Today: $489.99
Free Shipping
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Vilas 6-drawer Tobacco Dresser

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Looks Great but has Put-Together Out of a Box feel
    Verified Purchase

    The dresser arrived quickly and was easy to move upstairs with the help of a friend. All in all it took about two hours to assemble with the help of an electric drill with a screwdriver bit. No problems with assembly but I really wish I had had a tube of wood glue handy since I wonder how long the locking-cams will hold out. This is a very good looking piece but it does have an out of the box, assemble at home look and feel in my opinion. I am pleased overall and the price makes it all worthwhile...I guess. Regrets? Well...not sure how long the piece will last. Nah, no regrets...I guess. Oh, I read one review that mentioned a smell from the piece. Yes, it does have a slight smell and it lasts about a week. Probably the wood stain.

    Read More
    lbouchea November 10, 2012
  • Nice, solid dresser, especially for the price.
    Verified Purchase

    This item arrived complete and with no damage. The item was packed very well. *I'd recommend the following tools: Flat-head and phillips-head screwdrivers, a hammer, and a pair of pliers. If you are patient and can operate a screwdriver (and maybe a hammer) than this dresser should not be as complicated to assemble as some of these reviews might suggest. However, it is definitely time consuming. I am good at building things, and putting this together took me just over three hours, using both ratcheting and electric screwdrivers to speed things up. It WAS NOT COMPLICATED, just a lot of separate parts to assemble. HERE ARE SOME TIPS FROM MY EXPERIENCE: 1. First and foremost: AVOID OVER-TIGHTENING ANY OF THE SCREWS OR CAM-LOCKS. Only use a power-screwdriver if you are careful not to over-tighten. (The cam locks especially are made from a lightweight aluminum, and will snap.) 2. If you are not familiar with installing a cam-lock/cam-bolt, you might want to find a video online that will walk you through it. They are VERY easy to work with, but the included instructions are very basic and a better explanation might help. 3. Most pieces are fitted together with the help of wooden dowels. I'd recommend using a hammer and FULLY inserting each dowel while following the instructions to make assembly easier. Also, you can use the extra dowel to "pre-stretch" the holes that that the dowels will fit into while assembling. Just tap the dowel in a little bit and then use pliers to carefully twist and pull the dowel back out. Helps a lot. 4. For more help fitting the pieces together with assembling, I used a thick paperback book and a hammer. Use the book to protect the wood from hammer-dents. Helps with getting a tight fit. Other than that, just make sure to take your time and read the directions carefully before starting each step. Good luck.

    Read More
    mroze11 November 8, 2012
  • GREAT DRESSER AT A GREAT PRICE!
    Verified Purchase

    This dresser came in three boxes with lots of pieces but went together easily using the directions. It is a nice quality dresser.....no cheap, flimsy look to this piece of furniture. The knobs are black and match my other furniture perfectly. Dark Walnut looking color. You won't be disappointed in this piece.

    Read More
    conniep November 6, 2012
  • Looks WAY more expensive than it was!
    Verified Purchase

    This dresser is an absolute steal. Have a friend help you put it together or even hire someone to assemble it, because it is quite tedious. My guy and I put it together in about 2.5 hours, used a power drill and worked quickly. The end result is a very swanky, retro, masculine, stately furniture piece. Drawers pull in and out smoothly, finish is slightly glossy. Color of wood is superb and this dresser looks a **** of a lot more expensive than what I paid for it. Extremely satisfied!

    Read More
    2sleepypups November 2, 2012
  • Great quality
    Verified Purchase

    This is a great dresser. Very sturdy, solid wood, and looks great. Instructions were easy to follow. The most difficult part of assembly was getting the wood dowels in.

    Read More
    megforr August 7, 2012
  • Great Dresser
    Verified Purchase

    I am very pleased with this purchase. Great quality dresser, great color, even better in person. I spent about 3 1/2 hrs putting the dresser together, so be prepared to devote an afternoon to it. But it wasn't too tedious or tasking, just be patient and take your time. The end result is a gorgeous, sturdy, quality dresser that is well worth the money you paid and the effort put in. Definitely recommend buying this if you paused on the photo and were unsure. Looks so much better than you think. Money well spent!!! I should mention delivery was speedy. Ordered on a Thursday night, was delivered the following Wednesday.

    Read More
    sammie81p July 30, 2012
  • As Advertised - true to reviews!
    Verified Purchase

    Thank you to all of you writing great reviews. I felt like I knew what I was getting myself into. I bought the Bed, (2) 6-drawer dressers, and (2) night stands. All in all it took me a very full Saturday to put it all together. My fiance did help put on the drawer handles :). The first dresser took about 4 hours, the second about 2 hours. The bed and night stands were both about an hour each. I gave this review a 5 star, but it should have been a 4.5. The one issue I had was with the drawers. You have to screw in the tracks onto the bottom of the drawer ends, and that is one area that the pressed board didn't hold up as well. If you screwed them in too fast you split the wood. As I got more proficient, I went slower and had less splitting. The rest of the pieces felt very sturdy and secure. Overall I am very impressed, and very happy!

