Sale Starts at $52.69

Save $136.31 (72%)

Free Shipping*
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Safavieh California Cozy Plush Mushroom Shag Rug

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Relevant
  • Most Relevant
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • This rug is exactly what I hoped it would be!
    Verified Purchase

    I LOVE this rug!!!! It took me forever to decided to order this rug. I had never bought a rug online and was very concerned about not liking it and having to return it. I called and they told me I was responsible for the return cost, but if I got a store credit they would pay to ship it back and I could keep ordering rugs until I found one I liked!!! That took the pressure off so I took the leap and bought it!! About the rug, I was really worried about he color because of the many reviews I read. Everything talked about it being darker than expected. I had decide to by the taupe instead of the mushroom. I didn't really want that light of a rug , but the reviews said it was darker as well. I waited so long it was sold out of the size I was looking for. I decide to order mushroom , the original color I wanted, and hope for the best. It actually looks exactly like I hoped. It is dark, but not to dark. I did not find it to be quite as brown as some of the reviews stated. Color wise it mixture of different strands of dark taupe, medium taupe and lighter taupe. (you can see the individual strands when you knell down and look) But it is blended very well to come across as one color when standing. I put this rug in my teenage sons room. I painted the walls with Sherman Williams 7038 Tony Taupe. I bought black bedspreads (they are actually a dark, dark grey. and a small black desk.) I am using a burlap colored drape. The reason I put this in the review is that I wanted to give an idea of what type of room with rug blended in with. Several friends have come over and can't get over how great the rug is. I did use a rug pad because I felt the back would scratch the would floors if not. I hope this helps!!!

    Read More
    shopmombr January 29, 2014
  • The Rug
    Verified Purchase

    I like the rug. So did the pug. He peed on it. It cleaned easily.

    Read More
    robinesp January 26, 2013
  • Verified Purchase

    Read my review on the 11x15 Safavieh California Cozy Plush Mushroom Shag Rug!!! Highly Recommend

    Read More
    Natalie C. April 24, 2018
  • Perfect Rug
    Verified Purchase

    I love this rug! I wanted something with a grey/tan color but more grey. I first ordered this rug in a runner and also the Safavieh Cozy solid dark grey runner to see which one I like the best. This was a perfect grey/brown combo where the other was a true grey, almost blue. I then ordered the 9'6 x 13 rug along with a non-skid rug pad. The pad works great and the rug doesn't move. The rug is shaggy, but not too overly shaggy. It is thick, and doesn't have fibers falling off everywhere. The creases where it was folded when shipped came out right away. It goes great with grey rooms, tan rooms, or any color rooms. The rug is a great rug and I recommend it to anyone.

    Read More
    angelgina001 September 15, 2013
  • So far so good!
    Verified Purchase

    This shag rug is quite plush underfoot, which is important to me. I am really happy with the Safavieh rugs I have purchased from Overstock. This Solid Mushroom rug is the perfect color in my room. Phew! You just never know, right!?! :). The color is truly solid in color as the name states. Any variation appears to be simply how the carpet strands are laying, due to this being a shag rug (how the light hits it), To me, this 'Mushroom' colored rug is a brown rug, with a slight grayish hue. I do not see any pink tones, that one might see with beige or even some taupe rugs. I plan on purchasing another ( for the other side of my bed)' as soon as it hits the right sale! I hope this helps!

    Read More
    KPGV May 1, 2016
  • Exactly what we wanted-perfect color and quality
    Verified Purchase

    We are pretty picky about home decor--quality, design, color. This rug exceeds my expectations--it was fairly fluffy even after transport. A vacuum fluffed up the shag instantly and the color is perfect. As other reviewers have noted, it is exactly the shade of a mushroom. Gray-brown. We did not want chocolate brown and this is not at all. What a fantastic price for this rug--better than those available at the big home improvement stores and as gorgeous as shag we saw at ****** for 3 times as much.

    Read More
    Michele G. February 26, 2015
  • Rug color doesnt match
    Verified Purchase

    I just opened up my rug & was very disappointed to see that the color wasnt at all what I expected... WAY darker than I had anticipated. I was under the impression that it was a grayish/taupe color. It does have that color in it, but also has a much darker chocolate color as well... although up close it is just a dark chocolate, from a distance the color looks black; it looks like a black & taupe mix. Not what I expected and would not have purchased if I knew it was going to be this shade of overall color.

    Read More
    tabithathomas75 January 28, 2013
  • Great Rug!
    Verified Purchase

    I was hesitant to buy a rug on line. I looked a long time before deciding on this rug. It arrived quickly, and my son put it in my studio apartment. It looks fantastic. The color is a mixture of browns, grays, and gold. My rug looks just like the picture! The thick shag feels great on my feet. The rug rolled down nicely with no bumps or waves. This is the perfect rug for me! How it did change my room for the best. I would recommend this rug to anyone wanting a rug in this color!

    Read More
    Cherie B. October 12, 2016
  • Worth the purchase!
    Verified Purchase

    I read the reviews before purchase and looked closely at the photos, especially the close-up that shows the fiber variation. We needed a darker taupe rug so we were ok with the rug turning out darker than it looks in the photos. I was more concerned it would be too speckled looking. I am so happy with this rug! It is a very nice color, a little lighter than the underside of a portabello mushroom, and it does not look speckled. It looks very luxurious and it feels fantastic. I do use a pad underneath but it wouldn't need one except it slips on our hardwood floor. I haven't pulled up any loose threads, and it has vacuumed well. The binding on the edges seems solid, I expect it to last a long time and am very happy with the price for the size of the rug.

