Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Sputnic Chrome Chandelier Atom Light Fixture

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Sputnik Atom Light Fixture
    Verified Purchase

    I watched as my master electrician put this in. I really liked the overall shape, which is why I bought it. I was looking for something mid-century modern or hollywood regency for my entryway. Only problem is, I have a shorter ceiling there. My electrician used the shortest rod and made it work. It comes with three rods of varying lengths that you can apparently put together and make a longer one. I have to admit, if I didn't have to worry about door clearance (the previous light was almost flush) I'd have definitely gone for the longer rods, as that adds more drama. But the benefit is, it fit in my space - and I needed a flush or semi-flush light. So those of you without 13" ceilings, don't worry. Here's a few problems I ran across: 1) My electrician stated that the interior metal fittings of the light are rather flimsy. Where that shows up is that the light moves a little easier than it should. I am a bit worried it will come down. 2) When you get the light, go ahead and open it up, get out one globe, and take it with you when hunting for bulbs. A regular bulb won't really fit. The best fit we found was with a non-CFL ceiling fan bulb @ 40 watts each. Remember: there's NINE globes (plus a tenth extra, which due to the way they're mounted, you will definitely need down the road.) 3) By far, my major concern is the way the globes are mounted. The wires holding them in show through the glass no matter how you try to mount them. That's the main reason I give it four stars - great design, but if you are looking for it to be exactly like the picture, you'll be disappointed. Also, I am worried about the durability due to its flimsy workmanship. It does look great...for now. One note: I did install a dimmer for this light, and it really functions much better that way, but CFL's aren't really dimmable (very disappointing), and due to the opening of the globe, your bulb choices are limited at best.

    Read More
    leslieinmarietta April 30, 2010
  • Love It!
    Verified Purchase

    This is a relay great light. It has a mid century modern look and definately will get noticed. It is VERY bright which is good, but my husband installed a dimmer switch so we can control the brightness of the light. This gives a nice effect if you just want a soft glow sometimes. My husband installed the light by himeself. The actual assembly of the light was very easy. I am not sure what one of the other reviewer was talking about when he said the peices could be easily bent or dented. All off the components of the light were very sturdy, and I did not seen how any of them could be dented or bent. The problem that my husband had was the mounting bracket that came with the light. It did not properly line up with the standard mounting bracket in our ceiling. He had to improvise and get a few components from the hardware store to actually make it work. For that reason it took him a few hours to get up - but once installed it looks and works great.

    Read More
    satisfied2008 December 5, 2009
  • Perfect
    Verified Purchase

    Love it! For some reason reviews on the difficulty of assembling this fixture scared me off for a long time. I could just imagine cracking most of the globes. I changed the lighting in my dining room twice with other fixtures-- but remained unhappy with the results. I love to decorate & re-decorate - I'm always aiming for perfect. I finally bought it after a year of wasting my time & money on the other fixtures - not to mention putting my husband through hardwiring a dining room fixture 3 times. This one is staying up-- can not imagine finding anything better. With 2 people attaching the globes it was a breeze- one to squeeze the prongs- the other to attach the globe. Nine 40 watt bulbs gives us plenty of light - it just looks fabulous!

    Read More
    zebranut October 18, 2012
  • Puts Out ALot of Light!
    Verified Purchase

    Love this chandelier -- using it in our retro kitchen. Unique, very cool. Not wild about the bar, as it looks a bit cheap with the seam, but everything else is great. You'll need to purchase a special bulb for these -- we're using the CHANDELIER energy-saving lightbulbs, and it still puts out a ton of light. Love that during the winter when it gets so dark and dreary. Electrician had no problem installing.

    Read More
    dogfarmer July 9, 2010
  • Returning the item
    Verified Purchase

    Some of the tubes are stripped, so I've been unable to assemble the fixture to hang it. I took the fixture to a local lighting store and it would cost as much to fix the chandelier in order to be able to hang as the whole fixture cost in the first place. Sad.

    Read More
    enliven28 January 4, 2016
  • Looks great but not functional
    Verified Purchase

    I was so happy with this light for 6 months. It looked fabulous until the bulbs started burning out...the globes are so fragile that they are extremely hard to take off and on. We broke the first one that we tried to change and even worse, one of the arms became unscrewed and it seems like the nut holding it in place fell into the center sphere and can not be fixed. I am having to uninstall and replace the whole fixture because what is the point of a chandelier if you can't easily replace the bulbs? I'm bummed because the look was great but turned out to be a waste of money

    Read More
    milenka c. June 3, 2015
  • Looks Great. Options limited on angled ceiling.
    Verified Purchase

    The ceiling housing hole is the exact diameter of extension rod, so the rod will not angle more than about 5 degrees without bending the surface of the ceiling housing. Required modification to hang on ceiling angled at about 30 degrees (made hole bigger with a 3/4 inch bit on a drill press). But I love this light! Otherwise it seems pretty much perfect in every way.

