Safavieh Casual Natural Jute Hand-Woven Chunky Thick Rug (8' x 10')

by Safavieh
Today $255.99
MSRP: $689.99 $434.00 (63%) OFF
Free Shipping*

Club O Gold Members Earn

$12.80 | 5% Rewards*

Rewards

GOLD

$19.95/yr.

5% Rewards

Earn even faster

Free Shipping

Never pay extra*

Exclusive Rewards

Save big-- up to 40%

Exclusive Offers

Straight to your inbox

5% Dining Rewards

Get paid to go out tonight

ITEM# 12349081
  • Delivery Estimate

    Select a Product Option to view shipping

      **Delivery date is approximate and not guaranteed. Estimates include processing and shipping times, and are only available in US (excluding APO/FPO and PO Box addresses). Final shipping costs are available at checkout.

    • Warranty
      Select an option before changing warranty
    • Notifications

    Love this item?

    Save it to a list so you can find it anytime!


    Oops,

    something went wrong.

    Please refresh the page and try again.


    Eco Friendly

    Details

    ITEM#: 12349081

    Bring casual appeal and tranquility to your decor with this stylish, handwoven rug. The rug features a chunky, knobby design, handcrafted from jute fibers into a plain but traditional weave. Natural variations in tone add depth and warmth to this beautiful rug, making it a great way to add a welcoming feeling to your decor.

    Features:
    • Jute
    • Handwoven
    • Natural colors
    • Plain weave pattern
    • 0.25-inch pile height
    • Measures 8 feet wide x 10 feet long
    • Some customers experience shedding
    • Some odor is normal and should dissipate quickly

    Tip: We recommend the use of a non-skid pad to keep the rug in place on smooth surfaces.

    All rug sizes are approximate. Due to the differences between monitors, some rug colors may vary slightly. We always try to represent all rug colors accurately. Please refer to the text above for a description of the colors shown in the photo.

    Specs

    Features
    Style Casual, Farmhouse, Industrial
    Material Jute, Natural Fiber
    Pattern Solid
    Feature Latex Free
    Weave Type Hand-Woven, Handmade
    Color Brown
    Indoor-Outdoor Indoor
    Product Features Eco-Friendly, Handmade
    Rug Type Indoor
    Shape Rectangle
    Dimensions 8 feet wide x 10 feet long
    Model Number NF447A-8
    Country of Origin India

    Customer Reviews


    5 Stars
    394
    4 Stars
    119
    3 Stars
    48
    2 Stars
    32
    1 Stars
    43
    Advertisement
    • Most Recent

    • Totally happy with this rug
      Verified Purchase

      I wanted casual and that's what this is. Reviews warned of a smell...there isn't one. What I didn't expect was the wonderful feel underfoot. It's almost like a massage! Actually sorry I didn't get the bigger size...have 10x8 I think .Maybe will and put this in another room. Love that it covers dirty marks on the carpet underneath!

      Read More
    • Great to look at but wears quickly
      Verified Purchase

      This user earned $1.00 Club O Rewards for writing this review.Learn More

      I really love this rug in terms of appearance and feel for the living room, but it is starting to show wear and tear very quickly (we've only had it a month and it's already molting, coming loose in parts and stretching in others). If you accept it for the rustic/malleable rug it is, then go for it. But don't expect it to stay pristine.

      Read More
    • Dining Room
      Verified Purchase

      The perfect addition to cozy up my dining room !!!

      Read More
    • Mixed feelings
      Verified Purchase

      Rug is beautiful however it seems to be coming apart in a few weeks. Needs to not be in a high traffic area.

      Read More
    • Great quality, lovely rug
      Verified Purchase

      Just beautiful on my concrete floors. Added the touch of warmth needed with a hint of color. Plush.

      Read More
    • Most Helpful

    • Love my new rug!
      Verified Purchase

      The rug is the perfect color, thick with a nice texture. Very well made. I liked it so much that I bought another one for my family room!

      Read More
    • Natural Fiber Rug
      Verified Purchase

      GREAT looking rug! Exactly as pictured!

      Read More
    • This is really beautiful!
      Verified Purchase

      I got a lot of use out of this until I rescued a little dog that proceeded to chew on it! I have 4 dogs, and the other three wouldn't think of doing that! So it was beautiful while it lasted and I wish it was still with me. The one I had to replace it with is ordinary but my pup can't find anything to chew on! So it's what it is! I'm not giving my 2 12 pound chihuahua back to the pound! She's gained 1 pound 9 ounces and she's happy! Me too! But you won't be sorry if you get this gorgeous fiber, hand woven rug! It's gorgeous!!

