Free Shipping* & 5% Rewards On Every Order* With Club O
Add to cart to see price
Free Shipping*
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for iTouchless 13-gallon Square Extra-Wide Opening Trash Can

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Man I'm lazy
    Verified Purchase

    I love gadgets and when I saw a self-opening garbage can how could I pass it up? Often when I go to throw something away and I put my hand out in front of the scanner I feel like a Jedi using the force to open up the lid. Really, quite sad. I've had this device for about a month. It uses 4 D size batteries but I stuck in 4 Eneloop rechargeable AA batteries with adapters and it's been holding up just fine. It does have a plug for an AC adapter, sold separately, but I felt it just looks nicer where I want it without a cable. It opens not smoothly but in several increments so it's not ehhhhhh but more like ehh, ehh, ehh but it's still very quick. After it's open if you have to waddle over the bin for a few seconds you'd better do it fast because that sucker closes fast! I find it a game to do what I have to do but try to get out JUST before it closes. The one complaint I see often here is that the sensor doesn't reach out far enough. I'm incredibly shocked every day at how people lack the most basic problem solving techniques but are quick to complain. The sensor does not shoot out an infrared beam continuously. It does so periodically. If you just happen to move your hand 6" away right after it shuts down it won't open so people get frustrated then move their hand closer then complain about how it's not sensitive enough. It's not the new proximity that triggers the opening but it's that next infrared beam that picks it up. It works fine at about 6-7" away, you just have to hold your hand there if you missed it and the frequency is not long at all. Just imagine you're commanding it with the force to open and it'll open in no time. A 13 gallon bag fits nicely but oddly doesn't reach all the way down even with all the coaxing I did at the collar. Because of its narrowness when the garbage gets to the top the bag is still not completely full which suits me great since my high rise garbage chute doesn't like a full bag. The only reason I gave it 4 starts instead of 5 was that the steel sides seem rather thin. In fact the entire mechanism was shipped inside the bin itself and a part of it seems to have banged against the wall leaving a small dent protruding out the front. I feel like if I threw something hard in there it would dent out the back side so I'm gentle with heavier garbage. Other than that it looks and works great.

    Read More
    jayjay72 April 7, 2010
  • Totally satisfied

    I've had the iTouchless 13-gallon can for about 4 years now. If you are concerned about replacing batteries all the time, don't be. We have changed the batteries ONCE. Seriously. And we use the can a lot--with toddler grandchildren experimenting with it, forcing it closed, opening it just to watch how it works, it still has held up mechanically, and the batteries kept going and going. The lid is effective at keeping odors inside. Unfortunately, a plastic part on the lid has finally broken, so we are replacing the can with the wide opening version and looking forward to many more years of not having to touch the lid of our trash can. Warning: This will make you look like an idiot at friends' homes when you just stand over their trash can waiting for 'service'!

    Read More
    mseudora October 1, 2010
  • Convenience has a high price
    Verified Purchase

    Actually, laziness has a high price. A lot of people will ask - why spend the extra money for a power trash can? The simple answer is that it is more 'convenience' over function. I own 2 of these touchless trash cans. These are my recommendations: a) DO NOT get the round one. There is a analogous round trash can that is about 13 gallons as well - it also is iTouchless; but, there is a major difference. It is MUCH more difficult to get the trash bags out of the round one than the square one. The mouth on the square one is also much wider - allowing one to easily scrape off plates, etc. b) make sure to get the power adapter. I do not use batteries - but, run it off the AC adapter. This is an extra cost that you should budget. While the rechargeable batteries could be an option - I would think it is more of an annoyance than using the AC adapter; but, that is a matter of personal preference. Overall - is this something that a person 'must' have? No. It is a novelty item and a frivolous expense. However, for me, this frivolous expense is well worth it. All of us buy junk and regret making the purchase later on - I do not have any regrets with this purchase. Hope this helps.

    Read More
    kekua May 1, 2010
  • iTouchless 13-gallon Square Extra-wide Opening Tra
    Verified Purchase

    After having the original iTouchless trash can for 5 years we decided to upgrade to the new wide-opening version (the old made it through 5 years with ZERO problems and only had to be replaced because our movers roughed it up too much). The new version is quieter, moves up slowly (a positive vs moving too quickly which would likely lead to more wear & tear of the mechanism), and the wider opening is absolutely a big positive. Changing bags is also easier on the new version with a frame that is evenly shaped throughout (the old one you had to look closely as the it wasn't a perfect rectangle and required a close look to be placed on properly each time) and also conceals the bag better. Overall: a sleek trash can, highly convenient wide opening (worth the extra $), easy to replace bags ea time and touchless function keeps hands clean!...plus fairly quick delivery by Overstock.com

    Read More
    rshap March 24, 2010
  • Design but little else
    Verified Purchase

    Good look for kitchen but touchless is annoying and filter falls off. So forget the touchless part and it is a good functional trash can.

