Today: $569.99
Free Shipping
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Vilas 6-drawer Tobacco Dresser

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • A beautiful new addition to my house
    Verified Purchase

    I am thrilled with this dresser as well as the various stages leading up to getting it. Let me run through a few: 1) I ordered the dresser on a Tuesday, payed a buck for shipping, and it was delivered to my house by Friday. WOW. I couldn't believe how fast the delivery was. 2) It was delivered in three boxes. Everything was packed up marvelously - with styrofoam and plastic to ensure things didn't get scratched or banged up in the delivery process. I had all the pieces I needed and everything was properly labeled. 3) I had a lot of fun putting the dresser together, but I think I'm probably a bit freakish in that regard. I think of self-assemble furniture as a big puzzle with a beautiful piece of furniture the prize at the end. It took me about 4.5 hours to put it together, and that was working quite constantly. I got it put together myself for the most part, though there were a few places where it really would have helped to have someone else there (and, indeed, one place where I had to call a friend to come over to help me push together the sides). By the by - wooden dowels are evil. And you'll have to deal with a LOT of wooden dowels. And many thanks to those who suggested using an electric drill for some bits --- screwing in the 20 or so screws to affix the back panel on the dresser would have been terrible had I not had the electric drill. So all in all, assembly was about as easy as you could hope for for such a huge piece of furniture. It was fun watching the dresser take shape as I made it. 4) And what about the dresser itself? It is *gorgeous*. Others have noted that it's a darker color than was depicted in the picture on the Overstock website. But it's not a bad color at all. I love the simplicity of the dresser a lot. It was a bit shorter than I expected, with the drawers being just a bit more shallow than I thought they would be...but it was my fault for not looking more closely at the height of the dresser before buying it. And even though the drawers are a bit shallow, they still fit a huge amount of clothing. The drawers slide very cleanly on their runners. This is a well made (and, if you do it right, assembled!) piece of furniture. For the price I paid I'm really quite pleased with it and I fully expect it to be a part of my house and my life for a very long time to come.

    Read More
    laetitiae December 2, 2010
  • Great value - BEAUTIFUL!
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this dresser based on the numerous positive reviews, the great price and how attractive it looked on line. I was not disappointed. I was aware it would be a challenge to assemble based on the reviews. It was. I am not a handy person. I am not a technical person. But, I am a visual person. I carefully studied the diagrams and followed each step in the order recommended in the assembly instructions. I made sure I had cordless screwdriver as recommended by fellow reviewers. I don't think I would have had the strength to complete it had I not. There are so many screws and the wood is really hard. It took me nearly 4 hours. Yes, I know that is slow. Someone more handy won't take as long. It turned out beautiful. I was so proud of my assembly (a first for me), I posted pictures online. I got many complements. This is a beautiful piece for the price. It looks more expensive than it is. I feel it will last a long time. Regarding previous comments 1.) Smell: Yes, there is an odor to the wood but I don't find it abnormal or horrible. It will lessen in time. 2.) Design Flaw: the reviewer who gave this 1 star due to the "horrible design flaw" because the drawers were rolling completely out and falling onto the floor. The flaw is in their assembly. They clearly put the drawer runners on backwards. Drawers do not fall out.

    Read More
    sd74 November 10, 2011
  • Sexy, solid dresser
    Verified Purchase

    This dresser is as sexy as the bed that it matches. The color is much more pleasing than in the Overstock picture. Works excellently to create an industrial/organic/natural ambiance in my bedroom. The knobs are sexy. Love that it's made from eco-friendly rubberwood. Takes forever to put together, as other reviewers have said because the instructions are subpar. Make sure you have a power drill. Lots of screws.

    Read More
    victoriasyn April 12, 2011
  • satisfied
    Verified Purchase

    I bought the night stands first and given that the "tobacco" is a darker wood tone that I had expected, I had decided not to buy the dresser. But after searching high and low for a mid-century look dresser and finding nothing below the price points at DWR ... I took a chance on this and was pleasantly surprised. Having put together the night stands a month or so ago, this assembly took us 2.5 hours. Parts were plentiful but no damage on anything or missing pieces. Does need some strength though. the drawer fronts have a little bit of gap still on the sides. but at this price, i am not nit picking. i will switch out the drawer pulls, the black ones get lost a bit. the reason why i had to post a review for this item here is because i totally disagree with a previous reviewer's comments on how this is fitting for a child's room... this is an adult size dresser, no question. the dimensions alone will tell you that. looks great. darker than i wanted but the design makes up for it.

    Read More
    shobdobonik November 17, 2010
  • Great buy!
    Verified Purchase

    I was very hesitant to buy this due to all the negative reviews. I was mostly worried about it coming with the wrong parts. I debated buying it for at least 6 months. However I couldn't find another simple dresser with cone legs so I finally decided to give it a try and I am very happy I did! It arrived 2 days after I ordered it! It came in 3 boxes and had all the pieces. The instructions were very easy and understandable. I really do not know why people say they are useless because out of all the furniture I've put together (about 7 pieces) these were the easiest instructions to understand of all. I used a manual screw driver since I did not have an electric one and it took me about 5 hours to put together. With a electric screw driver it probably would have taken about one third the time. For the people who say the drawers do not shut it is because they have not screwed the screws holding the track rails flat. I had the problem at first but I just screwed the screws flat and now they slide perfectly. Also the drawers are not interchangeable. Three have to go on the left and three have to go on the right. They don't fit the other way around so that could have been their problem too. As for the people saying the drawer fronts are coming off I have no idea how that is even possible. I have not had that problem at all. The only thing I did not like about this is that the leg in the middle is not tapered like in the picture. It is just a block of wood and is unfinished but it only shows when you are at a low angle. I've had this for a year now and it has held up perfectly. It looks like it was just bought yesterday. It is heavy but the weight is in the drawers so if you wanted to move this you'd just have to take the drawers out and it is a LOT lighter. I would recommend this. You should always remember that when looking at reviews it is the buyers with the bad experience that tend to want to share.