      Read More
    • falling apart
      Verified Purchase

      after 2 weeks the rug is completely falling apart- love the look of it but the quality is terrible ;(

      Read More
    • Perfect Floor Accessory!
      Verified Purchase

      I loved the size and the quality. It worked perfectly in my space layered with a fur rug.

      Read More

    Questions & Answers

    • Q:

      "Is this rug soft on the feet? Considering it for a living room.."

      • A:

        No, It is very very rough with pieces of wood,branches in it. My husband wont walk on it barefoot. He always wears shoes. I dont mind but would not sit or lay on it

      • A:

        Yes, quite soft and very thick/cushiony under foot. I am using in my living room.

      • A:

        Not really, sometimes even hurts a little. It has softened a bit with being walked on and it is very beautiful!

      • A:

        I have not experienced any bits of wood that some customers say they have. If you want a soft shag feel, this is not for you. I am enjoying the way it feels walking on it barefoot, almost like a light foot massage. It is a more casual look but very pretty.

      • A:

        Yes, softer than it looks.

      • A:

        NO, not soft on the feet and it "pills" & pulls up large loops constantly. Only me, hubby & well behaved doggie here. Considered sending it back, instead we just cut those big loops (which keep popping up) and tie them in a Knot. Hope you haven't purchased yet!

      • A:

        Nope. It is rough. And of poor quality.

      Read more Read less
    • Q:

      "There are bits of sharp wood in the rug that make it not possible to walk on the rug in bare feet.. Why are these there? Are these necessary to keep the knots from unraveling or can they be removed? Another post claims the barn animal smell will dissipate in a few days. If so, why is the rug not aired out before shipping?"

      • A:

        I purchased my rug 10 months ago. I absolutely love it! When I first purchased it I aired it out on my front porch for a day before bringing it into the house. I have never had any smells nor dust permeate from the rug. And I love walking on mine barefoot. It feels wonderful under the feet!

      • A:

        I pulled out a few pieces of wood that I took as being erroneously left. We walk on it barefoot just fine now.

      Read more Read less
    • Q:

      "How do you clean spots and spills on this rug?"

      • A:

        We recommend spot cleaning and light vacuuming (without the beater bar) for most of our rugs. For large stains, we recommend professional cleaning.

    • Q:

      "Can I hose this off? It will be on a deck with pine trees and I need something durable."

      • A:

        If you are considering hosing it off and leaving it flat on the porch, I would not recommend this rug. Think of it like a thick heavy woven hemp rope. My concern would be it would be it would take to long to dry, and then would start to rot.

      • A:

        I'm not real sure about that . I have it in my kitchen to cover an old floor, we still need to get to replacing. I just vaccum it . But it really is a nice rug and comfy on the feet .

      • A:

        I would say no. I used this rug for 5 months and just threw it away today. It isn't worth the money. It's hard to clean and it comes apart.

      • A:

        This rug is designed for indoor use and we do not recommend using it outdoors.

      • A:

        We have it indoors in a casual family room. I do NOT believe this is intended to be used outdoors at all. In fact I suspect it could acquire an awful odor if the rug got a lot of water on it and wasn't dried immediately by scorching sunlight

      Read more Read less
    • Q:

      "Is the texture too rough for a bedroom, i.e. barefeet?"

      • A:

        It's fine on the feet, but unravels.

      • A:

        No! It's very comfortable! We love this rug!!

      • A:

        I don't care for this rug. It unravels and is hard to clean.

      • A:

        It's mostly okay, but because it is a natural fiber, there are occasionally sharp or hard threads that are very annoying to step on. Whenever I step on a sharp part, I try to tuck it deeper into the weave or just cut it off, but there are still some hiding in there.

      • A:

        It's great! It feels good on my feet.

      • A:

        It feels good on my feet. Some of the knots do come out a little, but I tuck them back in.

      • A:

        I would 't think so, but mine is on a porch. It does shed, which is not a problem on the porch, but might be in a bedroom where the dust can't be swept away. The shedding is a dust that seems to be in the fiber itself.

      • A:

        Well I wouldnt say you will want to lay on it for comfort but its fine to walk around on. It looks great and other than my cat snagging it fairly easy, it perfect

      • A:

        Feels good on bare feet.

      • A:

        I am very happy with the rug. Feels great

      • A:

        Despite the "chunky" texture, it's actually really nice under bare feet. It's a natural product so it's not perfect/machined. You have to expect a few imperfections in the same way real wood plank floors differ from engineered wood floors. We love ours - we have a huge one in the kitchen. It does shed a little at first as the fibers break down, but the look and feel were exactly what we wanted. Four months so far - 2 kids, 2 labs, plenty of vacuuming, and it has held up great.

