Sale $222.69

MSRP: $960.00

Save $737.31 (77%)

Free Shipping*
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Safavieh Casual Natural Jute Hand-Woven Chunky Thick Rug - 8' x 10'

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Relevant
  • Most Relevant
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Be Careful
    Verified Purchase

    This rug is actually jute not sisal. The description says sisal weave which is accurate but if you want a sisal rug this is not it. On the good side, it is very soft and thick. It would go well in a casual setting. On the downside, it contains an extraordinary amount of dust. If you or family members are allergic....beware. I returned it because I wanted sisal and hated the dust.

    Read More
    island2frenchquarter September 22, 2011
  • Love my new rug!
    Verified Purchase

    The rug is the perfect color, thick with a nice texture. Very well made. I liked it so much that I bought another one for my family room!

    Read More
    • Safavieh Casual Natural Jute Hand-Woven Chunky Thick Rug - 8' x 10'
    Carol P. April 11, 2017
  • Verified Purchase

    Love the color and quality of this rug!

    Read More
    Mary B. June 18, 2018
  • The negative reviews are true.
    Verified Purchase

    I read the reviews and decided I'd give it a try. Bad idea. Looked great at first. Received many compliments. Had a very strong odor that remained. Can't be vacuumed without knots coming unwoven and I use a Dyson. Sheds really badly. I have dogs but noticed I would have to vacuum ever other day due to huge piles forming in corners and under furniture. Its natural fiber also sheds a dark dusty film under the rug. So you have to regularly roll up the rug and clean underneath. Only had for 7 months and it got tossed to the curb. It's a very thick rough rug. One side has deeper knots which should've been the topside. These knots made it uncomfortable to sit on and walk across. Couldn't walk across in heels or it would snag the knots. The fibers also cover your clothing if you lay or sit on it. Hard to get off afterwards. Very rough with sharp pieces in the knots. I have a 1 year old and it wasn't a material I would've preferred. It looked great for the first couple of months until the knots starting coming undone and you have to roll them up and tuck them back in constantly. It was able to handle many spills without leaving rings. The price was the why I purchased it but looking back I would pass on this one for a higher quality. Maybe something with a thinner pile thickness and mixture of cotton/chenille/jute or and indoor/outdoor jute.

    Read More
    rlang1 October 9, 2013
  • Beautiful!
    Verified Purchase

    This rug is just what we were looking for! I painstakingly read the reviews of every 8x10 jute rug on overstock and took a leap with this one. The other reviewers are right - this rug is soft and the color is just as pictured. Would highly recommend this carpet for those looking for a natural fiber rug!

    Read More
    Lindsay K. September 20, 2016
  • Beautiful Jute Rug
    Verified Purchase

    Ok :) I have purchased from O maybe 10x's? It seems that most items are a let down- either with quality, color, paint. I have bought 4 rugs from overstock. One rug I thought was plush- ended up being flat weave. Another very expensive rug's colors were extremely muted, darker than described or shown AND one corner was much lighter than the rest. The third rug's colors were completely off what the site showed. It showed beige and I got chocolate, AND had a 3 in. circle of some blue/green substance dried on to it! I tell you all of this to let you know that when I say this rug is fantastic- it really is! It is JUTE, not sisal. I know this because the rug comes with a care label attatched which stated it is 100% jute. It is a thick rug- 1/2 to 1 inch thick? Nice- however a door might not open over this rug or office chair wont roll ( something to consider). It does have a strong earthy smell to it, which I actually really enjoy because it reminds me of gardening, however I am sure some would find it off. I am sure the smell will dissapate over time. Care instructions say not to have direct sunlight on it. (I dont know why). I love this rug- absolutely worth the money- it is beautiful.

