Read All Reviews for Walgrave Modern Lift-top Hidden Storage Coffee Table

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • 1st mistake, buying sight unseen based on reviews
    Verified Purchase

    So you would think a lift top coffee table would do what is is designed to do...aka LIFT UP! But Walgrave, the company that designed the Modern LIft top hidden storage coffee table thinks that making a lift top that say, the average human being can actually lift up, is too much trouble. No gas filled pistons or concurrent springs here. If one were to try and sit down on the cough and lift this table up towards oneself they would find the task impossible. No, YOU MUST stand up, to the one of the sides, grasp the table in the center (making you hunch over, very bad body mechanics), then lift with your back up and toward your left (or right) and try to lift both sides evenly as to not break the table. In addition to this nonsense, the top of the table, the part that comes in contact with everything that might stain, scratch or ruin it, is made of plywood with a very thin layer vineer. Sure, it looks great. But is is completely unusable. Oh, and the corners of the table were damaged upon arrive thanks to UPS. DON"T waste your hard earned money on a product you can't see with your own eyes!!! NEVER AGAIN overstock

    Read More
    mz2k April 10, 2013
  • Nice price.... Good value
    Verified Purchase

    This table is actually the perfect height for a lift top table. I read some other reviews on other less expensive tables and the lift top when opened was too high. This is perfect for a normal couch, 1ft to 1ft and a half couch. The top opens up to sit about 2 and 1/2 feet above ground or gives you 6 to 9 inches above your knees. Perfect eating height with room to move around, in and out. I would recommend using a place mat because the top is wood and not ceramic, doesn't seem to spot with drinks but I use coasters or a place may just to be sure. My son and I (6 yrs old) are truly enjoying the table.

    Read More
    toberold November 1, 2012
  • Nice, sturdy table
    Verified Purchase

    I honestly don't really like table that has a "lift-top" because I am afraid they are dangerous. However, my husband likes them, because he likes to eat at the sofa in front of the TV. Much to my surprise, this table is great! Very sturdy, and I don't feel like the "lift top" will snap back down. It is also very easy to clean.

    Read More
    pinkcheeksbunny April 11, 2012
  • Fantastic
    Verified Purchase

    Looks great and the raised top is amazing. Very high quality.

    Read More
    mas3xd February 2, 2012
  • Great hidden storage
    Verified Purchase

    I ordered this coffee table for a new office which we arranged as a loft apartment with living and dining room spaces to encourage collaboration and a comfortable work environment. I was specifically looking for a coffee table with hidden storage where we could stash magazines and remote controls and this table works great. An added bonus for us is the table doubles as a temporary desk when lifted. It's the perfect height to work on a laptop from the couch and would be great if you work from home in a small apartment. Several colleagues and clients have asked where we got it, and we couldn't be happier with how it both looks and functions.

    Read More
    elowe1 January 7, 2012
  • Contemporary and Beautiful
    Verified Purchase

    Very pleased with purchase, except for one thing- I found a large scratch inside the table (where storage compartment is). Table was delivered relatively quickly, and well packaged (how the heck did it get scratched inside?). FYI - this table is sold under two different names: 1) Walgrave... (as above), and 2) Spec Cota-18 Coffee Table with Storage in Dark Walnut. The second option costs way more than what I paid, despite it being the exact same item. Anyway, table is well built and makes dinnertime comfortable in the living room in front of TV (perfect for apartment living). Con- dust builds up quickly on the surface and is quite visible. Doesn't seem that the surface is scratch-resistant at all, so be very careful.

    Read More
    anon526 December 22, 2011
  • Great coffee table!
    Verified Purchase

    This is a great lift top coffee table, especially for the price. It comes almost completely assembled, so that was a snap. Only things I didn't like. 1) There is one part where the coloring of the pre-fab wood appears two toned. Not a big deal 2) The top is a bit tough to lift, especially as the table slides on my hardwood floor. Perhaps this will loosen up with time. 3) The surface scratches quite easily from plates sliding. I have to use placemats to prevent this.

    Read More
    jonvee October 13, 2011
  • functional beauty

    My new coffee table is modern, simple and functional, just what I was looking for. I found this minimalist and simple table on Overstock in a great and affordable price. It is not only large and comfortable but it is highly functional with its storage space. Magazines, newspapers and even cloths can be stored in it without being seen. The table is sturdy and high quality matching perfectly with the modern design of the room.

    Read More
    helenblacky September 15, 2011
  • Hidden excellence

    I love things that have hidden compartments. I have a ring that opens to reveal a hidden compartment, a belt with a hidden zippered pocket for hiding money when traveling, even a hidden room in my house. So when I saw the Walgrave Modern Lift Top Hidden Storage Coffee Table, obviously I had to get it. And as a sort of expert on hidden compartments, I have to say that the designers of this table did a remarkable job. Effectively hidden, this compartment is. No one would be the wiser.

    Read More
    dorianhuilpo September 5, 2011
  • uniqueness and additional value

    As I modernized my living room I ordered this Walgrave Modern Lift-top Hidden Storage Coffee Table that has a minimalist and modern design and style. The table is solid enough and simple enough o fit into the atmosphere, but the secret storage place gives its uniqueness and additional value. I can comfortably serve coffee on this great looking table while put my papers, magazines and newspapers into the hidden storage place that nobody sees. Great idea and solution.

    Read More
    vivicarose August 29, 2011
Sponsored Links