Safavieh Handmade Mahal Blue/ Gold New Zealand Wool Rug - 8'3" x 11'

by Safavieh
Sale:$46282
Was: $605.02
Free Shipping*
ONLY 5 LEFT!


Start free 30-day trial, then $19.95/yr. Learn More

Free Shipping
Free Shipping
on every purchase you make
Earn Rewards Back
Rewards for Purchases
when you shop at Overstock
Free Returns
Free, No-Hassle Returns
on select clothing, shoes & jewelry
Rewards for Reviews
Rewards for Reviews
when you tell us what you think
Additional Perks
Additional Perks
on hotels, dining, and more
ITEM# 14099390
  • Delivery Estimate

    Select a Product Option to view shipping

      **Delivery date is approximate and not guaranteed. Estimates include processing and shipping times, and are only available in US (excluding APO/FPO and PO Box addresses). Final shipping costs are available at checkout.

    • Notifications

      Receive product notifications for this item, and also receive other email-exclusive savings.

    Love this item?

    Save it to a list so you can find it anytime!


    Oops,

    something went wrong.

    Please refresh the page and try again.


    Details

    ITEM#: 14099390

    An intricate Oriental design and dense, thick pile highlight this handmade rug. The rug uses designs from timeless masterpieces combined with the finest New Zealand wool to create one of the finest handcrafted rugs available. This floor rug has a blue background and a gold border and displays stunning panel colors of blue, green, beige and red.

    Features:
    • Durable cotton canvas backing
    • Primarily crafted of New Zealand Wool, Cotton Backing
    • Pile height is 0.5 inches
    • Traditional style
    • Primary color is Blue
    • Pattern is Oriental

    For over 100 years, Safavieh has been crafting rugs of the highest quality and unmatched style. Click here to learn more.

    Tip: We recommend the use of a non-skid pad to keep the rug in place on smooth surfaces.

    All rug sizes are approximate. Due to the differences between monitors, some rug colors may vary slightly. We always try to represent all rug colors accurately. Please refer to the text above for a description of the colors shown in the photo.

    Please keep in mind that new wool rugs may initially shed and have a natural capacity to shed for several months after purchase. This is normal due to the nature of construction of most wool rugs and not a defect. Click here to view our Wool Rug Care Guide.


    Tip: We recommend the use of a non-skid pad to keep the rug in place on smooth surfaces.

    All rug sizes are approximate. Due to the difference of monitor colors, some rug colors may vary slightly. We try to represent all rug colors accurately. Please refer to the text above for a description of the colors shown in the photo.

    Specs

    Features
    Style Traditional
    Material New Zealand Wool, Wool
    Pattern Border, Oriental
    Feature Contains Latex
    Weave Type Hand-Hooked, Hand-Tufted
    Color Blue
    Product Features Handmade
    Rug Type Indoor
    Rugs by Room Bedroom, Dining Room, Living Room
    Shape Rectangle
    Dimensions 8 ft. 3 in. x 11 ft.
    Model Number PL819C-9
    Country of Origin India
    • Excellent wool rug at an excellent price
      Verified Purchase

      I was very wary of buying a rug on-line, especially seeing the reviews regarding other rugs. However, this rug is NOT hand tufted, so it does not fall apart and shed ridiculously. Thank goodness for another review on another rug advertised on Overstock which explained WHAT to look for in a rug... "hand made" in any context seems like a good idea, but being hand tufted is clearly not. Thank you for the honest reviews of other buyers; they help all of us.

    • Love it
      Verified Purchase

      I love this rug. It is very plush. There are very few navy rugs out there right now and this one was perfect.

    • Very pleased with this rug
      Verified Purchase

      I am very happy with this rug. It's wool but does not shed much at all. It's very soft and feels nice with bare feet. The "gold" color in the photo is much more of a beige. and the blue is a navy blue. The red color is more of a rust with just a hint of orange. It's much nicer than I had expected for the price. I hesitate to get a pricey rug with two kids and a dog giving it a beating. This rug seems like it'll last us a good long time.

    • Beautiful
      Verified Purchase

      This is a beautiful rug.. again.. know the difference between hand-tufted and handmade. This does not shed as a hand tufted rug will. The thickness of this rug is perfect and soft under foot. A good pad is a must!.. Shipping was fast and it arrived perfectly wrapped!