    Read More
    jadedquills January 12, 2013
  • Loving this new rug
    Verified Purchase

    After holding this rug in my shopping cart for months, literally, I finally decided to go through with the purchase last weekend. It only took a few days (less then a week) to arrive and I was so excited to see it on my front porch. I am so thankful that we have a covered porch because we had substantial rains all day that day, and I was at work when it arrived. The rug was safely sealed in thick plastic wrap and left in a dry spot on the porch floor. I attempted to move it into the house and unwrap it myself, but it was too heavy for me (sorry FED Ex guy!), and so I had to wait for my husband to get home and help. This rug unpacked and unrolled pretty easily, and laid flat on the floor immediately. I absolutely love this rug - it brings so much warmth and interest to our previously bare living room wood floor. It's very thick with a fairly large chunky or nubby texture that feels great on your feet. I'm waiting for the felt rug pad we bought to go underneath it, which is supposed to be delivered today. I know that will protect the rug longer, as well as add to the springiness under foot. The one surprising thing about this rug, is that it has a strong, natural fiber or grasslike smell that took a few days to dissipate. It smelled a bit like a damp basement. (I also have a particularly sensitive sense of smell, so I might find it more offensive than most.) Now that the rug has been unrolled and in our space a few days, the smell, while still faintly there, smells much more pleasant and MUCH LESS like a basement. I would absolutely purchase this rug again, and recommend it to anyone.

    Read More
    • Safavieh Casual Natural Jute Hand-Woven Chunky Thick Rug - 8' x 10'
    OstkUser515938 September 13, 2016
  • LOVE!!!!
    Verified Purchase

    This piece is a great addition to any home; soft under the feet; makes a simple but elegant statement + would work with any space. I wouldn't recommend wearing high hells on this rug; its woven and shows some definite character. I purchased the 8x10 and the 9x12 they are in rooms off each other so you can see them both looking in; the different colors of jute and the knotting throughout the rugs are beautiful. They were a great purchase!! Love them!

    Read More
    mboston617 June 26, 2014
  • Better than you think!
    Verified Purchase

    I read a lot of the reviews and was a little discouraged about buying this rug because of the negative comments. But after taking the chance, I'm SO glad I did!! I've purchased various other jute rugs from Rugs USA, and Ashley's Home Furniture and this one is actually the best quality and price! If you have never owned a jute rug, you will be a little surprised by the smell and shedding, but I promise, the smell goes away and the shedding is much lighter over time. It's well worth it if you want a durable, quality rug with a beautiful look. I prefer this type of rug over any others because they are long lasting and great for high traffic. I have two messy kids under 3! I wouldn't recommend vacuuming these rugs with a high suction because it can unravel the jute. I would recommend shaking it out outside and then lightly vacuuming it with the hose rather than the full vacuum head to keep everything in tact. Overall, I'm very happy with my new rug and would highly recommend it if you are looking for this style! I purchased the 8x10 and it's perfect!

    Read More
    • Safavieh Casual Natural Jute Hand-Woven Chunky Thick Rug - 8' x 10'
    Joshua W. March 17, 2017
  • Nice rug color is beautiful
    Verified Purchase

    Nice rug color is beautiful

    Read More
    OstkUser575151 January 23, 2018
  • Perfect
    Verified Purchase

    This user earned $1.00 in rewards for writing this review.Learn More

    Arrived sooner than expected and packaged very well. This is the perfect rug for my large formal living room. It's big and chunky which adds the perfect amount of texture to the room. Opposite of some reviews, there was no smell other than a barely noticeable natural smell if you stick your nose right down to it because it IS a natural fiber rug. This rug sheds because it's natural. That's just something a person has to consider with any woven natural fiber rug.

    Read More
    lindsaylou4 September 10, 2017
  • Nice, soft underfoot but repeatedly sheds dirt!
    Verified Purchase

    I've had it for 20 months and the edges are stretching and the weave is beginning to come apart. Also the black dirt still sheds onto my hardwoods, kind of nasty!

    Read More
    shoppinghoundfashion August 16, 2011
  • Great Rug
    Verified Purchase

    Great looking rug for a fraction of the price of other Jute rugs. Feels great to the feet. I might actually order another one. There was an odor for a few weeks and it shed some dust/fibers. I think this is a normal issue with natural fiber rugs.

