Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for White Blackout Cordless Cellular Shade

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Relevant
  • Most Relevant
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • TRUE blackout shades
    Verified Purchase

    I work night shift and was looking for a shade that would BLOCK ALL LIGHT. This shade did just that!! When I pull the shade down it looks like night time, it makes all the difference in a peaceful sleep. I ordered the white, it isn't a bright white, none the less, it's white, not off white or tan. Very easy to hang, just a few screws, I also like there are no strings to pull, just pull down, push up, simple, neat and clean looking. As always with Overstock, fast shipping and packaged well.

    Read More
    ace7bax September 17, 2011
  • Great shades
    Verified Purchase

    Very nice product. However because of the blackout feature they appear to be more of a light gray color than white. Nice quality and love that they are cordless.

    Read More
    mlvh January 20, 2012
  • Okay for price - but some aspects are compromised
    Verified Purchase

    These blinds were a good buy - and they do block light where the shade is. But - the paper honeycomb portion of the shade is recessed a bit from the top and bottom brackets (on some sides - not all - quality control is variable). So light does come in at the sides - which has awoken my daughter since her window faces east. The blinds open and close easily - but the handle is a clear plastic piece that attaches to the bottom - and gets in the way of the blind being lowered all the way to the sill. So this is another area where light seeps in. We took the handle off - but I think this risks more wear on the blinds by grasping the bottom to pull it down all the time. Even with the handle removed, the bottom will not stay all the way down. I've been taping it with painter's tape to keep it from riding up the 1/4-1/2 inch that it's inclined to ride up. The way the blinds are on the top rail, some light can seep in there as well. In addition, the color is light grey - it is not white by any stretch. For us that was actually preferable, but if you want white, this is not it. The blind looks good. Cordless is nice. If you are okay with light grey - and don't mind a little light seeping in from around the perimeter, then this is a good buy. If you want better quality control, you'll probably have to look elsewhere and spend more. For the price - and the color grey being just what we wanted, we're going to keep them. I plan to add a velcro piece to the bottom of the track - and the window sill - and hope this will keep the blind all the way lowered. I am not dissatisfied with my purchase - and plan to make it work (including adding a small strip of painted trim to the inside of the window frameb to block where the light comes in. Probably for the same time and expense, I could have custom ordered other blinds but these are fine. Depends on how particular your needs are.

    Read More
    lynnalexandra May 25, 2012
  • great shades
    Verified Purchase

    i love these cordless shades, they were so easy to install and they keep the light out completely. They say white, but the color is a little more grey so be aware of that other wise the shades are exactly what i wanted

    Read More
    pigifer January 7, 2012
  • great blackout function, easy to install
    Verified Purchase

    On blackout alone, these shades would merit 5 stars. The shades can black 99% of the light. There's a little bit of light coming in from around the sides of the shade, but that is too be expected. They were very easy to install. The cordless mechanism is adequate, and functions pretty smoothly, but compared to other, pricier cordless shades in our home, the mechanism feels just a bit lesser quality, and I wonder about the long-term quality. But at this price for a cordless blackout shade these are a great deal.

    Read More
    oco123 January 24, 2012
  • Blackout Cordless
    Verified Purchase

    This is a cheaper option to Bali. I have custom double cellular Bali shades in my house, except for my bedroom. My bedroom is very bright at night due to industry lights, so I purchased the white blackout cordless cellular shade... about $100 cheaper per custom (normal size window). They block the night light perfectly (except near the edges but its is not enough to be a bother). The blinds stick a tiny bit when lifting up/down but they work fine... again, not the Bali but good cost savings option. I have had the blinds for about 3 months now... I open and close the blinds daily for my plants. No issues. Would recommend.

    Read More
    txuppercoast April 8, 2012
  • really dark!
    Verified Purchase

    I have had these shades up now for almost a month so I feel that I can really comment with accuracy. They arrived quickly, well packaged. They installed quite easily...did it myself in about 5 minutes each window. They are a true white white. They really do black out all the light, except for the little bit that seeps in on the sides of the shade. This morning when I walked into the room where they are installed it literally was pitch dark in there with all three shades down. They are perfect for my southern exposure home office, which really heats up during the summer months. These shades will go a long way toward keeping the room cooler. The up/down movement of the shade is smooth and seems to work well. I'm very pleased with my purchase. The only thing that would have made it better would have been if Overstock carried these blackout shades in more colors!!

    Read More
    cindy76atm April 28, 2012
  • Great value for price
    Verified Purchase

    Put these up today at my husband's request. I switched to sheer curtains a while back and the old blinds didn't block any light. These work well. They went up without a fuss once I used my own screws. The ones they provided stripped VERY easily when I was screwing them into the holes I'd drilled (I started w/ 3/32 bit and even tried a 7/64. Same result!). I scrounged up some wood screws I'd had leftover from another project and they went up without a hitch. I'd previously hung some cordless shades in our guest room and office and these seem much better quality (those I'd picked up at a local big box store...the one that has the 20% off coupons ;) They're not super expensive, high quality - and that's not what I expected for the price. They block light, they're functional. If they last a few years, I'll be happy.

