Safavieh Casual Natural Fiber Hand-Woven Natural Accents Chunky Thick Jute Rug (8' x 10')

by Safavieh
Sale: $195.49
MSRP: $689.99 $494.50 (72%) off
Free Shipping*

Club O Gold Members Earn

$9.77 | 5% Rewards*

Rewards

GOLD

$19.95/yr.

5% Rewards

Earn even faster

Free Shipping

Never pay extra*

Exclusive Rewards

Save big-- up to 40%

Exclusive Offers

Straight to your inbox

5% Dining Rewards

Get paid to go out tonight

ITEM# 12349081
  • Delivery Estimate

    Select a Product Option to view shipping

      **Delivery date is approximate and not guaranteed. Estimates include processing and shipping times, and are only available in US (excluding APO/FPO and PO Box addresses). Final shipping costs are available at checkout.

    • Warranty
      Select an option before changing warranty
    • Notifications

    Love this item?

    Save it to a list so you can find it anytime!


    Oops,

    something went wrong.

    Please refresh the page and try again.


    Eco Friendly

    Details

    ITEM#: 12349081

    Promoting a tranquil and organic ambiance, Safavieh's handwoven 8' x 10' jute rug has been expertly crafted for those looking to add a carefree vibe to their home. Featuring accent colors of light and dark beige, this neutral-colored rug will blend effortlessly with new or existing decor. Featuring a plain weave design, this rug is richly textured with a chunky natural vegetable fiber resembling wool.

    This rug works well in low- to medium-traffic areas of the home, such as the office, living room, or under a coffee table for a clean and sleek aesthetic. Its casual nautical feel is evocative of a coastal living environment, yet its limitless versatility allows it to assimilate effortlessly into an urban setting. Safavieh's natural fiber rugs will give any living space an impeccably relaxed look with a dash of fashion.

    • Primary color: Natural
    • Pile height: 0.25 inches
    • Dimensions: 8' x 10'
    • Pattern: Plain sisal weave
    • Jute material adds strength and durability to this rug
    • Neutral hues blend well with a wide range of furniture colors and styles
    • Handwoven to ensure quality, craftsmanship, and product uniqueness
    • Quarter-inch pile height is easy to maintain and convenient for placement under furniture and in entryways
    • For over 100 years, Safavieh has been crafting rugs of the highest quality and unmatched style
    • Bohemian, Casual, and Contemporary style

    Tip: We recommend the use of a non-skid pad to keep the rug in place on smooth surfaces.

    All rug sizes are approximate. Due to the difference of monitor colors, some rug colors may vary slightly. We try to represent all rug colors accurately. Please refer to the text above for a description of the colors shown in the photo.

    Specs

    Features
    Style Casual
    Material Jute, Natural Fiber
    Pattern Solid
    Feature Latex Free
    Weave Type Hand-Woven
    Shape Rectangle
    Color Brown
    Indoor-Outdoor Indoor
    Product Features Eco-Friendly, Handmade
    Rug Type Indoor
    Dimensions 8 ft. x 10 ft.
    Model Number NF447A-8
    Country of Origin India

    Customer Reviews


    5 Stars
    259
    4 Stars
    91
    3 Stars
    34
    2 Stars
    23
    1 Stars
    30
    Advertisement
    • Most Recent

    • Natural fiber area rug.
      Verified Purchase

      This a nice rug which is a little rough and it does have some imperfections but its great for the price. I have it under a dining table so it works well for me. I don't think this rug would hold up well in high traffic areas.

      Read More
    • Very Disappointed
      Verified Purchase

      Today, I finally removed this rug from our family room. I have had jute rugs in the past, but never one so dirty and poorly made. I purchased the rug pad from Overstock as well, but it didn't help. The dirt from this rug is unbelievable! Not only did I have to sweep up the dirt everyday, it severely affected my allergies. Also, if I walked across the rug in heels, the rug would snag, leaving snags all over! A total waste of my money. I know this isn't an Overstock issue, but the manufacturer.

      Read More
    • Lovely Rug
      Verified Purchase

      My daughter purchased this rug several months ago and I admired it quite a lot. It is thick and appears to be quite durable. I am in the process of ordering a sheepskin to go on top as I do like the layered look and would like something a bit softer under my feet. I received the rug within five days of my order, and it was packaged very nice.

      Read More
    • Great rug
      Verified Purchase

      The look is rustic the feel is great. Definitely would purchase this rug again.

      Read More
    • Just what I was looking for!
      Verified Purchase

      I have been eyeing a rug like this for several months. I happened to catch it on sale and am very pleased with it. It looks great in my livingroom! I would recommend it to others!

