Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Sango 'Concepts' Eggplant 16-piece Dinnerware Set

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Durable
    Verified Purchase

    This was a very durable set, and the color was very versatile. The plates are heavy so we don't use those every day like we intended, but the color was so pretty we have them out on an open shelf on display. The only other thing the coffee cup handles broke often. Not a big deal to us because we like really large mugs, these we smaller.

    Read More
    Susan L. September 7, 2017
  • Love these
    Verified Purchase

    I had previously purchased a set of these and accidentally broke a saucer. I was looking for an additional set and found them on Overstock. Unfortunately two of the dinner plates are slightly warped.

    Read More
    Gaye S. November 11, 2016
  • Attractive but flawed
    Verified Purchase

    I loved the color, but the stoneware was prone to cracking, and I had to replace it after a couple of years.

    Read More
    Idell O. June 19, 2016
  • great set
    Verified Purchase

    These are heavier than you'd expect of a dish set. Very attractive design. Haven't had any issues with cracking or chipping as others have mentioned. I do keep a paper towel between the plates as the ridges on the bottom are unfinished and I could see them scratching each other when they are stacked in the cabinet. Have had the set almost 4 years and have enjoyed them.

    Read More
    dutchhet August 30, 2015
  • Really like the style
    Verified Purchase

    Really happy with this product. Lots of subtly in the glazing that makes this set a great buy for us. Especially for the price!

    Read More
    googleguy September 30, 2013
  • great dishes
    Verified Purchase

    Love this set of table ware...looked exactly like the picture and the quality is superb while not being expensive...2 pieces came damaged but Overstock quickly sent replacements and didnt give me one minute of grief or problem. I love overstock!

    Read More
    sookybr June 7, 2013
  • Feels like I purchased seconds.
    Verified Purchase

    Strength seems to be ok. Nothing chipped or broken after usual use. However, after having them for about 90 days or less, they do not seem to be dishwasher safe as advertised or expected. Colors are affected when using the diswasher with the heated dry mode.on. Noticably different compared to pieces that have not been washed as often Disappointing. Color is now dingy.

    Read More
    rick72 March 31, 2013
  • Beautiful but many flaws

    These are beautiful pieces. They are larger and heavier than our previous dishes; it took time to get used to them. However, after a year or so they began to get crackle and scratch-like marks on them, which continue. Our old dishes lasted twelve years, and this was when my kids were younger and actually scratch on the plates (unfortunately, I can't remember the brand of those dishes). We will need a set of new dishes soon - within the next two or three months. The problems are definitely from the manufacturing, we don't bang, scratch, or abuse our dishes and the damage is not in a pattern that people would do. Dishes should not scratch and have scratch marks after two years, and they should last more than 3.5 years. Therefore, even though my Sango 'Concepts' dishes are (were) beautiful. I could not recommend them. And if you do buy them, be aware that they may not last for more than a couple of years.

    Read More
    2kids1gerbil March 9, 2013
  • What I know so far...
    Verified Purchase

    I actually bought these dishes for a Christmas gift so I can say they're very pretty but won't know how well they hold up until they're used for awhile. The color is very muted and the insides of the plates, bowls and mugs are white which I prefer.

    Read More
    lynda919 November 20, 2012
  • Dinnerware Set
    Verified Purchase

    Good quality dinnerwear. It washes well and matches the canisters perfectly. I am pleased with my purchase.

    Read More
    fhp07 November 16, 2012
  • Brittleware

    After using these dishes for over 3 years we have just placed the remainders in the trash. I bought 2 sets to make a service for 8. There were 6 mugs, 5 dinner plates,4 salad plates and4 bowls left. I could not believe how easily they broke! A gentle tap was enough or a drop of only a couple of inches. They seemed very brittle, either of very inferior material or inadequate firing. The dinner plates and bowls are also enormous. I didn't measure them before I threw them out, but they were certainly larger than 10.5 inches. The plates could easily be used as chargers. We don't need anymore help in overeating. The glazing was not very good on a few pieces and it crazed with use. I will never buy Sango again.

    Read More
    desingingmom November 11, 2012
  • Concept of cheapness, in my humble opinion.

    I give this product POOR marks for the lousy quality, which includes the frequent breakage and damage to the finish from utensils. When contacted, the company chose not to reply and/or ignore the complaint. I would stay away from any of this company's products in the future. The products are made in Asia, so I will look more closely at where things are made going forward.

    Read More
    1etherealgirl November 7, 2012
  • Good Product, Inaccurate Color
    Verified Purchase

    This is a great set; they are sturdy enough for everyday use. I love the shape of the dishes. Both have maximum food space. What I mean is that space is not wasted on an elevated rim. It is a flat surface until it curves up around the edge, which helps keep the food on the plate especially with my little ones. I wish the bowls were not on such a small base but that's just me (& maybe a couple of others out there). I ordered 2 sets of the eggplant and they are BLUE, not the purple I had hoped for but it's an attractive blue so I kept them...just beware if you are looking for purple. A final word about the packaging: they come well packed & protected but they are in plain brown boxes...no pretty picture on the sides. I only mention this for those of you who might be giving them as a gift.

    Read More
    meplus4 October 2, 2012
  • Nice, sturdy, quality, but...
    Verified Purchase

    I was happy with the weight, shape and look of this set. I purchased 2 sets and overall, I'm happy. However, if you're looking for the eggplant color, which I envisioned as a deep grey-purple, this is not it. These dishes are medium blue. My theme is a dark smoke grey and unfortunately, these don't match the photos or description of color.

    Read More
    nycmaven March 31, 2012
  • Beautiful
    Verified Purchase

    These dishes are huge; I love them. They are not "dainty" by any means - I get tons of compliments. Thank you for such an excellent product!

    Read More
    sheilaanne March 15, 2012
  • Perfect
    Verified Purchase

    I originally purchased one set for my daughter. Once they were delivered, I knew I had to purchase another set for my sister. The colors are beautiful. The bowls are the perfect size. Not to big, and not to small. I would highly recommend this product. I also went to the on line replacement site for Sango and purchased the butter dish, salt and pepper... They all match perfectly.

    Read More
    moecc33 August 23, 2011
  • Great dishes
    Verified Purchase

    I bought multiple sets for our rental property. They are a heavy and large dishes but look great. Not a bad thing as it reminds people to use both hands. We have had several compliments on them. Beautiful!

    Read More
    joyceod February 8, 2011
  • Sango dinnerware set
    Verified Purchase

    Have not used the product as yet, but am always delighted with the merchandise that I have ordered from Overstock. Purchased this set as a gift to someone whom, I'm sure, will be as delighted with it as I am,.

    Read More
    boutte February 1, 2011
  • Love them!
    Verified Purchase

    I was looking for a new casual but nice dinnerware set. I gave this set a try as I like stone wear and unique glaves. This set is very nice. All the pieces are very large, I'm mostly impressed with the bowls. They are very large compared to other sets you could get for the money. Some people have complained about chipping, I have not experienced that. I would reccomend this set to my friends and I am very happy with it.

    Read More
    shockusa November 9, 2010
  • Petty but..

    I loved the look of this set. Unfortunately the set I got was brittle. The plates kept cracking and eventually they would snap. The edges all have chipped. I have only 2 of the 4 dinner plates, 1 of the salad plates and 2 of the bowls and mugs left. All in less than a year. It was just not worth the money.

    Read More
    jnorby June 19, 2010