Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Serta 8-inch California King-size Memory Foam Mattress

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • From springy bounce to floating on a cloud
    Verified Purchase

    We have never bought a matress online... We trusted the other reviews and were blown away when it arrived. It shows up in a smallish box, for something holding a cal king. When I opened it, we were sleeping on it 1 hour later, so it is ready to go!! My wife and I have had amazing sleep. No body parts falling asleep at night. No back pain. Just the joy of slipping under the covers to go to sleep. The only thing keeping us up is the 10 month old in the other room.

    Read More
    benjamin25 December 7, 2011
  • Awesome mattress!
    Verified Purchase

    Easy to unwrap & lay out on bed frame (heavy: took 2 to manage). Let it stay for a night to "breathe". This is very comfortable...almost immediately! This mattress is quite a bit lower than previpus pillow top.(no big deal...the sheets fit better!). I have recommended to a colleague. No need to drive around & try out mattresses when you can buy a great one that is delivered to your door at a great price!!!

    Read More
    baxtemp November 26, 2011
  • Too Firm for Me
    Verified Purchase

    I believe in memory foam mattresses, but I was surprised with how firm this one was. Maybe it's just me, but I found that this made me too sore. Eventually I'll try a Sealy Posturepedic foam mattress instead. In the meantime, I have placed a Sealy mattress topper on the Serta, and am getting a comfortable night's sleep.

    Read More
    cats4us November 13, 2011
  • Memory foam was just as advertised.
    Verified Purchase

    I have suffered with low back pain for years. The memory foam is very comfortable and has sure helped my pain.

    Read More
    isky11usa October 11, 2011
  • Great mattress
    Verified Purchase

    I really struggled about buying a mattress online, but I bit the bullet and bought it anyway. I have been sleeping on a waterbed for the last 27 years and was concerned about sleeping on a regular mattress. I chose the memory foam for the comfort of conforming to my body. I have not been disappointed at all. I have slept extremely well since the first night. I was concerned because it came in such a small box, but the minute you let air in it "grows". The other reviews stated there would be an odor, but I did not experience any odor at all. The mattress fits in my waterbed frame well. The only negative I can say is that I wish I had gotten the 12" instead of the 8". I fills the frame but is slightly lower than the side rails. I love this mattress. I would recommend it to everyone, as a matter of fact I have recommended it to several people. I look forward to many restful nights!

    Read More
    nana31110 October 2, 2011
  • Great product!
    Verified Purchase

    We've bought 4 of these to date - one for each RV, and 2 beds in the house - after 2 previous back surgeries, never slept better! NO issues of any kind with shipment, delivery, unpacking, or installation - all as advertised, and better!

    Read More
    hrocod September 30, 2011
  • 1hop
    Verified Purchase

    Overstock did it again! Shopped for a mattress online and read all the reviews on this one. It arrived quickly and fit perfectly on our Cal King bed. It was a little more firm than our existing mattress but we were able to sleep fine on it the first night. The price and the quality were unbeatable!

    Read More
    1hop August 1, 2011
  • We <3 Memory Foam!
    Verified Purchase

    My gigantic husband was skeptical at first, but our 11 yr old Cal-King pillowtop mattress was getting worn down and my back was hurting. After taking a test drive on my grandparent's Tempur-pedic, and my learning that a box spring was essentially just a big wooden box under the mattress, I decided that the platform bed with a Memory Foam mattress was the way to go. After reading the reviews and ratings and seeing the price, we purchased this bed to go with our new 18" West Elm platform bed. I could have done it all myself, but it was sure nice to have him there with me as we lugged the 80 lb box up the stairs, shook the thing out, positioned and laid it out on the frame and cut it open. The mattress expands rather quickly, and smells pretty obnoxious for the first 2 or so days. Sometimes I can still pick out the smell, which I just attribute to the smell of the mattress. We aren't particularly bothered by smells so an occasional faint whiff isn't a detractor. As for the comfort? My husband just returned from a business trip and said, "I just love our mattress! It's spoiled me for other beds." He never said that about our other bed.