    Read More
    jhladek January 13, 2012
  • Easy installation and blocks 90% of the light.
    Verified Purchase

    Easy installation and blocks 90% of the light. My windows are 36 inches and so I purchased the 36 inch width. They block out the light but there is a little bit too much gaps on the side so there is still a lot of light on the sides. It should be 1/4-1/2 inch wider.

    Read More
    pdxoregon April 24, 2012
  • Good for price
    Verified Purchase

    For the price, these are good shades. Relatively easy to install (I mounted on inside of window frame). Materiall is thick and shades seem sturdy. My only complaints are: (1) they resist being pulled down all the way -- shade pops up a little -- you have to pull it past the window sill then slowly raise it to get shade to rest on the sill; and (2) when down, the shade looks crooked because one side comes out a little farther from the glass than the other -- maybe I installed the brackets crooked? No big deal for a kid's room, but I wouldn't want that look in my family room. I'm going to order another shade but will try the longer length this time in the hopes it will fully extend more easily. Also note shade is about 1/8 inch narrower than stated width.

    Read More
    masrav January 20, 2012
  • They really do block out the light!
    Verified Purchase

    We found these shades to be nice quality for the price, and quite easy to install. Our windows are exactly 27", and the 27" shade fit perfectly (shades are probably around 1/8" smaller than the window). They are actually not pure white; they are a soft very light gray. They really do block the light very well - we were pleased! Of course there are tiny slivers of light showing at the edges, but that is unavoidable. Nice buy, would definitely recommend.

    Read More
    gottahaveit58 June 6, 2012
  • Shades are awesome roomdarkening for sure!
    Verified Purchase

    I have been through MANY blinds and shades for my daugher's room. Her windows are right in the morning sun rise and no matter what we got, the sun would come pouring in and wake her up at the crack of dawn. I ordered these shades and they are awesome!! Her room is totally DARK until we raise the shades. They go up and down So easy and look awesome. We have some in our bedroom that we paid double for and these are much nicer. I just ordered two more for my youngest daughter's room.

    Read More
    happyitsdark December 26, 2011
  • Great for a bedroom
    Verified Purchase

    These white blackout shades are great. We put them in my nursery for my soon to be born son so that he can sleep in a darker room with no strings hanging from his blinds. These blinds are a great quality and definitely black out the sun. The cordless option is very useful, but I wish the pull down cover was on both sides, not in the middle. It would be a little easier to pull down and push up. Either way, its a very nice shade and I would recommend it.

    Read More
    jmcguck March 23, 2012
  • Recommend these blackout shades
    Verified Purchase

    As said in other reviews, these shades are more pale gray than white due to the blackout lining. They are very effective. Purchased to enable sleeping longer & they do the trick!! Previously had the non blackout version of shade from Overstock. Using these with a sheer scarf to dress up window a bit.

    Read More
    paddlinggirl July 31, 2012
  • Good For Blackout
    Verified Purchase

    These are a good interim solution for blackout shades however they don't stand up to wear. Shortly after we got them installed, the cord gave out on one of them and dust collects and little stains show up on them from moisture and you can't really clean them. However they do blackout well.

    Read More
    wikolia04 April 20, 2017
  • Good price
    Verified Purchase

    These shades are not "combed cell" like the higher priced cellular shades, but do the trick blocking light, which is the main reason I selected them. I ordered in spring so will wait for hot summer and cold winter to see if they also block heat and cold. Overall they are what I expected for the price.

    Read More
    jamhop March 23, 2012
  • Simple and Highly Effective
    Verified Purchase

    We have had these shades for about 2 months now and they are Awesome! I have had many other blinds that claimed to be room darkening or blackout, but they all allowed in way too much light to be considered either.. These are truly blackout shades, with the added luxury of of being cordless. I will warn that some light will inevitable get in on the edges ( more or less depending on how deep you install them in the window frame. ), but that's to be expected of any in-frame solution . I guess if it was a big enough deal, one could install these on the outside of the frame, but that seems to take away the point. The combination of these shades with any curtains will be sure to keep your room totally light controlled. Installing these only took about 3-5 minutes per blind. Most of that time was spent outlining and drilling the holes.

    Read More
    jester137 June 6, 2012
  • White Blackout Cordless Cellular Shade
    Verified Purchase

    These shades are great! I needed 35-36" wide and could only find 48" in the store that would have to be cut down. These fit perfectly. Really block the light and the cordless feature is amazing!

    Read More
    calmdoula November 23, 2011
  • As expected
    Verified Purchase

    These shades were very easy to install and the quality is good. Although they're the right size, there's still a very small gap between the shades and the window frame, allowing some light in. As these were put in our guest bedroom, it's really no big deal. We've also noticed the room is warmer when the shades are pulled down, which is a nice bonus. Well worth the money.

    Read More
    stefek January 16, 2012
  • Decent at keeping out light.
    Verified Purchase

    These blinds work pretty well in our bedroom. We got them to keep out an annoying dusk to dawn light outside our window and for the most part it keeps the room much darker than our old blinds. A little bit of light still seeps through the edges around the blinds, but it seems like none is actually coming through the blinds because they are lined with black inside the honeycomb even though the blinds I bought are white. Overall a good product so far.

    Read More
    sarahdrake December 22, 2011