Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for SwissLux 8-inch Full-size European-style Memory Foam Mattress

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Relevant
  • Most Relevant
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Very Comfortable
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this mattress to replace a foam-core futon mattress that had flatlined years ago. It arrived in less than one week. It fully expanded within 10 minutes out of the box, but nevertheless, I followed the package directions and did not sleep on it for 48 hours. I was concerned that an 8-inch mattress wouldn't be sufficient, or worse, it wouldn't really be 8-inches; I had that concern based on reviews of some of the other mattresses and toppers. This mattress is a full 8 inches thick. I have it on a wood platform bed. It is firm, comfortable, provides good back support, and returns to its original shape as memory foam should. There was no unpleasant odor as other reviewers have experienced.

    Read More
    stv725 February 4, 2013
  • Ooooh ahhhh...
    Verified Purchase

    I admit I was nervous about buying a mattress without trying it first. I also thought maybe 8" would be too thin. I am happy to report my worries were unfounded. This mattress is heavenly. The cover was on already (no need to stuff it inside), there was no odor, and it puffed up in a couple days. I have been very comfortable with no sore back since I got it. I am a heavy person and it is more than adequate for me. Purchase without worries, definitely worth the money and then some. Enjoy!

    Read More
    tracebombzzz May 2, 2011
  • First memory foam mattress.Why did I wait so long?
    Verified Purchase

    I've never owned a memory foam mattress before and after 6 months with this one, I'll never go back to a box spring. I was initially worried about it being too firm as I've heard stories about the firmness of foam mattresses being compared to sleeping on a stone. Not the case with this mattress. Medium does indeed feel medium and you sink in gradually. It takes about 30 seconds for the mattress to conform to my body. Some quick thoughts: -It comes in a box. That was the main reason I wanted to buy this, since I was moving and didn't want to take my old box springs and mattress out through the window of my old house. This mattress showed up in its box on the front porch of my new place and I carried it inside by myself. Couldn't be easier. -I didn't really notice much of an odor. Certainly not enough to stink up a room for a week like others have said. Maybe they're just really sensitive to smells. I unpacked my mattress and slept on it about 6 hours later without any odor problems. -It did take about a week for my body to get used to the bed. I woke up several mornings in a row with body aches and was worried that I had made a terrible decision. But my body did adjust and now I sleep more soundly and comfortably than I ever have. -The cover is really nice. Much nicer than I expected from a mattress in this price range. You probably wouldn't need to use a bed sheet if you didn't want to since the cover is very soft. -They expect you to rotate the mattress every two weeks. I have rotated mine once in 6 months and I haven't had any problems. -As of the day I'm writing this review, the price is now about $100 more than I paid 6 months ago. So although I would say that this was an excellent value for me, I wouldn't necessarily say the same thing if I bought it at today's price. -They recommend a pedestal frame bed. I cut about 8 1x6 boards and use them as slats across my bed frame rails. Works fine as long as they stay evenly spaced. I can't believe that the price went up so much. I would not hesitate to recommend this mattress at the price that I paid for it. At it's current (12/20/13) price, I'm not so sure that you can't find something comparable for less. But I can only review my purchase, which I'm completely happy with.

    Read More
    reverendkyle78 December 20, 2013
  • Swiss Lux Memory Foam - GREAT PURCHASE
    Verified Purchase

    We purchased this mattress for a full-size platform bed for my teenage son. The product arrived within a few days of the order. Within a few hours of removing it form the box it had expanded to it's full size. There was no order whatsoever from the mattress. The mattress itself is the right mix of density and support. The covering is very good quality. We couldn't be happier with this purchase, espescially at the price. Would absolutely buy this product again and recommend it to friends/family.

    Read More
    mink1118 December 14, 2011
  • Slept like a baby!
    Verified Purchase

    I read the reviews on this mattress and hoped it would be as good as others said - and it is! Definitely a great deal on a comfortable memory foam. The initial odor is strong, but once it has been opened for a while, it fades. The mattress is firm in support, yet soft when you lie on it. I am a side sleeper, and it really was the best sleep I've had in years. I woke up much less achy too!

    Read More
    hnw1970 March 31, 2011
  • Good night sleep!
    Verified Purchase

    This is a great mattress! Purchased it for my college bed, it beats the price and quality of comparable mattresses. Arrived rolled up in a box on my doorstep much earlier than I expected; Overstock has super fast shipping. Took it out of the wrapping and once it was spread out, expanded to its full shape. Slight odor for the first few days, but said by manufacturer's info that this is expected and natural. Highly recommend this If you are looking for a slightly firm memory foam mattress.

    Read More
    eb20 September 1, 2014
  • Great!
    Verified Purchase

    This memory foam mattress is wonderful. Just as the product said, it would take 48 hours to completely rise and there was a slight chemical smell that went away within a couple of days. The mattress is high quality and I would definitely recommend this to a friend and/or family member!

