Free Shipping* & 5% Rewards On Every Order* With Club O
Today $313.99

Was: $351.99

Save $38.00 (11%)

Free Shipping*
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Talisman 2-drawer Writing Desk

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Great Desk! Great Price!
    Verified Purchase

    Remodeling my home office with many highend finishes and fixtures. I had to be smart with my desk selection. I saw the photo and liked it. Recieved well packed. Same old cam lock assembly, seems ongoing but went together very well. Nice feel & color. Just what I was looking for. Fits my highend decor very nicely.Thanks Overtsock!

    Read More
    ksg333 August 19, 2009
  • Writing desk Assembly
    Verified Purchase

    The construction is sensible. The fit and finish of the parts is excellent. All parts labeled with stick on letters and they match the workbook drawings. Ignore the numbered parts on the outside of the box. They do not match the book. LOL Very well packaged too. The drawings in the manual are good. Use a magnifying glass on some photos as there could be a left-right issue. Really look at the details of the drawings. Hold the part next to the drawing and make sure the orientation is right. Even if you think you know! Do not put wood dowels in both parts of the drawer . Only one side. Luckily I got mine out before the glue dried. There is not enough glue. Get more glue. With the Superglue you can go to your local hobby shop and get a 5-15 second version Cyancryolate that is thicker to take up gaps. Do not let children or pets get near that glue. If you really want to be safe use yellow wood glue or better yet use PL premium construction adhesive and apply it sparingly with a popcicle stick. Wipe off the excess with a damp cloth. Use a dry cloth or paper towel for the PL premium glue. I glued all of the leg structure with PL premium glue on all of the joints but I did not use glue on the top surface in case I ever wanted to move the table easily. I just use the cam locks to detach the top of the table. Make sure to use all of the screws because they all are important. One thing I changed is the tracks on the bottom of the drawers. Don't put the screws that hold on the tracks of the drawers from the bottom as shown. The provided screws have no holding strength at all and will crack the composite. Put the two screws in the side of the track in the holes with the angled edge so the screw fits flush. I put together all the parts on a folding card table. Do not try to just sit on the floor to build this table. It will be a much harder job. (polite description) LOL I am 65, artist and former jet engine mechanic. When you are starting to assemble the leg structure, and you are ready to add the second end piece, ( PART C) carefully sit the entire structure on the floor and then finish that last part while standing up to do the work.

    Read More
    upfrontman June 21, 2013
  • Great desk

    This desk looks wonderful was pretty much easy to assemble and is MADE OF REAL WOOD, except bottoms of drawers..Was exceptionally packaged and came 4 days before the promised date,,you can not go wrong..thanks for a great product.

    Read More
    airportmom November 28, 2010
  • Great Desk!
    Verified Purchase

    This is a great sturdy, high quality looking desk. I only have a couple of complaints: The assembly! Yikes! Took something like 3 hours. I couldn't believe all the pieces there were when I opened the box. Not to mention, the instructions are not very clear. I noticed I had extra screws left after I was done so I went back through the instructions trying to find where they were supposed to be used and saw that I should have put them in before I put the top on. Ooops. Also, the keyboard tray was not right. The wood seemed like it was too long on the ends, causing the flap/front of the tray not to stay up when you closed it (I think others have commented on this). I ended up removing the front flap (unscrewing the hinge), drilling new holes for the hinge and repositioning it so it would close all the way as it should. That was also a pain! All in all, you can't beat the price. Looks like an expensive executive desk.

    Read More
    metro8268 February 16, 2012
  • Large, Sturdy and Open
    Verified Purchase

    I was looking for a large writing surface, but didn't look so big and dark. This will sit in my home office, which has little natural light. I loved the openness of the front and sides, so it gives me the large space I need without overtaking my room! The desk was easy to put together until it came to putting on the top Be sure, when you assemble, that all of the pegs are totally upright... otherwise, it will take some work to move individual pegs to align. I left the middle drawer (keyboard drawer) off as I use a laptop and have no desire for a place to stash more junk. I love the extra legroom and space and it does not look like anything is missing.

