Today: $241.99
Free Shipping
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Shorea Deck and Patio Storage Box

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
Club O Silver

Club O members earn Club O Rewards for writing reviews.

  • Horrible chemical smell
    Verified Purchase

    I have not been able to assemble this item yet, although I have had had it for several weeks. It LOOKS very nice, and as pictured. However, as I unpacked the item I was nearly overcome with chemical fumes. I had to remove the packaging (which in addition to deteriorating styrofoam and cardboard included little gel beads which spread all over my house and I am still finding to be vacuumed...households with small children, beware!) from the house as quickly as possible, and placed the parts of the item on my porch. There they have remained for upwards of 3 weeks, through heavy rain and wind. Gradually the odor is dissipating, but I am still unable to walk on the porch without smelling it, and still would not work on the assemby of the item.

    Read More
    Shoshana H. January 19, 2017
  • Beautiful Box, Poor Instructions
    Verified Purchase

    Update May 2016 : this box has been long gone. It did not hold up for two years. It was really beautiful, and had I know it would not hold up, I would have stored it under a covered patio. Frankly, since it was meant to hold pool toys, I wanted it near my pool. Since it is a deck box, I wanted it on my deck. Maybe that was expecting too much. I would only purchase this if I had a covered area to keep it. It is definitely not for use out by a pool. It simply will not hold up to the elements. It is pretty, though. I disposed of itl last year in May, and by May 2015, it was literally falling apart. July 2013. This box was relatively easy to assemble. Better instructions would have been beneficial. I have had the item fewer than 4 weeks, so it is too early to say if this is a durable box. It is very attractive on our pool deck. We have a boogie board, 4 pool noodles and several small toys stored in it, so the storage capacity is good. One complaint that I have immediately is that there is a place at the top where the box was cracked and there is actually a plug of wood that was used to correct the problem. I can live with it, for $200. It looks like an expensive piece. The box is not in any way water resistant, so if you put towels or cushions in this box, you will have wet towels or wet cushions. I am not overly handy, but I assembled the box with just a bit of assistance from my son holding the pieces. It was not terribly difficult. You will have to rely on common sense, because the instructions are pitiful. This box has a very rich, warm look. So far it has weathered well. Only time will tell, however. It is roomy and looks nice. I think the wood might split easily if not handled carefully.

    Read More
    julilee93 May 17, 2016
  • Shorea Deck and Patio Storage Box Review
    Verified Purchase

    I got the Box damaged but replacement parts sent quickly. Customer Service was excellent. The quality of the box was just what I expected for the money I paid. Assembly instruction (too short) and quality of hardware (soft metal) and pre-drill holes (do not line up with hinges) need to improve. Also the water proofer smells like gas (it'll go away in a few days). It will take 2 persons to put the top (lid) on. On and On after all that I got what I want: A roomy, furniture-like, color-matched-with-my-wood-floor, storage box to store toys and stuff-animals of my children (I use it indoor).

    Read More
    Tuan T. January 11, 2016
  • Holds up
    Verified Purchase

    It is holding up to the Arizona sun, so we are very pleased with it of course…

    Read More
    Robert J. January 7, 2016
  • Great Deck Box
    Verified Purchase

    Despite some negative reviews we have been very happy with this deck box we bought earlier this summer. It matches the similar deck furniture I bought a few years ago and is prefect for storing out cusions and other deck items. It was simple to put together and all parts were there and nothing was damaged. Its not heavy duty enough for adult seating but it well serves the purpose we bought it for!

    Read More
    billyt14607 November 29, 2015
  • Really nice
    Verified Purchase

    This is the second one we purchased. The first is still in perfect shape, I just needed a second one. Not though; our first one has never been in direct sun or directly exposed to the elements, so I don't know how it would weather. It took my husband about 1.5 hours to put it together and he reinforced it with wood glue. It takes two at some assembly points but otherwise not difficult to assemble. For the price I think it's a spectacular value.

    Read More
    Elaine R. August 12, 2015
  • Very nice looking, but not very strong!
    Verified Purchase

    Looks great and very large! Not very strong, not meant for anyone to use as a bench and storage. Strictly for storage, I can store pool toys, towels, watering can and still have room for more.

    Read More
    denisekps February 6, 2015
  • Nice, when not broken.
    Verified Purchase

    This ventilated box (all but the lid has open slats) was exactly what I needed so I ordered it. It arrived damaged: a corner of the box was splintered off. Customer service was awesome and sent me a second one right away. When it arrived it was also damaged in several places! Luckily between the two sets I had enough unbroken pieces to make one full box. It's a cheap product, but does look more well made than it is when the unbroken pieces were put together. For the price, I'd buy something else.