      Read More
    • Most Helpful

    • Be Careful
      Verified Purchase

      This rug is actually jute not sisal. The description says sisal weave which is accurate but if you want a sisal rug this is not it. On the good side, it is very soft and thick. It would go well in a casual setting. On the downside, it contains an extraordinary amount of dust. If you or family members are allergic....beware. I returned it because I wanted sisal and hated the dust.

      Read More
    • Nice, soft underfoot but repeatedly sheds dirt!
      Verified Purchase

      I've had it for 20 months and the edges are stretching and the weave is beginning to come apart. Also the black dirt still sheds onto my hardwoods, kind of nasty!

      Read More
    • The negative reviews are true.
      Verified Purchase

      I read the reviews and decided I'd give it a try. Bad idea. Looked great at first. Received many compliments. Had a very strong odor that remained. Can't be vacuumed without knots coming unwoven and I use a Dyson. Sheds really badly. I have dogs but noticed I would have to vacuum ever other day due to huge piles forming in corners and under furniture. Its natural fiber also sheds a dark dusty film under the rug. So you have to regularly roll up the rug and clean underneath. Only had for 7 months and it got tossed to the curb. It's a very thick rough rug. One side has deeper knots which should've been the topside. These knots made it uncomfortable to sit on and walk across. Couldn't walk across in heels or it would snag the knots. The fibers also cover your clothing if you lay or sit on it. Hard to get off afterwards. Very rough with sharp pieces in the knots. I have a 1 year old and it wasn't a material I would've preferred. It looked great for the first couple of months until the knots starting coming undone and you have to roll them up and tuck them back in constantly. It was able to handle many spills without leaving rings. The price was the why I purchased it but looking back I would pass on this one for a higher quality. Maybe something with a thinner pile thickness and mixture of cotton/chenille/jute or and indoor/outdoor jute.

      Read More
    • Stinky rug
      Verified Purchase

      Rug was as pictured, very rustic, with streaks of gray, dark and light tan, not one uniform color. It was well constructed and heavy, so you dont need a rug pad underneath. The problem I had was that the mildew smell lessened with time but didnt completely go away, despite leaving it to air out in the garage an entire week and then putting it in inside the house, which stunk up both stories. I had to remove it finally; I wouldnt recommend this one

      Read More
    • great sisal rug
      Verified Purchase

      i ordered this on overstock and it came really fast. The rug is much better than expected and beautiful. I normally think natural fiber rugs are hard to the touch but this is very soft!. I am using it as a base and put our cowhide rug on top!

      Read More

    Questions & Answers

    • Q:

      "What does the five year protection plan cover and what is the cost of the plan?"

      • A:

        I guess overstocked doesn't know the answer

    • Q:

      "How much of an odor is there and how long does it remain? I have Dark Tommy Bahama living room furniture with cream and orange cushions. Wonder if this rug will look good with it. "

      • A:

        The odor was minor and disappeared within a day. Yes, that would look good with this rug - this rug looks EXTREMELY expensive. One thing to note is that the texture is very thick and knobbly - took some getting used to but now I love it.

      • A:

        Agree with Catherine D. Great purchase!

      • A:

        Yes, the odor was quite strong, but it did not last long. Just needs to air out. It's been awhile since I purchased, but I want to say it took 3-5 days before the smell was completely gone. It is a beautiful rug.

      • A:

        Very little odor that was not offensive to me in the first place. What little odor there was however, has now disappeared. I am very happy with this purchase. I have a dog and a cat and we really "live" in the room where we placed this rug. It has held up great so far and shows zero dirt or wear.

      • A:

        Remove the plastic the day you receive the rug and then unroll so the carpet airs. I loved the thickness, quality and color so much I now have them in every room of my house. Carpets are very thick, but comfortable underfoot . Most of my carpets are large so I do not use a pad...enjoy.

      • A:

        The rug does smell a bit 'wet' when you remove it from the plastic wrap. We purchased the first rug and loved so much we purchased a second rug, then purchased a third rug. We aired our rugs out in our porch for 24 hours and that worked for two of the three rugs. The third rug, still had a slight musty/mildew odor, so I purchased and sprayed it (heavily) with Febreeze and that worked. I picked a Febreeze scent that was mild and that I liked. Even though I sprayed the Febreeze on thick, it was not overpowering. After about a week, I could no longer smell the Febreeze and the mildew/musty smell did not come back.

      • A:

        I agree with previous comments, when we got it out of the wrapping it was damp and smelled awful. We contemplated sending it back, but we laid it out, and it looked fantastic, smell had gone by the morning and it still looks amazing. We love it and have had many comments on it.

      Read more Read less
    • Q:

      "Got my eye on this rug. Wondering if i should wait for cyber monday, just looking for the best deal? Thanks"

      • A:

        Ive had this rug for over 6 months and love it!I have 3 dogs and 2 cats it is still amazing and easy to take care of.The price more than worth it.When it arrives in the plastic it is sort of damp but once you lay it out it dries perfectly.Definatly get a rug pad!Love this rug.