    Read More
    kopper73 July 30, 2012
  • loveloveloveLOVE
    Verified Purchase

    i have only one complaint, the instructions leave a bit to be desired. many reviews talk about how long it takes to put together - i had a couple of friends help and we were done within 2 hours. the drawer rails gave us a bit of trouble, but once it was together - wow - you will not, in any store, find a better priced, better-quality piece of furniture. i am an incredibly picky shopper who tends to splurge on the big name items - nothing in those stores came close to this.

    Read More
    washdc1 July 15, 2012
  • beautiful mid-century design
    Verified Purchase

    this did take a while to assemble but was a great option for me looking for a mid-century inspired design on a small budget.

    Read More
    sanfrandreamer June 16, 2012
  • Dresser
    Verified Purchase

    I am so happy with this Dresser. It took about 4 hours to put together but was not that complicated, the drawers are the biggest time consuming but other than that great product, looks so good and very very sturdy

    Read More
    moonby5 June 12, 2012
  • Not as solid as hoped
    Verified Purchase

    Looked all over the web and local furniture stores for similar dressers. Likeed reviews for this item and shallow depth dimension which was needed. The quality of the wood was nice, but the cams for locking panels together were crappy die cast that wanted to stretch and break at the slightest tightening. Which I would have glued the dowels in case the dresser falls apart in the future. Other than that, it does look nice and is a good value for money spent.

    Read More
    guyfrommichigan June 6, 2012
  • Beautiful dresser!
    Verified Purchase

    I loved the look of this dresser and after reading reviews I decided to purchase. As other's said, the color is darker than pictured. Other than that it's exactly as advertised. The drawers are very spacious, I haven't even filled them all up yet. I would highly recommend this dresser to others. My disclaimer is that I didn't build it myself. My handy dad put it together for me. He used wood glue where he could and did say that he felt like it could use more screws for reinforcements. But the piece feels very solid to me, haven't had any issues. We were able to move it in place together as well.

    Read More
    cristal45 May 14, 2012
  • Great Set
    Verified Purchase

    I'm very thrilled with this dresser, so much so that I bought the matching nightstand shortly afterwards. The design is great, and the wood is of a nice quality. It looks a million times better than particle board furniture and it's still a great price. I am actually a fan of the dark knobs it came with. Everything arrived in great shape and I followed the advice of other reviewers to build the drawers first, which helped keep the hardware from getting too crazy. Be sure to have a power drill on hand, like the others say. I built it on my own in about 3 hours.

    Read More
    holyheck March 8, 2012
  • Great purchase
    Verified Purchase

    True, it's not the easiest piece to put together, but with some patience and elbow grease I got a great piece of furniture for much less than I could have found anywhere else. Like another reviewer, I replaced the black knobs with some modern ones. Another great purchase from the O!

    Read More
    downinnola December 24, 2011
  • Nice dresser
    Verified Purchase

    The dresser arrived quickly and well packed. It does come in three separate boxes that are very heavy. The color is great and the dresser looks awesome in our bedroom. The worst part was the assembly. It took quite a while to put together and I have assembled many different furniture items. Having a second person would have been handy but it is completely doable with only one person. The drawers are roomy and run smoothly. It is a great dresser for the money! I would order it again!

    Read More
    mrswrence December 23, 2011
  • AMAZING DEAL!!!!
    Verified Purchase

    This deal can't be beat, trust me I looked everywhere and comparable pieces were ***. Like others stated, it's very time consuming to put together but well worth it! Beautiful piece & beautiful price!

    Read More
    atx22 December 3, 2011
  • Nice Dresser
    Verified Purchase

    First I got this dresser I am not happy because the packing was opened, until it was assembled then I turned to be very happy,it's easy to assemble,nice looking ,great quality,and the color is exactly matching my bedroom set.

    Read More
    meidaizi November 28, 2011
  • nice, but ...
    Verified Purchase

    The dresser took a long time to put together..several hours. You have to assemble EVERYTHING. It is a nice piece for a fraction of the cost of others. However, my husband and I are not very good at DIY. I would suggest some wood glue or something to keep the drawer fronts from coming lose. My teenage son is using this and we have to push the drawer fronts on every few days. It is a great looking piece, but not as solid as I would like although worth the price.

    Read More
    savingsaving November 8, 2011
  • Solid
    Verified Purchase

    We were nervous buying an entire bedroom set online but Overstock has never let us down before. This bed and coordinating pieces are exactly what we were looking for. I'd never heard of rubberwood before so was a little skeptical but it is a solid piece. The dresser looks sleek and modern. The color is very rich and matches todays decor style. It's a smaller dresser but measurements are right on. The boxes were damaged when delivered but items were packed well and arrived fast and in perfect condition. My 10 year old and I put most of the dresser together ourselves but had to call my husband in to help with the top and bottom pieces. Highly recommended and no complaints at all.

    Read More
    krisatin October 7, 2011
  • Beautiful unit and terrific price!
    Verified Purchase

    It took me approximately 5 hours to assemble the dresser by myself with only a hammer and a manual screwdriver. I did not use a power drill since some reviewers mentioned having worn out the heads of the nails. It is important to be systematic and organized in setting up this dresser and I chose to set up all the drawers first instead of the base first (which was recommended by the manufacturer). In setting up the drawers first, it eliminated many of the parts and whatever was remaining was for the base unit. Overall, the unit is beautiful to look at and my husband was so impressed that he made me order a second one for another room (especially now that he is confident that I can do it).

    Read More
    canicherouge September 18, 2011
Sponsored Links