Today: $159.98

At other retailer: $204.46

Save $44.48 (22%)

Free Shipping
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Writing Desk

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
Club O Silver

Club O members earn Club O Rewards for writing reviews.

  • Terrific Value
    Verified Purchase

    I'm thrilled with my new writer's desk. There is nothing to complain about and much to rave about. I did a lot of comparison shopping before making this purchase so I am in an informed enough position to appreciate the supreme value of this desk. MATERIAL: The fact that it is solid wood (rubber wood) alone puts it shoulders above anything else in the market under $200 - no laminates to peel off and no off gassing glue holding a compressed mass of wood shavings together. And it's beautiful wood - nicely dense and powdery smooth, its natural colour so pleasing I am considering changing my mind about staining or painting it. The fact I paid only $$$ for this made it a steal. CONSTRUCTION: also solid - all parts fit together perfectly. This desk ain't wobbling! And the assembly was dead easy. I've only one hand so a girlfriend did this for me in half an hour, I think. The drawer is on runners (not top of the line but adequate) so it glides out easily. It fits snugly when closed. I've not tested it weighted with contents yet. SIZE: A perfect compromise between generosity of work space and the need to conserve limited floor space. I can spread out a big binder, my mac notebook, a table lamp, snack bowl, knick knacks, and not feel cramped. DELIVERY: Was surprised at how quickly it arrived - 2 or 3 days I think. And at under $3 for S&H I not only saved gas money but having to carry the desk to and from the car. Sweet.

    Read More
    mheng November 5, 2012
  • Great quality!
    Verified Purchase

    I initially ordered the "espresso" colored desk in this style, but it arrived more as a cherry wood, so I opted for this unfinished model. I sanded (really didn't need to), found a gel stain (para wood doesn't take regular oil based stains well) and finished with a matte polyurethane seal. The result is a stunning. Now a true espresso! Am very happy with this purchase and highly recommend.

    Read More
    Crecia July 7, 2015
  • Fantastic Desk
    Verified Purchase

    What a fabulous desk! Sleek and sturdy, raw wood. Couldn't beat the price! Easy to put together, just had to put the legs on. I'm a photographer and I needed something simple with ample top space and it serves me great. If you don't need bells and whistles like drawers (it has one, that's plenty for me) or cabinets or a hutch, this is a piece for you! The toughest thing to figure out with this desk is whether or not to stain it. The raw wood look is gorgeous with visible knots and grain, but would probably take a stain beautifully! It's clutter resistant too. You will keep it cleaned off as much as possible to always see it! I highly recommend this desk!

    Read More
    joekc August 8, 2012
  • Great Work Desk
    Verified Purchase

    Pefect for what I needed just a large work space. I work for home so this was perfect. Sturdy.

    Read More
    Brenda P. May 17, 2016
  • Great Desk
    Verified Purchase

    I am very happy with this desk. It arrived quickly. Very easy to assemble. I wasn't to sure of the color by the picture on the website but it is a beautiful light wood. Very sturdy and spacious. The drawer is a decent size. My only complaint is it doesn't seem to have been sealed so I sprayed it with polyurethane and it seems to have worked well. I recommend this product.

    Read More
    Jean C. March 13, 2016
  • Lovely writing desk
    Verified Purchase

    Arrived in timely fashion, delivery box was beat up but contents well protected. There was only a very small indentation on the top. I applied a satin, clear polyurethane to the top. Next day, I sanded top with fine grit sanding block as the poly raised the grain ever so slightly. I applied a fine furniture wax to legs, sides and drawer. This brought out the beauty of the wood, while giving it protection from daily use. It is a lovely table for a very good price.

    Read More
    babyboomerfan November 20, 2015
  • Excellent quality for price
    Verified Purchase

    "This desk did need some light sanding before painting/staining, but I expected that. My only negative feedback is that the desk had a very unpleasant (and unhygienic-smelling) odor that I had to address. Kind of gross, but I'm assuming that was just a one-time problem. Since I was sanding anyway, I wiped it thoroughly with Clorox wipes (which made the wood fibers swell slightly) and then sanded after it dried. Probably not the best way to deal with wood! But it did the trick. Again, overall, when I consider the pricing and construction, I do recommend this desk. "

    Read More
    Jennifer M. August 21, 2015
  • Excellent Desk!
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased this desk to use as a computer desk. I was so impressed with it when it arrived! Assembly was incredibly easy and simply involved screwing on each leg to the top. It took me longer to open the box than it did to put the desk together. The desk is made of a very sturdy wood and while i have not taken the time to finish it, it'd look great painted or with a stain. I am confident that this piece of furniture will last an extremely long time and I was incredibly happy with the price I paid for it. This was one of the best purchases I've ever made.

