Today $519.99

At other retailer: $949.99

Save $430.00 (45%)

Free Shipping*
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for The Big Island with Double Side Doors

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Relevant
  • Most Relevant
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Perfect for small kitchens
    Verified Purchase

    Recently moved from a larger kitchen to a smaller one that has less half the cabinet/drawer space and 1/3 of the counter space. I couldn't find room for the majority of my larger crockpots and pans so went looking online for a solution that wouldn't make my small kitchen feel even more claustrophobic. This is a perfect solution. The double side doors are genius and is the perfect size for prep work. It does need some sanding for the less than smooth finish on the corners and top but can do without if you are in a hurry. Do oil with mineral oil to keep it lasting long.

    Read More
    Grace A. September 13, 2015
  • Makes my kitchen cabinets look bad in comparison
    Verified Purchase

    I just moved to a townhouse in much need of kitchen cabinetry/storage but plenty of room for an island. I searched many websites and stores and was impressed with other reviews of this island so I took the plunge and am glad I did. I ordered on a Friday evening and it was waiting for me on my doorstep upon my return from work the next Wednesday. All the parts and pieces were present with no damage. It took me about 3 hours to put it together with only a screwdriver, a boot heel (remember, I just moved and couldn't find all my tools!) and a curious cat. There were some parts left over from the parts list that were never addressed in the assembly directions but I haven't found that to be a deficiency. Regarding the functionality of the island, I couldn't be more pleased. The big drawer extends fully, is sturdy and holds all my kitchen utensils with room to spare. The cabinet part below holds all my pots, pans and bowls. The best part is the dual access doors so there is no losing items in the back of the cabinet, because it doesn't have one! This island looks so nice, too, that it makes the kitchen cabinets look terrible by comparison.

    Read More
    20277 July 22, 2011
  • In the end...A Nice Island!
    Verified Purchase

    This island was exactly what I wanted in terms of size and function. It was packed well and easy to assemble. However, IT DOES NOT LOOK LIKE THE PICTURE! It is not all one similar color. It is a blend of several hardwoods ranging from light to dark. (Think about the different colors you see in a butcher block top.) I suggest you look at this product on other websites because the picture on this site is misleading. They do have the best price, though! With that said, my island arrived with 4 doors that were all different colors and did not look nice together. I contacted the manufacturer (Catskill Craftsmen) and they were very good to work with. They sent me 4 similar doors that arrived in just a few days. The island also needs to be rubbed with oil once a week for the first three weeks, and it will get darker with each application. I am pleased with the appearance now. It blends well with my oak cabinets and has a lot of storage space.

    Read More
    cindi22 July 19, 2014
  • Changed the way our kitchen functioned!
    Verified Purchase

    I LOVE this item!!! I've had it a couple years now and it's still one of the best investments we've made in our kitchen. The surface is great but the storage makes it even greater!!! The best part is the dual opening cabinet doors----no wasted space! Would highly recommend this item!

    Read More
    cindymculp March 18, 2016
  • The Big Island
    Verified Purchase

    This is a great cart/island. It arrived in perfect condition and was easy to assemble. I would recommend laying out each of the pieces on a floor area and then proceed with patience. Once assembled, the cabinet doors were perfectly aligned and opened and closed perfectly! The size of this cart is great in every respect and is a wonderful addition to our kitchen. It is very attractive and most convenient for baking and other general kitchen use. I LOVE it.

    Read More
    patricki January 27, 2011
  • Just what I wanted
    Verified Purchase

    Fit my kitchen perfectly. It had a couple of pieces damaged, but mfr is replacing at no charge. I think surfaces could be sanded a little smoother. 3 hr assembly time was dead on.

    Read More
    OstkUser164937 September 2, 2016
  • Ms
    Verified Purchase

    Looks great, back is mirror image of the front, and I love that doors open on both sides for easy access to small appliances. I would've liked a third level of holes drilled inside the cabinet to move the shelf a little lower. The drawer limits the height of items on the top shelf without that option.