    Read More
    miner5 July 23, 2011
  • Seal California King Memory Foam Mattress
    Verified Purchase

    Excellent product & value. Arrived promptly &easy to unpack. The mattress is comfortable and exactly what I wanted.

    Read More
    missritchie May 20, 2011
  • One more... website times out too fast... Love it!

    Great and comfortable mattress and love the comfort and lack of pains. Very cool! My wife is not sleeping though the night even though she no longer has any body aches. I think it has more to do with our move than anything. Has anyone moved and had to move their memory foam mattress? How did you pack it... not a lot out there on this. :-)

    Read More
    riversen May 13, 2011
  • best mattress i have had yet
    Verified Purchase

    i loooove this mattress before i had really bad back pains everytime i woke up but now i sleep way better at night and i dont wake up with a hurting back. I also found that this was the cheapest mattrass that i could find for a cali king.its a great price and well worth it. i recommend this to everyone :)

    Read More
    angieper08 May 12, 2011
  • This is a comfy mattress
    Verified Purchase

    After reading the other reviews I was expecting this and it is true. You have to try this mattress for a couple of days just to get used to it. My partner and I are both very please with this. We replace our extremely expensive name brand pillow top mattress with this and are now sleeping much better and loving our decision. We both suffer from having had back surgeries in the past and were unsure if we would like the firmness of this mattress. You just have to try it to appreciate it.

    Read More
    paintedcat May 10, 2011
  • great buy
    Verified Purchase

    A really good buy for the value. My husband and I love how its firm but soft enough feel. shipping was fairly quick and easy to take out from the box (one person job). I just don't think ours is 8 inch, or maybe I should've gotten the thicker one.

    Read More
    yulioo April 30, 2011
  • First Memory Foam
    Verified Purchase

    This is our first memory mattress we've had. So far we just love it. We're never going back to the regular spring mattress. This one is comfortable, supportive and best of all... quiet.

    Read More
    puppysmix April 23, 2011
  • amazing!
    Verified Purchase

    this bed by far has the best value and the best night of sleep in my life i ever had! my boyfriend and i were able to just rip open the box and plastic, watch it come to life and grow to fit exactly to my bedframe. i have a platform bedframe and this mattress is perfect for it. i don't even need a boxspring or anything. it came in a small box but was roughly 90lbs, so be sure that someone is there to help you lug it to your room. we just spent the first night on it in our new apartment and i usually toss and turn crazily in my sleep. not last night!! it was amazing, my boyfriend said he felt like he was sleeping by himself instead of having my arms and legs flailing all night. I didn't think i would like a firm bed, but gave it a shot anyway. I think this was money very well spent!

    Read More
    raymunt April 1, 2011
  • Excellent Mattress
    Verified Purchase

    This mattress is an absolute bargain considering the money. It's also a great night's sleep. My only real issue, and even this is marginal, the smell from the memory foam did take several days to dissipate. I've now had the mattress for a few weeks, and occasionally, there is a hint of the memory foam scent. Other than that, no complaints here!

    Read More
    bundo85 March 22, 2011
  • Fantastic Bed, Fantastic Experience!
    Verified Purchase