    Read More
    Robert B. August 15, 2015
  • Lovely solid wood table
    Verified Purchase

    Studied up on how to finish the table and chose a clear satin, wipe-on poly that gave a little amber color to the wood and brought out the grains. Result was spectacular. Shipping was precipitously quick; had to take a day off on short notice to wait for the delivery; was stuck home all day, and then the package was left at the door without a knock or a ring of the bell. Needed a neighbor's help to get the heavy, bulky package inside the house. Crazy business! Table had a few bangs and dents but barely noticeable after sanding. One leg didn't line up exactly right in the assembly process but end result was a sturdy, stable table. Overall, had an adventure and wound up with a five star treasure.

    Read More
    OstkUser43344 August 13, 2015
  • This is solid wood
    Verified Purchase

    I put min wax on it turned out nice

    Read More
    David S. May 15, 2015
  • well built
    Verified Purchase

    Great desk for the price. Don't over tighten the legs, it puts a weird strain on the piece. The wood is indeed nice-looking, but so light in color that I chose to paint, then stain-wash & weather it.

    Read More
    Julie L. March 5, 2015
  • Barbara Fry
    Verified Purchase

    This unfinished desk was easy to stain and apply polyurethane and to assemble. It has a surprisingly spacious center drawer. The size is good for a small office space. The price for this product is very good.

    Read More
    Barbara F. February 21, 2015
  • Best deal on a solid wood desk around!
    Verified Purchase

    We were so impressed with this desk when we first purchased it six months or so ago that we've since purchased 5 more of them for our kids' rooms and other areas of the house. The wood is beautiful, whether coated with a light spray on varnish or fully stained (especially beautiful when stained as it really brings out the individual pieces of wood and their character. Buy it while they have it, because they ran out after our first purchase and we had to wait about 3 months before we could get it again!

    Read More
    Pamela G. January 8, 2015
  • Not packaged for shipping
    Verified Purchase

    I think this may have been a return because there was no type of protective packaging in the box. The piece comes in 5 pieces and every one had at least one large GOUGE in it. If it was purchased locally I would defiantly return it - The price paid and the damage from shipping make it a piece of scratch and dent that you didn't get that good of a discount on. The positive is it is solid wood and extremely sturdy. I have decided to keep it but am not ordering any larger items from overstock again - everything I have ever ordered that weighed over 30 pounds has shown up damaged in one way or another.

    Read More
    ticker72lc March 14, 2014
  • Very Good
    Verified Purchase

    I looked everywhere for a nice inexpensive desk that was large enough to work on but not too long. This has generous work space while taking up Minimal space. It's really perfect in size. Woods stains beautifully. As lovely as it is natural, I wanted to preserve my investment. Any water or oil from your hands would stain the 100% raw wood over time. There was a ding to one leg that splintered a small place. Definitely from shipping. I like it enough that this tiny flaw on the inside of the leg won't bother me one bit. LOVE the ease of assembly. I have no idea how to install runners so this works for me. Drawer isnt as stable as I'd have liked but I can live with it. Definitely seems heavier than 48lbs! Can't beat it no matter how hard you try, trust me- I tried. Arrived in 2 days.

    Read More
    ampsmomma February 15, 2013
  • Perfect desk for what I needed
    Verified Purchase

    I was looking for a desk to put in my office/guest bed room. It was perfect size for what I needed. It serves its purpose and everyone has complemented it.

    Read More
    iheartwesties November 11, 2012
  • This desk is great for the price.
    Verified Purchase

    A solidly built writing table/desk which always me to finish it to fit in with other pieces in a guest room. The surface is smooth and ready to take stain or paint without prep work.

    Read More
    sm915 March 15, 2012
  • Easy to put together-love it
    Verified Purchase

    This desk is perfect for our spare room. I haven't even stained it because it perfect just like it is!

    Read More
    Dawn Y. April 30, 2017
  • ok
    Verified Purchase

    This user earned $1.00 Club O Rewards for writing this review.Learn More

    This desk is amazing and sturdy...great value! The only disappointment for me was how "unfinished" it is. I ordered the light one with finish, but it is very rough and does not seem to be finished. I will sand it and clear coat it. Be prepared for that.

    Read More
    dawn r. April 30, 2017
  • Great piece
    Verified Purchase

    I white washed this easily and just attached legs. will work well in room

    Read More
    Kelly K. April 21, 2017
Sponsored Links