling watch. It came with lot of information about the history of the watch and how you can register it. I liked the color and design of it. It looks very nice on his wrist. He wears it to church. So he considers it a nice dress watch. You will not go wrong with the style and the price.

    Read More
    jsladner December 16, 2015
  • Very nice watch
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this watch as a gift and my friend loved it.

    Read More
    Omar S. June 18, 2015
  • Steven Brown
    Verified Purchase

    Beautiful product. Everyone loves it.

    Read More
    Steven B. June 8, 2015
  • Poor Quality

    This watch is extremely poor quality. The leather is fake and the automatic mechanism does not work. I noticed it would not keep time for more than twelve hours when not being activated (moving on my wrist) but after a month it simply stopped working.

    Read More
    john e. March 20, 2015
  • Stuhning!
    Verified Purchase

    Absolutely beautiful watch, with beautiful and impressive boxing/packaging as well. I bought this as a gift for my father (who collects watches) and he was absolutely stunned with the design/overall look. This has become one of his "client/meeting watches" as it is a great conversation piece. I will probably end up purchasing similar Stuhrling watches as gifts for other friends/family

    Read More
    Myshell M. February 17, 2015
  • Won't keep time
    Verified Purchase

    Purchased this watch as a gift and it won;t keep time. Have wound it consistently and it continues to average 20 to 30 minutes fast. Having to reset the watch daily. I could send it back to Stuhrling for $20 and hope they will fix it or return it and purchase another one and cross my fingers it works... Really unfortunate since it's such a great looking watch but worthless as a time piece

    Read More
    OstkUser7969 December 31, 2014
  • Poor quality
    Verified Purchase

    This watch looks great, but the quality and workmanship is horrendous. I had to have them replace it twice. I kept it because it looks great. Unfortunately, when I finally got one that wasn't broken, the thing would never keep the correct time. I still wore it because it was good looking. Eventually after a couple of years it broke and wouldn't wind anymore. These watches are clearly very poorly made. BEWARE!

    Read More
    brock5000 March 26, 2014
  • Beautiful watch
    Verified Purchase

    Beautiful watch given to my 20 year old son for Christmas. He loved it! Great price too!

    Read More
    bonnieb1 January 23, 2014
  • AWESOME
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this watch for my boyfriend for Valentines Day and he absolutely loves it! He wears it with nearly every outfit. He has received several compliments and other gentlemen wanting know where they can get one. It is timeless and classy.

    Read More
    acoopa July 24, 2013
  • Great Watch for a Great Value!
    Verified Purchase

    My husband and I bought this watch as a Father's Day gift for his father. We had purchased a Sturhling Skeleton watch some time before for my husband and his dad loved it. Needless to say, he absolutely loved his watch! He wore it every day as a casual watch for almost three years, until just a few weeks ago he was fixing the time on the little knob and it broke - the entire thing came out and wouldn't go back in. Recommendation: KEEP YOUR BOX, REGISTER YOUR PRODUCT FOR WARRANTY PURPOSES, WRITE A REVIEW! Your warranty is void if you take it to a non-stuhrling specified watch repair place so don't do that either! Overall, it's an excellent - beautiful - timepiece. He has received numerous compliments on the watch, the leather band has held up well, and it looks very unique. I would recommend it to anyone interested in getting a casual everyday watch. There are other more formal models, which we have also purchased, for more formal occasions.

    Read More
    saharav April 22, 2013
  • Cool dial
    Verified Purchase

    Face is very cool and different. My husband didn't like it because after about 2 months the ticking was very loud. He found it annoying and now the watch just sits in his drawer.

    Read More
    sallie67 March 27, 2013
  • Surprisingly reliable
    Verified Purchase

    For what it costs now, the Winchester is an amazing watch. It is well-finished, handsome, and surprisingly reliable. Like many mechanical/automatic watches, it does not take well to bumps and collisions so be careful - I had to have mine repaired by Sturhling Original because I was not initially very careful. My two gripes are that it doesn't have a date display (but that's part of the skeleton design so it's not exactly a negative, just an expression of what might be a preference that cannot be fulfilled) and that the leather strap's quality is a tad underwhelming. I eventually sold my watch, and I must admit that now I regret doing so. This watch is a keeper.

    Read More
    ecthelion March 20, 2013
  • Striking appearance but unacceptable timekeeping
    Verified Purchase

    The Winchester skeleton looks great but cannot keep time. When worn, it gained over an hour a day. It's hard to believe this could even happen these days with a mechanical watch. When motionless, the watch simply stops within a few minutes. The mechanism is clearly defective. Considering the frequency of timekeeping problems in other reviews, Stuhrling has a big problem with design and/or quality control in the Winchester line. I would not recommend any Winchester automatic watch, including this model.

    Read More
    kajlsdfhkljadfh March 16, 2013
  • bought it aginst better judgement and it has broke
    Verified Purchase

    What can I say.....I am an idiot for pushing on when all signs said stop. #1 I bought it despite bad review , lured by it's look#2 I received the wrong color, continued trying to get the right one #3 I got a broken one, right color. Sent it back and requested it yet again #4 I got a working one that lasted 6 months before breaking and with it my last shred of patience. NEVER AGAIN! This is what reviews are for

    Read More
    c0ngrio March 13, 2013
Sponsored Links