    First, I really appreciate that other people left reviews here...it really made me feel comfortable making a purchase like this (online, without testing it) and in deciding on this specific memory-foam mattress. I purchased this mattress at Overstock on a Friday, got free shipping (with the O Club Membership---which immediately pays for itself) and it arrived the next Tuesday! **** You may want to sign up on Overstock's Site as a regular member before your purchase, as they send out 10% e-mail coupons **** As other reviewers stated, it's hard to believe that a California-sized king bed can come in a box that's roughly four feet high by two feet wide (87 pounds), but it does..... and it's perfectly fine! The bed comes in a plastic bag that is surrounded by a stronger threaded plastic outer layer (which keeps it compressed), and then of course the shipping box. You just simply take the bed out of the box, place the wrapped bed on your frame or box springs, carefully cut the outer layer off with scissors, and then watch your bed grow to full size! Remove the lighter inner plastic cover and you're ready to go. My wife has a very good sense of smell and said she could barely detect an odor from the bed. Once you let the bed stretch a little (5 minutes), the instructions say that it's perfectly O.K. to lay on the bed and sleep on it immediately, which we did. We kept our existing bed springs and just replaced our mattress. This 8" Serta exactly replaces the length and width of the Cal King mattress we had and we use regular Cal King sheets with it. It also is a full 8" high, as described. The comfort of this bed is fabulous. Because it's a memory foam bed, it adjusts to your size and weight and then sort of molds you into it. It is a bit firm, in the sense that once you sink in it stops moving. As others have noted, because this mattress is probably unlike anything else you've ever slept on, it's just feels different at first and it takes a short while to adjust to this feel. What feels like firm at first feels great a couple of days into sleepng on it and the discomfort and pain we had been feeling from our old spring mattress just disappeared!!! The only way I can describe it is that it feels like there's nothing around you, as if you were laying directly on the ground, but yet it's super comfortable ---- i.e. natural!!! A great feel and experience! By the way, one concern we had was that it might heat up with our body temps and be too warm--- we've found just the opposite and find both the comfort and the coolness to be excellent. If you're a light sleeper and your partner comes to bed later, you'll love this bed. I'm a night person and my wife says she doesn't ever wake up now / know that I came in later!!!! We joked there's not enough hours in the day to enjoy our bed and are both loving it. Again, like others mentioned, you can always add an affordable feather top if you need more of the spring-like cushion that a traditional mattress provides....we're happy with the way it is and are sleeping better than we ever have! Finally, I just used our O Rewards (credit, after joining the club, from your purchases toward future purchases) toward an area rug with, of course a 10% off coupon.... and the product and delivery were once again, perfect. I am a customer who expects very good service and have been totally thrilled with the e-mail communications, tracking numbers, and everything that Overstock has provided us in our experiences so far! Happy shopping to all of you and thanks to Overstock for the value and the service--- we will definitely be shopping with them again in the near future!!!

    Read More
    djt23 March 11, 2011
  • Excellent buy
    Verified Purchase

    As others have said I was hesistant to buy a mattress online. Well dont hesistate! This is a great price, mattress was received way before expected, smell from memory foam was minimal. My husband has back problems and while this was not a cure it has helped. I thought it was firm at first but have grown to love it! The first few nights are an adjustment after a spring mattress but so worth it! Thank you overstock.

    Read More
    jknytych March 10, 2011
  • My back loves this
    Verified Purchase

    Love this mattress. I wanted a thicker one, but was not available in the Cal-King. The 8" is working for me. This mattress has made a difference in my sleep. Fall asleep faster, stay asleep alot longer. My back is not in horrible pain in the morning either. I've only had it a couple weeks, and I hope it holds up a long time. But for the price, you can afford to replace 4 times or more, compared to other memory foam beds. There is a slight odor when you get it. I left it for a day, then slept on it. Still some odor for a few days, but gone now. I'd recommend this to friends and family, and already have. A good buy!!! I also appreciated the directions and advise for this mattress that came with it.

    Read More
    lovingidaho February 1, 2011
  • Perfect comfort
    Verified Purchase

    This mattress was purchased to replace a Serta waterbed mattress that was over 20 years old. It fit like a glove into my waterbed frame and is a perfect comfort level for me. It is firm but not hard. I sleep without having to change positions every few hours. Warm after a minute - which I was afraid I'd miss without a heater as in my waterbed. It shipped in a box that I could handle myself to get upstairs, opened, and into the frame. Unlike the waterbed mattress that was too heavy for me to get out and really troublesome to drain.

    Read More
    reeney January 24, 2011
Sponsored Links