    • Beautiful Rugs!!! Don't be Afraid to Buy!
      Verified Purchase

      A took a chance and ordered two rugs - for my living room and dining room. I was a little concerned about the color. Some of the reviews said that the rug was black. They are definitely a beautiful navy blue. They are gorgeous! They were well wrapped. They were flat in only two days. (I placed my son's weights on the edge.) No smell! They shed when they are vacuumed but I expected that. Do not hesitate to buy. They look great in the pictures but even better in real life.

    • Beautiful
      Verified Purchase

      This rug looks beautiful and is very good quality.

    • BEAUTIFUL BUT FADED BUT COMPENSATED BY OVERSTOCK
      Verified Purchase

      The rug has an elegant look and the size was perfect for both locations to be used BUT there were PLACES ON THE RUG WHERE THE BLUE FADED INTO THE LIGHTER COLOR IN THE RUG--- BUTTT!!!! When I contacted OVERSTOCK ABOUT IT I was compensated with a discount. I emailed pictures to the OVERSTOCK REP but wasn't sure if he could actually see the spots fortunately he did -- but this was a pain to have to do because at the time I had an older android phone and was not to technologically savvy. BUT IT WORKED OUT!

    • Verified Purchase

      This user earned $2.00 in rewards for writing this review.Learn More

      Very satisfied with this rug, it is a thick dense pile. The blue is VERY dark blue, almost black in low light. It has a slightly less detail depth in person although it is a very pretty rug. Did not shed like other manufactured rugs can. No complaints in the past year we've owned it.

    • Verified Purchase

      This user earned $2.00 in rewards for writing this review.Learn More

      THis is a very attractive area run. Works well in our small living room. However it is shedding LIKE MAD! I am filling my vacuum canister DAILY with tiny fibers from this rug. There is always some shedding to be expected with a new rug/carpet, but this seems to be above and beyond what I have ever experienced. I will give this another week or two. If no improvement, then Overstock and I will be having a conversation about replacing it. I have very young grandchildren who play & crawl on the livingroom floor. Cast-off fibers in this quantity is NOT good for them or anybody else.

    • Nice rug!
      Verified Purchase

      Really soft and thick (no need for a pad). Colors are true to picture. Lovely!

    • Excellent wool rug at an excellent price
      Verified Purchase

      I was very wary of buying a rug on-line, especially seeing the reviews regarding other rugs. However, this rug is NOT hand tufted, so it does not fall apart and shed ridiculously. Thank goodness for another review on another rug advertised on Overstock which explained WHAT to look for in a rug... "hand made" in any context seems like a good idea, but being hand tufted is clearly not. Thank you for the honest reviews of other buyers; they help all of us.

    • Love it
      Verified Purchase

      I love this rug. It is very plush. There are very few navy rugs out there right now and this one was perfect.

    • Beautiful
      Verified Purchase

      This rug looks beautiful and is very good quality.

    • Beautiful Rugs!!! Don't be Afraid to Buy!
      Verified Purchase

      A took a chance and ordered two rugs - for my living room and dining room. I was a little concerned about the color. Some of the reviews said that the rug was black. They are definitely a beautiful navy blue. They are gorgeous! They were well wrapped. They were flat in only two days. (I placed my son's weights on the edge.) No smell! They shed when they are vacuumed but I expected that. Do not hesitate to buy. They look great in the pictures but even better in real life.

    • Very pleased with this rug
      Verified Purchase

      I am very happy with this rug. It's wool but does not shed much at all. It's very soft and feels nice with bare feet. The "gold" color in the photo is much more of a beige. and the blue is a navy blue. The red color is more of a rust with just a hint of orange. It's much nicer than I had expected for the price. I hesitate to get a pricey rug with two kids and a dog giving it a beating. This rug seems like it'll last us a good long time.

    • Beautiful
      Verified Purchase

      This is a beautiful rug.. again.. know the difference between hand-tufted and handmade. This does not shed as a hand tufted rug will. The thickness of this rug is perfect and soft under foot. A good pad is a must!.. Shipping was fast and it arrived perfectly wrapped!

