Add to cart to see price
Free Shipping
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Weston 74-1001-W Stainless Steel Food Dehydrator

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Great Value Great Item
    Verified Purchase

    Perfect! Made 5 batches of Jerky and looking forward to doing all kinds of other stuff too. Easy to clean. Excellent Results on drying.

    Read More
    windiew March 15, 2016
  • gardener
    Verified Purchase

    Have used this for bushels and bushels of items. Works fantastic. Had to improvise sheets for fruit leather and screens for herbs, but still love it.

    Read More
    dakotan November 4, 2015
  • Dry Fruits!
    Verified Purchase

    A great little work-horse! We have dried a lot of fruit and the unit is easy to operate, and easy to clean.

    Read More
    freshgreens October 9, 2015
  • Good quality
    Verified Purchase

    This product is of commercial quality and is very sturdy. It also holds a lot. I highly recommend it.

    Read More
    texasgirl1962 February 2, 2015
  • High quality machine at a good price
    Verified Purchase

    This is a very durable machine. I use it quite often and I've never had a problem with it. I'd recommend it to anyone.

    Read More
    zebo1328 June 15, 2013
  • Weston 10 Tray Stainless Steel Food Dehydrator 74-
    Verified Purchase

    I think this is a pain in the rear.I only had this thing for a few weeks and now it wont even turn on. I can't even find out why. I think this thing is a crappy over priced model I wish I bought the exaliber.

    Read More
    kewl0069 April 8, 2013
  • Weston 74-1001-W ss food dehydrator
    Verified Purchase

    IF YOU NEED A FOOD DEHYDRATOR THIS IS THE ONE TO BUY!!! IT IS QUITE AND DOES ITS JOB PERFECTLY!! I WOULD BUY ANOTHER FOR SURE....

    Read More
    jt58 January 10, 2013
  • Weston74-1001-W

    I bought this dehydrator and 11 months later it broke. I had not sent in the warranty and it was not covered. They did tell me where to go to get parts, but the parts I was sent by another company do not match what was in the dehydrator, and since they are electronic I can not return them. No appliance repair place will work on it. I would not recommend this to anyone, unless you want a place to store pies.

    Read More
    chainthrower January 2, 2013
  • Decent product for a lot less than an Excalibur
    Verified Purchase

    I got this for drying herbs, veggies from the garden and making jerky and dog treats. So far I have been satisfied. Yes the trays have large holes - you will need to buy a stainless mesh or some other fix for small items, but I have used paper towels for herbs and foil for other items. This dehydrator has been running almost non-stop since I got it several weeks ago. It has worked great for making dried meat jerky for my dogs - I have dried lamb and beef hearts and livers, chicken and turkey breasts, sweet potatoes, and veggies like kale and bok choy and apples from our trees. I am looking forward to using it next spring and summer. It is a real money saver on dog treats as I would rather dry them at a lower temp than my oven can maintain. A downside is that you have to use the timer to get it to turn on, but I suppose that is a good safety feature. I agree with the reviewer that said the thermostat is not accurate - I just use the hottest setting for meats, and the mid to lowest for herbs and veggies, and middle setting for apples, sweet potatoes. There is a temp difference between the top and lower shelves of the dehydrator, but if you rotate trays occas it is not a big deal. I have used the cheap round plastic dehydrators and this is a huge improvement in terms of speed and capacity. I would recommend balancing your fan blades, and getting finer mesh for shelves if you need that.

    Read More
    bcs4me December 21, 2012
  • Doesn't heat up to even 100 degrees F
    Verified Purchase

    Guess I got the return from the guy whose dehydrator wouldn't heat up. The unit I received did the same thing - wouldn't heat up to even 100 no matter what I set it on. I can't tell exactly what the temp is, but I set it to 150 and I knew it wasn't getting that hot, so I put the oven thermometer in it. That thermometer starts at 100 and its not even getting that hot. The heating element won't stay on. Very disappointed as it seems to be a nice unit otherwise. Now they are out of stock and can't even send a replacement.