    • Q:

      "Do I need to buy the no slip pad that goes beneath the rug for the warranty to be honored should I need to use the warranty? Thank you!!!"

      • A:

        I only needed it on my smaller rugs that had no Furniture on them.

      • A:

        Hi- I have to say that I wouldn't buy this rug again, although it looks good it doesn't have a backing.Because it is a natural fiber it has what is like sand that come from it and it's not just a little,it's a lot,and I don't think pad under it would make a difference.

      • A:

        YES it saves the ear and tear on it and keeps the cording in place with less stress.

      Read more Read less
    • Q:

      "Can this be used as an outdoor rug, under a covered patio?"

      • A:

        It's a natural fiber not olefin so I wouldn't. It would still be vulnerable to excess moisture ,etc. in an outdoor setting. We love it because it is soft on bare feet unlike other natural fiber rugs we've tried.

      • A:

        no, i would not recommend this for outdoor. it is natural fiber, however with any moisture (not even direct rain) this item can get moldy on the bottom. also, it's not very durable = quality less than expected. many of the knots unravel quickly on border trims and rug interior. disappointing overall.

      • A:

        don't buy. I ended up throwing mine away. It came filthy, full of dirt and sand that came out constantly.

      Read more Read less
    • Q:

      "This rug looks like it's the 8x10 version of the rug in the link below. Only difference is pile height. Can someone please measure the thickness of the rug. Is it closer to the 0.25" stated for the 8x10 or the 0.75" stated for the 10x14 (link below)? ***"

      • A:

        The pile height measures approximately 0.25 inches.

    • Q:

      "I bought the white color "jute" rug and was wondering how you clean it? I have a small little dog and unfortunately she urinated on it ☹️"

      • A:

        Mine peed and now it's outside rotting in the driveway. Not washable

      • A:

        My friend's toy poodle puked on it. I immediately wiped away with paper towel and disinfect wipes. Later on I used water to wash the spot. It's perfectly fine now, no stain no odor.

      • A:

        good luck - i had mine for less than 6 moths before the kids and dog ruined it. i don't recommend it for households with children or dogs. I'm going back to an indoor outdoor rug that can be hosed down outside.

      • A:

        Yea, not washable. We had a puppy that did this too. I tried to spot clean but it ended up making it lighter in that spot.

      Read more Read less
    • Q:

      "Hi, When will this size possible be back in stock? 8x10 Thanks you :)"

      • A:

        Unfortunately we don't know when this size will be back in stock. We apologize for any inconvenience we might have caused.

    • Q:

      "Does this come in a 9x12?"

      • A:

        Hello Lyssa F., I'm sorry we do not currently have that size available. Have a great day!

    • Q:

      "My rug smells very must upon unwrapping it. Is this normal?"

      • A:

        Hello Michele C., yes typically that is the smell from the warehouse. It should air out in a few days. If you have any other questions please let us know. Have a great day!

      • A:

        Yes. It does smell musty, or earthy at first. I cut the wrapping open while still in the garage and left it there for a couple of days. When I brought it in, it still smelled. However after vacuuming (without a beater brush) the smell went completely away after a few days. No problem since then.

      • A:

        The smell will go away fast. I love my rug!

      Read more Read less
    • Q:

      "I cannot tell the color of rug. I would like it to be tan or beige not yellowish . Can you suggest another rugs in the color I would like. Needs to be 8x10. Thanks, Karen Cooke"

      • A:

        Hello swaggy, we try to represent the colors of our products accurately. Unfortunately, due to the difference in monitor colors we cannot guarantee that the color will match exactly what you see on your screen. Please see ITEM# 12243986 (Safavieh Casual Natural Fiber Natural and Beige Border Seagrass Rug (8' x 10')) as an alternative option. Thanks for shopping with us!

    • Q:

      "Why did you choose this product?"

      • A:

        stunnung and a great price

      • A:

        saw in friend's home and loved it

      • A:

        for the summer, for the sitting room

      • A:

        size, color, price

      • A:

        Good reviews, good price

      • A:

        I like the way it looks and it appears to be well made.

      • A:

        Good ratings good price

      • A:

        beautiful natural variations in the colors - like the texture

      • A:

        I loved the rich tones and most of the reviewers seem extremely satisfied with theirs purchase. I hope to be writing my own giddy review soon!

      • A:

        I have been looking at the product for months but was hesitant to purchase because of the mixed reviews. But I had all my carpeting replace with hardwoods so I am giving it a try. It suits my home decor.