      • A:

        It is a bit rough compared to average carpet or rugs.

      Read more Read less
    • Q:

      "What are the exact measurements? (Is the 10' exactly that or slightly bigger or smaller?)"

      • A:

        No. Mine is 10'4"

    • Q:

      "What does the five year protection plan cover and what is the cost of the plan?"

      • A:

        I guess overstocked doesn't know the answer

    • Q:

      "How much of an odor is there and how long does it remain? I have Dark Tommy Bahama living room furniture with cream and orange cushions. Wonder if this rug will look good with it. "

      • A:

        The odor was minor and disappeared within a day. Yes, that would look good with this rug - this rug looks EXTREMELY expensive. One thing to note is that the texture is very thick and knobbly - took some getting used to but now I love it.

      • A:

        Agree with Catherine D. Great purchase!

      • A:

        Yes, the odor was quite strong, but it did not last long. Just needs to air out. It's been awhile since I purchased, but I want to say it took 3-5 days before the smell was completely gone. It is a beautiful rug.

      • A:

        Very little odor that was not offensive to me in the first place. What little odor there was however, has now disappeared. I am very happy with this purchase. I have a dog and a cat and we really "live" in the room where we placed this rug. It has held up great so far and shows zero dirt or wear.

      • A:

        Remove the plastic the day you receive the rug and then unroll so the carpet airs. I loved the thickness, quality and color so much I now have them in every room of my house. Carpets are very thick, but comfortable underfoot . Most of my carpets are large so I do not use a pad...enjoy.

      • A:

        The rug does smell a bit 'wet' when you remove it from the plastic wrap. We purchased the first rug and loved so much we purchased a second rug, then purchased a third rug. We aired our rugs out in our porch for 24 hours and that worked for two of the three rugs. The third rug, still had a slight musty/mildew odor, so I purchased and sprayed it (heavily) with Febreeze and that worked. I picked a Febreeze scent that was mild and that I liked. Even though I sprayed the Febreeze on thick, it was not overpowering. After about a week, I could no longer smell the Febreeze and the mildew/musty smell did not come back.

      • A:

        I agree with previous comments, when we got it out of the wrapping it was damp and smelled awful. We contemplated sending it back, but we laid it out, and it looked fantastic, smell had gone by the morning and it still looks amazing. We love it and have had many comments on it.

      Read more Read less
    • Q:

      "Got my eye on this rug. Wondering if i should wait for cyber monday, just looking for the best deal? Thanks"

      • A:

        Ive had this rug for over 6 months and love it!I have 3 dogs and 2 cats it is still amazing and easy to take care of.The price more than worth it.When it arrives in the plastic it is sort of damp but once you lay it out it dries perfectly.Definatly get a rug pad!Love this rug.

    • Q:

      "Do I need to buy the no slip pad that goes beneath the rug for the warranty to be honored should I need to use the warranty? Thank you!!!"

      • A:

        I only needed it on my smaller rugs that had no Furniture on them.

      • A:

        Hi- I have to say that I wouldn't buy this rug again, although it looks good it doesn't have a backing.Because it is a natural fiber it has what is like sand that come from it and it's not just a little,it's a lot,and I don't think pad under it would make a difference.

      • A:

        YES it saves the ear and tear on it and keeps the cording in place with less stress.

      Read more Read less
    • Q:

      "Can this be used as an outdoor rug, under a covered patio?"

      • A:

        It's a natural fiber not olefin so I wouldn't. It would still be vulnerable to excess moisture ,etc. in an outdoor setting. We love it because it is soft on bare feet unlike other natural fiber rugs we've tried.

      • A:

        no, i would not recommend this for outdoor. it is natural fiber, however with any moisture (not even direct rain) this item can get moldy on the bottom. also, it's not very durable = quality less than expected. many of the knots unravel quickly on border trims and rug interior. disappointing overall.

      • A:

        don't buy. I ended up throwing mine away. It came filthy, full of dirt and sand that came out constantly.

      Read more Read less
    • Q:

      "This rug looks like it's the 8x10 version of the rug in the link below. Only difference is pile height. Can someone please measure the thickness of the rug. Is it closer to the 0.25" stated for the 8x10 or the 0.75" stated for the 10x14 (link below)? ***"

      • A:

        The pile height measures approximately 0.25 inches.

