Free Shipping* & 5% Rewards On Every Order* With Club O
Today $429.99
Out of Stock
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Serta Athens Futon Frame and Bed Set

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Frame already bent
    Verified Purchase

    Bought for office and then nursury. We haven't slept in it very often and the extender poles when laying flat already bent. We aren't big people and assembled it correctly. Disappointed because it seemed durable at first.

    Read More
    Hannah M. May 17, 2016
  • Very Poor Quality and Durability
    Verified Purchase

    The wooden parts are okay, the futon mattress is quite firm and heavy, the metal frame is TERRIBLE (below poor quality). Requires at least two people to put together. The two metal hooks that keep the metal frames together snap off every time I interchange from bed position to seating position. Due to the metal hooks snapping out of place, the frame has bent due to lack of support and now it is very uneven and causes back pain. After only three uses in the past year, the frame will not stay on seating position, I now have to set it against the wall in order to hold the sitting position. Do yourself a favor and do not waste your money.

    Read More
    elijamador August 19, 2014
  • Poor materials and construction
    Verified Purchase

    The product arrived within 3 days which was excellent. It arrived in 3 boxes which was how it was described. The problems began when we attempted to put it together. We inventoried the parts and all were there. We read the instructions twice, and viewed a video Serta has on YouTube. It looked so easy. The metal parts are very poor quality and poorly constructed. Very few of the pre-drilled holes are clean enough to accept the screws without problems. The bedframe is metal and the metal parts that must be inserted into one another are not sized properly so they don't fit. We have been attempting to assemble this product since about 10 this morning. We are frustrated, upset, and angry. We chose this particular futon because of the brand name Serta, but clearly the name does not carry any weight with regard to quality of this product. We have tried to call the company but of course they are closed on Saturday!!! We left a voicemail message requesting call back. Let's see what happens.

    Read More
    knot2happy October 5, 2013
  • Good product...see for video instructions
    Verified Purchase

    Great value for the price! Its a really nice looking wood frame. Shipping was on time and no damage. Be careful of putting on the hinges backwards. Its easy to do! I just found a Serta video on how to put together the futon frame. Great for future buyers. Wish I had it when I was putting mine together. The seat and back frame is metal tubing. Mine was not exactly circular so I had to force pieces together. It made it a little tough, but I got it together. I was able to put it together by myself in about 3 1/2 hrs. The welding on the two t-brackets is really bad. I pulled my futon away from the wall and one of them came apart. Here is a link to Serta's video instructions. Good luck! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z0f_0Uv1biQ

    Read More
    jrmaass September 4, 2013
  • Don't buy this
    Verified Purchase

    After only a few days the frame bent. Going in the trash! Wasted money on junk. Don't buy it. They sent a new frame out, but the same thing happened again.

    Read More
    littleleaf1 July 31, 2013
  • resting comfortably
    Verified Purchase

    The futon took a bit of time to assemble, but is very sturdy and attractive. The mattress is quite firm, which suits us well for sleeping. Would recommend this product for quality, sleeping comfort, and ease of operation.

    Read More
    wellnurse June 15, 2013
  • Excellent buy
    Verified Purchase

    The futon is of high quality and the mattress is very comfortable. It took two people to put it together but the instructions were good and once together, looks just like the on-line picture. We are using this in a spare bedroom and it serves well as both a sofa and a bed. I would recommend this product to anyone in search of a sofa/bed for a limited space room. Very good value for the money.

    Read More
    northbeach13 June 4, 2013
  • Easy to assemble
    Verified Purchase

    Other than the metal frame bending I loved the futon. I'm hoping I can find someone to repair it.

    Read More
    csackett2 December 5, 2012
  • Should have been a good buy ...
    Verified Purchase

    This is a nice looking futon with a comfortable mattress at an excellent price. However, it was murder to put together. It should have been a piece of cake -- all the pieces are there, the instructions are fine, only a couple of tools needed (and what you need is included, but you'd do well to use better tools). The problem is that the parts are so poorly machined that nothing fits together as it should. Straight pieces aren't straight, round pieces aren't round, and screw holes don't match up. I have a PhD in experimental Physics and I've been putting together "assembly required" furniture with no trouble for over 20 years. But this time I'm admitting defeat. I'm broken and bloody and the futon is put together minus one screw. I just hope it doesn't fall apart when I sit on it.

    Read More
    christie323 October 29, 2012
  • Futon Review
    Verified Purchase

    The futon is a good value for the price. It arrived very quickly. The arms were beautiful and real wood. The mattress is a little thin and I plan to order a better one eventually but this one is fine for now as I am using the futon for sitting on and watching tv and reading. I am not sure about the frame it seemed to be a bit flimsy but time will tell. Overall I feel like I got a good deal and it suits my needs.

    Read More
    gudshopper October 6, 2012
  • Good Quality Futoon
    Verified Purchase

    One issue we had was one of the parts was thrown in with the frame. My husband had to make a wood substitute and then later when he opened the framework it was there. All parts should be in the same parts bag. Other than that the quality was decent. We have only had it for a few weeks, time will tell. So far we like it very much.