    Read More
    patriciav1003 April 27, 2012
  • Loft Bed + Swiss Lux + Daughter = LOVE
    Verified Purchase

    I recently purchased a loft bed for my 14 year old daughter in the hopes of giving her more room in her bedroom... With the new purchase of the bed, came the need for a full sized mattress. I searched on O.com and found this mattress with excellent reviews and a reasonable price. The mattress came in a box, rolled up and vacuum packed. I had my daughter help me unpack the box and we took the "rolled up mattress" into her loft and unwrapped it in the bed to make it more manageable to handle. We cut off the plastic wrapper and unrolled it into place in the bed. The paperwork in the mattress said that it may contain an odor, but we did not find an odor at all in the mattress. I like that the cover has the bottom piece with "gripping dots" to keep it from slipping on the bed frame. We pulled out the new bed sheets, made the bed and then "flopped" in it to see how it felt. Wonderful! The mattress does need to sit a while to fully expand, since it was vacuum packed... but it "puffed up" rather quickly :) My daughter said that she slept very well in it last night. I told her if it was too nice that she may have to trade beds with her father and I :) She told me there was not a chance! This is a great mattress for a bunk bed, and the support is great. We will see how it holds up over time, but for the $180 I paid for it (after discounts and coupons) I don't have to much to worry about to complain over.

    Read More
    wixnstix May 7, 2013
  • Exactly what I wanted
    Verified Purchase

    I ordered this mattress late on a Thursday to go in our guestroom. It shipped Friday morning and arrived on Monday. Awesome. As other reviewers have noted it comes in a large box and inside it is rolled up into a giant space bag which I found to be very easy to drag into the room I wanted and hoist onto the bed platform by myself (I am a relatively small woman). One of the main reasons (behind price!) I wanted to order this mattress was a desire to avoid strapping anything to the top of my car or trying to squeeze a coil spring through my narrow hallway. I was NOT disappointed by the set up. Mine came with a cutter to undo the plastic and and once I removed it the mattress re-inflated into a full size. It literally made an inflating noise and was actually pretty cool to watch. It was only about 7 inches thick which had me worried, but when I came back to it an hour or so later it was the full 8 advertised inches and there were no more wrinkles in its slipcover. Other reviewers mentioned issues with it being a bit shorter than their frames. Perhaps I lucked out but mine fits perfectly on a full sized platform bed. With the price, and ease of delivery and installation, I was basically prepared to love ANY mattress. However, it also happens to be incredibly comfortable. It is firm but not too firm. I think the firmness description on the site is accurate, at least for the one I received. This mattress rocks and would absolutely order it again

    Read More
    ejws1 May 16, 2013
  • Swiss Lux 8" firm memory foam mattress
    Verified Purchase

    I am very pleased with this mattress. I have used softer memory foam but prefer firm mattress. This mattress is firm with the conforming comfort memory foam provides and it is wonderful I was concerned that I would need a thicker mattress, but this is perfect. I will purchase a medium for my guest bedroom soon.

    Read More
    nccust1 January 11, 2014
  • Great product
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased this product to replace a single dorm bed. I put it on full sized slats on the single bed frame, and it worked great. The product arrived all rolled up and we opened it and it gained full size within an hour. It did smell pretty strongly for the first few hours, however I was able to sleep on it the first night. The smell was noticable for a few days but not strong, and within a week not noticable at all. The bed is firm, but it softens once you lay on it for a few minutes. Very comfortable. I love it, and have recommended it to my friends. I'm very happy with the purchase, and it was significantly cheaper than any other option I looked at.

    Read More
    nemu April 23, 2011
  • More comfortable than I thought it would be
    Verified Purchase

    We received the bed very quickly. It arrived in a long cardboard box. Inside that, was a clean, white cardboard box. Then the bed was shrink wrapped in plastic (compare it to those food saver systems) and rolled up compactly. So in the white box, it was easy to slide it upstairs myself (I'm an average sized woman with average strength with very little patience to wait for my husband to get home to help). Once in an open area, I cut the plastic and pulled the bed out so it could expand and air out properly. There was a slight odor that dissipated in 2 days. It only took about a day for it to expand to the full size. The bed is comfortable for my 2 year old daughter (and myself, since I've had the pleasure of testing it out a few nights when she was sick and needy). I can't say much at this point about the temperature levels since we have it in a waterproof cover. (Insurance in case of an accident.) The only down side for my situation is because the bed expands slightly larger than a regular coil mattress, I'm just barely able to squeeze in the safety rails on the sides of the bed. She has a full size bed converted from her crib so it has the side rails that hold in the mattress. That's the reason for 4 stars vs 5. Other than that, I can't complain. In fact, we ended up purchasing a different brand memory foam mattress for our king size bed, with which we are very satisfied.

    Read More
    cindyseemenow December 8, 2012
  • Best Mattress I ever had
    Verified Purchase

    I bought my parents memory foam at double price I paid here on overstock. That was our first memory foam, I didn't know what to expect from a memory foam but we all really loved it. I wasn't really expecting the same quality from this mattress and was very hesitant ordering something like that online without checking first but I did after reading all the good reviews and comparing products everywhere (amazon, ebay, costco, etc) and decided that I would pull the trigger on this one. I did and I am really very happy with this purchase. Not only that this memory foam is very very comfortable but it exceeds all my expectations. There was no odor as someone else wrote I guess. I used it the first night I received and it felt so good. I hardly leave any comments or reviews after buying stuff but as this one deserves it so am here specially to write this review. By the way, every person has his own choice, some like hard mattress, some like soft so you can't really decide from others experiences but what you need to check is, this mattress has consistent good reviews.

