Free Shipping* & 5% Rewards On Every Order* With Club O
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Yuma Folding Sun Canopy by Christopher Knight Home

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Sun canopy
    Verified Purchase

    Not as stated...the umbrella is very heavy and almost impossible to open. The mechanism that opens the umbrella broke after using it 2 times. Overstock offered to return money or give partial credit back. We chose the credit because the umbrella was too heavy to manipulate back into the box and not worth the trouble. Do not buy!

    Read More
    Janie K. January 17, 2017
  • Good umbrella, but string snapped after a year
    Verified Purchase

    The umbrella is very sturdy and large, provides a great amount of shade. You can adjust the angle of the shade and swing the shade around on the pivot arm. It is very heavy and you must heavily weight it down. It will topple in the wind, so you must fold it up if windy weather is expected. After a year of use the string that is used to wind up the canopy snapped and pulled out of the umbrella. I was able to restring it myself but it took NINE HOURS over the course of two days. You have to completely disassemble 75% of the umbrella to restring it. It was a brutal experience.

    Read More
    Kristy B. August 4, 2016
  • Does Not Last!!
    Verified Purchase

    Just like the other reviews, if you crank it all the way it gets stuck or on occasion the crank unwinds. It is not balanced so the actual top part is a little slanted. The umbrella itself stays in place with weights as described. Even with an umbrella cover, the canopy ripped at the top part. I have it now sitting in the side of the house with no use for it. I tried looking for a replacement canopy but have not located one as of yet. I bought it on sale so it was not as painful as those who paid the $***.

    Read More
    Jose P. June 27, 2016
  • Central Florida
    Verified Purchase

    Overstock was very cooperative when we requested this umbrella be returned. It is poorly balanced, and does not remain upright when opened.

    Read More
    jolnk May 29, 2016
  • Crank doesn't work

    I bought this umbrella and the crank does not lock in place. In order to use it open I have to wrap an ace bandage around it so it will stay open. $279 was not a good deal as the darn thing doesn't work . Too big to ship back.

    Read More
    Wendy H. February 21, 2016
  • Worth the $$ spent
    Verified Purchase

    Good workman ship , happy so far worth the $

    Read More
    Andy P. November 10, 2015
  • Get stuck many times
    Verified Purchase

    Canopy handle gets stuck many times which make the umbrella completely not useful and that's a shame....

    Read More
    David S. October 26, 2015
  • Great Until.....
    Verified Purchase

    We loved this canopy until today. After I put the canopy up, I heard a crack by the crank and down the canopy came right on top of me. I hope there is an easy solution for this issue.

    Read More
    Andrew C. July 30, 2015
  • Nice Big Canopy BUT Very Weak Locking Gear...
    Verified Purchase

    After 3rd use the locking ratchet type gear no longer holds so the canopy can not be opened....great no shade!!! Very aggravated with such a weak locking system for this large of an umbrella. Putting my Handy Woman skills to work, I drilled a couple of holes in the upright pole and use a metal cotter pin to lock umbrella in place. Works, but doesn't give you the same number of height adjustments grrr..... Footing must be anchored, either to the lawn with hooks or the use of sand bag weights...unit will tip over if not secured. Just ask my dog!! She still runs and hides when I open up the umbrella...drama queen! Really nice full canopy, and being able to adjust the angle to project a wider area of shade as the sun changes overhead is a real plus, so I keep using it. In my price range I just haven't found any other off-set to replace it for canopy size.

    Read More
    HANNAH July 17, 2015
  • Broke after less than one year.
    Verified Purchase

    The crank broke after less than a year, and there is no manufacturer information to get parts. Happy at first, but disappointed now.

    Read More
    OstkUser37350 July 1, 2015
  • Love our Canopy
    Verified Purchase

    Great quality. This is a heavy unit, but fabulous.

    Read More
    Shari P. April 23, 2015
  • made our deck real outdoor living space
    Verified Purchase

    looked at various shades, umbrellas, canopies. this does it all, a 10' by 10' room. we can be out there in the rain, great shade, changed my life!

    Read More
    shelleyv April 21, 2015
  • Terrible, terrible
    Verified Purchase

    We had it 3 weeks and the slide mechanism slipped all the time cutting my sons hand. Then after just using it a couple times the umbrella part would not stay up. You wound up the handle and it would not latch and came spinning back dropping the umbrella. Poor design!

    Read More
    milner2john July 23, 2014
  • Looks nice but fragil
    Verified Purchase

    It was very nice to look at and all friends loved it when we 1st used it. 2nd time the top came off when the wind blow at it. We were able to put it back together but it came off again. Glad Overstock allow us to return it. So disappoint it didn't last long.

