Today $168.99
Out of Stock
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Student Desk Black

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Finish Comes Off
    Verified Purchase

    Got two of these desks (the second was a replacement of the first, which we had hoped was defective). Both suffer from the same problem - the finish comes right off the desk exposing all white material. This happens from normal use - moving a keyboard around, moving paper around, etc... It happened immediately with both desks, during the first day of use. I would not buy this desk if you expect the finish to last. Having said all of this, if you are looking for a sturdy nice sized (this is the largest desk of its kind/style I found anywhere) then this is the desk for you. For its price, the desk is surprisingly sturdy and well made, but the finish is some sort of spray on cheap stuff. Overstock is fantastic with returns, so A+ for that Overstock, but this desk shouldn't even be offered for sale without a disclaimer.

    Read More
    notworth150 August 27, 2011
  • student desk
    Verified Purchase

    The desk is sturdy and well made. It was easy to assemble. It is a simple desk with two drawers. The drawers have no glides but work very well. I really like the quality black finish. It is not just the color but also the smoothness of the flat surfaces, all edges and corners of tabletop and all legs that are so pleasant to the touch. It is a handsome student desk and an excellent value. I am very pleased with its function and appearance. I highly recommend the product.

    Read More
    barbi123 May 31, 2009
  • Happy with my purchase
    Verified Purchase

    I set out to find a desk that would work in my apartment bedroom alongside a queen size bed. I really liked the silhouette of the West Elm Parsons desk but the price tag was a bit high for my student budget. This desk is a great substitute and ended up being exactly what I was looking for. It has a fairly small footprint but still has plenty of space for me to comfortably keep my laptop and external monitor running while sketching notes in my notebook. Just be aware that the drawers are fairly shallow so your stapler and tape dispenser may have to live on the corner of the desk. Even though they aren't very deep I get plenty of use out of them to store paper, pens, envelopes, and other knick knacks. The assembly was incredibly easy, just a couple minutes to Allen wrench the four legs into place and I was all set. The desk seems to be well constructed and is sturdy enough not to wiggle around while I'm writing or typing.

    Read More
    jonshine July 19, 2012
  • Looks good, but cheap quality...
    Verified Purchase

    I wanted to wait a while before writing this review so that I could be more comprehensive. This desk looks great. It's sleek, glossy, and contemporary. However there are several major problems with it. When I received it, both drawers had HUGE cracks in them, to the point of interfering with their purpose (one of them only opens halfway. They're also so shallow that three stacks of normal post-its are too tall to fit. Like a few other reviews stead, the finish does chip when nearly anything touches it. I'm fairly meticulous about my desk space and being careful of the surface, but this is my main desk and after 8-9 month, its got specks of white ALL over it. I wish it had been cheaper... maybe worth $80-100 given that I'll have to replace it soon. I'd have returned it when I first received it with cracked drawers and the first chip that my carpet (yes, carpet) gave it while assembling, however the shipping process with this company is such a hassle that I just gave up and counted my losses there. I did struggle with 2 or 3 starts in the rating, given that theoretically, this could be a nice desk without its flaws. I hope this review comes off as fair as possible. I hate to be the one with the negative review amongst a bunch of good ones... hopefully others have had better experiences than me.

    Read More
    dsphoto July 3, 2012
  • Love this desk!
    Verified Purchase

    This is my second one I bought the first one in 2008 and my hubby wanted it so I finally purchased another for matching desks in our office....I have my printer, flat screen and computer on this desk. 2 handy drawers also...I know not to get water on it according to past reviews and they are very strong desks! So easy to put together the drawers are already in.

    Read More
    LynneA July 6, 2012
  • you don't have to be a student......
    Verified Purchase

    nice slim profile- looks very modern. just attach the legs (2 people make the job much easier) and you're ready to go! the drawers- while deep- are quite shallow.

    Read More
    redriverdale March 27, 2012
  • Stylish and Affordable
    Verified Purchase

    I was looking for a simple yet sleek desk for my bedroom. I really liked the simplicity and modernity of this desk. It arrived quickly, and I think it was easy to assemble (thank you, boyfriend, for sparing me that job). It looks great, and it was fairly inexpensive, however other reviews were accurate in indicating that the finish comes off very easily. The smallest, most minor of scratches have taken off the finish. I knew this buying the desk, so I am not going to return it, and still think the style and design along with the cost make it a worthwhile purchase.

    Read More
    atribecalledmel February 9, 2012
  • Good Product
    Verified Purchase

    Easy assembly, solid construction, overall good product. The desk I received had a little dent in it but no big deal. Only downfall is its made in China.

    Read More
    real3175 January 1, 2011
  • Great Purchase!
    Verified Purchase

    This is a quality piece of furniture at an affordable price. I am so glad I ordered it. It look great in my room!

    Read More
    sissypetunia April 22, 2009
  • Scratches easily
    Verified Purchase

    Basic table to get one away from laying in bed to read or study. Scratch marks however occur easily. if you don't plan to move things to and from the table to avoid the scratches, should be fine.

    Read More
    Ms. CHENNA July 5, 2017
  • Great desk!
    Verified Purchase

    Love this but just like any other soft wood, buy desk pad to prevent writing impressions on surface.

    Read More
    Araya B. October 1, 2016
  • perfect small desk
    Verified Purchase

    Good size, good quality and nice finish but easily scratched, so be careful. would recommend it

    Read More
    David C. January 12, 2016
  • The Boy
    Verified Purchase

    good quality as advertised

    Read More
    OstkUser76424 January 9, 2016
  • Student desk
    Verified Purchase

    Perfect for my 9 and 7 year old. Drawers aren't very deep but great for notepads pens paper glue crayons.

    Read More
    JillV December 23, 2015
  • Poor to Fair Quality
    Verified Purchase

    This was a cheap desk which my son uses in his apartment. It's functional, but not a "nice" piece of furniture.

    Read More
    baep December 6, 2015
  • cheap
    Verified Purchase

    This was plastic with chipped paint. I returned it.

    Read More
    cuivre November 17, 2015
  • Student Desk
    Verified Purchase

    I love it. Just wish the drawers were deeper.

    Read More
    africau October 13, 2015
  • Scratches Easily
    Verified Purchase

    It was over priced. Other sites sell this for $$$ less than I purchased it such as **********. The surface got scratched up easily. Paint peels off if you try to paint the scratches. The legs wobble even if it's screwed well. Don't buy from Overstock.

    Read More
    animerp May 14, 2015
  • Nice desk for the money
    Verified Purchase

    Good for childrens room or a small space

    Read More
    Beth C. May 7, 2015
  • The Belle
    Verified Purchase

    Bought this to use as a sewing center. Was so inspired that I ended up doing a small update on my laundry/sewing room. I have a white one purchased a few years ago that I use for my home office. They are great products.

    Read More
    annabn February 11, 2015
Sponsored Links