    Read More
    bhayes0428 June 30, 2013
  • Excellent quality
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased a total of four of these rugs in different sizes for my living room, dining room, foyer, and hallway. They have provided the texture on my hard Wood floors and added a cozy feeling to the rooms. The color is perfect. Looks great on dark brown floors with dark brown and light grey tones in a thick shag.

    Read More
    gsmith January 2, 2015
  • Verified Purchase

    This user earned $1.00 in rewards for writing this review.Learn More

    I am very happy with my Safavieh California Plush rugs, I purchased two sizes one for my living room & a runner fo my hallway. They are very good quality and vacuum very nicely. I have had them now for over a yr and I have shampooed them only once and they still look new. The nicest thing about them is for being shag they don’t shed at all. I would give this brand or rugs a 5 star rating 👍🏼

    Read More
    JULIE E. January 23, 2018
  • The Best
    Verified Purchase

    I can't say enough positive things about this rug. It's the perfect color in between grey and brown. Its everyones favorite rug to sit and lay on (including the dog) and in the most high traffic area of the house, and in 2 years it has not worn one bit, and its easy for my roomba to vacuum the pet hair out even though its a nice long shag. It is so soft and cozy and thick, and spills just don't show up. Love love it

    Read More
    juannabie January 18, 2018
  • Excellent Rug for the Price
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased the 8x10 mushroom grey rug. I thought that the rug was a solid color (per the name), but it is actually multicolored, with light and dark browns and greys mixed together. While not a silky soft, this rug is very plush and dense. I have it in my bedroom, and stepping out of bed onto this rug is very pleasant. The colors blend well with my grey/green walls and deep gray curtains and blue/grey/green/ivory duvet. I have not yet tried to vacuum it, but the deep pile will definitely require the highest setting on my vacuum.

    Read More
    Georgia P. September 6, 2015
  • Do Not Hesitate to Buy This Rug
    Verified Purchase

    I was looking for a big shag area rug, in these colors, at an affordable price. This is it. It perfectly matches my burlap-esque furniture and driftwood-esque coffee table. It is warm and inviting and wonderful. The folds fell out immediately. As anyone who buys rugs online without seeing them can attest, it is scary to risk something you are not quite sure will fit the bill for your color, comfort, and quality. This rug was the best "gamble" I ever made on Overstock. It is exactly as pictured online and even more comfortable and plush than I expected. The price could not be beat especially for the size. My only complaint was that the shipping fulfillment needs to pay a little closer attention to the shipping of the rug--one entire end of the "wrapping" was completely torn open when it was delivered, which was not a problem for me since the rug was not damaged and it was a sunny day, but I can see how if it had been raining or snowing the rug would have been ruined.

    Read More
    hortenceknucklebean September 15, 2014
  • Excellent plush rug!
    Verified Purchase

    I'm not the kind of reviewer to over emphasize the positives of any product. I'm just being honest. Hardly anything hits the 9/10 or 10/10 mark for me. I'm picky, I have an eye for detail. With all that said, this rug is excellent. We went through 5 other rugs before finding this one to be perfect. It doesn't shed, the pile is thick and plush, it seems to be very durable. It's comfy on the feet and easy on the eye. For the price I paid, we couldn't find anything locally that has this quality and thick a pile. The pile lays naturally over the edges to conceal the backing edge (which some other tall pile rugs we had didn't do). The rug seems to be a shade darker than what the stock photo shows, and that's what we read in other reviews and were hoping to be true (we wanted it slightly darker than shown). Overall, I'd give this rug a 10/10.

    Read More
    middlemancrisis September 10, 2014
  • Nice rug
    Verified Purchase

    This is the 3rd safavieh shag rug we have purchased but the darker color seems not quite as soft and cozy as the beige. I love the mushroom color and hope it softens as we use it.

    Read More
    Amy K. September 17, 2015
  • Great Rug
    Verified Purchase

    Love the shag. Great color and texture as shown in the picture

    Read More
    Tracie E. May 14, 2015
  • Beautiful rug
    Verified Purchase

    Very pretty rug, super cool colors in brown, taupe and silver gray. Would definitely recommend.

    Read More
    jamesonp November 6, 2012
  • My rug review
    Verified Purchase

    The rug was perfect in color , the exact color that was stated. The shag is just as stated. The size is as stated also. First of all, the color was perfect exactly what I wanted. The shag is soft and really nice feeling under foot. The size is perfect for my room. I love it. This is the second time that I have bought from overstock and it won't be the last, great products, delivery on time, this is a trustworthy company. I would and do recommend them to everyone.

    Read More
    ddlw44 July 25, 2013
  • Very Plush, great color, even better price
    Verified Purchase

    This rug is just perfect for what we needed in an unfinished guest room. The rug sits on bare floor (unfinished) and although I might add a pad in the future, it really is quite plush. We also bought this one in the grey for our family room and everyone loves it. It feels great under-foot (again no pad) and the grey is really a blend of grey, light grey and some black so it looks in any light. this mushroom color is a bit of grey and brown. I had a 12% off coupon and the price was unbeatable. Like other reviewers said - it comes folded but within days the creases settled and you can`t tell it wasn`t rolled up.

    Read More
    ruby11 October 11, 2016