    Read More
    windysoul September 11, 2014
  • High quality for loq cost
    Verified Purchase

    After looking around extensively at standard national furniture retailers including ***, ***, and ***, I am extremely pleased with this purchase. For it's very low price, the dresser is very high quality. The wood feels great and the color is very close to what it is in the photo. It took quite a while to put together, maybe 3-4 hours, but they included many spare parts. It also is really surprisingly stylish in person. There were some dressers at *** that were three times the price and far lower in quality.

    Read More
    caoweiyin April 19, 2011
  • Assembly not so difficult.
    Verified Purchase

    I was worried because a woman wrote a review that said it took her mechanical-engineer husband eight hours to assemble this dresser. I want to tell he that her husband was probably just hiding from her in the garage... It took just two hours to assemble. Looks great.

    Read More
    dsmithco April 2, 2016
  • Great quality
    Verified Purchase

    The piece is great quality. The wood quality and stain color are quite nice. The structure is sturdy. The drawer rollers are a very nice feature. Assembling it is somewhat of a test of patience because there are a lot of parts and the instructions and schematics are a bit basic. Make sure you have a power drill and an extra pair of hands. A rubber mallet is also be useful for gently tapping the pieces into place before locking the cams. I would recommend the dresser to others. I've bought other pieces in this collection and all have been the same very good quality.

    Read More
    Jen April 7, 2015
  • Outstading dresser!
    Verified Purchase

    I am impressed with the quality and design of the dresser! I even forgot how long it took to build it ( it was not me who built it haha). We are very happy with it! It is outstanding contemporary furniture. I put on top of it to decorate a big mirror and my room look like a 5 stars hotel room. Thanks overstock.com you guys are the best!!!!!

    Read More
    lifedecor August 20, 2014
  • Great alternative to PotteryBarn Sumatra Collectio
    Verified Purchase

    I own a Pottery Barn Sumatra bed and I was looking for a dresser that matched my bed. Unfortunately, the dresser at PotteryBarn is really expensive and this dresser does exactly the same job. It looks great and maches the color of my bed. The only thing I did not like were the knobs but those are easy to replace. Other reviewers said that it took them 5 hours to put it together. I am not a very handy guy but if you follow the instructions and you have an electric screw you should be done in no more than 3 hours.

    Read More
    piscus November 21, 2012
  • beautiful
    Verified Purchase

    I finally broke down and bought the last piece of this bedroom set. My husband and I really loved it. Much easier to put together than it looks when it arrives. Love the final look and has lots of storage space.

    Read More
    mmontague September 7, 2011
  • Above average quality for the price range
    Verified Purchase

    I was very impressed with the materials and quality of this item, especially at this price point. The assembly was long but well worth it and the directions were easy to follow. My only dissapointment is only the drawer fronts are wood the sides and back are MDF with wood veneers.

    Read More
    lizzyanne April 11, 2011
  • Great - be patient with drawers
    Verified Purchase

    Very stylish piece. Superb packaging. It is from a solid wood - looks high quality. Do not panic if your doors do not seem to go in straight. I don't think instructions mention it, but left doors do differ from right doors (they have wider margin on the outside edge). Just play with switching the drawers and eventually you'll find the right combination.

    Read More
    Krystyna December 20, 2016
  • Satisfied
    Verified Purchase

    The dresser looks very nice in my son's room. It wasn't easy to assemble. I nearly gave up and tried calling a handyman to assemble it, but in the end my husband was able to put it together. One of the drawers isn't sliding right, but its probably due to our assembling work. All in all, it is a stylish and functional dresser.

    Read More
    Jennifer S. June 7, 2016
  • I like it
    Verified Purchase

    A nice dresser. It's not difficult to assemble, just tedious. Recommended.

    Read More
    John J. May 28, 2016
  • Good quality dresser
    Verified Purchase

    Overall took about 1.5-2 hours to set it up with two people and using a power drill for screws. Pretty easy to set up and the quality is very good.

    Read More
    OstkUser126684 May 26, 2016
  • Gorgeous Piece!! Worth it!
    Verified Purchase

    What a beautiful piece of furniture. Really well made. Building instructions / process was long, but totally worth it. Was a bit wobbly when we were done, but we unscrewed legs a bit til it did not rock back and forth.

    Read More
    Keren T. May 19, 2016
  • So Stylish
    Verified Purchase

    Beautiful dresser. Went together easily enough. Over time the drawer I use most has separated (the front piece from the side) on the side where I most often grab the knob - but adding some wood glue and tightening the fastener did the trick to keep it together. This is a very stylish piece.

    Read More
    januaryk May 17, 2016
  • Beautiul
    Verified Purchase

    Took FOREVER to put together, but now that it's done I love it. Beautiful mid century style piece.

    Read More
    Chelsea K. May 14, 2016
  • Friends Ask Where I Got It
    Verified Purchase

    I did have a drawer bottom fall out, but was able to repair it with some wood glue. Other than that it's been wonderful.

    Read More
    Interior Design Hobbyist April 27, 2016
Sponsored Links