    Read More
    ksd4aadg January 6, 2017
  • Verified Purchase

    This user earned $2.00 in rewards for writing this review.Learn More

    I ordered he 8 x10 and 9 x 12 - again- Perfect natural color, soft and chunky, delivered super fast . I was reading some reviews about the smell but Jute is a natural fiber and has an earthy scent to begin with- totally normal- also if the fibers begin to unravel just pull them through the other side- fixes that issue - similar to crochet sweaters- same concept . Love these rugs - they match everything

    Read More
    Lauren B. March 10, 2018
  • AWFUL FOR LAMINATE FLOORING!!
    Verified Purchase

    This rug was delivered quickly with no issues. It laid flat right away. It was true to color and the weave is very pretty. As many other reviewers have mentioned it has a lot of dust and a very strong dirt odor. I've had the rug about a month now and the smell is gone, but there is still a large among of gritty dirt and dust under the rug every time I lift it up. I have a toddler who crawls around on the floor daily and this rug sheds tiny fibers all over his clothes. Vacuuming this rug is difficult due to its lumpy loose weave and will cause it to have "pulls". Also, this rug is very heavy but does not have a backing so it still slides and stretches out when you walk or sit on it. Definitely needs a rug pad. My son recently spilled a drink on it and I really couldn't scrub it or clean it thouroughly due to its texture. Also a lot of reviews I read said the rug was "softer than expected". This rug is definitely softer than walking on hardwood, but it's still a very rough and lumpy material. I think this rug has so many good reviews because people don't give it enough time before they rate it. The color and look of this rug is very pretty, but it has many cons the longer you have it and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. UPDATE! Since writing this review I decided to clean under the rug again and realized to my dismay and fury that the sand that falls out of this rug combined with the friction of the rug moving around has created awful scratches and ruined the finish on my new laminate flooring! (Much worse in person than the picture shows!) I am devastated because we had worked so hard on getting our floor down. It is a high quality laminate that has held up well and has otherwise been rather difficult to scratch. Now I'll have no choice but to always keep a rug down to hide all the scratches. Overstock was very nice and understanding and has given me a full refund. Do NOT buy this rug if you have laminate flooring! A rug pad might have helped but it wasn't worth the risk to me.

    Read More
    • Safavieh Casual Natural Jute Hand-Woven Chunky Thick Rug - 8' x 10'
    • Safavieh Casual Natural Jute Hand-Woven Chunky Thick Rug - 8' x 10'
    • Safavieh Casual Natural Jute Hand-Woven Chunky Thick Rug - 8' x 10'
    OstkUser875591 April 7, 2017
  • Great natural weave rug
    Verified Purchase

    Color is just as shown in photo.

    Read More
    Tracey C. October 22, 2015
  • great sisal rug
    Verified Purchase

    i ordered this on overstock and it came really fast. The rug is much better than expected and beautiful. I normally think natural fiber rugs are hard to the touch but this is very soft!. I am using it as a base and put our cowhide rug on top!

    Read More
    luby12 October 10, 2011
  • Amazing quality and awesome details
    Verified Purchase

    I absolutely adore this rug. It's amazing quality and the thick jute detailing looks rich and adds character to any room. It can take a beating like no other. I have a devil cat who has mastered the art of destroying everything beautiful and she has not succeeded at unraveling this beauty. Even a few minor pulls and the rug still looks great. Since it is Jute, which is from natural vegetable/plant fibers, you should definitely expect that "dirt" smell when you first lay out the rug. It dissipates...I promise. I have had jute rugs of all prices and sizes in both my home and office. They all smell like this at first and it fades to nothing after just a few days. Additionally, be prepared for that fine jute dust when and if you lift the rug up from it's resting place. It happens but its nothing a quick run of the vacuum can't fix.

    Read More
    LYW December 17, 2015
  • hand wovon fine sisal
    Verified Purchase

    this rug is beautiful I love it- I ordered a second smaller one after I received the first one. I am selling my house and needed new rugs- these are great with my decor (beachy) but my girl friend bought one two and her decor is very contemporary and she loves it too. I have pets and she has small kids the variety of colors are great in that the stains don't show up and we both LOVE the way it feels on your feet better quality MUCH that a pottery barn or west elm rug. I have both.

    Read More
    nansea63 April 24, 2012
  • LOVE THIS RUG!!!!!...
    Verified Purchase

    I've been searching for a rug for my dining room...I've looked at LOTS OF RUGS!!!...but, kept coming back to this Safavieh Natural Chunky Thick Jute Rug 8 x 10...because it looks just like a very expensive rug from *** .read all the reviews and decided to purchase it.....OH MY! WHY DID I WAIT SO LONG TO PURCHASE.....I really "love it"....and it looks "great"...ordered on a Monday...it shipped on Tuesday and I received it on Wednesday...thanks Overstock for offering a "beautiful rug" at a very affordable price...I would purchase this rug again...

    Read More
    alabamadeb February 22, 2017