    Read More
    boboma July 15, 2014
  • Poor quality item
    Verified Purchase

    This item broke a hot second after putting it up. Poor quality check and poor construction will keep me away in the future but the item is gorgeous while it lasted.

    Read More
    sunnyinmass July 3, 2014
  • I love this sun canopy.
    Verified Purchase

    This sun canopy is very sturdy, built very well. It is like having another room on my home. Also, it is very easy to put up and take down. It also doesn't blow around that much in the wind. I am extremely satisfied.

    Read More
    19341994 July 2, 2014
  • Umbrella
    Verified Purchase

    Excellent product...excellent price...highly recommend to anyone

    Read More
    robertfkellerjr June 29, 2014
  • Great quality fabric on this canopy cover!
    Verified Purchase

    This canopy has a great quality fabric. It was way larger than expected,but, the quality for the price paid, makes up for it. In time we will be able to tell how it withstands the heat, humidity,etc. (The zipper's durability may be an issue. They probably should have used a more heavy duty zipper to measure up to the fabric they used.) Still, over all, we are very happy with this purchase.

    Read More
    ynotvick June 29, 2014
  • Enjoying the shade
    Verified Purchase

    OK at first we didn't hit the ball out of the park but the main thing is everything is OK now, let me tell you a bit of what happened, I ordered this sun shade from overstock and this was my first time purchasing anything from overstock and the first sunshade was defective didn't last 24 hours so I got on the phone and talked to Customer Service and they acted quickly and began to ship my defected part to me and they kept me up with emails and follow up emails and withing 5-10 days I received my part and it was the wrong part and so I called them again and explain the situation and with a 7 day window they had the correct part sent to me and I am now enjoying wonderful shade from the bright, hot, summer days. So yes I am happy with the way Overstock.com handle everything even though we got off in the wrong direction but they quickly fixed the issue and all is good. So yes I would recommend Overstock to friends and family, yes I would order from them again. and no I am not disappointed in anyway of the product I received. So Do I recommend this product "YES" Do I recommend Overstock.com to buy from "YES" ...... "

    Read More
    billyhighbeams June 20, 2014
  • Good umbrella.
    Verified Purchase

    I shopped and researched intensely for a few weeks before settling on this umbrella. A couple of things enticed me into purchasing this instead of others. The shaft is not a simple tube, but a more rectangular profile (for stiffness) The attachment point between shaft and canopy is on a triangular arrangement. These aspects match high end umbrellas in the thousands of dollars. I knew that a canopy of 100sq.ft will catch wind at an incredible force and the stiffness of this attachment point is very important. Now, no umbrella of this size can exist without a serous base. The best base you can find for this unit (and probably others on this site), is the circular, urethane, 4 section base, that’s designed to be top loaded with wet sand. It will take 140Lb of sand and 30Lb of water. The base should interlock with the cross of the umbrella and should not have any opportunity to shift in relation to each other. You can find this base in many places. The only caveat, the radius of the inner hole is smaller than the pedal and rotating bearing that comes with this umbrella. Sadly, only for a 1/2” or so. But no worries. You can buy (4) 2” iron pipes, 4 metric bolts size 8x1.25x70, and 8 thick washers. This will act as an offset to clear the plastic base. This is the arrangement (sorry no pictures): Cross member -> washer -> 2” iron pipe -> washer -> umbrella’s bearing and pedal -> 70mm bolt. Despite all these efforts, the umbrella is still not going to be rigid enough to withstand any kind of side wind. The triangular attachment point is good only facing into the wind, but not lateral forces. It is not unique to this umbrella. Luckily, there is a measure to counteract that as well. If you look at Eclipse umbrella, you will see that they use stabilizer bars for their 40mph wind tunnel test. I did the next best thing, tied a rope in a lateral triangle configuration, between low on the shaft and two corners of the canopy. The result is an incredibly stable umbrella. It only takes a second to tie up the rope when I deploy the umbrella and it does not detract aesthetically. Some more info on the umbrella construction itself. The metal parts are of excellent construction. I only noticed a small flaking on the crank handle power coat, but that’s irrelevant. When fully deployed, the canopy is not completely horizontal to the ground, but that gets corrected with the stabilizing rope if you go that route. It actually not supposed to do that, it appears to be a slight manufacturing imperfection. The horizontal offset is only about 1-2 degrees. Mostly, all the parts are well engineered and should in theory last. How long it will last will also depend on me. And so far I have taken the steps to protect it with base, stabilizer rope, and umbrella cover. I need this to last at least 5 years in perfect condition.

    Read More
    y0bel June 18, 2014
Sponsored Links