    • Q:

      "I bought the white color "jute" rug and was wondering how you clean it? I have a small little dog and unfortunately she urinated on it ☹️"

      • A:

        Mine peed and now it's outside rotting in the driveway. Not washable

      • A:

        My friend's toy poodle puked on it. I immediately wiped away with paper towel and disinfect wipes. Later on I used water to wash the spot. It's perfectly fine now, no stain no odor.

      • A:

        good luck - i had mine for less than 6 moths before the kids and dog ruined it. i don't recommend it for households with children or dogs. I'm going back to an indoor outdoor rug that can be hosed down outside.

      • A:

        Yea, not washable. We had a puppy that did this too. I tried to spot clean but it ended up making it lighter in that spot.

      Read more Read less
    • Q:

      "Hi, When will this size possible be back in stock? 8x10 Thanks you :)"

      • A:

        Unfortunately we don't know when this size will be back in stock. We apologize for any inconvenience we might have caused.

    • Q:

      "Does this come in a 9x12?"

      • A:

        Hello Lyssa F., I'm sorry we do not currently have that size available. Have a great day!

    • Q:

      "My rug smells very must upon unwrapping it. Is this normal?"

      • A:

        Hello Michele C., yes typically that is the smell from the warehouse. It should air out in a few days. If you have any other questions please let us know. Have a great day!

      • A:

        Yes. It does smell musty, or earthy at first. I cut the wrapping open while still in the garage and left it there for a couple of days. When I brought it in, it still smelled. However after vacuuming (without a beater brush) the smell went completely away after a few days. No problem since then.

      • A:

        The smell will go away fast. I love my rug!

      Read more Read less
    • Q:

      "I cannot tell the color of rug. I would like it to be tan or beige not yellowish . Can you suggest another rugs in the color I would like. Needs to be 8x10. Thanks, Karen Cooke"

      • A:

        Hello swaggy, we try to represent the colors of our products accurately. Unfortunately, due to the difference in monitor colors we cannot guarantee that the color will match exactly what you see on your screen. Please see ITEM# 12243986 (Safavieh Casual Natural Fiber Natural and Beige Border Seagrass Rug (8' x 10')) as an alternative option. Thanks for shopping with us!

    • Q:

      "Why did you choose this product?"

      • A:

        stunnung and a great price

      • A:

        saw in friend's home and loved it

      • A:

        for the summer, for the sitting room

      • A:

        size, color, price

      • A:

        Good reviews, good price

      • A:

        I like the way it looks and it appears to be well made.

      • A:

        Good ratings good price

      • A:

        beautiful natural variations in the colors - like the texture

      • A:

        I loved the rich tones and most of the reviewers seem extremely satisfied with theirs purchase. I hope to be writing my own giddy review soon!

      • A:

        I have been looking at the product for months but was hesitant to purchase because of the mixed reviews. But I had all my carpeting replace with hardwoods so I am giving it a try. It suits my home decor.

      • A:

        My area rug from Ballard Designs has has one end of fringe and the other end is simply knots...so goodbye fringed rug!

      • A:

        It is exactly what I am looking for!

      • A:

        Please send me ASAP Thanks

      • A:

        On sale free shipping and I have one that looks like it.spool hope it does

      • A:

        Natural look, size, reviews, price

      • A:

        looks

      • A:

        I chose this product for its natural fibers, color variation, price, and reviews.

      • A:

        I chose this for a rarely used seaside guest bedroom. Low traffic area and I like the casual "beachy" feel of the jute.

      • A:

        Love the look of jute rugs

      • A:

        Quality and price within the characteristics I was looking for.

      Read more Read less
    • Q:

      "Does this rug come in an 8' Round?"

      • A:

        Hello cathycanoe, this rug is currently unavailable in an 8 foot round. However, we do have it in an 8 foot square. It can be found at item # 13303818 - Thank you for shopping with us!

    • Q:

      "I would like this Jute rug in an 8' round. Is it available?"

      • A:

        Hello cathycanoe, this rug is currently not available in an 8 foot round. Thank you for shopping with us!

    Shopping Tips & Inspiration

    Shipping & Returns

    Contact Information
    Shipping:

    Usually leaves our warehouse in 1-2 business days. *

    Shipping Information:

    Our standard shipping method is ground shipping. We also offer expedited shipping for most items. Your final shipping cost and estimated delivery timeframe will be available at checkout.
    Standard shipping details
    Expedited shipping details

    Standard Return Policy:

    Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More Details

    FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.

    NOTE:

    This item cannot be shipped to Alaska or Hawaii. More details

    For your protection, all orders are screened for security purposes. If your order is selected for review, our Loss Prevention Team may contact you by phone or email. There may be a two business day delay to process your order.

    ** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.

    Advertisement