    Read More
    kniteowl December 12, 2012
  • review for Weston SS Dehydrator
    Verified Purchase

    Very well build, with lots of shelf room for doing a lot at a time. Drying time is less than half of the plastic modles i've used. Very pleased with it and expect many years of use from it. the door removes to make it easy to add or remove racks. It is big so you will need a decated spot to store it when not in use. TIP: in doing jerky you get dripping on the bottom. I sprayed the bottom with oil ( PAM ) to make clean up easier.

    Read More
    reynolds231 November 20, 2012
  • very inconstant heat
    Verified Purchase

    this product did not heat correctly temp would fluctuate greatly and temp settings were way off heating element did not even come on utile unit was set to 135 and then only got to 110 before dropping to less than 80 degrees as heating element cycled. it then stayed at 80 for a good 5 min before getting to 90 then cycling off again. the unit has very inaccurate thermostate. and gave off a unpleasant plastic smell when heating not something I would want near my food. MADE iN CHINA and it shows. save your money and do not buy. I sent mine back as it does not function as it should.

    Read More
    amajeff99 September 19, 2012
  • Weston 74-1001 Food Dehydrator
    Verified Purchase

    I was quite pleased with the dehydrator. I had done some homework and had decided that this was the best value in my price range and had the features that I was looking for. It has a timer on it as well as a temperature gauge but no fan speed control on it. However, for my purposes, that was not a "must have" feature. There are ten shelves, it's stainless steel (not so much danger of rust) and it is very quiet compared to other less expensive dehydrators. The door removes easily so that the unit is very easy to clean. The only negative is that no mesh sheets come with it and you need those for smaller items since the wire racks have almost 1/2 inch openings. This was not a huge problem for me, only a minor annoyance but I did have to order the mesh separately and I had to order three rolls to get enough for all ten shelves. Overall, it's a great value for the money and I'm very pleased with it.

    Read More
    akprincessa47 August 24, 2012
  • All the features I wanted at a good price.
    Verified Purchase

    the only thing I woul;d changeis the grids are a bit wide half inch wirwe pattern can let smaller foods drop through. quarter inch woudl be better.

    Read More
    jbh410 May 29, 2012
  • works great did apples and jerky so far
    Verified Purchase

    so far working well done apples slices and venison jerky all came out well kids love the apples have to make more

    Read More
    rozzi November 29, 2011
  • awesome dehydrator!
    Verified Purchase

    as others have mentioned, the only thing that took it from 5 stars to 4 are the large holes in the trays. i need to either use parchment paper or have some finer mesh trays fabricated to sit on top for the small stuff. but it works like a charm.

    Read More
    jujujoint November 11, 2011
  • GREAT PRODUCT, FAST DEHYDRATING
    Verified Purchase

    FAST AND EASY TO CLEAN. LOOKED AT *** BUT DECIDED ON THIS ONE BECAUSE OF REAR HEATER AND FAN GLAD I DID MAKES JERKY IN ABOUT 5 HOURS WITHOUT ROTATING RACKS AND HOLDS A LOT OF MEAT GREAT PRODUCT

    Read More
    advancerumley October 4, 2011
  • This thing is the bomb!
    Verified Purchase

    If you are into dehydrating foods, treat yourself to this! We have used the plastic stacked one with no fan. There is no comparison.

    Read More
    bulldog10 September 23, 2011
  • Weston Dehydrator
    Verified Purchase

    Good results dehydrating fruit,fast easy to CLEAN!

    Read More
    maribet675 August 24, 2011
  • Excellent Product But Get Netting For Small Items

    This product is excellent, however, if you are going to get it, make sure that you also order Weston Dehydrator Netting Roll. The netting roll is used to cover the trays so that you can actually dehydrate small items. The trays are designed for bigger items as you can clearly see in the picture, so Weston Dehydrator Netting Roll will keep your precious little items from dropping down in the unit. The unit is a little noisy, so prepare for that, however, it works GREAT!

    Read More
    hatetoregister August 9, 2011
Sponsored Links