    Read More
    umaiir December 29, 2011
  • Sleeping on a cloud affair
    Verified Purchase

    I've been searching the internet for memory foam mattress that were reasonable in price but won't be trashy due to it being reasonably priced. First off, it was easy to take out of the box and yes, it does have an odor that goes away with a little air freshner or febreeze. When slept upon it feels way more comfortable than any spring mattress. This is a great starter memory foam for first time buyers. I would recommend this memeory foam to individuals who prefer soft to firm, its in the middle. Don't forget to buy a solid foundation for your memory foam, since box springs will not give it the support required for memory foam to do the job, it defeats the purpose. Shop around and song be afraid to ask. This was an excellent investment, give it a try!

    Read More
    hunniibunnii87 August 31, 2011
  • Love it!
    Verified Purchase

    This is the third memory foam mattress I've bought on O.com. I got this for the guest bedroom and ordered the 8inch. It took much longer then the other mattress I ordered at the same time (which I received in two days) I guess this one was back-ordered so 8 days later I received a 10" swiss lux for the 8" price! The other memory foam beds I have took some time to break in and very firm as I prefer softer beds, so I was expecting the same from this one. Wrong! It is very soft, and actually feels like a pillow top memory foam. I wish my guest bed was a queen because I actually like this bed better then my queen size comfort dreams 11" I bought on O.com last year. As always, I got more then I expected in a timely manner. I love Overstock and recommend getting memory foam if you still have spring mattress. I have a bad back and since I switched I wake up without pain and don't toss and turn like a used to. If you prefer a softer bed this is the one.

    Read More
    alene80 September 23, 2011
  • Great mattress

    I have been waking up with back pain for years and decided it was time to make a change. I had never slept on a memory foam bed but had heard good things, so I took a chance and bought this one. I was a little worried that 8 inches would not be thick enough, but it is fine. The mattress did have an odor at first but after two days was gone. It is very comfortable, no matter what position I'm in, and the best part is -- I woke up with NO BACK PAIN!! Incredible! I am a little concerned that the mattress will be too warm in Summer, but we'll just have to wait and see.

    Read More
    mannyroxy November 22, 2011
  • Awesome mattresses for a remarkable price!
    Verified Purchase

    I needed four full size mattresses for built in bunk beds in a guest room. I didn't want to skimp on quality and was prepared to pay far more than these were. I took a chance and ordered them and am thrilled with the quality and comfort! We let them air out and puff up for 48 hours before putting any bedding on them. They are a bit stinky simply from the manufacturing process, and that's to be expected, but the smell dissipates within the first 24 hours. They come packaged very well and I was shocked at how small the boxes were considering they had mattresses inside! The outside cover does zip off if needed and is also made of a high quality material. Sleep quality is awesome, my guests love them!! I would purchase again in a heartbeat.

    Read More
    Julie S. September 15, 2016
  • Swiss Lux 8-inch Full European-style Memory Foam
    Verified Purchase

    I was nervous about purchasing this mattress because I have never owned a memory foam mattress before. I needed a bed for school so O.co was the first place I turned to and they didn't let me down! I bought this product on a Friday night/Sat morning and received it Monday! I was amazed by the timing. I didn't understand how they fit the mattress in to the box that it came in but as soon as I got to the apartment and opened it, it puffed up to its full size. In a lot of the reviews it talks about the odor coming from the mattress; come on people, its new.. The odor wasn't that bad; I hardly noticed it. When I laid down on the mattress I didn't want to get up. Over 20 people came to the apartment to visit and help and every single person sat/laid on my bed and said they were jealous and didn't want to get up. The only problem I may have with it is that its so comfortable I may not get out of bed in the morning for classes! Thank you Overstock :)

    Read More
    kels108 August 2, 2011
  • K. Derby
    Verified Purchase

    Great mattress. Using it in a guest room and have had no problems. It's different because we had never had a mattress come rolled before. Within 24 hours, it had its full shape. Very comfortable.

    Read More
    Valued C. February 16, 2016
  • I look forward to going to bed every night
    Verified Purchase

    I have never slept in a more comfortable bed. Now that I've had it for almost a year, I can say with confidence to get this mattress. I did a lot of research on foam mattresses before pulling the trigger - this one keeps a very nice temperature and seems to reset itself each night for a different night's sleep. Sometimes hard at first, as the night goes on it's perfectly comfortable. It sits very well on a simple frame. Cannot recommend highly enough - every friend who's slept on the bed notes how comfortable it is and how they've never gotten such a wonderful night of rest. One warning, when it comes out of the bag, do be sure to give it 72 hours to recover its shape. No joke! It's very hard to not sleep on it at this point, but it's well worth the wait (plus the smell will go away!)

    Read More
    ericanola April 22, 2013