Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Safavieh Handmade Heritage Timeless Traditional Charcoal Grey/ Ivory Wool Rug (8' x 10')

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Maureen P
    Verified Purchase

    This was my first purchase from Overstock. I was excited about the arrival of this rug because I had ordered two for what I thought was an excellent price. I am having company this weekend and wanted them in place before the company came. I was excited about the quick shipping window also. I was disappointed when opening the purchase for several reasons: 1) Only one of the rugs arrived on the stated delivery date 2) The rug print looks NOTHING like the picture. The print is much more spaced out not as tight as in the picture. It was much more interesting online for both color and print. 3) The reviewer who said the rug was black, not charcoal, was RIGHT! It is hard to know who to believe. Although, I read many reviews, I took a chance. In the end, it is a nice, average rug for a good value. Average in print and color. Not special like I thought I was ordering. I took a long time to make this decision and was excited because I thought I had finally found what I was looking for. It is too much of a hassle to return. So Overstock gets the benefit here. Will probably not order something of this magnitude from here again.

    Read More
    Maureen P. April 28, 2016
  • great value but background is black not charcoal
    Verified Purchase

    I bought three rugs in this design thinking they would match: This rug (7'6" x 9'6"), an 8' round rug, and a runner. All three rugs are soft and thick, and this rug and the runner (but not the round rug) have pure black backgrounds and look crisp. I love this rug and it was an excellent purchase. The reasons I don't give 5 stars are that the color was not accurately described and it does not match at least one other rug in the Sultanabad charcoal gray/ivory series. The colors in this rug, including the black background, do look exactly like the photo. The background color in the 8' round rug, on the other hand, is not pure black. It is presumably what they are calling "charcoal gray". However, the background is not comprised of all gray fibers as you might expect. It is actually a mixture of black and brown fibers in a pattern. The pattern is pretty subtle and from a distance gives the overall appearance of charcoal gray, I suppose. Unfortunately, in comparison with the rugs that have black backgrounds, the round one looks dull, like you might expect if they were worn or dirty. The difference is great enough that I would not put this rectangular rug or the runner (with their black backgrounds) in the same room with the round rug (with its 'charcoal gray' background). Bottom line: the 7'6" x 9'6" rectangular rug that I received has a pure black background (as shown in the photo) and looks great. I highly recommend it if the black background is ok with you. If you're expecting charcoal gray, though, or for all of your same-style rugs to match one another, you might be disappointed.

    Read More
    lovetahoe October 13, 2013
  • Great rug - looks like picture
    Verified Purchase

    I was counting on this rug to do a huge task - pull together a new room with bold furniture and varying colors. It did the job! Rug arrived by UPS in great shape within 10 days after placing my order. No problems whatsoever. Quality very good, no smell, no irregularities. Makes my room look great. Excellent value and hassle-free experience. Would highly recommend this rug and OS.

    Read More
    123shoponline123 September 12, 2013
  • Rug looks great and is high quality
    Verified Purchase

    I installed the rug and pad and have only had complements on the rug. It is well made and the colors are true to the description and picture. It accents the room and is a pleasure to look at and walk on. I am very pleased with the purchase.

    Read More
    rcwhouston April 11, 2012
  • Decent rug
    Verified Purchase

    We've had this rug for several years. It shed A LOT at first but that has gotten better. We've moved this run from room to room as we've been redecorating...it's looked good in many different settings and has held up well.

    Read More
    rlsp75 February 12, 2012
  • Rugs
    Verified Purchase

    Rug is more beautiful than photo; very rich colors.

    Read More
    txgirl57 May 3, 2011
  • gorgeous rug!
    Verified Purchase

    I just received this rug yesterday and I love it! As other people have said, the background color is not a true jet black, but a dusty black. I also see the subtle striping that others have been talking about, but I think this is part of the antiquing process. I think this gives the rug an overall aged and more muted appearance. I can't comment on the shedding - I have a whole house vacuumn, but don't notice anything. The colors are beautiful, but I don't see any blue. I think those areas on the website look more sage green to me. Overall the rug is thick, soft and beautiful. I was very wary of buying a rug without seeing it in person, but this couldn't have worked out any better for me.

    Read More
    suzi58 March 8, 2011
  • Wow!!
    Verified Purchase

    Once again, The Big O did not disappoint! This rug is beautiful. The colors are vibrate, but subtle. It makes the room!

    Read More
    designerseye1 November 24, 2010
  • Not happy with it
    Verified Purchase

    We've recently ordered several rugs from Overstock. We've been thrilled with all except this one. We did read other reviews prior to ordering this, but didn't heed the warnings. The colors are not true to what was on our computer screen, as the other rugs were. Additionally, the background of this rug is a mix of a chocolate brown and black. The most visible result is that the dark border on the very edge appears to be a brown/black stripe - not what we had in mind. We're keeping the rug, only because we don't want to bother with returning it and finding another one.

