Today $101.49

MSRP: $132.00

Save $30.51 (23%)

Free Shipping*
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Slab End Grain Cutting Board w/ Finger Grooves

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Relevant
  • Most Relevant
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Slab End Grain Cutting Board w/ Finger Grooves
    Verified Purchase

    As you'll hear from the other reviewers of this product, this is the end all of cutting boards. I can almost guarantee that this cutting board is larger than you expect, even if you read the dimensions and picture it in your head it's still going to seem huge when you first open it up. The board is 18x18x3 and must weight around 30 lbs. Not the kind of cutting board you want to have to pull out of the cupboard all the time and put back, but the finger grooves and manageable weight definitely make it possible if that's what you want to do. The board is designed beautifully and comes pre-oiled and plastic wrapped. Like someone else said in their review, this can definitely become a family heirloom...if you take care of it correctly. Do yourself a favor and get some food grade mineral oil and read up on how to properly clean and maintain a cutting board, and this board will probably outlive you.

    Read More
    gdrjock August 23, 2012
  • Great quality
    Verified Purchase

    This user earned $2.00 in rewards for writing this review.Learn More

    This is a great quality cutting board. The finger grooves are perfect for moving the board. Follow the cleansing and oiling directions. It should be in great for a very long time,

    Read More
    ohiolu July 8, 2017
  • Constant Comments
    Verified Purchase

    This is the second of these cutting boards I have bought. The first was for myself and I was so impressed that it was a natural birthday gift for my brother. This item is like a piece of furniture. It is heavy and large. Don't plan on storing it in an out of the way location because some people might hurt their backs trying to lift it from a low location. It does require some care, mineral oil will initially be soaked into the wood in large quantities, but the feeling of substantial firmness you get while chopping vegetables will make it all worth wild. Those that have grown up using plastic cutting boards that wanted to move around on the counter will get a new experience. Best of all, everyone that comes into your kitchen will at the very least, rub their hands along the grain and admire this thing, most will be forced to ask where you found it and tell you how beautiful it is. If your are serious in the kitchen or just trying to look like you are serious, buy this, you will not be disappointed.

    Read More
    mcl11 November 10, 2008
  • Looks very well made, but cumbersome
    Verified Purchase

    I had done a lot of research on cutting boards. Styles, grain orientation, woods versus plastics, and on and on. I pulled the trigger on ordering one of these massive block style end grain cutting boards and would say ultimately it was a bad choice for a number of reasons: 1. Price: I purchased 4 other boards to replace this when I sent it back. ALL 4 NEW boards cost what this 1 board is 2. Practicality: This thing is huge and heavy. It is not practical at all in a kitchen sink. My GF could hardly lift it, let alone get it scrubbed down in the sink and back onto the counter top. 3. Food Safety: What I concluded was that I should really own 3-4 boards. 1-2 wood boards for veggy/fruit/ prep chopping and such, and 2 plastic boards for meat / fish. The plastic boards are commercially accepted as "safer" and I would agree if from only one perspective… throw them in the dishwasher. While there are some wood boards that say dishwasher safe, they are full of it. A dishwasher will completely strip a wood board of its oils and coating, drying it out and guaranteeing cracking and fading in short time. So ultimately I ended up with 4 OXO Good Grips boards. There is a style they sell that is flat on one side and has a juice trap on the other and they intelligently put the feet attached on the end pieces so if you flip the board to either side you have some grip to your counter surface. They also make them in 2 or 3 different colors so that you can note a color for a food product.. My black one is for beef and chicken and such, red one for fish.. Then 2 bamboo ones for veggies and such. ALL 4 of these boards put together and shipped cost what this one end grain board cost. Mind you, I am using all Shun and Global knives and can tell you too that the end grain is not something worth it in terms of the effect on the blade. Get a good ceramic sharpener and keep the blade straight and have them professionally sharpened once or twice a year and all will be happy with your fancy knives without having to use a 2 ton slab of craziness :-)

    Read More
    riles78 October 16, 2014
  • Solid Performer
    Verified Purchase

    I am constantly reaching for a cutting board. I considered this substantial board for the features, quality, and convenience of leaving it out on the counter. It is a beautiful asset to my kitchen as well as it's performance. I give it 4 stars for the reason that the cutting/chopping surfaces are smooth, mine has a couple of very minor knot areas near edges and hasn't proven to be an issue. The only flaw is that most sides are rougher than should be. When conditioning mine "catches" somewhat. This isn't a big issue but in order to receive the excellent rating it should not do this. The finger grooves are quite smooth and I couldn't think of turning this big boy without them. If the grooves are smooth why couldn't the sides be? This board has that wonderful clunk when giving what you're chopping some muscle, and it is such a solid performer. I am glad that I made this investment and am certain that I will have a great board for many years with continued proper care.

    Read More
    redagnes April 17, 2010
  • Excellent product!
    Verified Purchase

    Excellent cutting board; highly recommended. The board seems to absorb mineral oil like a sponge. I've been alternating between straight mineral oil and oil/beeswax mix to protect the board. The board is very heavy, and makes an excellent base for pounding meats, as well as for cutting.

