| Help relief efforts across the country by Donating Now ›
Today $200.99
Out of Stock
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Secretary Desk

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • I was hesitant to purchase after reading the reviews. I am a 40 yr old woman and very happy that I went ahead and made the purchase. Boxes were packages very well and quick delivery. All pieces were there and in great shape, no scratches or peeling edges. I found it simple to put together. This may be due to the fact that I have put other dressers, entertainment centers and kitchecn nook together. By far, this was one of the easier ones to put together. I am very happy with how it has turned out. It looks great. My only 3 complaints which are minor are that there were no assembly instructions for the drawers and the screws for the drawer pulls did not fit too good. Had to buy 6 screws which cost was less than $1. The diagram shows the drwaer guides with screws in different places than where I had to put the to make them work. I thought the holes were drill wrong on the left and right sides but just switching holes on the drawer guides worked perfectly. It will help to read the instructions first and lay everything out so you can pick and choose what you need easily. Overall, very happy that I went ahead and purchased.

    Read More
    OstkUser90805 January 30, 2006
  • Great Desk, Great Price!!!
    Verified Purchase

    I SEARCHED everywhere for a secretary desk to go with our more contemporary decor, that would fit the small corner of my kitchen...after months of looking I was thrilled when I found this desk! This desk is EXACTLY what I needed. It provides me with the perfect way to hide our house hold clutter (bills, phone books, mail, etc), and is the perfect place for me to store my laptop out of the way. The best part is that I just shut the front and hide it all! At first, I was a bit worried, because the other reviews had not been the best; but I was pleasantly suprised. It arrived quickly. My husband put it together, with no problem, in about 2 hours. We were short a few dowel rods; but we always keep some spares on hand. The desk did have just a FEW MINOR bumps from shipping; but was easily fixed with a black permanent marker. You can NOT tell where I touched it up. I'm very happy with the purchase, and absolutely THRILLED with the price! I highly recommend this product. It's compact design fits even the tightest area; and the look goes great with just about any decor. It has provided me with more than enough storage. I like that it has drawers (which are quite deep and roomy), and the adjustable shelves. Perfect!!! Thanks Overstock!!! :)

    Read More
    n2flipn May 11, 2007
  • missing hardware
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this desk over a year ago and I really don't like it. First and foremost the directions stink, I am a mechanic on jets and so is my boyfriend and between the two of us we got it together, that is until we ran out of the set screws that we needed to put in the drawer rails. We figured that we could find something to sub for it and no luck, So now a year later, we still have no drawers, we just gave up on the darn thing and now we are looking for something better. The size of the piece is so perfect and the look would have been just right for my small space, I just wish it would have been built better. By the way now the edge of the desk is wearing away so the black paint has rubbed off and you can see the very fashionable cardboard like material it is actually made out of. I am usually very impressed with my overstock buys, but not this time.

    Read More
    Anonymous December 14, 2007
  • Good Value
    Verified Purchase

    Overall, I am happy with the purchase of this desk. I find the quality fair for the price, however I wish the drawers were a bit more sturdy. The desk does look great though, and it has really helped with the organization and hiding of many miscellaneous items. We have it at the end of our entryway, in a corner between the kitchen and family room. I assembled this desk by myself in 8 hours. The directions were easy to follow, it just took long because it was a tedious process that included LOTS of parts. In the end I recommend the product , and am happy that I did not spent two to five times more for a pre-assembled secretary desk from a local furniture store. I am also happy with Overstock - shipping was timely and all of the pieces arrived in proper condition.

    Read More
    bpku257 September 10, 2009
  • Piece of Junk
    Verified Purchase

    I ordered this desk for my daughter's room last year. My husband spent five hours putting it together. It looks nice, much as in the picture, but the quality is abysmal. It's really a piece of junk. The drawers are so flimsy you can hardly put anything in them or they fall apart. The front of the drawers are always falling partly off. This is truly the worst piece of furniture I have ever bought. You might as well just throw your money in the garbage and skip the long assembly process, because you will be disappointed with the result. Better yet, buy a different desk!

    Read More
    kcsl September 7, 2009
  • Maple Secretary Desk
    Verified Purchase

    We've been shopping for a mail desk for years (literally) and finally chose this one. It arrived quickly and I started putting it together shortly thereafter. It went together rather easily, but like any piece of "assembly required" furniture, patience is sometimes the best tool to have at your disposal. I made sure I had everything I needed close by and carefully grouped all the parts together. I took my time and it went together without a problem. I do wish the drawers were a little more stable, but otherwise it's a very attractive and useful piece of furniture.

    Read More
    ferness March 12, 2009
  • The fit,finish and quality of the desk is good. Putting it together went well. The only problem was with the instruction sheets . the drawings were to small to see any details so I had to figure things out as I went along.Also, there was supposed to be a seperate instruction sheet for the drawers and it was missing.