    Read More
    nduchessi March 25, 2010
  • Beautiful Quality
    Verified Purchase

    Excellent quality rug. Colors are rich and beautiful. Pile is very soft and the edges are bound extremely well. A great bargain for such high quality.

    Read More
    mswallie March 13, 2010
  • nice rug
    Verified Purchase

    This is a beautiful rug for the money. As has been said in other reviews, the colors look very different than online. It is a grey black brown, background and has a nice light sage green wherever it appears blue online. What I thought was red is a washed out burgundy, and what appears gold is beige. It is a gorgeous rug, even with the muted colors. It looks like an expensive rug, at the cost of a cheap thin lowes rug. It's is too bad they cant get a more accurate photo because people who are looking for a rug that looks like the photo may be disappointed, and someone who is looking for a rug with its true colors may miss out!

    Read More
    proshopnmom February 24, 2010
  • Sultanbad Wool Rug

    This rug is thick and very pretty. Looks just like the advertised photograph. One problem- it sheds allot. I have had my rug for about 2 months now and it continually sheds.

    Read More
    rosela February 20, 2010
  • Beautiful Rug

    I love this rug. Yes, the colors are more muted than shown but I believe it makes it feel more expensive. The rug does not shed unlike another I purchased and returned. This is a very, very pretty rug

    Read More
    elkhowe1234 February 8, 2010
  • Softer Colors than pictured
    Verified Purchase

    If you order this rug rest assured the colors are not going to be like the photo. They are softer almost like an older rug. I was disappointed but as others noted for the priced you cannot beat the quality at double the price. Since the cost to return it would be high I will keep it and put it in the dogs bedroom because it will not show the hair the true black one I purchased from here.

    Read More
    scfurnitureguy January 31, 2010
  • Rug is different colors

    I loved this rug when it first arrived in December 2008. These hand woven rugs need to go through several vaccum cleanings before they start to show their true colors. Now that I have cleaned it weekly for several weeks, one half is revealing the most beautiful chocolate brown background. The other half is revealing a muted, dingy brown background. It is obvious there were two threads or two weavers or something. The change in color is exactly up a straight line in the middle of the rug. The rug was so much cheaper than I could find anywhere, locally or on line, but unfortunately, I think I now know why.

    Read More
    March 4, 2009
  • ugly rug
    Verified Purchase

    The background color in the photo looks black. The background color is actually a badly dyed mixture of brown and charcoal gray. It really has a damaged look to it. The border appears to have irregular brown striping on what should be a solid colored edge. Even the pattern colors are extremely different than the photo. The rug looks nothing like the photo. I'm really extremely disappointed.

    Read More
    kkjk January 30, 2009
  • Great Rug!
    Verified Purchase

    Its certainly the nicest rug I've ever had. Not a true black background, and colors are more muted than appear online, but just gorgeous. my one complaint is how much it sheds, but my friends who have had wool rugs in the past assure me that this will decrease over time. I hope they're right. But either way, its a fantastic rug at a totally unbeatable price.

    Read More
    gretcho December 5, 2008
  • great quality and price
    Verified Purchase

    I'm glad I read the reviews first before ordering this rug. It arrived only days after I placed the order. The quality was fabulous. I'm sure I would have paid $1000 more at my local stores for this plush of a rug. The colors are muted as stated, but I felt the color descriptions were accurate. The black areas have alot of chocolate browns mixed in which mutes the tone. The muted colors keep the rug from looking more formal, not the luxurious blacks, golds and tans I was hoping for but nice anyway. Again, for the price and service you can't beat this rug--you won't be disappointed.

    Read More
    mncustomer1234 November 21, 2008
  • A beautiful rug!!
    Verified Purchase

    Received this rug yesterday and I'm thrilled with it altogether! I'm glad to have read the other reviews which were right on about the colors--the black is not a vivid black but a charcoal color and the beige is a more true, muted beige than a gold beige that the picture shows. The other colors of the design that stand out are a light green and a very subtle rust that may be a rich brown to some. Overall, the rug has an antiqued look to it--no one color stands out as vivid or overwhelming, it's just a nice neutral rug. The texture is nice and thick--I'm glad to have waited to buy the pad, it doesn't need a thick underpad at all and I have it on travertine tile. It does shed with vacuuming--I got three canisters full in my Dyson so far but I expect that to taper off over time. All in all, I think this is an excellent buy and a beautiful rug, thanks to Overstock for the great bargains and being such a good source of a hard to find size as well!

    Read More
    gd4u October 30, 2008
  • Fabulous rug
    Verified Purchase

    Colors true to photo (agree with previous review in that note the dark background is more charcoal than black), incredibly soft and lush. An extremely high quality rug that is precisely what I had hoped for.

    Read More
    losangeles356 September 12, 2008
Sponsored Links