    Read More
    rar1 November 16, 2011
  • HEAVY & better then described.
    Verified Purchase

    My UPS deliverer left box on my front porch table and I wondered why until I lifted the board and brought it into the house ( he did me a favor by not putting it on the ground). I would say this is a stay put board due to it's weight, it is a HEAVY cutting board and is more beautiful then the photo. Please note, the color depicted in photo is what board looks like after you oil (preparing/maintaining) it. I have shun knives and I wanted a new board that would help keep my knives sharp. Before your board arrives, purchase mineral oil and save money on specialty oils. I use cheap white bar towels for cleaning my boards because they are soft and easy to clean after use. I purchased another cutting board with groves which is reversible and MUCH lighter. Both boards come from "Catskill Craftsman, Inc." and Overstocks prices were good at the time I purchased. Both boards are now selling for more. Top quality boards start at $$$. I have no complaints thus far. The company doesn't tell you the item is on it's way...it just shows up.

    Read More
    rfprinceton February 4, 2012
  • Verified Purchase

    love this slab end cutting board!

    Read More
    cathy0987 April 25, 2018
  • Cutting with style
    Verified Purchase

    This cutting board is a great addition to my kitchen. After a couple weeks the board has been fantastic. It came conditioned from the factory, but I chose to apply a light coat of food-grade mineral oil, which enhanced the grain and colors of the board. I am very happy with the style, durability and functionality of this cutting board. Because of it's large size and weight, instead of washing in the sink I've been giving it a quick wipe off after use, which is all it needs for the veges, fruits and nuts I've been cutting. I am very happy with it and highly recommend this cutting board.

    Read More
    froynglaven February 11, 2010
  • Well worth it!!!
    Verified Purchase

    This cutting board is beautiful and looks so good on the counter. Very durable!! Don't forget to get cutting board oil or mineral oil to rub it down with.

    Read More
    medusa72963 March 12, 2012
  • Great chopping block
    Verified Purchase

    I live alone and have a rather small kitchen. This cutting board takes up a lot of my counter top space along with a toaster, tea maker, etc... I have been using this board for a month now and it seems like an excellent addition to my kitchen. I have been very pleased with it so far. Seems to be soft on the blades of my knives but haven't noticed the knives carving into the wood. The other reviews are accurate, it is very heavy. I also bought some food grade mineral oil and beeswax to condition it prior to first using and for every couple of months thereafter. I can easily recommend this product for anyone that is looking for a heavy duty, long lasting chopping block.

    Read More
    jmw1160 August 31, 2011
  • Superb!
    Verified Purchase

    This cutting board weighs a ton because it is very, very well-made. The large size allows prep of all the fruits and vegetables I need for whatever I'm making. I do not recommend it for meats or fish but this is due to health and sanitary concerns that apply to all wooden boards, not due to any deficiency in this product. It's great and made in the USA.

    Read More
    vt203 December 16, 2015
  • Great Cutting Board
    Verified Purchase

    Love this cutting board! Very good quality!

    Read More
    Mary U. March 21, 2017
  • Cutting board luxury
    Verified Purchase

    This is quality and a joy to use. If you have good knife skills and good knives you will want a good quality cutting board like this. A good value. Be sure to oil as needed.

    Read More
    Demamma January 3, 2017
  • big, heavy, but a pleasure to work with
    Verified Purchase

    yes it weighs almost a ton and if you drop it on your finger you will be swearing out loud. But it is sturdy and extremely easy to wipe down as needed. Treat it well by oiling it once a month and this will probably be the last cutting board you ever buy assuming you don't drop it on your finger and burn it out of anger...

    Read More
    Ritch S. January 7, 2015
  • High quality
    Verified Purchase

    This is an excellent wood block cutting board. Very heavy and very well made. I have used it daily to cup up fruit and veggies for my smoothies. When I first received it, I treated it all over with Proteak natural cutting board wax seasoning stick before I used it. After each use, I am wiping down the cutting board. I am very satisfied.

    Read More
    Melissa S. February 18, 2016
  • Heavy duty cutting board
    Verified Purchase

    I will agree with other reviewers that this board is probably larger than you would expect. It is definitely TALLER than I expected. If I have anything negative to say, it would be that once the board is setting at counter height, it may be a little high for shorter cooks. At counter height (my counters are at 36"), the top of the board is almost 40" from the floor. I was worried that the board might slide around while being used, but it is so heavy, that isn't an issue. You will need to oil it, so go ahead and purchase the oil if you don't have any. Overall, this is a high-quality, substantial cutting board.

    Read More
    robinphoenix March 4, 2014
  • I am now the envy of all!
    Verified Purchase

    I love it, love it, love it. This board is now a permanent fixture on my counter top. I use it for all chopping cutting, sandwich making. The only thing I still use my old epicurean board for is processing raw meat.

    Read More
    3825lsgd March 16, 2012
  • Verified Purchase

    This user earned $2.00 in rewards for writing this review.Learn More

    I love this cutting board. I lovingly oil it with cutting board oil (by Boos) every once in awhile and it looks new after three years. It is gentle on my knives and looks very professional. It is very thick and heavy. It's good for tall people so they don't have to bend down as far while prepping food.

    Read More
    Lainey May 6, 2018
  • Exceeded Expectations
    Verified Purchase

    Whenever I buy a product I fully read all the reviews and look for the best price. Well overstock has done it again. I have never been disappointed. I looked for hours for just the right block and I am so pleased with this one. It weighs 25 pounds and I know it will be something that will live on in our family for many generations. I have never purchased one prior to this one so I decided to buy the best. The reviews made me decide on this block. thanks overstock and thanks for all those customers who accurately described this block. It is a Catskill brand and I just love the solid feel of this product. You will not regret buying this product as it is superior.

    Read More
    ozarklady2003 September 24, 2012