    Read More
    screennameas October 2, 2012
  • Futon frame
    Verified Purchase

    the metal framework that actually supports the futon matress is lightweight and flimsy. The wood ends are ok but the hinged top surfaces are poorly screwed to the side. Not only was there shipping damage but the ratchet mechanism that allows the back to be upright is already showing signs of fatigue after only a few weeks of use. It recieves light duty only, noone is jumping or sitting down hard on it or leaning on it. Spend a few extra $$ and get a quality unit.

    Read More
    mtyler11 August 8, 2012
  • Positive Review
    Verified Purchase

    The futon was very easy to put together and the futon was very comfortable to sleep on.

    Read More
    medor July 17, 2012
  • Futon is great, shipping could use some care.
    Verified Purchase

    Upon unpacking, the futon had a chip in the front of the right arm. It was quite noticeable. I did instant messaging with Overstock and a new arm arrived in one week! I was quite happy until I opened the box. This arm was damaged even worse, the hinges for the doors on top of the arm were totally ripped off withthe broken screws rolling around in the box. I again instant messaged Overstock. They shipped to me another right and left arm which arrived in 9 days. They both were damage free. I kept the left in my basement and assembled the right one. The assembly over all wasn't bad doing it myself. Just need to prop up both arms to put the rails in, otherwise you do need a second person. Putting the rails together was quite difficult as they didn't slide into eachother that great, took a lot of muscle, but finally worked. My sister has slept on the futon a few times now and said is quite comfortable! Seems very durable and thick - figured it would be being a Serta matress base. I am very happy with this purchase now that the chaos with the damaged pieces are behind me.

    Read More
    oliviapsu July 9, 2012
  • Broken parts and 3 weeks to receive new ones.
    Verified Purchase

    When we received the futon, one of the arms was broken so had to call for a replacement. It took 1 1/2 weeks to receive it (it only took 3 days to receive the product after purchase). So after finally getting the arm and starting the assembling process we found that one bracket was welded together backwards. So, another phone call and another 1 1/2 weeks to receive the replacement. So I like the product, but there were too many broken parts, There should have been a rush on the second wrong part. My room was torn apart for almost a month just trying to get this thing set up. Had company who said it is very comfortable, if fact, they asked where I got it. Hope they don't have the same issues I had.

    Read More
    dhelms April 3, 2012
  • Decent for the price
    Verified Purchase

    Decent quality futon, very comfortable for sleeping. Black metal frame is kinda cheesy and ugly. Wooden side-rails are nice, and the hinged pockets are handy. Easy to assemble, but one of the frame's ratcheting hinges didn't work very well - fixed it with a screwdriver & some oiling. This is fine for occasional guests.

    Read More
    tsukuba58 March 27, 2012
  • Serta Futon Frame and Bed Set
    Verified Purchase

    This is a good quality product. The mattress is very comfortable. We use this as a spare bed in a smaller bedroom. It is good size and looks very nice set up as a bed. Our guests have also said how comfortable it is. It was easy enough to put together...but we received two "right" hinges so had to contact customer service and they were prompt to resolve the issure and send the correct LEFT hinge.

    Read More
    jgreenaz3 March 20, 2012
  • love it!
    Verified Purchase

    loooove it! versatile and sturdy enough to withstand my 8 year old daughter!

    Read More
    cjso March 14, 2012
  • Like the product - sturdy and attractive
    Verified Purchase

    First off, delivery was 2 days! What a surprise! We put the futon together quickly. We worked on it in two different time periods, but it was a steady job. We are using it in our guest room. I "tested"it by working on my laptop for 6 hours. Very comfortable - I could spread out my research and felt that my laptop was safe resting on the arm. So far, the dog has used it the most; it is his new "favorite" for a winter's nap. We will have our first "guest" sleep on it next week, and we have the option of adding an air mattress for additional cushion if we need it. But so far, we are happy with the "cush" factor!

    Read More
    prgbetty February 8, 2012
  • Average Qulaity for a good price
    Verified Purchase

    This was the best price that I could find for a futon of this size that doesn't look cheap or have a metal frame. It is plenty sturdy and looks nice, located in a guest room where it gets little wear. It arrived damaged, with a crushed wooden arm, so I was quickly sent out a replacement arm that also arrived damaged, to which I was sent a pair of replacement arms. Items could certainly be packed better from the factory, but I had no problem or haggling getting the arms replaced, just the headache of the time it took to get the good condition parts to actually get the futon put together. By that time, the event I needed it for was already past, but it has been used plenty of times since. Anyhow, for the price of this item, it is certainly a good, sturdy product. The mirofiber cover on the mattress does repel some spills if wiped up quickly and easy to wipe down after bedding pulled off. If looking for a more comfortable futon, which most of them aren't, you'll have to spend more money for the quality, if you don't care what it looks like, don't spend the money on this one, just get an inexpensive metal frame futon. This is simply a nice, middle of the road product.

    Read More
    fuzzysaver December 21, 2011
Sponsored Links