    Read More
    rico006 July 26, 2016
  • New Trash can
    Verified Purchase

    Not as please as I had hope to be, seems small for a 13 gallon

    Read More
    Canvyis H. August 13, 2017
  • Small Trash Can Opening
    Verified Purchase

    This user earned $2.00 Club O Rewards for writing this review.Learn More

    I was expecting something a little larger. The opening is very square and makes it difficult to get trash in with out spilling over. Next time i will purchase a rectangular.

    Read More
    James E S. August 3, 2017
  • iTouchless 13-gallon Square Trash Can
    Verified Purchase

    This user earned $2.00 Club O Rewards for writing this review.Learn More

    This iTouchless 13-Gallon Square Extra-Wide Opening Trash Can is amazing! It just works so smoothly like I don't even know how to describe it...It has made my life easier...The flip at the top work so smoothly...The bag fits perfectly and it fills to the top....I am so happy to buy this Trash can...

    Read More
    Donna G August 2, 2017
  • Great size for an apartment
    Verified Purchase

    This user earned $2.00 Club O Rewards for writing this review.Learn More

    The trash can is nice and looks like the picture. The only negative is it can be plugged in but the plug is not included. The lid opens without touch and will close on it's own after you walk away.

    Read More
    Kasi J. July 26, 2017
  • Good But Not Great
    Verified Purchase

    This user earned $2.00 Club O Rewards for writing this review.Learn More

    This trash can worked in the beginning but it didn't last long. After a few months the lid would not open fully each time it was used. Overall it's a good concept but the quality just isn't there.

    Read More
    katchar July 22, 2017
  • It's held up
    Verified Purchase

    This user earned $2.00 Club O Rewards for writing this review.Learn More

    We have had this trash can for 5 years and it's still working! Sometimes if it's really packed the bag can be hard to pull out since it's a narrow design but it's still working ok.

    Read More
    Angela H. July 19, 2017
  • love this product
    Verified Purchase

    This user earned $2.00 Club O Rewards for writing this review.Learn More

    This trashcan is amazing! It just works so smoothly like i dont even know how to describe it! It has made my life 100000 times easier. The flip at the top works so smoothly. I'm so happy i bought this.

    Read More
    Manuela Z. July 4, 2017
  • i was skeptical......but it's awesome
    Verified Purchase

    only two minor issues.....the plastic lid feels VERY flimsy....+ the second issue? now you'll want everything in your home to just open for you with the wave of a hand......oh my....

    Read More
    Monica Y. G. May 13, 2017
  • Paul
    Verified Purchase

    Wonderful touchless lid with AC/DC option. The filter does a great job absorbing odors. Stylish

    Read More
    OstkUser983423 April 11, 2017
  • Very nice
    Verified Purchase

    Not a bad product. Very nice.

    Read More
    Jacqueline H. March 10, 2017
  • Germ Free Trash Can
    Verified Purchase

    I've had this trash can for a couple of years and haven't changed batteries. It is very durable and functions as good as when I bought it the first day.

    Read More
    Monica S. February 21, 2017
  • LOVE IT!
    Verified Purchase

    We've had this can for 5+ years and I love it. Only replaced the batteries once.

    Read More
    Danielle F. January 28, 2017
  • Very roomy
    Verified Purchase

    Looks great in our new kitchen

    Read More
    Felicita R. January 14, 2017
  • Exceptional
    Verified Purchase

    Although we've had this product for approximately a month, we love it. It is very sleek and contemporary. Replacing the liner is a breeze - a welcome improvement over our last trash can. The filter is a very nice feature. This was a great buy!

    Read More
    1purplelady December 8, 2016
  • Great automatic can
    Verified Purchase

    Would recommend because it has an adapter to plug in and I did not have good experience with previous battery operated can I ordered from Overstock as well! No complaints so far! Only downfall is it seems a bit smaller than the previous one but still I am pleased!

    Read More
    sweetangelical September 29, 2016
Sponsored Links