    Read More
    OstkUser79932 January 30, 2006
  • nice little piece of furniture
    Verified Purchase

    very nice piece for the price. assembly required. fits in my kitchen really well.

    Read More
    martiz December 28, 2007
  • Looks great / quality so so
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased this desk in black for my 9yo son. It looks great in his bedroom! I think it would be perfect for any student. A little too low quality for an adult probably. The black finish is great. The instructions to put it together were not very good, as others have commented. In fact, certain sections about which screws to use were just wrong. However, you can figure it out if you are patient and have put other furniture together before. It was noted in another review that someone had trouble with having to reinforce a drawer. My son made the mistake of putting some really heavy books in one of the drawers, resulting in the slider being dented, and then the drawer wouldn't open and close properly. However, I was able to bang it back into shape and it works perfectly again. The drawers are rather flimsy so they will not tolerate anything too heavy. Overall, I am satisfied. It looks great and was more reasonably priced than any other secretary desk I investigated. But you do get what you pay for...

    Read More
    naegy September 18, 2006
  • Sonoma Secretary Desk - Black (Sharp)!
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased the Sonoma Secretary Desk because I liked the style and look of it. I was a little apprehensive due to some of the reviews that were on the website because of the level of difficulty to assemble. I decided to order the desk anyway. I received the desk within 1 week and I assembled this desk in under 2.5 hours. It really was not that bad to put together at all! I purchased the black desk; it looks great and I'm very happy that I purchased it!!

    Read More
    Frequent Overstock Shopper May 1, 2006
  • Do not buy this desk! The directions were terrible, the laminate finish is scuffed on the majority of the pieces, and the pieces simply do not fit properly together!! All in all this desk cost way to much for the quality that you get. This is the first item that I have purchased from overstock that I have been unhappy about.

    Read More
    OstkUser73441 January 30, 2006
  • THe end result is a beautiful desk, but the instructions were poorly written and the hardware is not that good. Two drawers have already come a part and had to be reinforced. The unit looks very nice.

    Read More
    OstkUser86520 January 30, 2006
  • Not Worth It
    Verified Purchase

    This user earned $2.00 Club O Rewards for writing this review.Learn More

    As soon as I finished putting it together, I regretted my purchase. Not at all sturdy. Drawers fell apart as soon as anything was put into them. However, it is an attractive piece.

    Read More
    sillynycgirl August 16, 2017
  • Material was so so
    Verified Purchase

    Easy to put together but you can't move it too much. It was flimsy

    Read More
    keane123 December 31, 2015
  • Worked great in our kitchen area..
    Verified Purchase

    It was a nice small desk for kitchen use. It was a lot of work to put together, lol.

    Read More
    tf0409 April 30, 2015
  • easy to put together
    Verified Purchase

    fits perfectly for my décor and space

    Read More
    bigmommadog March 26, 2015
  • SECRETARY DESK
    Verified Purchase

    WE HAD ALOT OF TROUBLE PUTTING THIS DESK TOGETHER BECAUSE WE DIDN'T RECEIVE ALL THE PARTS THAT WERE NEEDED AND HAD TO WAIT A WHILE TO GET THEM. IT WAS IN MY LIVING ROOM FOR ABOUT TWO WEEKS WAITING FOR THE CORRECT PARTS AND EVEN WHEN WE GOT IT PUT TOGETHER ONE OF THE DRAWERS IS UNEVEN AND WON'T CLOSE PROPERLY SO WE HAVE TO OPEN TWO DRAWERS TO GET TO ONE. I WOULDN'T ORDER ANYTHING LIKE THIS AGAIN!!

    Read More
    town3send December 10, 2013
  • well made, but not easy to put together
    Verified Purchase

    Beautiful, sturdy, nice size drawers. However, the directions do not include the labeling of all the pieces so, set aside at least one hour just for this part. I had a friend who is a cabinet maker put this together for me, and it took her 3.5 hours! (not including the labeling of the pieces).

    Read More
    techgirlnj May 21, 2013
  • drawers fell apart after 6 mos.
    Verified Purchase

    The desk is of medium quality, a press board kind of thing. We had it in our main room and now is in our bedroom. I admit we did put stacks of papers in the drawers, but in no time (less than 6 mos.) they drawers fell apart. I would suggest putting this in a room where you may use it occasionally not as a main office desk.

    Read More
    suandesigns December 21, 2012
  • Secretary Desk

    Am very pleased with this product, in fact I ordered a matching nightstand. Assembly wasn't as difficult as other people said. It took a while but there won't be any problems if you follow the directions. Looks good in the spare bedroom.

    Read More
    jim1942joanne October 29, 2012
Sponsored Links