    Read More
    bflosouth June 6, 2014
  • Good Find
    Verified Purchase

    Very happy with this purchase. Somewhat difficult to assemble though

    Read More
    urgold February 21, 2012
  • Very nice looking desk!
    Verified Purchase

    Assembly was not too bad. I put it together by myself. A few diagrams are difficult but overall it went well. You definitely need a rubber mallet for assembling this. The finished desk looks very nice and it is a datk walnut color (not a reddish color that is shown in some of the detail photos). Very nice product! Oh and it is very well packaged, no problems.

    Read More
    kae117 September 28, 2016
  • Nice desk
    Verified Purchase

    This is a sturdy, nice sized desk in a beautiful dark wood color. The only problem with it is that keyboard tray cover falls open at the slightest touch. Otherwise, a great purchase.

    Read More
    Brenda C. January 10, 2016
  • Beautiful.
    Verified Purchase

    Just what we were looking for.

    Read More
    h333 November 9, 2015
  • Nice desk BUT...
    Verified Purchase

    The center flip down drawer does not line up with the magnet meant to hold it in place (yes, installed per the instructions). Will have to rig up another magnet and l-bracket McGuyver style to make it work.

    Read More
    LEWIS C. October 15, 2015
  • Beautiful desk.
    Verified Purchase

    This desk arrived in two separate packages on different days but within the delivery window. It was a bit of a chore to put together but is beautiful when finished.

    Read More
    John R. October 15, 2015
  • Best online purchase Ive ever made
    Verified Purchase

    This desk is the best online purchase I have ever made. It is sturdy and well made. I have move three times with this desk and it has stood the test of careless movers. It took about an hour to put together with two people. Once put together you will not be able to take it apart, just a side note. I love this desk. Buy it now.

    Read More
    ksc1384 August 25, 2015
  • Just perfect
    Verified Purchase

    Desk was perfect. the first one showed up with a cracked top of Overstock shipped another the one right away and even paid returnn shipping. great job

    Read More
    Peter J. August 9, 2015
  • Beautiful
    Verified Purchase

    Gorgeous desk. Not too hard to assemble with two people. The keyboard tray won't stay closed but doesn't bother me :)

    Read More
    Jess L August 6, 2015
  • Great Desk
    Verified Purchase

    Easy to assemble and it looks and works well. I had no trouble or issues in assembly. Just read the manual. The drawers work well and the drawer slides are fine. The keyboard tray is a little tight and initially it was sticky to extend and retract but I applied some lubricant and now it is fine.

    Read More
    Rich R. August 4, 2015
  • Beautiful desk
    Verified Purchase

    I gave this a 4 star because this desk was difficult to assemble. It is a beautiful very solid desk. Takes 2 people to assemble just because of the weight.

    Read More
    Teri B. June 26, 2015
  • the keyboard drawer doesn't close.
    Verified Purchase

    It took my husband a couple hrs to assemble and at the end the magnet didn't work to close the key board drawer. Disappointing. I would go for an antique table next time, which would be cheaper and adds character in the house.

    Read More
    cheol March 26, 2015
  • Awesome desk
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this desk desk because it is wide enough for my wife and I to both use it with our laptops at the same time. We have two chairs at the desk and it works great. Very sturdy and rich looking. Excellent desk that perfectly fits my needs

    Read More
    yankmecrankme February 18, 2015
  • Nice Piece - Talisman 2 Drawer Desk
    Verified Purchase

    Package arrived in two boxes and can be assembled by one person until it comes time for the desk top to mate with the frame. You will be better off with a helper. Allow the materials to acclimate in your home for a day or so to mitigate any warping, especially the thicker desk-top, This piece looks great when assembled but take care positioning the desk as it is a composite wood. Also be sure to take your time assembling the drawers and drawer rail assemblies. All in all I am happy with it and hopefully it will last a long time with care.

    Read More
    Francis R. January 24, 2015
  • Functional with some small issues
    Verified Purchase

    This unit works fine as a computer desk for me. I didn't want a desk with a lot of drawers so I got this one. That being said if the single drawer on each side were an inch deeper it would be a 4 star review. Perhaps if the drawer on the right were a mouse platform instead. Only construction issue is the keyboard drawer where the magnet does hold it closed. Other than that, happy with the purchase.

    Read More
    calsi January 6, 2015
Sponsored Links