    Read More
    dgloud993 December 2, 2015
  • kitchen island
    Verified Purchase

    I really like my island it is so big and nice i can stack all my bowls in the top part and my pan on the bottom it is great i would get another one if i need it .my husband and son put mine together for me in not to long i love that mine has doors on both side so if something is in the back you can go to the back and get it out with out haveing to take every thing out

    Read More
    amylovestocook February 15, 2009
  • Nice Piece
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this piece for my daughter. She said it wasn't too difficult to put together and was a heavy, very well made piece of furniture that matched her kitchen cabinets almost perfectly. The only problem she had was on one side of one of the drawers; it wouldn't fit into place like the other side did and she had to glue it. Other than that she was very pleased with the quality.

    Read More
    010810 January 28, 2013
  • Great and roomy island
    Verified Purchase

    When the flat package arrived a corner was chipped so we could not put the pieces together. I called the US based customer service and was told they stand by their product so they immediately sent a replacement side for the chipped side. Arrived fast. I have had the island for almost two years. It's roomy and has wheels. Doors on both sides and one drawer but the drawer can only be opened fron one side. I would buy this again.

    Read More
    average11 December 25, 2012
  • Sturdy and beautiful
    Verified Purchase

    Not fun to assemble but very sturdy and nice looking. This island has been a life saver in my kitchen. The butcher block on it is done wonderfully.

    Read More
    mairia July 14, 2014
  • Big island
    Verified Purchase

    Nice movable island for kitchen. Towel racks needed filing to go together. Decided to stain and seal the wood.

    Read More
    trublu11 March 17, 2014
  • nice size cabinet
    Verified Purchase

    Some sites have this for a higher price. I would not pay more than what Overstock sells for. The reason being, some of the parts do not fit properly and do not align tightly. For the price I paid it is okay, but more money, don't think so.

    Read More
    Phyliss G. September 16, 2016
  • Verified Purchase

    I was in serious need of some extra space in my kitchen and this island fit the bill. I absolutely love it! I highly recommend this item.

    Read More
    Ruth N. May 4, 2018
  • Kathleen
    Verified Purchase

    Love this island. I am going to stain the body and leave the top as is. It is very convenient and a wonderful size for my spot. Like the size of the top. It is deep enough for whatever I need.

    Read More
    Kathleen G. June 25, 2015
  • Verified Purchase

    This is just perfect for a small kitchen. I needed more cabinet and counter space and this did the trick. Very nice piece of furniture

    Read More
    Linda J. February 16, 2018
  • Nice Island
    Verified Purchase

    The island is about what we expected based on the other reviews. It made of real wood instead of particle board unlike alot of the other island we were looking at. We have 2 complaints, one being a piece of one the drawers was cracked (the company will be sending a new piece). Secondly, the wheels don't lock completely so the island moves around. We are planning on replacing the wheels with furniture feet and painting the body of the island. Overall, we are pretty happy with our purchase.

    Read More
    Casandra S. January 8, 2017
  • AWESOME ADDITION TO MY KITCHEN!!!
    Verified Purchase

    Furniture quality piece! Took 2 girls 3 hours to assemble, but the instructions are clear if you bother to read them thoroughly. Everything fit perfectly, no gaps or mismatches, no need for alterations. If you don't know what an 'oil finish' is, you should find out before ordering this product. Product description is clear and accurate. I am absolutely thrilled with this product!!!

    Read More
    phillyphoenix May 19, 2013
  • Damaged parts
    Verified Purchase

    The stand arrived in two boxes. It took about 3 hours to assemble. The instructions were not very clear and the wooden parts were damaged. One wooden side panel was cracked, but was repaired with wood glue. One of the legs was drilled off center and had cracked the leg. The company has an offer to replace any damaged parts, but to replace those parts would have required to completely dis-assemble the unit.

    Read More
    rcwhouston February 25, 2013
  • Great cabinet when finally put together.
    Verified Purchase

    Great cabinet. Quality of workmanship pretty good overall. The "fake drawer panel" was not tight and gapped. Everything else was great except instructions and time to put together

    Read More
    wickedestangel October 23, 2013