Today: $90.99
Out of Stock
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Upton Home FireGlo Fuel (Set of 24)

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Convenient But Expensive
    Verified Purchase

    Using these FireGlo Fuel cans with a gel fuel Fireplace is extremely convenient. because the upfront costs are so low. However, if you live in colder climates like up here in the Northeast, the fuel can solution gets pricey. During the winter, I like to spark up the fire in order to warm up the house quickly. The forced air we have takes a little while to bring up the temperature but running the gel fireplace quickens the process. The cans generally don't produce a smell UNTIL they get to the end of the can. Then they generally produce a propane-like smell. The cans last about 2 hours to 2 3/4 hours. So burning the fireplace all day is usually not an option because it would be to costly. I normally only use the gel fuel when there is a chill in the air I want to knock out quickly or on special occasions. I have also noticed a darkening of our olive-colored paint and ceiling above our wall-mounted gel fireplace. The cans do provide a good amount of heat and they allow me to warm up the (part of the) house quicker than just using our forced-air heat. I also enjoy the crackling sound produced by the bubbles in the can. It actually sounds better than a real fire. Overall, the cans produce a good amount of heat and ambiance but they are very expensive to use often or for long periods of time.

    Read More
    karlton January 6, 2012
  • I don't understand
    Verified Purchase

    I don't understand how so many people gave this glowing reviews. I just set up everything for my wife (xmas present) in the bedroom and the smell that radiated was chemically'. The gel itself smelled like strong alcohol which was fine, but when activated for 5 minutes, the room became covered in this awful chemical smell. It was unbearable and terrifying in a sense. I tried googling if this was normal or harmful but can't find an answer. We ended up capping the can and I am now searching for an electric fireplace. The one we picked is convertible so hopefully we can just find the proper insert because I dont plan on spending our nights fearing for the worst for a little atmosphere. That said, I have 23 unused cans if anyone would like them.

    Read More
    isaac5445 December 25, 2011
  • interesting product
    Verified Purchase

    The canisters emit an initial odor that is unpleasnt and repeat this again much more strongly as they are burning down to the end. The cans do not last as long as I had thought they would. You get about 2 to 2 and half hours max out of them. The plus is they really do produce a large and interesting flame pattern like a real fireplace would and it snaps and crackles while burning like real wood.

    Read More
    805casey January 5, 2012
  • Good Product/Terrible Burnout
    Verified Purchase

    This product gives off heat and has a nice appearance, which is good. But, the downside to this is when you out the fuel fire. A nasty burning alcohol smell comes from the smoke. This causes a lot of work for me because my smoke alarm goes off and I have to end up opening the window for a while. Then I have to remind myself to close it. For an outdoor makeshift fireplace, this works. For indoors, not so much.

    Read More
    natfan January 29, 2010
  • Hope you want to paint your home!
    Verified Purchase

    I was pleased with the amount of heat the cans gave off. We dropped down from 3 cans to 1 can. Crackle and flame are nice. Now for the down side...emits a heavy chemical smell when it burns down to the end. Who knows what we're breathing in. The soot discolored the white fireplace, walls and nearly everything in the room. We need to paint in the spring. Looking for an alternative.

    Read More
    abbyserd February 6, 2012
  • YUCK!
    Verified Purchase

    this stuff positively stinks and I will never ever buy it again. hope i can get some that doesn't stink like this. cant imagine this is healthy.

    Read More
    alexandermom October 21, 2011
  • Not thrilled.
    Verified Purchase

    I used a different brand in the past, which I loved. I figured, how different can this new brand be. How about very different! Although the crackling of the flame was nice, my house was covered in soot. My air purifier filters turned black. Disgusting. I didn't smell the fuel while it burned, but it had an awful smell when it burned out. My recommendation is try a different brand. I can't imagine the other reviewers didn't experience the filth and smell.

    Read More
    bubbles0606 July 11, 2010
  • Fire Glow
    Verified Purchase

    I was pleased to receive the Fire Glow. I was a little dissappointed after I opened the box I notice the cans had expired in Sept 2007 I received the cans in November. The cans did not last for three hours. The performance of the cans are great though. Oh and just be careful putting out the fire!

    Read More
    sunshine6257 December 15, 2007
  • Favorite gel fuel!
    Verified Purchase

    This happens to be my favorite gel fuel brand. I have purchased many other brands in the past. Just not having to peel the label off of every can is enough to get my vote!! Many people complain of the gel fuel cans giving off a horrible odor. The trick is to keep the lid and after a couple hours of burning, replace the lid back onto the can when there is about 1/4to1/2 inch of gel still in the can. The odors comes when the can is permitted to burn til the end!! Also you can't beat Overstocks great prices and quick delivery times!!

    Read More
    sportsmomfortwo September 28, 2013
  • Its fuel. It burns
    Verified Purchase

    It works as expected and I get about 45 mins out of one can which is perfectly acceptable. The big downside is the horrible smell once the fuel runs out. It definitely kills the romance when the girl looks up and asks if its supposed to smell like that.

    Read More
    cavemanlawyer June 2, 2013
  • Best Price
    Verified Purchase

    These are the the fuel cans necessary for indoor fireplace. After checking many different websites I realized - as usual Overstock has the best prices!!! When in doubt, Overstock will beat the rest out!!

    Read More
    dimondgrl August 20, 2010
  • FireGlo Fuel
    Verified Purchase

    In order to use the logs that I purchased form my fireplace, I have to have gel fuel. I purchased the log set last year to be used over the winter and purchased the gel fuel with them. When I wanted to purchase more fuel I found that there was only one place to buy them and they were overpriced. I was very glad to find them available at a considerably lower price from Overstock.com. I really enjoy the log set and the ease of using the gel fuel. Since a member of my family has asthma, it is not possible to burn wood logs in the fireplace. I've found the alternative to be very enjoyable.

    Read More
    8499sjm October 1, 2008
  • fireglow fuel
    Verified Purchase

    Works well. Does crackle just like the reviews said. It also puts out heat. Would definitely recommend this product

    Read More
    ssms March 30, 2008
  • Best Fuel!
    Verified Purchase

    This user earned $2.00 Club O Rewards for writing this review.Learn More

    This is the best type of fuel to use for your fireplaces that call for gel fuel. Using this product in appropriate fireplaces is an alternative to electric fireplace/heating. We enjoy it as it has saved us money on the electric bill too. I really do need to order more and keep it handy.

    Read More
    whatadeal4 July 6, 2017
  • Fuel for wall fireplace as expected
    Verified Purchase

    This user earned $2.00 Club O Rewards for writing this review.Learn More

    We received all canisters intact. Gel works just like a sterno can made for chaffing dishes. It puts off fire that looks like the fire in a fireplace and lasts for a few hours

    Read More
    robin73 July 1, 2017
  • Great for emergencies
    Verified Purchase

    This user earned $2.00 Club O Rewards for writing this review.Learn More

    We used to use this in our gel fireplace for heat when we had power failures. Since buying a generator and having a natural gas fireplace installed we've donated the fireplace and remainder of the fuel to someone who needs it.

    Read More
    catmomdu June 18, 2017
  • Perfect
    Verified Purchase

    Exactly what we needed for a toasty fire

    Read More
    Faith R. June 10, 2017
  • Fireglo
    Verified Purchase

    Product was excellent and worked well with fireplace.

    Read More
    CARMEN R. June 7, 2017
  • glo
    Verified Purchase

    keeps us warm and toasty in the winter plus it is pretty

    Read More
    hattieli May 31, 2017
  • Nice
    Verified Purchase

    realistic sound and last long

    Read More
    Tauna C. April 25, 2017
Sponsored Links