Today $134.49

At other retailer: $179.99

Save $45.50 (25%)

Free Shipping*
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Simple Living Slat Black Rubberwood Dining Chairs (Set of 4)

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Relevant
  • Most Relevant
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • A little more detail about these chairs
    Verified Purchase

    I've assembled the first of the 2 batches of these chairs that I ordered. I was skeptical thinking these chairs may be flimsy, but they have turned out to be nice and solid!! Here are some additional details about the chairs that might be useful: * the chairs weight about 15lbs a piece and feel very solid when you pick them up. * the frame construction uses pocket screws (hex bolts actually). * there are at least two hex bolts for attaching each leg to the frame -- perpendicular to each other -- so if the chair loosens you can tight up that hex bolt. * the chairs are made of rubberwood, which has about the same density at maple, though it is more porous so not a durable. (over time we'll see if that is the case) http://www.answerbag.com/q_view/2011912

    Read More
    corestruct00 October 21, 2010
  • Exactly as Described
    Verified Purchase

    I bought two sets of these Slat Back Chairs and I'm very pleased with the quality. They were exactly as described and I couldn't be happier with them! I placed them with a black modern farm table that my husband and I built and was able to have an 8 foot dining table with 8 Slat Back Chairs for less than $400!!!!! I just ordered my chandelier from Overstock as well to complete the look!

    Read More
    jess4osu November 14, 2010
  • Verified Purchase

    This user earned $1.00 in rewards for writing this review.Learn More

    Nice chairs. Not difficult to assemble. The slats in the back of the chair were already assembled (some review said all the slats needed to be assembled).Don't hesitate to purchase these. The are very attractive and sturdy.

    Read More
    judy157 July 4, 2018
  • OMG! You are literally making chairs
    Verified Purchase

    Be prepared for an all day, exhausting project if you buy these. Every single part of the chair is a separate piece. Your hands and back will ache by the time you are finished and it indeed takes two people to get this done. After the first chair, we developed a sort of assembly linre process but still it took all day. This puts new meaning to the phrase "assembly required." The end product is sturdy enough, though we ended up with one split leg and partially split lower back. The leg was easy enough to replace but nothing could be done about the back without taking the entire chair apart. I was not about to put together one more of these chairs. This a hard call becauise the end product is a good deal, but I would not have purchased these had I known how hard it would be to assemble them.

    Read More
    figaro14 April 30, 2011
  • Slat Black Rubberwood Dining Chairs (set of 4)
    Verified Purchase

    Stat Black Rubberwood Dining Chairs (sat of 4) .I like the chairs.They will go good withe the room.

    Read More
    mischichi3 February 25, 2014
  • Slat Black Chairs
    Verified Purchase

    Excellent value. Yes, you have to put the chairs together, but the effort/time is worth the savings. These same chairs at a local furniture place would have cost me 6x as much! We boought 2 sets (8 chairs), so it took some time to put together, but with the help of a friend, we had them done in a couple of hours total. Once you get the first one figured out they go together quickly.

    Read More
    oby1 January 26, 2011
  • Nice chairs, but really hard to put together
    Verified Purchase

    These take a very long time to put together. There are tons of different size screws and they give you a 2 inch allen wrench for all of them. Most screws have to be inserted at crazy angles while trying to hold the pieces together and it's hard to tell which piece is which. With three of us working on assembly (using 2 allen wrenches), it still took us about 3 hours and my husband rage-quit once. Now that they're all together, they're nice enough, but I wouldn't have bought them if I'd known they were this hard to assemble. I also had to put cushions on them because they're hard seats. They do look nice with the Simple Living Shaker Black Dining Table.

    Read More
    angel4711 December 10, 2015
  • I'm sitting on one now
    Verified Purchase

    The little alan wrench they give you would have been a real pain to use. Using my screw driver with a hex end attached took me almost 3 hours to put all these chairs together. I found I had to tighten the screws connecting the seat to the back after a couple of days worth of use. I've had the chairs for a couple of weeks and they seem great so far. Pay attention to the height. These chairs are not tall by any means. But I recommend them. Excellent chairs.