    • Verified Purchase

      This user earned $2.00 in rewards for writing this review.Learn More

      THis is a very attractive area run. Works well in our small living room. However it is shedding LIKE MAD! I am filling my vacuum canister DAILY with tiny fibers from this rug. There is always some shedding to be expected with a new rug/carpet, but this seems to be above and beyond what I have ever experienced. I will give this another week or two. If no improvement, then Overstock and I will be having a conversation about replacing it. I have very young grandchildren who play & crawl on the livingroom floor. Cast-off fibers in this quantity is NOT good for them or anybody else.

    • Verified Purchase

      This user earned $2.00 in rewards for writing this review.Learn More

      Very satisfied with this rug, it is a thick dense pile. The blue is VERY dark blue, almost black in low light. It has a slightly less detail depth in person although it is a very pretty rug. Did not shed like other manufactured rugs can. No complaints in the past year we've owned it.

    • Absolutely Stunning!
      Verified Purchase

      This rug is so gorgeous. Have to say I was shocked at how rich it looks in person. And the price was fantastic. A definite keeper.

    • BEAUTIFUL BUT FADED BUT COMPENSATED BY OVERSTOCK
      Verified Purchase

      The rug has an elegant look and the size was perfect for both locations to be used BUT there were PLACES ON THE RUG WHERE THE BLUE FADED INTO THE LIGHTER COLOR IN THE RUG--- BUTTT!!!! When I contacted OVERSTOCK ABOUT IT I was compensated with a discount. I emailed pictures to the OVERSTOCK REP but wasn't sure if he could actually see the spots fortunately he did -- but this was a pain to have to do because at the time I had an older android phone and was not to technologically savvy. BUT IT WORKED OUT!

    • AMAZING
      Verified Purchase

      Awesome! So worth the $$

    • Beautiful rug
      Verified Purchase

      Rich colors - as pictured. Plush feel - arrived quickly and well wrapped. We love it.

    • Nice rug!
      Verified Purchase

      Really soft and thick (no need for a pad). Colors are true to picture. Lovely!

    • Very Lush and Colors True to Photos
      Verified Purchase

      We put this rug in our beach house in the Family Room and it looks awesome with the furniture. It now is so soft and comfy under everyone's feet. A real game changer in the room. The room looks rich and elegant now. On to updating the light fixtures, now! Poor hubby will never get a break in the home renovation arena!

    • Verified Purchase

    Questions & Answers

    • Q:

      "Why did you choose this product?"

      • A:

        The reviews about it were great (yes, I read every one) and it matched my decor at my beach house. Also is a high quality rug (hand made). Thank you Overstock!

    • Q:

      "Help! We thinking of purchasing this rug for our beach home on an island off of North Carolina (accessible only by ferry and freight liner). Can you tell me the approximate shipping weight and dimensions? I assume the manufacturer rolls it up and puts it in a large heavy plastic bag (for the 8'3" x 11' size)."

      • A:

        Hello Andrea, the shipping weight of the Safavieh Handmade Mahal Blue/ Gold New Zealand Wool Rug is approximately 86 pounds and the dimensions are approximately 8' 3 x 11'. Have a great day.

    • Q:

      "Is it possible to get a larger picture of this rug? I can't see all of the colors mentioned in the description."

      • A:

        Hello tominyork1, thank you for your interest in the Handmade Mahal Blue/ Gold New Zealand Wool Rug (8'3 x 11'). Under the picture, there is an option to make the picture larger so you can see all the colors. We don't have anymore pictures for this rug. We apologize for the inconvenience. Thank you for shopping with us and have a great day!

    • Q:

      "does this rug shed"

      • A:

        Thank you for contacting us, no this rug should not shed. Please let me know if you have any further question.

    Shopping Tips & Inspiration

    Shipping & Returns

    Contact Information

    Shipping:

    Usually leaves our warehouse in 1-2 business days. *

    Shipping Information:

    Our standard shipping method is ground shipping. We also offer expedited shipping for most items. Your final shipping cost and estimated delivery timeframe will be available at checkout.
    Standard shipping details
    Expedited shipping details

    Standard Return Policy:

    Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. For the return policy on a Marketplace item, please refer to the Seller’s individual policy, located on the product page by clicking on the Seller name. More Details

    FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.

    For your protection, all orders are screened for security purposes. If your order is selected for review, our Loss Prevention Team may contact you by phone or email. There may be a two business day delay to process your order.

    ** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.