    Read More
    bethykz July 12, 2014
  • Not Great For Outside Use

    We bought the box to store gardening stuff on our deck. Assembly was easy, it looked good. That was three years ago. It has not held up well. The pegs that hold the bottom in place have splayed so the bottom is falling out, though the contents are not heavy. The finish is splotchy, i guess we should have stained or painted it, but were not instructed to do this.

    Read More
    notjustmary October 14, 2013
  • Came cracked and broken
    Verified Purchase

    The wood was cracked in several places when we unpacked the deck box. The good news is Overstock immediately sent a new one. The bad news is that he 2nd box had he same problems. They credited our account for the costs. Overstock asked us to return only one of the boxes and made all the arrangements for it to be picked up. The 2nd box ended up in the trash.

    Read More
    arealhousewifeofoc October 8, 2013
  • Worst Storage Box Ever
    Verified Purchase

    The box came broken - several wood pieces were splintered and two pieces were completely broken. We called Overstock who kindly said that we could return the box for another. However, even if the wood were not broken, it was light weight, thin, and incapable of holding anything more than inflatable toys. We would not have been able to hold heavy pillows outside in the rain in that box. Overstock returned our money and did not retrieve the box. They have always been a great place to buy. It is a shame that the box was such cheap quality.

    Read More
    diyers August 13, 2013
  • Poor quality wood doesn't survive shipment
    Verified Purchase

    I received this item twice. The first time, the package arrived damaged from UPS - dented, partially open - and one of the wood pieces was splintered. I immediately filed a claim with UPS, called Overstock, and they arranged a replacement shipment. The second package arrived intact, but as soon as I opened it, the very first piece was also splintered. I concluded that the wood is just not able to survive even well-packaged shipment. My only disappointment with Overstock with regard to the transaction was that the associate I spoke with initially suggested that I needed to haul the 70 lb. package to UPS for return. That wasn't the best approach, given that this was the second consecutive damaged item (and a rather bulky and heavy one). When I protested, he then offered to submit a call tag for UPS to pick it up. I can't recommend this item.

    Read More
    mickjddc June 19, 2013
  • as good as it sounded
    Verified Purchase

    The price seemed to good to be true, but the wood was strong,finish consistent and hardware is complete and well constructed. The hardest part was assembling the hinges; the holes are predrilled,but a second set of hands is needed to align while the other tightens. Assembly was very basic, "a box" with corners. Screws were quality material. Sturdy enough to sit on.

    Read More
    austin2354 December 2, 2011
  • This storage box is a great addition to my patio!
    Verified Purchase

    I was very pleased with the storage box once I had it assembled. However, the instructions that came with it were minimal, especially regarding attaching the lid and hinges. The cut-outs for the hinges were not lined up well. It took two people to hold the lid and the box while the hinges were being attached. I was pretty frustrated before I finally had the three lid hinges attached. However, once done, it looks great. I coated the wood with cutting board oil and it repels water nicely.

    Read More
    sherryflambe October 15, 2011
  • box well constructed and nice woodexcellent
    Verified Purchase

    beautifull wood. like vented slats for ventilation

    Read More
    canedoc726 October 8, 2011
  • Nice looking patio storage box.
    Verified Purchase

    For the price, the box was not the quality I expected. However, it is spacious and nice looking for the patio. The interior can hold a lot of things that I do not want to plane sight on my patio but want easy access to when using the out door patio setting and furniture. Thee wood does not have a hard finish on it, so the box can be painted to match my furniture. .

    Read More
    janellegerber August 9, 2011
  • Storage Box
    Verified Purchase

    Really beautiful storage box for the patio. The color is beautiful and it was very easy to assemble. The middle hinges were a bit off, so I had to do a little maneuvering, but otherwise it was a snap to put together. For the price, can't beat it!

    Read More
    farchimp1 August 2, 2011
  • Looks good!
    Verified Purchase

    This is nice and big, been looking for one of these for a while. I put this together myself in a short period of time. Only difficulty was lining up the holes to brackets to connnect lid to base. If I had a helper, It would have been no problem. It is still residing in my kitchen eat-in area, so I am unsure how it will hold up under the patio. I think the price was great and can't beat the free shipping. I have been an Overstock customer for a long, long time, and I think anyone looking for a nice, hefty storage box would be happy with this item.

    Read More
    annandale August 2, 2011
  • Roomy and attractive
    Verified Purchase

    This box/bench is quite sturdy and well-made. Putting it together is definitely a two-person job, although not complicated--it's just impossible to hold the pieces in place while also putting in the screws. This box holds quite a bit and looks nice.

    Read More
    travelmad478 July 28, 2011
  • Beautiful storage box
    Verified Purchase

    It took less then hour to assemble without any problem. Wood looks great. A lot of space inside. We needed this box to store outdoor cushions at winter inside. They fit perfect.

    Read More
    ryjik November 13, 2010
Sponsored Links