      • A:

        My area rug from Ballard Designs has has one end of fringe and the other end is simply knots...so goodbye fringed rug!

      • A:

        It is exactly what I am looking for!

      • A:

        Please send me ASAP Thanks

      • A:

        On sale free shipping and I have one that looks like it.spool hope it does

      • A:

        Natural look, size, reviews, price

      • A:

        looks

      • A:

        I chose this product for its natural fibers, color variation, price, and reviews.

      • A:

        I chose this for a rarely used seaside guest bedroom. Low traffic area and I like the casual "beachy" feel of the jute.

      • A:

        Love the look of jute rugs

      • A:

        Quality and price within the characteristics I was looking for.

      Read more Read less
    • Q:

      "Does this rug come in an 8' Round?"

      • A:

        Hello cathycanoe, this rug is currently unavailable in an 8 foot round. However, we do have it in an 8 foot square. It can be found at item # 13303818 - Thank you for shopping with us!

    • Q:

      "I would like this Jute rug in an 8' round. Is it available?"

      • A:

        Hello cathycanoe, this rug is currently not available in an 8 foot round. Thank you for shopping with us!

    • Q:

      "Where was this made?"

      • A:

        Hello maltzi, we appreciate your inquiry. This item was made in China. We hope this information has been helpful. Thank you for shopping with us. Have a great day!

    • Q:

      "I'm thinking of using this in my family room, there is a lot of foot traffic. Will it hold up and can you vacuum this rug?"

      • A:

        Hello , I really like this rug! This rug is very durable and would work great in a family room. Yes, this can be vacuumed, I have included a link to the cleaning instructions below. I hope this helps. Thanks for shopping with us. http://www.overstock.com/guides/how-to-clean-your-area-rugs

      • A:

        I vacuum the rug without the beater bar on. You can use it for a high traffic area. The rug does have areas where the jute loops come up but I just tuck it back under. If you have a dog, like I do, be careful because there nails will pull the loops up. Hope that helps.

      • A:

        This rug is very thick and chunky and will hold up to foot traffic however the loops do unravel. I tuck them back under the rug but every time I vacuum it brings them back up. It can be a nuisance.

      • A:

        i don't recommend it. I have two kids and a large dog; they would destroy this within a year….I purchased it and placed it in my guest room under the bed (8 x 10) it's absolutely gorgeous!

      • A:

        I absolutely loved the look of this rug in my living room. The texture is something to get used too...not comfy. Over time it just became gross. I have kids and dogs and vacuuming didn't take the crud out. The dirt falls through and because the rug is so textured and sit up a vacuum did not lift it out. If you lifted the rug, I had so much dirt and dust all over underneath. It's too heavy to lift each time you vacuum. Having one kiddo with asthma was a definite hazard. Not to mention, I thought I had a clean room until I lifted it up grossed me out!

      Read more Read less
    • Q:

      "Am considering this rug for my dining room. Other reviewers talked about thickness /chinkiness . Would this work in dining room and allow chairs to be moved back from table?"

      • A:

        Hello kcorning19, This rug has received excellent reviews! Yes, this rug would work great in your dining room. I hope this helps. Thanks for shopping with us.

      • A:

        I would not recommend it for the dining room. The loops in this rug are already unraveling and I've only had it for a week. I think your dining chairs would get caught in the loops and pull them out.

      • A:

        chairs will not scoot back and forth on this rug without pulling the jute and snagging it. I placed it under a queen size bed so minimal traffic.

      • A:

        I have to disagree on moving chairs back and forth easily from the table. Because of the texture you will have to lift the chairs.

      Read more Read less
    • Q:

      "Does this rug come in ;8x8 size"

      • A:

        No, that is one of the only sizes it doesn't come in. It comes in a 6 x 9 as well as many other sizes. To see these sizes, type Hand-woven Weaves Natural-colored Fine Sisal Rug into the Overstock search bar and it will bring up all the sizes this rug is available in.

    • Q:

      "Does this rug need a pad so it won't slip"

      • A:

        : We recommend the use of a non-skid pad to keep the rug in place on smooth surfaces.

    Shopping Tips & Inspiration

    Shipping & Returns

    Contact Information
    Shipping:

    Usually leaves our warehouse in 1-2 business days. *

    Shipping Information:

    Our standard shipping method is ground shipping. We also offer expedited shipping for most items. Your final shipping cost and estimated delivery timeframe will be available at checkout.
    Standard shipping details
    Expedited shipping details

    Standard Return Policy:

    Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More Details

    FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.

    NOTE:

    This item cannot be shipped to Alaska or Hawaii. More details

    For your protection, all orders are screened for security purposes. If your order is selected for review, our Loss Prevention Team may contact you by phone or email. There may be a two business day delay to process your order.

    ** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.

    Advertisement