    Read More
    dcipriano July 20, 2010
  • Looks good but very tricky
    Verified Purchase

    I just got this installed, and it looks great. However, I'm a little worried it is going to fall down due to the flimsy interior metal workings, and I sliced up my hands trying to get the globes on. One of the bulbs didn't work, and I still haven't figured out how to get the globe off without breaking it to replace the bulb. If anyone has any tips, it'd be great to hear them. I tried calling the number on the slip inside to see if they had ideas, but they just said "be careful". So I have a cool looking fixture with one bulb that doesn't work and bloody hands. But all in all, I guess it is worth the price.

    Read More
    jeannies May 9, 2013
  • So awesome looking
    Verified Purchase

    I love it! it's very retro looking and really brings the room together.

    Read More
    charrox November 18, 2012
  • groovy lamp
    Verified Purchase

    this is a show-stopper fixture. it is tricky to get the globes on & I'm hoping it will be a long time before bulbs need changing, but I love the funky look

    Read More
    512bbtx October 17, 2012
  • Awesome
    Verified Purchase

    OMG this fixture is amazing, it is over my very modern dining room table and it POPS! It looks like it cost a ton what a bonus! I did read all of the reviews before purchasing and I was a little leary based on some of the complaints about the installation of the bulb covers so with that said I was very cautious when attaching the bulbs to the fixture and everything worked out fine! Those reviews were very helpful and Im glad I did as followed! I want to purchase another but the overstck is out of stock Im hoping they will get it again cuz I want another for a different spot in the house! Also my dining room area is small so I only need the shortest extension rod given but it comes with many different length options, another bonus!!!!!

    Read More
    tamela72 March 23, 2012
  • very good
    Verified Purchase

    we ordered two of these lights --- one for our dining room and one for our stairwell. we love them. they are beautiful and make a great statement in our new home. the big drawback is attaching the gloves to the fixture. they are really tricky to get affixed properly and the prongs make it very easy to break the globes. we did break one and the good news is that they do provide an additional glove. but you are sweating it out that you may break another one and then what do you do?? i dread the thought of a light bulb burning out!

    Read More
    lw58 February 18, 2012
  • Impressive!
    Verified Purchase

    Impressive, provides a lot of light! It is difficult to put the globes on as others mentioned and it takes smaller than average diameter bulbs. Other than that, an impressive light fixture!

    Read More
    jbeato December 31, 2011
  • Good for the price
    Verified Purchase

    This light arrived in a week, the packaging was great, no damage. The one thing to be aware of, on the picture it looks like the balls are different sizes, they are not. Installation was easy.

    Read More
    lnel March 27, 2010
  • Hard to assemble
    Verified Purchase

    This fixture is hard to assemble and very hard to attach the base to the ceiling. Will not order again and wouldn't recommend it.

    Read More
    TreyG April 30, 2017
  • Beware Changing Bulbs
    Verified Purchase

    Love the look but it is a NIGHTMARE trying to remove the glass globes if a bulb burns out. I've sliced my finger bloody on the metal housing trying to get the globe off the triple-pronged clamp without shattering it.

    Read More
    Scott L. January 1, 2017
  • Perfect light fixture
    Verified Purchase

    This light made my retro room. I constantly get remarks on this light.

    Read More
    erica l. March 7, 2016
  • kewl
    Verified Purchase

    This lamp / Chandelier is great. After reading the other reviews, make sure you use LED bulbs, you won't change them in 5 plus years, tighten all the extensions, the won't come loose... lastly when you put in the LED bulbs make them "dim-able" the room will be bright!

    Read More
    ckohnhorst January 30, 2016
  • Love it
    Verified Purchase

    It looks fabulous but its trendy. So if you want something classic, this isn't it.

    Read More
    hchan46 November 27, 2015
  • Looks great!
    Verified Purchase

    Great looking chandelier, provides a lot of light, goes well with different styles of decor. I've had this for about 4 years now and the only complaint I have is it's a little difficult to clean.

    Read More
    Olga V. June 28, 2015
Sponsored Links