    Read More
    pianowow October 8, 2011
  • Good chairs for the money
    Verified Purchase

    They sit a little too high for my dining room table, but otherwise good chairs.

    Read More
    Ceren J. May 4, 2015
  • Simple dining furniture
    Verified Purchase

    These are very nice chairs for the price! The ability to get 4 chairs for the price of 2 chairs (even when compared to other dining chairs on O.co) was a real savings for me, when we needed chairs for 7 Thanksgiving guests in a few weeks time! My next concern was the quality... but when they came it was clear that they were of good quality. The assembly was relatively easy. All in all we are pleased to have these 8 dining chairs in our dining room.

    Read More
    megsluvspurple November 9, 2011
  • Great Chairs
    Verified Purchase

    I bought two sets of four so that we would have eight chairs. It took a long time to put them all together but because of the process, they seem to be pretty sturdy. It wasn't very hard, just time consuming because there were eight of them! I love that the screw holes are accessible so that if a chair seems a little wobbly, I can just tighten the joint. When I opened the first box, one of the chair seats had a crack down the middle. I live chatted with an overstock employee and they shipped me a new chair seat pronto. I love the look of these chairs and the black is a true black, not a stain. So it matches my table well.

    Read More
    rkemper February 25, 2011
  • Verified Purchase

    This makes a good back up chair or if you have extra guests over. Easy to assemble.

    Read More
    lex18 March 27, 2018
  • Great chairs
    Verified Purchase

    These chairs are GREAT for the price. Yes, you see the screw heads on the side of the chair. However they are black to help them blend - and you aren't paying very much per chair for this product! I was missing a few screws, which overstock was VERY responsive to my inquiry and I am expecting the missing pieces any day now. So far the chairs seem very solid. I am very happy with the value of this product.

    Read More
    momofcaroline January 22, 2011
  • Attractive and economical
    Verified Purchase

    I have six of these chairs around my dining room table. They fit perfectly! Great price too!

    Read More
    jazzgirl50 February 11, 2017
  • Simple, sturdy chairs.
    Verified Purchase

    These are very attractive, simple chairs that do not overpower my small dining area and are not too heavy to pull in and out from the table. Easy to assemble and very sturdy. I made a good decision here - I would recommend these chairs.

    Read More
    doctorpatg March 25, 2015
  • Nice but a headache to assemble
    Verified Purchase

    Once the chairs were finally together, we could appreciate the clean lines and easy-to-work-with size. HOWEVER! Each individual back slat and chair leg needs to be attached to the seat. The dowels, screws, pins, etc all come in one big bag, with nothing sorted or labeled. The first chair took over an hour to assemble because the instructions skip a step about putting in a piece to hold the slat in place. The next three chairs took about 45 minutes each. Not sure it was worth it to order these from Overstock and spend time (time is money) to get them all assembled.

    Read More
    cjp53 June 6, 2014
  • Verified Purchase

    This user earned $2.00 in rewards for writing this review.Learn More

    Adorable chairs that fit the matching table beautifully. These are great in a small space and work well with the drop leaf table. The finish is true black and they have held up well for two years in a guest area.

    Read More
    jmama6 June 5, 2018
  • Great bang for the buck!!
    Verified Purchase

    I am very pleased with the dining chairs. I feel I have received 4 decent chairs for the best price around. I was looking for kitchen chairs that would work well for 3 growing and destructive children (and myself). These chairs are perfect. I was surprised by the seat portion of the chair; it is made out of some kind of particle board (not wood) and then covered with something. But I have realized after a bit of use that they are more durable for my children and very easy to clean. Regarding the comments/reviews about assembling the chairs; I was expecting a huge project. I was happy to find the assembly easy and not nearly as time consuming as some of the other reviews had implied. I guess I expect and don't mind some work involved when you are paying this price.

    Read More
    cindy1sch September 30, 2011
  • good chair
    Verified Purchase

    this is a good chair for a small dining area.

    Read More
    Valentin D. July 26, 2017
  • very nice chairs
    Verified Purchase

    luv the chairs. perfect fit in the dining room. assembly IS required and directions were NOT provided, but the assembly was pretty straight forward but directions would have been nice. all in all, i would recommend them

    Read More
    tirion December 30, 2011